Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
5 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
27,404 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Ford Ranger engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Ford Ranger:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Ford Ranger Owner Comments (Page 2 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #22

Aug 022007

Ranger 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 0 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Recall of speed control deactivation switch for 2002 Ford Ranger, I have been to the dealer about eight times and they never seem to have the part for repair, all I get is the parts have not come in yet!! my control has been de-activated by the dealer but no action for repair of the recall.

- Crozet, VA, USA

problem #21

Jan 092008

Ranger 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Recall #05S28 2002 Ford Ranger August 2007 letter asking me to contact the dealer - sunset Ford. I have been given a new date for the part to be in each time I have called (this says underhood fire can be caused by the speed control). I called in August, September, November, December and today Jan 9 2008. I am now told, call in April and "see if the part is in" "??????" this stinks of a bad car from a company that doesn't care! I don't want a problem or a fire!

- Huntington Beach, CA, USA

problem #20

Oct 012007

Ranger 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
My 2002 Ford Ranger was part of a recall pertaining to the cruise control starting fires. I received my notice and took it to a dealer in early October 2007. All they did was disconnect it. They said that I would receive another notice in a few months when a replacement part arrived. As of January 5, 2007, this has not occured. I contacted Ford and they just gave me some canned response about a back order and parts not being available for several more months. Since they disconnected the unit, my ABS light comes on. The disconnection occurred from the brake's master cylinder. All they did was put a piece of electrical tape over the female end of the disconnected point. It was coming off as they put it on. My concern is that a manufacturer can "recall" a product only to disconnect it, and in doing so leave the consumer without a feature they paid for, and more importantly, with a "mickey mouse" manner of doing so that may be causing other problems. I worked for a lighting manufacturer. We have had cpsc recalls. However, I never recalled our recalls just being the unplugging of a fixture with an open promise to correct the consumer problem in the future. How does Ford get away with this?

- Douglasville, GA, USA

problem #19

May 302007

Ranger 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Received a recall for my vehicle May 07 as of today I was told by Ford that it will not be fixed till late June 2008 or later. So I am driving a truck that I am paying for that has no cruise control and when this disconnected my cruise control without telling me till after the fact, it also disconnected my ABS system. So now I have no anti lock brakes -hardly any brakes and no cruise control. This is totally unacceptable. Why did they disconnect the system, knowingly without telling the consumer they did not have the part in stock. So I am driving a unsafe vehicle in my option.

- Palm Harbor, FL, USA

problem #18

Sep 052007

Ranger 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 88,000 miles
Received a recall on my speed control. Made a appointment at dealership to replace defective part and they disconnected my speed control, but ran out of parts. The dealership and Ford Motor Company have been contacted about the availability of this part[scds] and they tell me January or February 2008. I have been without speed control for over 4 months. As soon as they disconnected my speed control my anti-lock light on dash has been coming on occasionally. The dealership has been informed of this. I am concerned that this could affect my ability to stop or avoid a collision.

- Lee's Summit, MO, USA

problem #17

Sep 012007

Ranger 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Ford Motor Co. Issued recall 05S28 in August 2007. I took my 2002 Ranger in on 01 Sept and was told parts were not available. Check back in late Nov. This is a recall problem with the cruise control, and the dealer disconnected it, stating that it was a fire hazard. I took the Ranger in on 08 Dec and again was told parts were not available and that the dealer had no information as to when Ford would send the parts out, except that it would be some time after the new year. In the meantime, I am without use of the cruise control, which is of great benefit to me when traveling. In my opinion, 4+ months is far too long to have to wait for Ford to correct a problem of this sort, especially since even the dealer has no idea when parts will be available from Ford. This recall inaction has all the appearances of deliberate neglect.

- Bartlett, TN, USA

problem #16

Nov 262007

(reported on)

Ranger 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2002 Ford Ranger recall for speed control system. The consumer stated there was no authorized dealer in his town. The consumer wanted to know if a particular agent in another town was authorized to make the repair. The consumer stated the repairs still have not been made.

- Petersburg, AK, USA

problem #15

Nov 142007

Ranger 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Ford Ranger. The contact stated that Ford Motor Company is taking too long to repair the vehicle speed control for NHTSA campaign id number 07V336000. He stated that he paid to use the cruise control feature on his vehicle and should not have to wait until next year to have it repaired. There had been no failure to date. The current mileage was 35,000.

- Opelika, AL, USA

problem #14

Aug 012007

Ranger 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Ford Ranger. The contact received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign id number 07V336000 (vehicle speed control) in August of 2007. The dealer disconnected the speed control; however, the contact was dissatisfied with the remedy. There had been no failure to date. The current mileage was 52,000.

- St Louis, MO, USA

problem #13

Aug 052007

Ranger 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Recall letter stated speed control required replacement. Numerous calls to manufacturer over last 3 months to effect repair resulted in me being informed that they did not have the repair parts. The last estimate I received was 3/08 - eight mounts after I received the letter. Ford does not seem committed to repairing this dangerous defect.

- Ipswich, MA, USA

problem #12

Sep 012007

Ranger 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 65,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2002 Ford Ranger. The contact received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign id number 07V33600 (vehicle speed control). The dealer disconnected the deactivation switch. The ABS warning indicator light illuminated intermittently after the switch was disconnected. The dealer stated that the failure was caused by a failed pressure control switch. The contact stated that not being able to use the cruise control was an inconvenience. The dealer stated that the part wouldn't be available until after January of 2008. The failure mileage was 65,000 and current mileage was 66,000. Updated 03/13/08.

