Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
25 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
73,880 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Ford Freestyle engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Ford Freestyle:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Ford Freestyle Owner Comments (Page 16 of 30)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #286

Jul 012011


  • 72,000 miles


The contact owns a 2006 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated that while reversing out of the garage and depressing the brakes, the vehicle lunged backward. The contact stated that the failure occurred several times. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer, who diagnosed that the throttle body was defective and needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 72,000 and the current mileage was 72,908. Updated 09/14/11 updated 2/22/12

- Aurora , IL, USA

problem #285

Aug 022011

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 60,000 miles
I have a 2006 Ford Freestyle and when ever I drive it, it accelerates when your stopped at stop signs, traffic lights, coasting through parking lots, etc. I have just recently hit the car in front of me while waiting at a traffic light I was slowing down to stop when the car accelerated causing the car to lunge forward hitting the car in front of me before I had time to stop. This has become very dangerous. I took it to a Ford dealer with no results. I called the Ford mfg. And they told me they were aware of the problem but nothing was being done about it. I have ask several owners of the Freestyle about this and they said they were having the same problem. I have checked on the internet and found complaint after complaint about this problem and the high cost of trying to fix it. I have went to several repair shops with no guarantees. The Ford dealer I took it to charged me $140 then told me there was nothing wrong with the car. I feel this should be something the Ford Motor Co. Should be recalling. Thank you.

- Imperial, MO, USA

problem #284

May 012010

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 47,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated that the vehicle would surge forward without warning with the brakes depressed. The dealer did not offer any assistance. The manufacturer had not been notified. The vehicle had not been inspected or repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 47,000 and the current mileage was 47,000. The VIN was unavailable. Updated 09/01/2011

- Jarritsville, MD, USA

problem #283

May 022011


  • miles


When stopping or taking off car surges whether your backing up or at a stop light. They said it was the throttle body, check engine light on when stopped at red light can only inch forward.

- Argyle, TX, USA

problem #282

Jul 312011


  • 76,344 miles
On 7/31/2011, vehicle was in park with A/C running. Upon putting into reverse, vehicle lunged backwards, approximately 10 ft., while brake was still depressed. Pushing hard on brake stopped the vehicle's movement and the engine stalled. Weather conditions were dry and approximately 87 degrees. Over several days leading up to 7/31/2011, vehicle occasionally would accelerate itself when at slow forward speed (less than 15 mph) with brake depressed. Tachometer confirmed acceleration (approx. 1700 RPM, normal for vehicle is less than 1000 RPM) which could be stopped by pressing hard on brake. After depressing brake and vehicle coming to a stop, normal RPM would resume. Weather conditions were dry and approximately 95 to 100 degrees. This problem seems to occur mainly at low speeds in parking lots. It appears to be the same problem reported by other Freestyle owners under investigation # PE11018.

- Sicklerville, NJ, USA

problem #281

Jul 142008


  • 58,000 miles
2006 Ford Freestyle has experienced the 'lunging' when backing or parking at slow or no speed without foot on the accelerator as noted in NHTSA complaint PE11018. This has happened intermittently since the vehicle was purchased used in 2008 with around 58,000 miles on it. Call to dealer at the time was meet with skepticism, not heard of such problem. No trouble codes were generated. Internet research revealed many were having this problem, sometimes cured with a expensive throttle body replacement or some other fix, but many times not. Currently has 103,000 miles and still has intermittent 'lunging'. have noticed that it seems to happen more frequently during hot weather, 90+ degrees, A/C on full blast, steering wheel turned and just changed gears. Engine seems to be having trouble controlling the idle speed with the engine loads and then over corrects, creating 'lunging', requiring very firm pressure on brake to hold car back. These more frequent, small 'lunging' incidents, do not trigger any errors or lights, otherwise drives normal. On maybe 3 or 4 occasions, the car would alternate between almost dying and over-revving to control idle several times very quickly and then a bunch of warning lights would flash and then the 'wrench' would come on and car would barely accelerate or go more than 20 mph even if floored. As found on the internet, if pulled over and car turned car off, waited a minute and restarted, car would be fine, as if nothing ever happened, including no error codes when scanned afterwards. Aside from this issue, we thoroughly enjoy the our versatile Freestyle, but desire some firm resolution to eliminate this issue, so it can be enjoyed without worrying about when the lunging will rear its head hope you can press the brakes hard enough to prevent an accident.

