Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 5
Injuries / Deaths:
7 / 0
Average Mileage:
90,445 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Ford Freestyle electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Ford Freestyle:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Ford Freestyle Owner Comments (Page 2 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #47

May 252014


  • 185,000 miles


Car gives codes for safemode and there is no solution.

- Clifton, NJ, USA

problem #46

May 032014


  • 111,000 miles
I unlocked my car to load the back. I noticed smoke coming from the passenger side mirror. There was a small fire which I put out with water. Now my radio and power windows will not work and the fuse blows when we tried to replace (2X). I have not yet taken it in since it is the weekend, but I am not happy about a random fire that may have burned the entire vehicle if not noticed.

- Rochester, MN, USA

problem #45

Dec 282013


  • 134,000 miles
The contact owns 2006 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated that she started the engine but the radio, interior lights and power windows became inoperable. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, who stated that the wiring from the side view mirrors had failed, and caused the fuse box and relay to malfunction. The contact was advised that both components would need to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 134,000.

- Moseley, VA, USA

problem #44

Mar 202013


  • 133,000 miles


The contact owns a 2006 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated that while driving 70 mph, the engine rpms increased and the warning lights illuminated as the vehicle began to jerk. The vehicle would also decelerate independently while the contact was driving highway speeds. The vehicle was taken to both a dealer and an independent mechanic. The vehicle was not repaired but diagnosed with a transmission failure as well as an ECU failure. The manufacturer was note made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 133,000.

- Nashville, TN, USA

problem #43

Sep 022013

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 86,000 miles
I drove a short distance, less than a quarter mile and no more than 30 mph. I turned the car off, got out, walked around the rear of the car, and smelled an electrical fire. I didn't notice it at first, but gray smoke was pouring out of the passenger side view mirror. I got a fire extinguisher and by the time I was ready to use it a minute later the smoke had stopped. It was raining so maybe some water got in and shorted it out. Updated 09/19/13 updated 12/26/2013

- Pensacola, FL, USA

problem #42

Mar 012013


  • 120,000 miles
This car is absolute junk and extremely unsafe! yes, I've had the same throttle body issue as everyone else, and after I took it to Ford for the "warranty" it got worse! instead of surging at low speeds, now the entire vehicles pulses...lights, engine, instrument panel, etc. At 60mph the engine will randomly sputter an the RPM's will shoot way up - every light goes bright/dim, the engine idle goes up and down, the air conditioning pulses and eventually turns itself on and off - then suddenly the instrument cluster goes nuts with the speedometer going from my speed down to 0 and back up, wrench and all kinds of other lights flashing, charging system errors - it's insane. I took it back to Ford and they said it was a loose battery cable (!) and of course after I picked it up it did the exact same stuff going back home. Now it appears I need to replace all 6 coils and the computer for about $1500 - this thing is only worth $3500 at this point and I still owe $9000 - it's a nightmare. Also having the transmission issues - doesn't want to go when you first put it into gear and kind of hops at low speeds - I don't even know how much that will cost. I have two small kids and depend on this vehicle to get me to work and get my family where we need to go an I'm scared every time I get in the thing...with so many of these having the exact same problems I really don't understand how Ford execs can live with themselves and not replace these failing parts. Someone is going to get killed, if they haven't already - I'm desperately trying to find a way to unload this thing!

- Hull, GA, USA

problem #41

Dec 122012


  • 103,000 miles


I just got the vehicle in November 2012 and on 12/12/2012 I was driving home, the rpms started revving on it's own at speeds between 50-60 mph. I was not increasing it's gas. I made it home and stopped at the mailbox; as I let off the brake the vehicle lurched forward without me hitting the gas. Then on 12/13/2012 as I was driving to work it did the same lurching coming out of park in my driveway and also at stop lights and signs. It also did the same revving and halfway to work it decided not to go over 40 mph.

