Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: Most people need a car where the coil springs don't puncture or shred tires while driving. The Taurus fails in that respect.

The 1999-2003 Ford Taurus has a huge problem with coil springs breaking, which can puncture or even shred tires while driving.

The US government spent THREE YEARS (2008-2011) investigating the 2002-2003 Taurus coil springs. Although Taurus/Sable from earlier years were recalled, ultimately the NHTSA did not force a recall. They determined that because there had been no deaths & very few bad crashes & injuries, the broken coil springs defect was no big deal & not a safety defect. Tell that to all the owners who had close calls...

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
73,204 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Ford Taurus suspension problems

suspension problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Ford Taurus:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Ford Taurus Owner Comments (Page 12 of 21)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #181

Dec 092007

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 51,555 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Tire punctured and flattened due to failure of left front coil spring when backing out of the driveway. Required removal of tire and repair on a Sunday. Removed and replaced both front springs and full service alignment.

- Grand Rapids, MI, USA

problem #180

Dec 222007

Taurus

  • miles
Left front coil spring broke while car sitting in driveway.

- Chesterfield, MI, USA

problem #179

Dec 202007

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 108,000 miles
2002 Ford Taurus 108,000 miles, broken front left spring 12/10/07, broken right rear spring 12/20/07, upon checking right rear, also checked left rear, broken left rear spring also, appears to have been broken for a long time. Replaced front springs and struts-$500 (labor was done by myself), replaced both rear springs ($330) labor done by myself and sway bar links on both sides, $70.

- Belvidere, NJ, USA

problem #178

Dec 172007

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 78,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2002 Ford Taurus. While driving 10 mph, the front suspension spring sheared and caused the tire to slice open. The vehicle was taken to a local repair shop and a new tire was purchased. The current and failure mileages were 78,000.

- Allen Park, MI, USA

problem #177

Dec 072007

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 67,099 miles
Front left spring broke without warning, puncturing tire, nicking cv boot & rubbing ABS toner. Very dangerous consequences if occurred at high speed. Repairs required new tire, replacement springs, alignment. Cannot afford cv bbot replacement & toner replacement. This is a long standing problem with Ford Taurus, but this car is not part of any recall. Previous years were recalled for this very problem. This should not occur in a car this age with only 67,000 miles. You should extend the recall to include 2002 autos.

- Rocky River, OH, USA

problem #176

Dec 142007

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 47,000 miles
Pulling out of driveway and heard a loud pop. Got out and discovered left front tire was flat and and the coil spring snapped in half. No corrective action has been taken yet, as it happened less than an hour ago.

- Silver Grove, KY, USA

problem #175

Dec 102007

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 59,600 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2002 Ford Taurus. While driving at an unknown speed, the contact heard a loud clicking noise coming from the driver side front tire. She then smelled burning rubber and pulled off the road. The vehicle was towed to the dealer and they stated that the two front coils, shield, and tires needed to be replaced. They further stated that the coil springs failed and punctured the front driver side tire. The tire was replaced. The powertrain was unknown. The current and failure mileages were 59,600.

- Cedar Rapids, IA, USA

problem #174

Dec 082007

Taurus 6-cyl

  • 75,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Ford Taurus. While backing out of the driveway at 15 mph, the front suspension coil springs failed. The mechanic stated that both of the front coil springs were fractured and destroyed the strut mounts on the vehicle. The contact discovered the recalls on the previous year vehicles, but Ford stated that her VIN was not included in the recall. The vehicle is currently in the shop, but has not yet been repaired. The transmission type and recall number were unknown. The failure and current mileages were 75,000.

- Chilton, WI, USA

problem #173

Dec 102007

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 86,000 miles
Spring on front driver side, fractured while driving on smooth surface in fair weather. Fractured spring completely destroyed tire and at a higher speed could have caused serious accident.