- Knoxville, TN, USA

problem #280

Jun 012010


  • 36,000 miles


The contact owns a 2006 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated while reversing with the brake depressed, the vehicle lunged backward. The failure was also experienced while the vehicle was in drive and caused the engine light to illuminate. Afterwards, the failure was experienced numerous times. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who diagnosed the throttle body had failed. The dealer replaced the throttle body, but the failure was not corrected. The failure mileage was 36,500 and the current mileage was 47,000.

- Burns, TN, USA

problem #279

Aug 012011

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 69,100 miles
I own a 2006 Ford Freestyle and have begun to notice a surging/lunging of the vehicle while the A/C is running. I've noticed this lunging more when the car has been running for some time and I am driving and/or reversing at slow speeds, like in a parking lot. When this happens, the rpms go up and the car surges even with the brakes being applied. This sounds like a common problem with the throttle body in Freestyles. The vehicle has been doing this consistently since the A/C has been needed.

- Philadelphia, PA, USA

problem #278

May 012011


  • 90,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Ford Freestyle. While driving reverse with the brake pedal depressed, the vehicle unexpectedly lunged forward with an illumination of the engine warning indicator. The vehicle failed to stop and crashed into an unoccupied parked vehicle. There was no personal injury and no police report filed. The rear bumper sustained a hole and would need to be replaced. The failure occurred whenever coming to a complete stop or engaging in a sharp turn with the activation of the air conditioner. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the unintended acceleration. The approximate failure mileage was 90,000.

- Jackson , MO, USA

problem #277

May 222011

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 64,000 miles
2006 Ford Freestyle lunging started about 2 months ago. It happens often, thought it was just when I ran the air conditioner but it is happening all the time now. It will happen when the car is going forward and in reverse and sometimes it will die on me. I've already heard of this problem being responsible for 1 injury and I'm afraid it could continue to happen to other Freestyle owners including myself. I should not have to pay for this problem. Ford needs to own up to the fact that this is their fault and recall all Freestyles made within 2006-2007. As I am researching this problem with the Freestyle I am becoming aware that Ford has known about this issue for some time now and have not done anything about it. If this is how they are going to make vehicles and treat their customers then I can assure you that most of their costumers will choose to go elsewhere with their business, including myself! they need to recall this model and fix it!!!! I am at 65,000 mile's and this is unacceptable to me and every other owner out there.!!! please do something about this mess.

- Columbus, OH, USA

problem #276

Jul 212011


  • 58,100 miles


When backing 2006 Ford Freestyle ltd AWD, approximate mileage 58,100, into a driveway at a speed of approximately 5 mph, with vehicle A/C running, vehicle speed suddenly increased without warning & without driver pressing on accelerator pedal. Was able to stop vehicle by using brake pedal. Vehicle speed increase could be described as a 'surge' or 'lunge.' Engine malfunction light came on & stayed lit. Problem repeated when backing into another driveway. Took vehicle to Ford dealership for repairs. Repair description: Diag tests, replace electronic throttle body assy per code P2106 P016B, reprogram PCM with Ford latest running calibrations and retest to verify repairs. Problem was repaired at a cost of approximately $960.

- Catonsville, MD, USA

problem #275

Jul 012011

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 67,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated that the vehicle would surge while in drive or reverse. The failure became progressively worse and the vehicle would intermittently stall when the brakes were applied. The vehicle was taken to a repair shop, where the contact was informed that the transmission needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 67,000. The current mileage was 69,000. Updated 09/27/11 the consumer stated the vehicle is now fully operational. Updated 10/05/11

- Florissant, MO, USA

problem #274

Jul 152010

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 60,000 miles
During warmer months, while using the ac, the vehicle will surge 20+ mph without the gas pedal being pressed. The car surges forward while idled, or at a red light. Also surges when reversing. The car will surge and then not drive any faster than 25 mph on the freeway. Mechanic said it was the throttle body. Going to cost me $900+.

