Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
33,751 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2001 Ford Ranger engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2001 Ford Ranger:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2001 Ford Ranger Owner Comments (Page 1 of 3)

problem #45

Feb 062015

Ranger 6-cyl

  • 133,421 miles


I was driving approx. 40 mph when my vehicle suddenly sped up and the RPM went from 1.5 to 4.0 without my pushing harder on the gas. I tapped my brakes and it took a few moments to disengage. In the course of 40 minutes it did this 5 times. I checked to make sure the floor mat had not gotten pushed under and it was not. The vehicle just sped up on its own.

- Oxford, ME, USA

problem #44

Oct 152014

Ranger 4WD 6-cyl

  • 105,000 miles
Driving along in first gear I have to hold brake, truck wants to go faster, when I clutch it RPM goes to 1400. When in low range 3rd gear it does same thing.when starting cold RPM goes to 2100-2200. When up shifting @2500-3000 & I clutch it RPM stays @ that RPM. I can also shift to "N",let clutch out & coast, RPM stays @ whatever it was when shifting to "N" until I slow down or coast down to about 1-2 mph.

- Luna, NM, USA

problem #43

May 262013

Ranger 4-cyl

  • 80,664 miles
I was driving on a residential road, coming up to a third speed bump. I stepped on the brakes to slow down a little bit and my engine revved and started going faster. I hit the brakes and my truck spun out, off the road and stopped. The seat belt harness did not lock up; the shoulder strap stayed loose, and my head was being hit against the steering wheel. Then, somehow I fell out of the truck. This has never happened before. 05/17/13 I took my truck in to get the recall fixed, and get everything checked out.

- Decatur, GA, USA

problem #42

Nov 292011

Ranger 6-cyl

  • miles


Truck vehicle was shifting into reverse and a brake failure prompt the driver to switch into drive and suddenly the vehicle spun off out of control(burning tire) and it took off very fast without even touching the gas pedal. Driver tried to stop it but nothing worked.

- Canyon Country, CA, USA

problem #41

Feb 102011

Ranger 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 42,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Ford Ranger. While driving approximately 40 mph he engaged the speed control button and noticed that the buttons were defective. He noticed the failure less than a week ago. He took the vehicle to the dealer and was advised that there were no recalls for the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 42,000. Updated 03/22/11 updated 03/31/11

- Port St. Lucie, FL, USA

problem #40

Feb 012011


  • 37,000 miles
I sent in a hard copy letter and an E-mail to Ford service in June of 2009. Upon stopping at a party store with my foot applying pressure to the brake pedal, my Ford 2001 Ranger V6 XLT 4X4 motor suddenly accelerated nearly going into the store. I tried to stop it by shifting into neutral but it was too late. The only thing, which prevented me from crashing into a wall and possibly severely injuring myself or someone else, was a protective post which stopped the vehicle the Ranger went over the top of the cement post and was wedged between the bumper and frame. I turned off the ignition to stop the engine.. needless to say, severe bumper and front-end damage was done. The range has 35,000 miles. This is the third incident of this dangerous condition. I was stopped at a traffic light at gill and freedom in the spring of 2003 when all of a sudden the Ranger accelerated through a red light. I jammed the brakes and nothing happened was able to put gear shift in neutral to stop vehicle. There was no traffic and no damage to Ranger. Second incident occurred in the parking lot of walled lake western high school. Used same technique to stop vehicle after it jumped a curb and ended in the middle of adjacent street. Again, no damage. This happened in 2005. I have additional incidents that were reported by others in 2010 a similar incident March 12th 2010 was reported by a Nissan pickup however, the safety post were not present just the curb on the side of the building of the same gas station/party store located at grand rive and drake in farmington hills, mi. The Nissan pickup went right through the window shattering glass window into the party store. A police report was file with the farmington police department. These incidents might not be related to current Toyota

- Farmington Hills, MI, USA

problem #39

Aug 072009


  • 119,000 miles


The contact owns a 2001 Ford Ranger XLT. While driving approximately 20-30 mph the vehicle began accelerating, then it stopped and began accelerating again. The accelerated continued to occur intermittently. The contact was not certain if any lights illuminated on the dashboard. He drove onto the emergency lane and waited 30 seconds and the vehicle began to function normally. The contact stated that he never turned the engine off during the failure. The failure occurred twice. The vehicle was preowned and it was purchased in July 2009. The failure was not diagnosed by a local mechanic or an authorized dealer. The failure mileage was 119,000 and the current mileage was 123,000.

- Elkton, MD, USA

problem #38

Mar 022010

Ranger 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 150,365 miles
Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6) I was driving my Ford Ranger, (2001 XLT automatic transmission) in an attempt to warm up the truck as the transmission had been acting up as it was not shifting as well as it should into higher gears. The truck was having trouble going past 10-15 mph before shifting gears and was going much slower than normal. As I drove around the parking lot where I work to warm up the truck, it was not going as fast as normal and it warmed up in about 20 minutes. I checked the transmission fluid and it was at a normal level. I turned off the truck and checked the oil which was in the normal range. I proceeded to go to qt and get some gas and on my way back to work, I went to stop at a red light and was almost stopped when the engine started revving up and took off at a very high rate of speed while my foot was pushing the brake pedal down as hard as I could. I then could not slow it down at the next light enough to make the right turn safely. I had to make a U turn with both feet on the brakes and after putting the truck in neutral and pushing the emergency brake, I had to put the truck into neutral and cut off the engine to turn into the parking lot where I work. I thought maybe I had hit the accelerator by accident and had a co-worker watch as I cranked up the truck in neutral. The tires were spinning like crazy and the rpms were way up. I had to turn the car off quickly as with the parking brake on and both feet on the brakes, it felt like the truck was going to take off at any time. My truck is parked with the check engine light on and I am scared to get near the [xxx] thing. I have a call into my mechanic now.

