Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

3.0

definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
46,440 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Ford Freestar transmission problems

transmission problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Ford Freestar:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Ford Freestar Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #33

Apr 082014

Freestar

  • 127,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Ford Freestar. The contact stated that while driving 65 mph, there was a sudden loss of engine power and the check engine warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the torque converter needed to be replaced. The contact mentioned that the vehicle was previously repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 12V006000 (power train). The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure and current mileage was 127,000.

- Columbus, GA, USA

problem #32

Nov 012010

Freestar 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
2005 Ford Freestar. Consumer writes in regards to transmission failure recall notice. The consumer stated in November 2010, the transmission failed, with no symptoms of failure. The transmission was replaced. In August 2012, the torque converter was replaced. The consumer believed only the torque converter should have been replaced in 2010, and not the entire transmission. The consumer is seeking reimbursement for the transmission.

- Newport, NH, USA

problem #31

Jan 132013

Freestar 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
2005 Ford Freestar. Consumer writes in regards to recall notice of vehicle losing power while driving and after repairs problem still exists. The consumer stated on January 13, 2013, he took the vehicle to the dealer, because it would regularly jerk forward and backward and then it would continue to move. Also, the vehicle would skip a cycle and would completely stop. On February 19, 2013, the consumer returned to the dealer, because the vehicle continued to exhibit the same symptoms. The dealer informed the consumer, the converter was replaced on the previous visit, and it had nothing to do with the current problem.

- Harper Woods, MI, USA

problem #30

Dec 032012

Freestar 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2005 Ford Freestar. Consumer writes in regards to sudden loss of power while driving. Recall notice submitted. When the consumer took the vehicle to the dealer, to have the recall performed, she was informed there were no parts available and Ford policy was not to replace the part, until it actually failed. Once it failed, the dealer would then order the part and it would take three days to receive it. Recall# 12V006000.

- Baton Rouge, LA, USA

problem #29

Jun 182012

Freestar 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
2005 Freestar. Consumer writes in regards to torque converter failure while driving on the highway. The consumer stated it cost $ $2,552.53 to install a re-built transmission/torque converter. The consumer stated he received a recall letter in the mail, stating he may be eligible for a refund for his out of pocket expenses. The consumer contacted the dealer about the refund and was informed the maximum amount available to cover the repair bill was less than $ 1,500. Recall # 12V006000

- Matfield Green, KS, USA

problem #28

Aug 012012

Freestar 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Received a recall 11S25/NHTSA recall 12V006000 last March and Ford seems to be dragging their feet. I contacted them three times and they waved me off. My wife is afraid to drive it. Thank you..updated 09-19-12

- Oswego, IL, USA

problem #27

Feb 142012

Freestar 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2005 Ford Freestar. Consumer writes in regards to losing control of the forward maneuvering the consumer discovered a recall had been issued and according to the website, he should have received two owner notifications letters. However, he never received any correspondence regarding recall # 12V006000.

- Fayetteville, NC, USA

problem #26

Jun 012011

Freestar 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
2005 Ford Freestar. Consumer writes in regards to reimbursement for replacement of torque converter in compliance with safety recall

- Mckinney, TX, USA

problem #25

Aug 202012

Freestar 6-cyl

  • 173,460 miles
As I was driving, the vehicle (2005 Ford Freestar) begin to jerk as if the transmission was constantly disengaging and reengaging. Also, the rpms would escalate during this problem. After about six jerks, the vehicle lost power to the wheels. I coasted to the side of the road and turned the vehicle off. I waited for a few minutes and I started the vehicle up and I was able to drive home. The vehicle still jerks. I looked up the problem with a mechanic and the diagnostic computer readout stated it was the torque converter output shaft speed sensor. I looked the information up online and discovered it was involved with a recall. This recall (#12V006000) was supposedly repaired on my vehicle a month ago. I called Ford and they said that the recall was already performed and they can not do anything else.

- Wilmer, AL, USA

problem #24

Jan 142008

Freestar 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
2005 Ford Freestar. Consumer writes in regards to safety recall 11S25/12V006000 the consumer is seeking reimbursement for the failure of the torque converter that failed prior to a recall being issued.