- Fort Hood, TX, USA

problem #273

Jul 292011

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 42,000 miles
2006 Ford Freestyle w/ approx. 40,000 miles. Approx. 5 instances (so far) of the car lunging when in reverse, then loses power when shifted into drive. The "wrench" light comes on and the A/C stops working. This has seemed to correct itself when the car is shut off and allowed to sit for a few minutes. It also has started slightly lunging randomly when in drive.

- Hartselle, AL, USA

problem #272

Jul 012009

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 50,000 miles
Our 2006 Freestyle was purchased in 2008 and had no issues for the first year, however, after that we started having problems with it. The engine will race and the vehicle will lunge forward or backward, depending on whether it is in a forward gear or reverse, you must have your foot on the brake anytime you put the vehicle in gear. While this mostly happens when you are entering or exiting a parking space, it has also occurred while stopped at a light or waiting to pull onto the highway. Quite often the vehicle will even die when the brakes are applied when the vehicle lunges while in the process of backing out of a parking space. Sometimes when this happens the wrench and service engine lights will come on, after time they will go off. Occasionally after this happens the vehicle will seem to have lost some of it's power and will not accelerate normally, sometimes pulling off of the road and restarting the engine will cause it to run correctly. The vehicle had less than 50,000 miles on it when it started acting up and now has over 100,000 miles and is still having these problems, so I don't think the mileage actually has anything to do with it. We have not seen where the temperature outside or whether the A/C is on has any effect on this problem. After looking on this site and seeing that the first complaint of this problem was written in 2008 it just amazes me that nothing has been done about this issue! this is a very dangerous problem and something should be done about it, had we known this was a problem before we purchased our vehicle, with certainty we would not have endangered our family's safety as well as that of the general public by purchasing this vehicle.

- Waxahachie, TX, USA

problem #271

Jun 192011

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 82,000 miles
During the past month on several occasions the car accelerated unexpectedly, to the point of having to hold the brake. Car stalled in traffic when starting from a red light, cannot accelerate over 30mph. The dashboard wrench and check engine light came on. When the garage checked they got an error code for the throttle valve, wrench light was on. Problem seems to be worse with high temperatures outside, (85-100 F).this issue happens with no warning! why is there no recall!! this is a dangerous situation.

- Cottondale, AL, USA

problem #270

Jul 272011

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 56,000 miles
2006 Ford Freestyle lungs forward or reverse when car is put in drive or reverse and brake ir released it will set a orange wrench indicator that can be reset by shutting off car this is very dangerous in parking lots have nearly hit other cars.

- East Earl, PA, USA

problem #269

Jul 212011

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 100,456 miles
My 06 Ford Freestyle has been lunging forward for over a year very sparatically. This past week it has been doing it daily (sometimes 2-3 times a day) and the car just shut off twice in nyc traffic. When the garage checked it they just got an error code (the throttle control/transmission light was on). Today at grocery store the car almost lunged right into a women.

- Lehgihton, PA, USA

problem #268

Jul 282011

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 68,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated while driving in reverse the vehicle lunged backwards and stalled. While the air conditioner was on the throttle opened causing the vehicle to lunge. The contact was able to drive the vehicle to his residence. The contact did not take the vehicle to the dealer for diagnostic testing. The contact stated the vehicle was unsafe to drive. The failure mileage was 68,000. Updated 08/17/11 updated 08/24/11

- Lone Jack, MO, USA

problem #267

Jul 222011


  • miles
I was backing out of a parking place when my Freestyle lunged backward, narrowly missing people walking. The red 'wrench' light came on indicating there was an engine problem. The motor ran very rough but we did get to our destination. I remember reading an article regarding this issue with the Freestyle, lunging forward or backward. I researched this and concluded many other Freestyle owners have had the same problem. We did have this problem corrected at a hefty price of $700. Hopefully, the Ford Motor Company will recall these Freestyles before a fatal accident occurs.

- Walhalla, MI, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?