- Wilmington, NC, USA

problem #40

May 072011

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 62,000 miles
I pulled into my garage, placed the car in park, turned it off, returned in 30 minutes, started right up, placed transmission in reverse, heard and felt a large bang, whining noise from engine, wrench light came on, that was the last time I drove it. I had it towed to a shop, replaced the computer, recoded, reflashed, nothing worked. I was told it needs a new transmission. New transmission estimate is $7000...Ford should be held accountable for a flawed design...I was fortunate in that my transmission failed in my garage, others were not so lucky. Please dont wait until someone's family is killed before you force a much needed recall on some seriously bad research and development.

- Pipersville , PA, USA

problem #39

Oct 152012


  • 128,750 miles
So many issues with the transmission not sure where to start. Car was running fine yesterday and then today car had the wrench light on and lost power on the expressway at about 75 mph. Turned the card off and the light was still on but at least I got partial power. The car shudders and won't shift and sometimes when I push the gas pedal nothing happens. When I am stopped car will lunge forward even with my foot on the brake. Called several Ford dealerships and they said they are not certified to work on that type of trans but they will replace it for 7000.00!!!! I have read so many posts with the exact same issue. Why is there no recall"? I could have been killed!!! or worse my kids could have been hurt. Doesn't anyone care enough to do something"

- Warren, MI, USA

problem #38

Sep 012011


  • 85,000 miles
My 2006 Ford Freestyle limited has major electrical problems. I have had the car lunge on me, at 0mph it would lunge forward, and in reverse. Fortunately I had my foot on the brake every time. I don't think it is the transmission. I have a feeling that it is all electrical. I have had the lunging problem since last year. (2011) and the car has been deteriorating since. Yesterday I got "check charging system" and now it kills all of the lights and gauges... yet it still kind of ran.(not very good up hill, and no indicator lights, no speedometer nothing.)another recent problem I have is the center engine (shock?)mount is busted.

- Waynesville, OH, USA

problem #37

Aug 172012

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 110,000 miles


I have owned my 2006 Ford Freestyle for just over a this short time I have had it in the shop twice, both for major repairs. The first time was within weeks of my driving it off the lot; all of a sudden my car stopped recognizing the key (I guess it's a smart key with a chip embedded in it). I had to get my car towed to two dealerships before the second one had it for multiple days before getting it back. This time I was leaving the store with my daughters. I started my car and shifted the gear to drive and although my car made the accelerating sound, it went absolutely nowhere. I then tried to reverse it and put it in neutral to see what it would do. I once again had to get it towed to two different dealerships and it has now been at the current dealership for over a week and they are having to disassemble my transmission to determine what is wrong with it. I did a very generic search on google for recalls on my car and stumbled upon where there are numerous complaints about transmission issues in the 2006 and 2007 Ford Freestyles as well as lunging issues. My car did this once while I was driving my children to school. I was turning a curb and felt it accelerate immediately and it shocked me so that I threw on my brakes and almost caused an accident. Out of this letter, I would like to see a recall on the 2006 Ford Freestyles for transmission issues where the manufacturer would be responsible for negligence in making these cars and repairs associated with it. This is my third car that I have owned and my first Ford car. After these issues in such a short time of ownership I promise you it will be my last Ford. Very unhappy Freestyle owner!!! [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Dallas, GA, USA