- Monroe Township, NJ, USA

problem #23

May 302012

Freestar 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Last may I had a problem with my Ford Freestar 2005 when I was leaving a highway, I stopped at a traffic light and then accelerated, only to hear the engine accelerating but the car staying still. In March 2012 I received a letter from Ford company, where I was informed of a safety recall notice 11S25/NHTSA recall 12V-006. I visited two agencies to report the problem, in one they told me that they have to investigate further and doing that it will cost me $100. In the second, they told me that they do not have the necessary parts to satisfied the safety recall. What can I do", can you could help me to resolve this problem" thanks.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #22

Apr 022012

Freestar 6-cyl

  • 83,000 miles
Vehicle lost all power on I 95 in SC due to torque converter. It was towed to Ford dealership, we rented a car to drive home to nc, over 350 miles away. Finally after 5 weeks, our vehicle is now ready to be picked up. However, it needed a new transmission, due to metal flakes in the transmission. It seems every car that has this problem with a failed torque converter needs a new transmission due to the metal flakes. Reading the blogs, transmission specialists are saying that these metal flakes are from the torque converter which is housed in the transmission. Ford's recall letters were not sent in a timely manner, we had only been gone for a week on a trip to fl and when we got home & picked up the mail, there was a recall letter. We surely never would have taken this vehicle on a trip had we known this was possible. Ford refuses to pay for anything. I would like to see research done as far as the torque converter affecting the transmissions. Thank you.

- Ayden, NC, USA

problem #21

Apr 022012

Freestar 6-cyl

  • 83,000 miles
On Apr 2, my husband and I were returning from fl to our home in nc. Approx. 26 miles into SC heading N on I 95 our van lost forward power. We were able to coast to the shoulder, get a tow truck and have the van delivered to a Ford dealership. We rented a car to get home (350 miles away). We had only been gone for a week, when the mail was picked up, there was a recall notice from Ford about the torque converter. This was a very scary situation and a definite safety hazard. Also, fyi, it seems that all vans that have this problem also have transmission problems though Ford says the converter is not the cause - yeah right...there are currently no parts available, our van will be in SC for over a month, and we are responsible for all other costs, towing, car rental, and returning 350 miles to retrieve it, then driving 350 miles home. This is also ridiculous as this is going to cost us close to $4000. Please warn Freestar owners not to drive this van, as it is not a case of if, but when this part will fail. And also, the recall notice certainly was not sent in a timely manner.

- Ayden, NC, USA

problem #20

Jan 232012

Freestar 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
2005 Ford Freestar. Consumer states vehicle broke down on the highway related to transmission and torque converter recall issues the consumer stated while driving, the vehicle suddenly cut off and proceeded to coast. She managed to pull over to the shoulder and had the vehicle towed. The dealer informed the consumer it would cost $ 1,300 to take the transmission apart to determine if the problem was related to the recall.

- Elizabeth, NJ, USA

problem #19

Feb 012012

Freestar 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
I have not yet had an incident but Ford needs to pay for a rental car! my 2005 Freestar is a death bucket! because of the torque converter problem and recall, my vehicle could lose power in a deadly situation!

- Grants Pass, OR, USA

problem #18

Jan 282012

Freestar

  • 90,463 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Freestar. The contact stated that the vehicle would not accelerate from a stop. No warning lights illuminated on the instrumental panel during the failure. The vehicle was towed to an authorized dealer, where they diagnosed that the torque converter malfunctioned. The vehicle could not be repaired because the necessary parts were not available. The failure and current mileages were 90,463.

- Fredericksburg, VA, USA

problem #17

Oct 072011

Freestar

  • miles
Cas asks this letter and the 92 complaints attached hereto be placed in the docket of EA09-016 and that Ford be ordered to recall all 2004-05 Ford Freestar, and Mercury monterey vans for defective transmissions.

- Washington, DC, USA

problem #16

Jul 062011

Freestar 6-cyl

  • 118,091 miles
Torque converter failed on 2005 Freestar.

- Burton, OH, USA

problem #15

Jun 042011

Freestar 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 68,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Freestar. The contact stated that at approximately 68,000 miles the vehicle had problems with the transmission. The contact was traveling 60 mph on the highway when the rpms started to increase. The contact disengaged the cruise control when the vehicle came to a stop. The contact spoke to the dealer and was told that the splines were stripping on the torque converter. The failure and current mileage was 68,000. Updated 07/08/11 updated 07/18/11

- Karlstad, MN, USA

problem #14

Mar 112011

Freestar

  • Automatic transmission
  • 146,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Freestar. The contact stated that while driving approximately 45 mph, the vehicle suddenly lost power abnormally with an increase in engine rpms. The vehicle was then towed to an independent mechanic where he was advised that the torque converter, shaft and a pump would need replacing. The vehicle was repaired for all components. The failure and current mileage was approximately 146,000. Updated 05/24/11 updated 05/26/11

- Kewanee, IL, USA

Read the next 13 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?