Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page

2.7

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
54,970 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Ford Mustang drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Ford Mustang:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Ford Mustang Owner Comments

problem #14

Aug 132016

Mustang

  • 139,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Ford Mustang. While driving various speeds, the vehicle independently shifted gears without warning. In addition, the brake pedal was depressed, but failed to respond. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 139,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #13

Sep 012015

Mustang

  • 88,000 miles
In city traffic at a stop light, went to step on the gas to accelerate, the engine started extreme shaking & the car would not go. Shut off the engine & restarted it. The wrench light & check engine light came on the dashboard and car went into limp mode & lost all acceleration. After multiple attempts at restarting, the car was not drivable. Had the car towed to the dealership, advised service rep of consumer satisfaction program 13N03 & was informed that Ford will not honor the program for 2006 Mustang.

- Centerline, MI, USA

problem #12

Jun 012015

Mustang

  • 32,400 miles
I was at a stop getting ready to merge with traffic when the car just died. I restarted the car but it ran real ruff I barely got off the road. I had to towe the car home it's the throttle -by-wire this system needs to be addressed before someone gets hurt. Thanks lee

- Marysville, WA, USA

problem #11

Oct 202014

Mustang

  • 55,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Ford Mustang. When the contact shifted the gear into drive or reverse, the vehicle vibrated and jerked. The check transmission warning indicator was illuminated. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic who stated that the transmission failed. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 55,000.

- Roanoke , VA, USA

problem #10

Aug 012014

Mustang 6-cyl

  • 72,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Ford Mustang. While driving approximately 5 mph, the vehicle shook while changing the gear shifter. The failure occurred on multiple occasions. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 72,000. Updated 10/30/14 updated 4/27/2015

- Mcintosh, AL, USA

problem #9

Aug 012014

Mustang

  • 70,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Ford Mustang. The contact stated that when the accelerator pedal was depressed, the vehicle hesitated. Also, the contact stated that when in reverse the vehicle would jerk. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer had not been notified. The approximate failure mileage was 70,000.

- Oklahoma City, OK, USA

problem #8

Jul 012014

Mustang 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2006 Ford Mustang. Consumer writes in regards to acceleration problems. The consumer stated on several occasions, the accelerator pedal independently engaged without contact, causing an extremely dangerous condition. Even after putting the vehicle in neutral, park or applying the parking brake, the engine continued to rev. On two occasions, it occurred at a stop sign, where the vehicle would not stop causing her to drive through the stop sign. The consumer also had a problem with the vehicle not responding when attempting to accelerate. Her daughter was driving when the incident occurred.

- Smithtown, NY, USA

problem #7

Jan 122014

Mustang 6-cyl

  • 75,000 miles
The parking brake cable has lost all tension and no longer works to keep back wheels from moving. This creates a safety hazard because when parked on a hill the car is only supported by the transmission. Also the car seems to roll forward excessively when put in park without the brake on. I feel as if this is a safety issue that should be investigated.

- Alpharetta, GA, USA

problem #6

Jan 082014

Mustang

  • 39,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Ford Mustang. The contact stated that while driving approximately 40 mph, the clutch would not shift and the vehicle began to decelerate. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic for diagnosis, who determined that the clutch would need to be replaced. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 39,000.

- Tampa , FL, USA

problem #5

Nov 022012

Mustang 6-cyl

  • 85,000 miles
While my car was in park, I switch gears and the gear became extremely stiff, and my car hesitated then jump into reverse. While driving on the highway going about 30-35 my car hesitates to go above the mileage, I took my car to get the transmission checked out but they told me I had no transmission problems. But my car is continuing to do the exact same thing more frequent.

- Mobile, AL, USA

problem #4

Mar 282007

Mustang 8-cyl

  • 11,677 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Alternator replaced 03/28/2007 gear shift replaced 04/29/2008 also replaced radio/cd player battery replaced 04/01/2009 A/C compressor 06/23/2010 alternator 04/08/2011 battery replaced 12/09/2011 check charging light still coming on.

- Zwolle, LA, USA

problem #3

Aug 092011

Mustang

  • 72,000 miles
I started to notice that once I hit a steady 30-35 mph (on the streets) it hesitates to accelerate. Then it jerks and im running normal again. Took it to the transmission mechanic. He said my trans fluids are fine, however, my pan is "burnt". I do fine on the freeway. Its mostly when im driving through the streets and stop and go at lights. He ran some codes and the results were the "gear 5 incorrect ratio and the solenoid" ---something(sorry). He said to overhaul a trans I would be looking at $1800+.

- Sacramento, CA, USA

problem #2

Mar 102009

Mustang

  • 30,500 miles
When at a complete stop, my foot on the brake and transmission in neutral, the engine revs up to 3500 RPM and rises from there. In order to stop it, I have to turn the ignition off. I took it to the dealer 3 different times. The first time they replaced the throttle body unit. Two weeks later it happened again. Ford said there is no codes in the system and they can't recreate the situation to verify. They also said that I might be touching the gas pedal and brake at the same time. The next time it happened I had a passenger verify that my feet and the floor mat was completely away from the gas pedal as the engine revved over 3500 RPM. The car operated normally for the last 4 months until this past week when it happened again. It's occurred around 20 times with 3 of them during driving where the car started to accelerate on it's own. Ford has said they can't do anything until a code shows up or a part actually breaks. Hopefully, I won't have an accident by that time.

- Oxnard, CA, USA

problem #1

Jun 052008

Mustang

  • 0 miles
Before buying the car I run the car and the reverse of the standard transmission was rare and I communicate that to the sales person and he said to me that those things happen because the car is bran new then I buy the car and in about a 4 days later I talk to the sale man and he said the same thing again and then I believe in him and wait but later when I receive a recall for the airbags I went to the dealer and communicate the problem of the standard transmission and when they check that they said that my warranty doesn't cover that and that I have to pay about $900 dollars so I request a recall and help because is not fair I believe in the salesperson and now I have to carry with the bad consequences because the foreman said that, so please help me I don't have that money.

- Ccarolina, Pr, PR, USA

Not what you are looking for?