If you find CarComplaints.com is helpful ... We rely completely on word of mouth. Talk about us on Facebook, Twitter, tell your mother-in-law. Help us help more people.

9.2

really awful
Typical Repair Cost:
$1,856.00
Average Mileage:
101,738 miles
Total Complaints:
34 complaints

Most Common Solutions:

  1. not sure (10 reports)
  2. don't buy a Ford (9 reports)
  3. replace with a rebuilt transmission (6 reports)
  4. replaced it at own expense (4 reports)
  5. rebuilt transmission (2 reports)
  6. replaced the burner, flushed system and cleaned it out (2 reports)
2001 Ford Taurus transmission problems

transmission problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2001 Ford Taurus:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2001 Ford Taurus Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #34

Jun 102013

Taurus SE 3.0L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 134,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Transmission went out without warning. No check engine light came on, was running fine then all of a sudden just stopped. Could not go forward or reverse but engine would rev up. Glad it stopped right as I drove onto my driveway. It definitely needs to be recalled. I purchased the car in 2008, still has under 135000 miles.

- , Uvalde, TX, USA

problem #33

Feb 282013

Taurus ES 3.2L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 97,723 miles

DO NOY BUY A FORD TAURUS. I HAVE A JEEP CHEROKEE WITH 300000 MILES AND IT HAS BEEN IN THE SHOP TWICE, WHILE THIS FORD TAURUS STAYS THERE. YESTERDAY MY WIFE CALLED SAYING THE CAR HAD STOPPED IN THE MIDDLE OF A BUSY ROAD AND WOULD NOT MOVE. SHE WAS ABLE TO GET OUT AND A VERY NICE MAN HELPED HER GET IT OUT OF THE MIDDLE OF THE BUSY ROAD. THERE WAS NO ENGINE WARNING LIGHT THAT CAME ON, NO SHAKING TO INDICATE THE TRANSMISSION HAD FAILED, JUST A COMPLETE STOP IN THE MIDDLE OF THE ROAD! WHAT IF THIS HAD BEEN I85 AT RUSH HOUR! THERE WOULD HAVE BEEN A HORRIFIC ACCIDENT BECAUSE FORD HAS NEGLECTED TO HONOR SAFETY NEEDS BECAUSE THERE IS NO GOVERNING BODY TO MAKE THEM. WHAT HAS HAPPENED TO PROTECTING YOUR CUSTOMERS AND TRULY DOING WHAT IS RIGHT IN THIS COUNTRY?

- , Spartanburg, SC, USA

problem #32

Nov 272012

Taurus

  • Automatic transmission
  • 99,000 miles

In October 2011, I received this car. In March 2012, my transmission failed in my taurus while my husband and I were returning home from the hospital after my surgery. I was without a car for several months and finally was able to afford to fix it. I replaced the transmission in August 2012. It is now November 27th 2012 and the car is doing the same thing. It refuses to shift into any gear and all it does is rev up. I hate fords. I never thought I would actually dislike a car because all cars are eventually going to need repairs and what not. But this is the second transmission that has went out this year alone. The car is rarely driven (about 25 to 50 miles a week if that). This car was a gift from family members when I was struggling as a single mother with twins. After this experience with ford, I will never drive, own, or recommend their vehicles to anyone. While I am extremely grateful to receive a car (regardless of what kind) as a gift, this car isn't worth having at the affordable price of free. I hate this car so much and will never invest ANY money at all into another ford ever.

- , Augusta, GA, USA

problem #31

Aug 142012

Taurus 4.0L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 25,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Ford/taurus..... Pretty much SH*T/SH*T...... HORRIBLE CAR!!!!!!!!!!! Seals leak..... Tranny bad after only 25,000 miles....... Car bought brand new in 2001!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! From lt boswell in texas...... This piece of crap has never run right!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Every seal has leaked..... Coil... Engine.... TOTAL SH*T....... No wonder ford stands for f*cked on rotten deal..... This car has cost over several thousand dollars to fix ..... Just because ford makes worthless cars!!!!!!!!! Never buy a taurus!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Oil has leaked from this car..... Power has dwindled down..... Now the tranny has to be overhauled on a car with 25,000....... Miles on it..... What a joke!!!!!!!!!!! Every professional I've spoken with has said..... WHY DID YOU BUY THIS CAR!!!!!!!! I actually did not... Someone else did after i begged them not to!!!!!!!!