problem #36

Apr 092012

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 110,000 miles
My complaint mirrors verbatim others related to the May 2011 investigation opened into the "lunging" at slow speeds for the 05-07 Ford Freestyle. The ac, hot temps, & lunging. One occurrence traveling 60mph & began to "stall out" & slow on major highway with three children in car. Any pressure on fuel pedal no result. Busy traffic, could only travel max 35-40mph. Put flashers on & struggled to make it to repair shop. Turned off ac in 100 degree heat to get any kind of response from engine. I was worried & feared for mine & my children's safety. Vehicle would barely accelerate thru intersection after stopping for red light. Finally made it to shop. Vehicle was placed on machine. Codes appeared: P061B alter fuel control module error, P2106 throttle actuator forced limited. Took vehicle to Ford house & explained issues as well as codes from previous shop. Was told would be $100 for Ford to hook up for a dx. If the codes I had were same, would cost est $800 to repair. As mom of 3 & who drives great distances for work, this repair asap. Have had many occasions if not had foot firmly on brake the vehicle would've caused a wreck at stop light, pulling into, out of parking lots, etc. Car literally drives itself in D/R at 10mph with no acceleration at all after placing in D/R. on 8-12-12 was in drive thru line & car lunged at high rate of speed forward after barely lifting foot off brake. Came mm from slamming into vehicle in front. Put car in P & the vehicle died. Wrench/engine light came on. Turned engine off, turned ac off & restarted the car. I can only imagine what would've happened if this had occurred at a stop light in a busy intersection? this issue is a fatality waiting to happen. This cannot be a fluke random issue if you have rec'd 238 prior complaints regarding the exact same issue. I urge NHTSA to place a recall, if for the only reason to save lives. Updated 08-03-12 updated 09/07/2012

- Tyler, TX, USA

problem #35

Jul 172012


  • 63,500 miles
My family was sitting in the car while it was parked in drive. It stalled out and made a strange sound that sounded like a problem with the transmission. I have noticed that when it is hot it seems to accelerate on its own. I have noticed that it usually happens at low speeds and reverse. I feel that this is very dangerous. I have researched this car online and have read that this has happened to quite a few of these cars. I wanted to make sure that this defect has been noted. Thank you for your time.

- Orlando, FL, USA

problem #34

Jun 012012

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 115,000 miles
Cvt transmission bad and has to be replaced. There is a recall on the torch converter on the cvt trans but replacing it doesnt really fix the problem even though it was the cause of the original problem. Once it goes bad you have bits and pieces of metal floating around all over everywhere else and the transmission just goes regardless. Useless recall. Also, the ac only blows cold at high speeds....when driving slow in town it blows warm and I'm having electrical problems with the windows....goes down when I pull up or wont go at all.

- Boise, ID, USA

problem #33

Jun 102009


  • 54,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated that while the vehicle was parked, the brakes were depressed and the vehicle lunged forward. The vehicle was taken to the dealer and a private mechanic. The mechanic stated that the main computer needed to be updated and a wire was touching the air conditioner unit. The manufacturer was not contacted. The vehicle was not repaired. The VIN was unknown. The failure mileage was 54,000 and the current mileage was 75,000.

- Gresham, OR, USA

problem #32

Jun 142011

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 80,000 miles
My Ford Freestyle has had engine surging issues for approximately a year know. Today 6/21/2012 my car started surging at every stop light so severely if we weren't holding down the brake we would of hit the car in front of us. The problem became so severe we had to put the car in neutral at every intersection to keep car from trying to jump into the intersection and stall. Today's temp was in the high nineties and we were using the air conditioning. Today's incident was the worst its been. Went on line and search the symptoms and found that a lot of Freestyle owners are having the same issue. With the safety of the car owner and pedestrians that could be near the car in jeopardy. Ford should be recalling these cars and trying to find a permanent solution to fix this rather then charging the owners high dollars to replace a defective designed part with the same defective part.

- Springfield, MA, USA

problem #31

Dec 092009


  • 53,000 miles
I purchased my 2006 Ford Freestyle in June of 2007. Initially I fell in love with the comfort, size, and gas mileage of my new car. Around 2 1/2 yrs later I started noticing when moving from park to reverse my car would sometimes stall or lunge backwards. It was only occasionally and at the time I was told I probably didn't have it in gear all the way before reversing. I had to switch from park to reverse very slowly and always be ready to hit the brake in case it decided to lunge on its own. This problem has almost completely gone away except now I have problems accelerating. Almost always on the highway now my car will loose power and the wrench light will come on. Once I pull over and restart it, it seems to temporarily solve the problem. This is however beyond dangerous. Several times this has happened in places on busy highways where there is no shoulder. I have to travel in the slow lane now 100% of the time and I try to avoid major interstate at all costs. I have invested a great deal of money into several different things that have turned out to not be the problem. I feel like this car should have been recalled by now, before it ends up killing someone. I bought this car because it seemed like a great family car but now I am scared to death to even let children ride with me. I am also very upset that after paying down over a 20K loan to 5K that I will have to buy another car. I planned on having this car for years and years. I attempted in 2009 and in 2011 to trade the car in for a new car and the $ value of trade in is very low. The dealerships are well aware of the problems and offer a very small amount for a 7 passenger 2006 with only 85K miles on and it gets great gas mileage compared to most SUVS or vans that seat 7.

