Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: Most people need a car where the coil springs don't puncture or shred tires while driving. The Taurus fails in that respect.

The 1999-2003 Ford Taurus has a huge problem with coil springs breaking, which can puncture or even shred tires while driving.

The US government spent THREE YEARS (2008-2011) investigating the 2002-2003 Taurus coil springs. Although Taurus/Sable from earlier years were recalled, ultimately the NHTSA did not force a recall. They determined that because there had been no deaths & very few bad crashes & injuries, the broken coil springs defect was no big deal & not a safety defect. Tell that to all the owners who had close calls...


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
73,204 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Ford Taurus suspension problems

suspension problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Ford Taurus:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Ford Taurus Owner Comments (Page 13 of 21)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #161

Feb 052007

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 43,400 miles


The contact owns a 2002 Ford Taurus. While driving 5mph out of the garage the front coil springs sheered and split in half. The sharp edge of the front coil spring cut into the right front passenger tire. The vehicle was towed to a repair shop and the mechanic stated that they needed to replace two front coil springs. The dealer where the vehicle was purchased advised him that his extended warranty expired. The vehicle was repaired at the owners expense. The failure mileage was 43,400 and the current mileage was 45000.

- Elington, CT, USA

problem #160

Aug 052007

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 145,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Ford Taurus. The contact stated that the front coil springs failed and punctured the tires. Through online research, he discovered that many others experienced the same failure. The contact performs mechanical work and will repair the vehicle himself. The failure speed was unknown. The current and failure mileages were 145,000.

- Caledona, NY, USA

problem #159

Jul 122007

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 58,486 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Ford Taurus. The vehicle was taken to the repair shop for a tire rotation. The mechanic noticed that the vehicle was lower on the passenger side rear and stated that the rear coil springs was broken. The current and failure mileages was 58,486. The consumer stated this is the second coil spring that has failed. The first time the front coil spring broke while driving and ripped the inside of the tire. Updated 09/06/07

- Binghamton, NY, USA

problem #158

Jul 192007

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 94,719 miles


The contact owns a 2002 Ford Taurus. He noticed that driver side front coil spring was broken. The vehicle was towed to the dealer and the they found that the rear coil springs were also broken. The dealer replaced the coil springs, struts and struts bearing. The manufacturer would not reimburse for the cost of the coil springs. The current mileage 95,600 and the failure mileage was 94,719. Updated 02-01-08 the consumer stated the cost of repair was at tune of $1,246. Updated 02/01/08

- Greensburg, PA, USA

problem #157

Jul 312007

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 45,000 miles
I purchased a 2002 Ford Taurus sel new from sunnyside Ford in holden, MA in Oct of 2002 with 6 year 60K mile warranty plan. The vehicle currently has 54,000 miles on it and has not been abused and is driven only by my wife and I. a left rear coil spring snapped about a year ago and was replaced by dealer under extended warranty. With a $50 co pay by me. Today 07/31/07 the right front coil spring suddenly snapped. Car had to be towed to sunnyside Ford who is once again making repairs with my $50 co pay under extended warranty. It is high time that Ford Motor Co recall these dangerous 2002 model year Taurus with defective front and rear coil springs before people are killed. I am lucky that I was not traveling at high speed when my springs snapped. I have read many accounts of this problem on the internet of these springs snapping suddenly and puncturing tires on 2002 Taurus.

- Sterling, MA, USA

problem #156

Jul 212007


  • miles
2002 Ford Taurus SE front drivers side spring snapped. This was recalled in 1999-2001 Ford Taurus's with the same problem but not the 2002. I have seen many complaints about this when I googled the problem. Please help!! couldn't find Ford on the manufacture section, so I selected Chrysler to proceed.

- Attleboro, MA, USA

problem #155

Jun 162007

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 93,500 miles


I own a 2002 Ford Taurus station wagon that the front coil spring broke when backing out. I heard a noise and than an explosion when the front tire blew out. This was the same failure Ford had recalls for 1999 and 2000 models as I had those cars. I emailed Ford, and they said go to the dealer or fix it yourself. I spoke to a local dealer, who knew of the problem but said no recalls on this problem for my car. I have since heard this story from many people who knew others who had the same failure. I could only imagine what would happen at 65 mph driving down the highway. How many people have to die or be injured before Ford was made to react. Quality one what a joke.

- Latham, NY, USA

problem #154

Jul 112007

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 70,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Ford Taurus. While driving 30 mph, the contact heard a loud bang. The vehicle appeared to be lower on the driver side. The dealer stated that the vehicle needed new coil springs on both sides. The current and failure mileages were 70,000.