- , Aurora, CO, USA

problem #30

Mar 212012

Taurus SES 3.0ll, V

  • Automatic transmission
  • 165,000 miles

I drive a lot for my job and was just leaving one county and going into another meaning, in the middle of nowhere) when, at 60 mph, my transmission started screaming like it was in neutral. I managed to coast it off the road and had it towed home. A friend at a dealership found us a rebuilt transmission really cheap or it may not have been worth it to get it fixed. I've heard from multiple mechanics that this is a common issue with Taurus. If that's true, then why isn't Ford addressing it? Otherwise, my car has been great.

- , Chillicothe, OH, USA

problem #29

Jul 122011

Taurus

  • Automatic transmission
  • 80,000 miles

the first month i had the car,i took it to ford for brakes more than three times.the door ajar lights would go on and off,the doors wouldnt lock.dome light would stay on,springs and struts,front end work,replaced o2 sensors in order to turn off check engine light.last but not least!blown head gasket and who knows what else.paid over 20000 dollars and sold it as is for 400 dollars i feel that ford should give me a refund on that junky ford taurus,i will never ever buy another ford,they dont make them like they used too.

- , Suffern, NY, USA

problem #28

Dec 062011

Taurus SE

  • Automatic transmission
  • 130,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

i was on my way home driving 60 miles an hour when my transmission just decided to stop pulling as if i was in neutral no warning beforehand just quit i checked transmission fluid it was full but did have a burnt smell to it .thank god i was alone without my kids. this really makes you not want to buy a ford. i was warned about fords being junk. guess i should have listened.

- , Murphysboro, IL, USA

problem #27

Jul 082011

Taurus 3.0L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 127,215 miles

I've had my 2001 ford taurus for 10 months and have had to change all brakes, rotors, wheel bearings, plugs and wires twice, the head gasket had to be replaced, the fuel rail replaced, front subframe had to be replace due to the whole car underneath being so rusty, and now the transmission just totally went out on my way home from work the other day. I was told that within the next couple years the back end of my car is going to fall off due to the whole bottom of the car being to rusty. I've had nothing but trouble with this pile of junk since I bought it and nothing can be done about it. So I want to let anyone who reads this know DONT BY A FORD TAURUS.

- , Minneapolis, MN, USA

problem #26

May 172011

Taurus SES 3.0L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 157,000 miles

I have a 2001 Taurus and am on my 7th set of tires in 8 years. I constantly need to have it aligned and have replaced the ball joints and springs. This week the transmission went out. I can't even honestly say how many times I've had it looked at for these problems. The dealership said there was nothing wrong with it the first 5 years and since I haven't brought it in recently they say my complaint is no longer valid. Ford says not enough people have complained, so the issue must not exist. They said if enough people complain, then a recall will be issued! Please contact them at 1-800-392-3673 and make your complaint count!

- , Green Bay, WI, USA

problem #25

Sep 302011

Taurus SEL V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 92,000 miles

Bought this car used, because I thought Ford Taurus was a good car, and it was low mileage for the year. Test drove, and it worked fine. Second day of driving it the car failed to move when put in reverse. I shut the engine off because you couldn't move it at all when the engine was running. I put it in neutral with engine off, and was able to push it backwards enough to turn it around. I restarted the car, and was able to go forward. I only had 4 to 5 miles to get home so I think it's a safe bet. Wrong, on the way home, the car would go for a while, then just as if you put on the brake, it would almost jerk to a stop, then free up again, and then almost jerk to a stop again. I bought this car 9-28-2011, and the problem happened 9-30-2011. I bought this car from Mike Raisor Ford and Mazda 2051 Sagamore Parkway South Lafayette Indiana 47905. (765) 447-9444. I plan on contacting them ASAP, to see what they are willing to do. I bought the car through Jamie Martin Their Sales Associate, so He will be my contact point. I plan on keeping the folks at CarComplaints>com posted as to the results. Thanks Ray Miller Covington Indiana.