- Columbus , GA, USA

problem #30

Jul 192011


  • 90,000 miles
First, during a family vacation the wrench light kept coming on and the 2006 Freestyle would have no acceleration like the transmission would not engage to get the required speed to pass. This results in slowing traffic down causing road rage with other drivers in the vicinity. On one occasion one of our teenagers who is learning to drive experienced this and will not drive the car for this reason. Also, on several occasions while I was driving in route to work or the grocery store, my 06 Ford Freestyle sel limited seemed slow and sluggish to respond as I would be waiting at a red light for the green. When the light did turn green and I would press the gas pedal to go, the car would stall/shut off. A few times there were close calls as the car behind me would be unaware I was having trouble and almost rear-end me. When the car would cut off, I would proceed to restart the car and then press the gas to go. The car seemed to respond extremely slow like I would have the gas pedal pressed to the floor and would only be able to go 20 - 25 mph. On other occasions, the car would seem to lurch forward or backward (depending on if I had the car in drive or reverse) the wrench light coming on my 2006 Ford Freestyle creates a very dangerous situation because the engine will accelerate without applying the gas pedal and will not accelerate at times when the gas pedal is pressed. People at Ford tell me that the company making the valve body part went out of business without notice, which does not help my situation any. So what is to be done" I have notified my state and federal highway safety commissioners, NHTSA, and my friend who also owns a 2006 Ford Freestyle of the problem and I would like to ask everyone with a similar problem to do the same. Please explain, what is to be done"

- Millbury, OH, USA

problem #29

Oct 292010

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • miles
I have always owned Ford however this is by far the scariest Ford car ever and to me the unsafest!! I purchased my Ford Freestyle back in October 2010. Ever since then my car seems to have a mind of its own. When I am completely stopped my car will automatically lunge forward and even stall when I am turning my wheel. I have a 5 year old child who I drive everyday to school in this death trap and it scares me to death. I have tried talking to my Ford dealership about this since the car was like this when I bought it but of course they want me to spend all this money I do not have on repairs...after internet research it appears there are hundreds of people that have the same problem with this vehicle. Why isn't anyone doing something about this to protect the consumer? it is very scary and I do not understand why the car is lunging forward and backwards if backing up when my foot is clearly on the brake as well as stalling. I hope someone will do something about it before someone ends up in an accident or even dead because of this!! that would be a serious lawsuit I am sure. This is a serious issue please please do a recall on it now if not for me for the sake of someone's life who is driving one of these unsafe vehicles.

- Bradenton, FL, USA

problem #28

Feb 272008


  • miles
My Ford Freestyle has been lurching for years. I have now started stalling when pulling into parking spaces, or making sharp turns. My air compressor needs replacing and I was told the erg valve may cause the lurching? my engine lights comes and goes sporadically and I have to go through carpool line or grocery store with one foot on brakes. I can't fully feel confident at redlights that I won't rearend the person in front of me. I can't understand how this is a issue we should all be stuck with when its obvious a defect. I filed a complaint quite awhile back but now the stalling and lurching has become quite a safety issue. I can live without air although the mechanic seems to think its all related... please recall the issued parts! I stall on hills, when pulling out into traffic, I lunge at random times and then....its fine for the next drive... then dangerous the next!

- Covington , GA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?