- Des Moines , IA, USA

problem #11

Oct 222007

Ranger 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 69,500 miles
After my 2002 Ford Ranger was recalled for a cruise control issue, I kept blowing fuses. In taking it in to my Ford dealer they indicated a short within the driver's side airbag deployment system. Went through about 20 - 10 amp fuses before I could take it in. Failure of a safety item like the airbag should not happen especially with less that 70,000 miles on the vehicle.

- Auburn, WA, USA

problem #10

Aug 012007

Ranger 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
In August you sent me a letter on my Ford Ranger (scds) speed control. I"ve made three attempts to get it fixed. But every time I take my truck in they always tell me they just ran out and the parts are on back order. I called again today and they tell me to call back on December 2nd. What kind of run around is this" and who is going to be responsible for my truck, car, garage and everything else that is in it"

- Londonderry, OH, USA

problem #9

Aug 172007

Ranger 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Ford Ranger. The dealer stated the parts for NHTSA campaign # 07V336000 (vehicle speed control) would not be available until October due to the parts are on back order. The current mileage was 64,000. There had been no failure to date.

- Loveland , CO, USA

problem #8

Aug 152007

Ranger 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Ford Ranger. The contact received a recall notice regarding the potential of an underhood fire in his vehicle. The dealer stated that the parts for the recall repair would be unavailable until the fourth quarter of 2007. The dealer also stated that the speed control deactivation switch cannot guarantee that there will not be any leakage, which poses the threat of an underhood fire. The failure could occur whether the vehicle is parked or in motion. There had been no failure to date. The NHTSA recall number was unavailable. The current mileage was 80,700.

- Loveland, CO, USA

problem #7

Sep 082005

Ranger 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 36,695 miles
I purchased 2002 Ford Ranger edge 4X4 used in Aug 2005 w/36K on it. I had it 3 weeks when it suddenly accelerated and wouldn't stop with the brake to the floor. It skidded 70 feet jumped the curb and drove on our lawn and back on the street before I put it in neutral and it slowed enough to stop just inches from the rear end of a parked vehicle. I thought I may have done something wrong since this was my first truck in this class so I read through the owners manual and couldn't determine if I had done anything wrong. I telecommute from home and don't drive often so it was weeks later when it happened again this time going up a hill on wet pavement, the truck fishtailed and went into the opposite lane. Thank fully there was no one in the other lane. I took it to my mechanic who could not determine any problem and it wouldn't replicate for him. It has happened a number of times since then and I have had several near misses and am frustrated that no one can fix this dangerous problem. Our 2nd vehicle has died and now this is our only transportation and since I owe thousands on it still I am stuck-will get nothing on a trade in and cant in good conscience sell it to anyone with this problem.

- Little Falls, NY, USA

problem #6

Nov 072003

Ranger

  • miles
While driving up a hill vehicle suddenly accelerated backward. The driver applied the brakes, and brake pedal went down to floor.this caused the vehicle to hit a tree. Consumer had the vehicle towed the mechanic, who could not duplicate the problem.

- Fresno, CA, USA

problem #5

Oct 302002

Ranger 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 3,928 miles
On October 30 2002, I was driving a 2002 Ford Ranger, my wife and I were going to K-mart and just as I was turning into the parking space, my Ranger just took off and I had my foot on the brakes trying to stop my truck, the engine sounded like it was running wide open and I did manage to stop my truck within eight feet. But by that time I hit a shopping cart and a wheel/chair sign. The shopping cart wedged between my truck and the Dodge neon that it hit. And did damage to. And the sign bounced off my truck and hit another car, but it only put a scratch on the other car. There was an witness that heard and saw everything. And now my insurance company will not renew my policy as of July 18 2003. I did take my Ranger to the Ford garage the same day to have it tested. And on November 10 2002, my Ranger did the same thing again, but thank god there wasn't no other vehicle close by and I did get my Ranger stopped. So now who do I need to turn to for help....rlp ps. This accident was reported to the K-mart police.

- Kingwood, WV, USA

problem #4

Aug 012003

(reported on)

Ranger 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The jack broke when the consumer was changing a tire. The spare tire was a different size from the regular tires which caused rear end noise. The brakes locked up when the consumer attempted to stop which caused an accident. The dealer replaced the brake shoes. The rear door and speakers vibrated when the radio was in use. The dealer repositioned the loose insulation. When the cruise control was activated the vehicle made noise and the accelerator pedal vibrated. The dealer replaced the accelerator cable and pedal. When accelerating the vehicle made a loud noise.

- Debuque, IA, USA

problem #3

Oct 022002

Ranger

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The consumer states that vehicle rocks while driving. The consumer had taken the vehicle to the dealer, and the dealer suggested that the spark plugs needed replacing. The consumer sates that the vehicle goes at a rate of 2500+3000 RPM 202 Ranger, shakes in the net or park. The engine cuts out and jerks at high speeds, also when passing vehicles or trucks on the freeways-cuts out, its very unsafe, and the brakes pulsate/shake when applied at highway speeds. (6000 RPM, plus the speedometer shows 120 mph) certified mechanic(s) have stated that there's something wrong with the vehicle.

- Edmond, WA, USA

Read the next 2 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?