Update from Oct 22, 2011: I said I would keep you posted. My call to Mike Raisor Ford,was well worth my while. They paid to have the car towed from my residence, to their repair shop. They replaced the old transmission, with a used one. The sales associate Jamie Martin, along with the people from their service dept. kept me updated and posted as to how things were coming along. While I never met their manager, I'm sure he had to approve the repairs. They also replaced an alternator that failed while it was at their shop. This dealership did the repairs at their own expense. I would not be afraid in the future to buy another car from this dealership, or from Jamie Martin. I'm well satisfied with this dealerships response, and how I've been treated by them. On the other hand, I most likely will not keep this car long term, just because my trust level in the vehicle itself has been degraded by my experience, and looking at the other postings on this website. I feel somewhat lucky, that the dealership I bought the car from came through with flying colors, Many others were not quite as lucky. Given the number of complaints, and the variety of years,2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, etc. etc., I have to ask myself when is Ford Motor Company going to wake up and fix the problems. They have let what is in most cases one fine vehicle, become cosidered a piece of crap, by ignoring the complaints and failing to respond. One more word to Ford Motor Company as a whole. If it weren't for the positive response from Mike Raisor Ford itself, I would not consider buying another Ford product, given the track record I'm seeing on this website. In ending, I would like to thank the follks from Mike Raisor Ford & Mazda for their fair treatment in this matter.

- , Covington, IN, USA

problem #24

Sep 122011

Taurus V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 156,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

got off work, going through rush hour, stopped at bank before getting kids from school. than bam, pull out of lot onto main street and nothing, try to speed up and nothing. coasted into a gas station and parked it. does nothing but rev rev and rev everything else is fine, works, comes on but wont drive. thank god a sweet woman gave me a drive to get my children and take me home. Ford wake up. so many complaints and yet still nothing.

- , Georgetown, KY, USA

problem #23

Apr 192011

Taurus SES 3.0L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 92,006 miles

2001 FORD Taurus SES- Had 61,000 on it and I paid $5000 for it in 2007. I had heard that Ford transmissions had a high failure rate, so I took it to a FORD dealer and paid $400 for complete transmission service about a month or so after I bought it. Driving home from work a few days ago, I began to climb a hill and suddenly no power. BARELY managed to coast off to a safe area and discovered that the transmission was totally gone. No forward or reverse. Reading this site and especially 2003 model this is a common problem with FORD JUNK. Already paid to have rear springs and struts replaced. Alternator, A/C compressor, brakes, money, money, on and on. Now the transmission dies and it is because of SHODDY WORKMANSHIP. I WILL NEVER BUY A FORD AGAIN. Furthermore, since there is NO DOUBT that they know about this and REFUSE to do anything about it, I am going to make it my life's mission to spread my experience FAR AND WIDE so that maybe others will not get RIPPED OFF like I did. I will make SURE that I cost FORD MORE in lost business than it would have cost them to fix this POS which they REFUSE TO DO. FORD cost me $8,000 for a 3,000 pound pile of JUNK? I will make sure I cost them DOUBLE in lost sales. Are you reading this FORD? DON'T BUY A FORD!!!!!

- , Allentown, PA, USA

problem #22

Nov 102010

Taurus SEL 3.0L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 140,000 miles

This is still a great car, yes I only had it for 2 years and the transmission is starting to go out on me but I drove this beast hard, very hard. So even though people whine about the Taurus transmission, mine has 140,000 as far as I know because when I got it at 100K there was no vehicle history. But I drove it hard and it replaced a 93 Jaguar XJ6 which wouldn't start half the time and after 110K miles the differentials was going out on it. So a transmission starting to fail on me is the least of my problems since I got it cheap and drove hard and had worst cars.

I am still a ford man because of how awesome this car is and how much I love driving it compared to my moms Honda CRV or an older Interpid my brother had.

- , Whitmore Lake, MI, USA

problem #21

Sep 272010

Taurus

  • Automatic transmission
  • 122,000 miles

I bought this car in 2003 and have had nothing but problems since. I have replaced every single wheel bearing more then once, had a recall on the springs, which the dealer had to fix, the A/C went out this summer and had to be fixed, the fuel pump took a crap within a year of buying the car and had to be replaced, I had to replace all of the shocks on the car, The defrosters on the back window don't work and would cost around $700 to replace, and the automatic windows broke last winter and had to be fixed. After sinking thousands of dollars into this car, the transmission blew yesterday and I was told to just junk the car. I will NEVER buy another Ford.

I should have seen this coming since every mechanic I have every dealt with has laughed when I told them I had a Ford. Mechanics call them "Found On Roadside Dead" for a reason. Moral of the story, Don't ever buy Ford.

