Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 1
Average Mileage:
5,836 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Ford Ranger seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Ford Ranger:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Ford Ranger Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #32

Jun 032016

Ranger

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2006 Ford Ranger. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V322000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Fort Worth, TX, USA

problem #31

Jun 012016

Ranger

  • 60,121 miles
Takata recall - my vehicle is equipped with recalled takata airbags on both drivers and passengers sid/ I have taken the recall notices to the dealer that I bought it from, and have been told the parts are on order aaeveral months ago. Past that, the dealer has no information and is not trustworthy. Ford's website has a lot a fluff, but no answers. I have two questions: First, are both of these permanent replacements" if they aren't, then what is the point? second, can the takata airbags be removed and/or replaced in this vehicle by means other than this insane recall"

- Billings, MT, USA

problem #30

Sep 302016

Ranger

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Ford Ranger. The contact received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 16V036000 (air bags). The parts needed for the recall remedy were still not available and the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Burnsville, WV, USA

problem #29

May 272015

Ranger 6-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2006 Ford Ranger. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 15V322000 (air bags) and 16V036000 (air bags). The dealer indicated that the remedy and parts were not available from the manufacturer. The manufacturer was unable to provide a reasonable time frame to supply the repair solution and parts to the dealer. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available. Updated 11/01/16 updated 11/02/16.

- Newport News, VA, USA

problem #28

Feb 012016

Ranger

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Ford Ranger. The contact received a notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V036000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Pamplico, SC, USA

problem #27

Feb 012016

Ranger 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
2006 Ford Ranger. Consumer writes in regards to replacement parts not available to repair driver airbag inflator recall.

- Flowery Branch, GA, USA

problem #26

May 312016

Ranger

  • 7,625 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall; I took my 06 Ford Ranger to jim burke to have my recall fixed on May 31 2016 they kept it all day. I picked it up at end of day, my air bag light was still on I asked the service adviser about it, they said I would have to bring it back another day and I would be charged to check it out. Today is 7/21/16 my air bag light still comes on.I don't think jim burke Ford ever replaced my defective part

- Bakersfield, CA, USA

problem #25

Jul 012016

Ranger 6-cyl

  • miles
2006 Ford Ranger. Consumer writes in regards to parts not available to repair recall notice. The consumer referenced recall # 16V036000. Updated 10/17/16.

- Taylors, SC, USA

problem #24

May 022016

Ranger 6-cyl

  • miles
Takata recall I have been waiting well over 2 mo. To have my air bags replaced.I am wondering if I have to wait until I potentially have an accident to have them replaced or possibly becoming a statistic. The dealer says he does not have parts in stock. Please help... thank you very much.

- Sevierville, TN, USA

problem #23

Mar 162016

Ranger

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2006 Ford Ranger. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 15V322000 (air bags) and 16V036000 (air bags). The parts needed for the repair were not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available. Parts distribution disconnect. Updated 08/30/16

- El Paso, TX, USA

problem #22

Feb 012016

Ranger

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2006 Ford Ranger. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V036000 (air bags); however, the parts to do the repair were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Knoxville, TN, USA

problem #21

Jul 212015

Ranger

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2006 Ford Ranger. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 15V322000 (air bags) and 16V036000 (air bags); however, the parts needed to perform the repair were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repairs. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available....updated 07/13/16...updated 07/19/16

- Danielson, CT, USA

problem #20

May 112016

Ranger

  • miles
I received a recall notice from Ford for my 2006 Ford Ranger because of the air bag problem. Sam galloway Ford in ft. Myers fl gave me an appointment to get the drivers side replaced and the passenger side temporarily fixed so that the vehicle would be safe to drive. When I went to the appointment, they didn't have the parts so the work was not done. I asked them to deactivate the air bags so I wouldn't get killed by the air bag if it deployed and the dealer said it was illegal to deactivate them. I guess it is better to get shot by the air bags than to deactivate them. What kind of deal is this? no one knows when the parts will be in so I guess I shouldn't use my car. I just thought you should know about this.

- Cape Coral, FL, USA

problem #19

May 252015

Ranger

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2006 Ford Ranger. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 15V322000 (air bags) and 16V036000 (air bags). The parts to do the recall repair were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- La Grange, NC, USA

problem #18

May 052016

Ranger

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2006 Ford Ranger. The contact received notifications of NHTSA campaign numbers: 15V322000 (air bags) and 16V036000 (air bags); however, the parts to do the repairs were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repairs. The contact had not experienced a failure. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Batesburg, SC, USA

problem #17

Jan 312016

Ranger

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2006 Ford Ranger. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V036000 (air bags) and stated that the part needed for the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Lake Placid, NY, USA

problem #16

Mar 012016

Ranger

  • miles
Takata recall I do not feel safe driving my vehicle because there is no replacement part for the driver side airbag and if my air bag goes off I could die or my passenger could die

- Albany, NY, USA

problem #15

May 292015

Ranger

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2006 Ford Ranger. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 15V322000 and 16V036000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- San Jacinto, CA, USA

problem #14

Feb 102016

Ranger

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2006 Ford Ranger. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V036000 (air bags). The dealer and manufacturer indicated that the interim remedy was not available and they were not able to provide a reasonable time frame for the repair. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Fountain, MI, USA

problem #13

Feb 032016

Ranger

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2006 Ford Ranger. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V036000 (air bags) and 15V322000 (air bags); however, the parts to do the repairs were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repairs. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Miamisburg, OH, USA

Read the next 12 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?