Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
12 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
8 / 0
Average Mileage:
2,696 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2014 Ford Mustang seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2014 Ford Mustang:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2014 Ford Mustang Owner Comments (Page 3 of 9)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #121

May 012015

Mustang

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have received safety recall notice 15S21 letters from Ford on July 2015 and May 2016 however the dealers will not allow us to make an appointment to have the driver air bag replaced. I have copied this complaint to our attorney and hold all associated responsible for any injuries as this recall has been identified over 12 months ago and the dealers are not moving expeditiously to resolve such potential injury

- Santa Monica, CA, USA

problem #120

May 272015

Mustang

  • miles
Needs the defective air bag replaced. Recall issued approximately a year and a half ago. Still selling new cars. Where is my replacement?

- North Richland Hills, TX, USA

problem #119

Jul 012015

Mustang

  • miles
Takata recall - I received a recall notice from Ford in July of 2015. As of yet I have not been given an appointment to have this repaired. It has been brought to my attention that the repair parts supplied to the dealers are used to repair cars turned back to the dealers by lessees so the dealer can legally sell the cars of their lots. In the meantime I am driving this car with the faulty airbags in Florida risking my life and unable to sell the vehicle. Do I have any recourse in this matter as I have been told that it will probably be another six months until my car is repaired?

- Summerfield, FL, USA

problem #118

Jun 062015

Mustang

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2014 Ford Mustang. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V319000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified. The contact had not experienced a failure. The VIN was unknown. Parts distribution disconnect. Updated 09/08/16

- Fort Myers, FL, USA

problem #117

May 012016

Mustang

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2014 Ford Mustang. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V319000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Bakersfiled, CA, USA

problem #116

Jun 152016

Mustang

  • miles
The contact owns a 2014 Ford Mustang. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V319000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #115

Jul 062015

Mustang

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2014 Ford Mustang. The contact received a notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V319000 (air bags) however, the part for the recall was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Nottingham, MD, USA

problem #114

May 272015

Mustang

  • miles
Takata recall - Ford advise of recal for the takata airbag safety issue in may of 2015. I just received another recall notice from Ford saying recall could not yet be fixed and current target was 2017. This is unacceptable. I have a son driving a car knowing that at any time his life could be put in danger by lack of a timely response by the manufacturer to repair a known defect of which they [Ford] are aware, notified - but done nothing. There is no legitimate excuse why Ford is forcing us to use a vehicle with a known safety defect with the takata exploding airbags without correcting the situation or providing alternative safe provisions such as use of a non-recalled vehicle of similar model, refund for the defective vehicle and its return, or replacement with a similar model vehicle without the known safety defect.

- Germantown, TN, USA

problem #113

Jul 012015

Mustang

  • miles
Takata recall - I was informed in July of 2015 about the safety recall notice 15S21, regarding my takata airbag. In may of 2016, I was informed that my replacement airbag will not be ready until the 4th quarter of 2016. I consider this long delay unacceptable. I have family members who are afraid to drive the car due to the potential of injury due to the airbag defect. I am requesting some other course of action.

- Sherrills Ford, NC, USA

problem #112

Oct 142014

Mustang

  • 15 miles
Takata recall-does anyone have any idea how long we are supposed to wait to have our airbags replaced? my car will be 2 years old in October and I am just keeping my fingers crossed that I do not have an accident that deploys the defective airbags-this is ridiculous and could be a serious safety concern. Thank you for any information that you can provide to me as to when I might expect to actually have my airbags replaced. Thank you, vicki elix

- Eagle Creek, OR, USA

problem #111

May 262016

Mustang

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2014 Ford Mustang. The contact received a notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V319000 (air bags) however, the parts for the repair were unavailable. The contact stated the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The contact had not experienced any failures. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. VIN tool confirms parts not yet available.

- Depew, NY, USA

problem #110

May 152016

Mustang

  • miles
The contact owns a 2014 Ford Mustang. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V319000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Athens, MI, USA

problem #109

May 242016

Mustang

  • miles
Takata recall - no parts are available over a year after it was identified as an issue that can cause death! why aren't these being disabled or loaner cars being issued. How can someone drive this car knowing the part could fail and kill the driver or passenger" is it safer to drive without the airbag than with the defective one" no one at Ford would answer that question for me.

- Yardley, PA, USA

problem #108

Jul 082015

Mustang

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2014 Ford Mustang. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 15V319000 (air bags) however, the parts needed were not available. The contact believed that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable amount of time to provide the recall repairs. The dealer and the manufacturer were made aware of delay. The contact had not experienced the failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Butler, PA, USA

problem #107

Jul 132015

Mustang 6-cyl

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2014 Ford Mustang. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V319000 (air bags) and was unable to receive the part for the repair within a reasonable time frame and was unable to determine when the vehicle would be repaired. The manufacturer was unable to provide a specific time frame to supply the part to the dealer and only indicated the end of the forth quarter the parts may become available. VIN tool confirms parts not available. Updated 06/29/16 the vehicle was scheduled to be fixed on June 30, 2016. Updated 07/25/16.

- Yakima, WA, USA

problem #106

Jan 062016

Mustang

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2014 Ford Mustang. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 15V319000 (air bags). The part needed for the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Leawood, KS, USA

problem #105

May 272015

Mustang

  • 9,000 miles
"takata recall" we feel Ford Motor Co. And planet Ford are refusing to fix the vehicle in question because of a supposed unavailability of parts. Twelve months is far too long. Two deaths in houston tx. We parked the car. The importance of completing the inflator replacement and going beyond the minimum requirement of a mailed notification. Provide alternative transportation in the form of a loaner or rental vehicle, free of charge, until our vehicle is repaired. We filed a consumer complaint form with ken paxton, attorney general of Texas. Contacted the governor, ltg, Mr. Poe and Mr. Cruz but have had no success. We sent planet Ford a copy of the complaint in a certified letter.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #104

May 062015

Mustang

  • 2,743 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Ford Mustang. While driving approximately 60 mph, the driver lost control of the vehicle and crashed into two separate concrete dividing walls. During the crash, the front end of the vehicle sustained severe damage but the air bags did not deploy. The driver experienced back injuries that did not require medical attention. A police report was not filed. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 2,743. Updated 07/13/16

- Pittsburg, CA, USA

problem #103

May 022016

Mustang

  • miles
Letter from congressman meehan on behalf of constituent regarding the recall of airbags in his 2014 Mustang convertible. The consumer was informed the parts were not available.

- Havertown, PA, USA

problem #102

Apr 272016

Mustang

  • 5,202 miles
Takata recall - enough is enough still no parts available. Ford declined any assistance or buy back. Nice we have to put ourselves at risk with no end in sight. Barley any miles on my vehicle to afraid to drive it.

- Apple Valley, CA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?