- , Milwaukee, WI, USA

problem #20

Aug 222010

Taurus ES

  • Automatic transmission
  • 160,000 miles

Driving on the Freeway in Durham NC and my transmission decided it didn't want to go any further. Had a burnt smell and was smoking. Have had problems with my AC, water pump, brakes, and a coil housing something.....all within a year. I will never buy a Ford again!!!!

- , Cary, NC, USA

problem #19

Jul 022010

Taurus SE 3.0L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 102,732 miles

purchased this Taurus with 86,000 miles used in summer 2009, since then heater coil went out $600, now the transmissions out at 102,000 miles always purchased U.S. cars now time for me to go else where!!!!!!

- , Sandusky, OH, USA

problem #18

Feb 082009

Taurus SES 3.0L V6 Flex Fuel

  • Automatic transmission
  • 105,000 miles

My 2001 Ford Taurus had it's 3rd. That's right 3rd Transmission go out on me since I bought it in 2002. I had the first transmission replaced with a rebuilt one 6 months after buying the car using an extended warranty. The rebuilt transmission lasted me til March of 2009 before it too went out. Both repairs ended up costing over $1600.00. My sister owned a 91 Taurus and it too had transmission problems. My car has only 120,000 miles on it. I will never buy another Ford product ever again!

- , Houston, TX, USA

problem #17

Jan 212009

Taurus SEL 3.0L V6 Dohc

  • Automatic transmission
  • 90,000 miles

bought a 2001 ford taurus in July of 2008 and before the 6 mo warranty was up started having problems call the dealer and told them and they bushed us off so we took it to a mechanic and he said it would cost 150.00 hour to put it on the analyzer to tell us what exactly was wrong with it. We let him put it on for one hour couldn't afford longer and in that one hour he found 3 things that were wrong with it one of the things was the coil pack the other codes he couldn't tell us without having it on the analyzer long which we couldn't afford at the time. So we fixed the coil pack which helped that problem (100.00) dollar part we tried the dealer again and they said to take it to there mechanic he said there was nothing wrong with the car which we knew there was.

Well by July of 2009 the transmission completely failed and left my husband stranded and the car was towed to where our son lived because it was close. We then called the dealership and told them to come get the car because the transmission went and they wouldn't do anything when we told them there was a problem and we stopped making our payments it is now jan 2010 and they still have not picked up the car. this dealership is well known for selling cars that break down with in one year after you buy it and they do nothing to help solve the problem when you tell them about it not to mention the ford company won't do anything either when they know the transmissions are bad.

There has to be something that we as consumers can do to stop these guys from getting away whit this its not right especially when so many of us live in remote areas and have to drive several miles to jobs and we need to be able to depend on your car for more then a year when your paying double what the car is worth anyway.

- , Traverse City, MI, USA

problem #16

Nov 242009

Taurus SE 3.0L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 67,000 miles

Bought this new Taurus in 2001 because of its excellent repair records and friends' satisfaction. Later heard NY Times auto editor state it was "best American car ever built." Shocked and angry that transmission failed at only 67,000 miles. Let dealer and Ford know about it, but they wouldn't do anything about it of course. Independent mechanic told us that rod that broke is a defective part in 2001 Fords; they had recently replaced transmission in a Ford Windstar and a few other Fords.

- , Allentown, PA, USA

problem #15

Oct 182009

Taurus SES V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 100,000 miles

I was driving down Interstate 5 in California going south towards Los Angeles At 9:30pm at night when my transmission warning light went on at a very dangerous section of the freeway. I immediately got off the shoulder but kept my engine running only to discover that my transmission completely failed. I had to be towed 161 miles to Los Angeles by my emergency road service. I service my car every 3 months so was very angry that this happened. The cost to rebuild the transmission is $1500.00. The tow would have cost $283.00. My car is still sitting in front of my house after a week as I am so angry, I wrote Ford and am waiting to hear back. Anyone interested in filing a class action suit against Ford? This should not happen. The towing service person informed me that if I had continued approaching the incline towards the Grapevine on I-5, my car would have slipped gear and started to roll back and I could have been killed as everyone drive on all lanes at 70+ miles per hour. I am wondering if these transmissions were built to fail after so many miles?

- , Redondo Beach, CA, USA

Read the next 14 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?