- Sebring, OH, USA

problem #172

Dec 082007

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 99,700 miles
2002 Ford Taurus ses front left coil spring snapped and shredded tire. Spring is off the bottom mount and broken coil section still hanging from strut. This is the second time this has happened. Other time was front right spring while warranty was still in effect. I was moving at a slow rate of speed when a loud bang was heard, the front tire was ripped open through the inside sidewall.

- Belleville, MI, USA

problem #171

Dec 052007

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 93,545 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The front left coil spring on my 2002 Ford Taurus fractured, puncturing and slashing the adjacent tire. The force of this coil spring fracture also shattered and separated the adjacent stabilizer control link. Upon reading similar reports of these occurrences, it is now apparent to me that all four coil springs on Ford Taurus have a propensity to fracture and slash the adjacent tire. This coil spring failure at highway speed could cause a loss of control that would be catastrophic. I am now faced with the decision of either replacing all four coil springs at my expense or replacing this vehicle with a reputably manufactured automobile.

- Depere, WI, USA

problem #170

Dec 022007

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 108,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Ford Taurus. While pulling out of the driveway he heard a popping and grinding noise. The contact noticed that the driver side front tire was flat. The vehicle was towed to the dealer they stated that the front coil spring broke and pierced the tire. The contact felt that there should be a recall for the part. The current and failure mileages were 108,000. Updated 3/5/08 updated 03/05/08

- Amherst , NY, USA

problem #169

Dec 042007

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 82,000 miles
I was backing out of the driveway on 12/4/07 in, Y 2002 Ford Taurus ses when I heard a loud bang under the car. The driver side front tire blew out. When I removed it, I saw that the coil spring had broken and cut into the tire.

- Pekin, IL, USA

problem #168

Nov 242007

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 57,950 miles
Right front coil spring broke and caused tire to shred.

- Somersworth, NH, USA

problem #167

Nov 192007

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 95,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Ford Taurus. While driving in reverse at an unknown speed, the driver side front tire exploded. The vehicle was towed to the body shop and they stated that the front coil spring failed and punctured the tire. The manufacturer's public relations department stated that nothing could be done and advised the contact to call NHTSA. The current and failure mileages were 95,000. Updated 01-14-08. The consumer stated the repair shop repaired several Ford's with less mileage and same defect. Updated 01/14/08

- Willow Grove, PA, USA

problem #166

Aug 132007

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 60,000 miles
Driver front shock and strut broke and blew the tire. Luckily I was in driveway just leaving for work had to call tow truck to bring to garage for repair being it was a 2002 vehicle the schroad was suppose to be put on the 2002 vehicle and newer, but this did not have anything on it. So tire blew, but luckily I was not going 60 miles a hour down the hwy. We still have the old parts for proof of damage.

- Wakefield, MI, USA

problem #165

Aug 242007

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 85,000 miles
Broken front and rear coil springs.

- Howell, MI, USA

problem #164

Sep 282007

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Ford Taurus. While driving 5 mph, the contact heard a loud noise and the vehicle stopped. The road conditions were normal. The vehicle was towed to the repair shop and the mechanic stated that the passenger side front coil spring failed. The coil spring punctured the tire. The current and failure mileages were 60,000. Updated 12/27/07 the dealer stated also repaired the ab sensor assembly. Updated 12/12/07

- Elizabeth , PA, USA

problem #163

Aug 252007

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 62,786 miles
2002 Ford Taurus. Front left coil spring broke and punctured the tire.

- Caledonia, WI, USA

problem #162

Aug 122007

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Ford Taurus. While parked he heard a loud bang then noticed that the front coil spring punctured the tire and caused a flat. The dealer stated that there is a recall the front coil springs (NHTSA campaign id# 04V332000) on the 2001 Ford Taurus but not for the 2002. The contact felt his vehicle should be included as part of the recall. The purchase date of the vehicle unknown. The current and failure mileages were 60,000.

- Wakefield, MI, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?