Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
12 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
8 / 0
Average Mileage:
2,696 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2014 Ford Mustang seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2014 Ford Mustang:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2014 Ford Mustang Owner Comments (Page 5 of 9)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #81

Jul 272015

Mustang 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2014 Ford Mustang. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V319000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect. Updated 05/26/16 updated 06/16/16.

- Schenectady, NY, USA

problem #80

Apr 042016

Mustang

  • miles
Takata recall my car has a recall that can potentially result in death and if have spoken to 3 different people over the course of 6 months and they are still saying "um I'm sorry we have no solution and no time frame for a solution". seriously! by the time the solution happens someone could die"?" this is so unacceptable! I would expect at the very least a free rental car!! or a refund for my car if there is nothing even in the works!

- Holly Springs, NC, USA

problem #79

Jul 152015

Mustang 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2014 Ford Mustang. The contact stated that the recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 15B319000 (air bags) was received in July of 2015. After contacting the dealer and the manufacturer, the contact was informed that the parts needed to repair the vehicle were still not available and no estimated time for receiving the parts could be given. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 05/24/16

- Louisville, KY, USA

problem #78

Mar 312016

Mustang

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Recall on takata drivers air bag part no. 15S21, issued May 2015, almost one yr with no fix. Please email me to when the fix will be done. When will takata Japan come up with a part and get my vehicle installed, I bought the car in depew NY, and need to register the vehicle in Canada, on the riv program, need to clear the recall before I can register the car. When do you think or know that this part 15S21 will be available at my dealership. Thanks.

- Richmond Hill, Ontario Canada, NY, USA

problem #77

Jul 162015

Mustang

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2014 Ford Mustang. The contact received a notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V319000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Sacramento, CA, USA

problem #76

Jul 072015

Mustang

  • miles
Takata recall: How can I get the bag turned off until the recall can be preform. Having this potential bomb in my face is not safe.

- Lake Havasu City, AZ, USA

problem #75

Mar 212016

Mustang 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2014 Ford Mustang. The contact received a notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V319000 (air bags) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. The VIN tool confirms parts not yet available. Updated 05/10/16 updated 05/16/16.

- Erie, PA, USA

problem #74

Sep 182013

Mustang

  • miles
Takata recall ///paint peeling and bulbing

- Jacksonville, FL, USA

problem #73

May 012015

Mustang

  • miles
Recall metal fragments in air bags parts after a year are still not available customer lifes are in danger do to such hazardous safety

- Saint Louis, MO, USA

problem #72

Mar 072016

Mustang

  • miles
Takata recall - it has been almost a year since the recall was issued. They issued interim repair for older vehicles but not mine. I don't especially feel safe driving this vehicle and Ford can't repair because of a parts issue. Ford should give everyone an interim repair. Can't you authorized Ford to turn off the airbag until it is repaired? the comment about high humidity is not fair. Someone could run into me and the device that is supposed to save me is going to kill me. Please contact Ford and get them moving on this recall. My car is useless, I can't trade it in either because of the recall. And I can't make an appointment to get it fixed!!

- Fruitland, ID, USA

problem #71

Jul 142015

Mustang 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall or any defective airbag issues. I rented a car from a small independent car rental Agency near a major airport in the usa. I was in slow moving traffic on a highway and had to brake hard for traffic which had stopped. I collided with nothing. The airbag deployed, exploded and shattered as it deployed, burst into flames and a piece of the airbag landed on my arm burning me and leaving a scar. The detonator O the steering remained in flames for several minutes smelling of gunpowder. Researching this car rental company online later, there appears to be a pattern - cars rented from this company at very low rates which are claimed to be damaged when returned and then billing the car renter's insurance company and using a repair shop that seems to be directly related to the owner of the car rental company.also, the claims company the car rental uses seems very involved in this potential side industry as well. Because their rental rates are so low, this has made me suspicious. The cars they rent out are not new. I have the vpn number that was supplied to the body shop for the repair but have concerns the vpn may not be correct either. What I do have is a piece of fabric from the airbag. I was hoping to be able to identify the airbag that burned me and be sure that it is not either a takata airbag or some generic brand X airbag that would never have been in this model car. I will attach a photo of the fabric. If there is someone I could send a sample of the fabric to, I would be most appreciative of having the name of a legitimate air bag expert. Thank you.

- New York, NY, USA

problem #70

Jun 012015

Mustang

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2014 Ford Mustang. The contact stated that the recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 15V319000 (air bags) was received in June of 2015. After contacting the dealer and the manufacturer on multiple occasions, the contact was informed that the parts needed to repair the vehicle were still not available and no estimated time for receiving the parts could be given. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Murrieta, CA, USA

problem #69

Aug 182015

Mustang

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2014 Ford Mustang. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V319000 (air bags). The part needed for the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #68

Mar 012015

Mustang

  • 23,000 miles
Takata recall. I purchased this car used approx a year ago. I received a recall letter from Ford July 2015. There is still no place that can make these repairs due to not having the parts. I found out yesterday that these cars with this recall were not to be resold. I went to check about trading my car in just to upgrade to a newer year when I was informed that the cars cannot be resold. The trade value was a joke and I do believe that the recall has alot to do with that. I am very upset that I am driving a car with my child in it that has this airbag issue. I called the number on the letter when I received it and was told it was nothing to worry about and that when the parts were available I would be informed. Well still nothing has been done and I keep getting told there aren't any parts yet. So what do I do I purchased a $28000 car that is worth nothing for a trade and it is not safe to drive. I feel like the dealership I purchased from should do something for me and Ford should replace all these defective vehicles. I am just so upset over this. What can I do next? vehicle VIN 1zvbp8em7E5272065

- Palmetto, FL, USA

problem #67

Jul 012015

Mustang

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2014 Ford Mustang. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V319000 (air bags) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Navarre, FL, USA

problem #66

Jul 012015

Mustang

  • 10,200 miles
Takata recall Ford motor sent me a recall notice dated July 2015.seven months have passed and Ford has done nothing. There is no part number for the replacement. Repeated checks have been made by me with koons Ford of sterling, va. Koons service mgr and parts mgr say they have no information from Ford on this recall. Ford needs a kick in this ass as they have done nothing. This recall is a joke.a fed up Mustang owner. Ken G. glozer, ashburn va 20147.

- Ashburn, VA, USA

problem #65

Jul 242015

Mustang

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2014 Ford Mustang. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V319000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. The VIN was not available.

- Akron, OH, USA

problem #64

Jul 012015

Mustang 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Takata recall- the contact owns a 2014 Ford Mustang. The contact stated that the recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 15V319000 (air bags) was received in July of 2015. After contacting the dealer and the manufacturer on multiple occasions, the contact was informed that the parts needed to repair the vehicle were not available and no estimated time for receiving the parts could be provided. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 03/16/16 updated 03/17/16.

- Punta Gorda, FL, USA

problem #63

May 192015

Mustang

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2014 Ford Mustang. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V319000 (air bags) however, the part needed to perform the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Fairport, NY, USA

problem #62

Jan 312016

Mustang

  • miles
Notified of recall 15V-319 by Ford in July 2015. Recall letter said Ford would notify me when parts are available. It's now January 2016 and notification has yet to be made on this safety recall.

- Ooltewah, TN, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?