- Belgium, WI, USA

problem #153

Oct 042006

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 47,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Ford Taurus. The contact heard a loud noise while pulling out of a driveway. The vehicle dropped to the ground and was towed to a local mechanic. The cause of failure was diagnosed as the front coil spring. The vehicle was repaired. On July 6, 2007, while pulling out of a driveway, the rear coil spring failed. The vehicle has not been repaired. The engine size, purchase date, and a valid VIN were unknown. The current mileage is 52,000 and failure mileage was 47,000.

- Greenwich, NY, USA

problem #152

Jul 072007

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 68,000 miles
2002 Ford Taurus-the left front spring on the strut broke causing a loss of control, the car pull hard to the left into oncoming traffic and damaged the rim, axle, break line and a control arm. No unusual events or road hazards were involved, it broke under normal driving conditions. Other Ford models have been recalled for this same problem but the 2002 model is not covered under these recalls and should be.

- Clinton, MI, USA

problem #151

Jun 212007

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 110,000 miles


2002 Ford Taurus front and rear springs and struts were defective. Driver's side rear spring failed, causing a blow out.

- Hamburg, MI, USA

problem #150

Jun 152007

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 78,488 miles
Approximately 3-4 months ago I found both rear suspension springs broken, so I replaced them. On 06-15-2007, upon entering the car, the front-left suspension spring snapped. Ford indicated no recalls cover the spring(s).

- Sauquoit, NY, USA

problem #149

Jun 052007

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 115,002 miles
I was driving on a rural road and heard a rattling sound, I then had my mechanic look at my car, and he found a broken front spring on passenger's side.

- Bristol, RI, USA

problem #148

Jun 052007

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 88,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Ford Taurus. While driving 5 mph, the driver side front coil spring failed and punctured her front tire. The engine failed shortly afterwards. The vehicle was towed to the mechanic who confirmed with the manufacturer that the springs were not under warranty. The driver and passenger side coil springs had to be replaced by the dealer, even though only one of them failed. The cost to repair the front coil springs was $800. During an oil change two weeks ago, the driver and passenger side coil springs failed. The rear springs and struts were replaced for $650. The contact can provide invoices for the repairs that were performed. The current mileage is 88,100 and failure mileage was 88,000.

- Catskill , NY, USA

problem #147

Jun 102007

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 96,525 miles
Front driver's side coil spring broke while backing car in driveway - punctured and destroyed driver's side tire which was brand new

- Arcade, NY, USA

problem #146

Jun 082007

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 81,631 miles
Front coil spring broke unexpectedly, destroying front right tire and requiring replacement of tire, coils, struts and mounts plus alignment. The cost of repairs came to $859.61.

- Hibbing, MN, USA

problem #145

Jun 012007

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 29,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Ford Taurus. While driving in reverse, the contact heard a loud grinding noise coming from the front left side of the vehicle. The vehicle was towed to the dealer who stated that the front passenger side coil spring failed. The current and failure mileages were 29,000. Updated 07/12/07

- Columbia Station, OH, USA

problem #144

Jun 012007

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 134,794 miles
2002 Ford Taurus that I had as a company leased vehicle, and have every record on since it entered service until now, that has never been wrecked previously, had a right front spring failure when turning a corner at a very low speed. The spring looks like it had a metal fatigue crack in it, and it broke, tearing a 12 inch gash in the sidewall of the right front tire. This happened at less than 5 mph, which is fortunate, because at highway speeds, this failure could have led to a potentially fatal crash. Repaired with old spring from salvage vehicle. I have the old part that failed.

- Derby, KS, USA

problem #143

May 292007

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 63,000 miles
I was backing my car out of the garage. Right front spring shattered, shooting down into and puncturing the tire. I had this incident happened while the car was driving on a highway or even on a side street, the potential that my wife and kids could have been seriously injured is quite probable. Per the tow truck driver, this is a known and common problem with Ford Taurus. If so, given the potential serious safety issue involved, why has there not been a recall?

- Dexter, MI, USA

problem #142

May 202007

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 40,462 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Ford Taurus. The vehicle's front drivers side coil spring exploded while driving. The vehicle was towed to the dealer who performed the repair. The failure caused the vehicle to surge to the left. The contact feels that this is a huge safety risk because someone could have been injured. The current and failure mileages were 40,462.

- Massillon , OH, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?