- Marietta, GA, USA

problem #37

Jan 102009

Ranger 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 130,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Ford Ranger. While approaching a stop sign, the engine would idle violently and act as if it would continue to accelerate. The contact had to depress the brake pedal with extreme force in order to prevent the vehicle from moving forward. The dealer could not determine the reason behind the failure. Several repairs, unknown to the contact were made to the vehicle; however, to date, the failure persists. The failure mileage was 130,000 and the current mileage was 140,000. Updated 02/23/10. The consumer also stated the engine would stall. Updated 08/12/10

- Copley, OH, USA

problem #36

Jan 212009


  • 34,554 miles
2001 Ford Ranger speed control did not work. Because my truck was not on the recall list, the servo was replaced for $316.90. Speed control light on dash never worked, blinking theft light blinks constantly, and a wiring odor is noticeable. After replacement of servo, the speed control still does not work. The truck has approx. 34000+ miles on it when it went into the garage for this work. My question is why, with so many apparent electrical problems, this truck was not put on the recall list?

- Four Oaks, NC, USA

problem #35

Apr 272009


  • 91,000 miles


The contact owns a 2001 Ford Ranger. While driving 50 mph with the cruise control activated, the passenger compartment of the vehicle became engulfed with smoke. The contact passed out and the vehicle ran off the road and into a house. The vehicle was destroyed. The air bag deployment caused cuts and bruises on his body. He was the only occupant in the vehicle and was wearing his seat belt at the time of the crash. A police report was filed. There was a recall notice in 2007 for the cruise control, in which the dealer performed the repairs. The Ford manufacturer has not yet been notified. The VIN and NHTSA campaign id number were unknown. The failure mileage was 91,000.

- Byron, MI, USA

problem #34

Aug 152007

Ranger 6-cyl

  • miles
I have a fleet of Ford Ranger vehicles and 6 were recalled 05S28. I received the recall letter August 2007. I was able to repair/fix 4 of my vehicles and have not been able to fix the other two. Local dealership states they are waiting for parts everytime I call.

- Henderson, CO, USA

problem #33

Aug 012007

Ranger 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2001 Ford Ranger. The contact received a recall notice for the vehicle speed control in August of 2007. He disconnected the cruise control on his own and called the dealer. The dealer stated that the parts for the recall repair were unavailable. Since that time, eight months have passed and the parts remain unavailable. There had been no failure to date. The recall number was unknown. The current mileage was 18,000.

- Middletown, NJ, USA

problem #32

Apr 142008


  • miles
I received a recall notice in August 2007 for a problem with the speed control deactivation switch on my 2001 Ford Ranger pick-up truck. The dealer does still not have the parts to fix the problem. This is not a reasonable time to have to wait for these parts.

- Wisconsin Dells, WI, USA

problem #31

Aug 012007


  • miles
In August 2007 Ford Motor Company issued a recall for the 2001 Ranger on the speed control deactivation switch. I have been in monthly contact with Ford dealers in my area and they all claim they do not have the part to fix the vehicle. This is unacceptable in my mind.

- Manassas, VA, USA

problem #30

Aug 122007

Ranger 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Ford recall #05S28 (cruise control fire). I received this recall last August. I've been on a ongoing wait list for the parts. The recall is serious as explained in their letter that my Ranger can have a underhood fire at anytime and they advise not to park in or under any structures. Why am I waiting so long for parts when I could go up inflames (their description as the letter reads. Thank you; rtnye

- Woodbury, CT, USA

problem #29

Mar 072008

(reported on)


  • miles
Fax on behalf of constituent regarding the recall of his 2001 Ford Ranger, he was notified of recall in 2004, was told the parts would be available in 2007, vehicle still have not been repaired.

- Ankeny, IA, USA

problem #28

Mar 042008

(reported on)

Ranger 6-cyl

  • miles
2001 Ford Ranger with speed control recall. Consumer states that he was informed that no replacement harness was available. When the harness was available after the repair the ABS and airbag warning lights illuminated. The consumer stated the brakes have started to grab on initial brake application. Which caused the vehicle to jolt to a stop. The consumer was informed the harness disconnection had nothing to do with the warning lights illuminating. The dealer stated the air bag problem was due to a seat belt problem.

- Pensacola, FL, USA

problem #27

Feb 292008

Ranger 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2001 Ford Ranger. The contact received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign id number 07V336000 (vehicle speed control), but the part was unavailable. There had been no failure to date. The current mileage was 60,000.

- Norfork , AR, USA

problem #26

Aug 152007

Ranger 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2001 Ford Ranger. The contact received a safety recall notice in August of 2007, for the vehicle speed control. Since that time, she has been informed every month that the parts for the repair would be available the following month. In January of 2008, the dealer stated that they did not know when the parts would become available. There had been no failure to date. The current mileage was 89,684. Updated 3/4/08

- Mayfiar, AZ, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?