Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: Most people need a car where the coil springs don't puncture or shred tires while driving. The Taurus fails in that respect.

The 1999-2003 Ford Taurus has a huge problem with coil springs breaking, which can puncture or even shred tires while driving.

The US government spent THREE YEARS (2008-2011) investigating the 2002-2003 Taurus coil springs. Although Taurus/Sable from earlier years were recalled, ultimately the NHTSA did not force a recall. They determined that because there had been no deaths & very few bad crashes & injuries, the broken coil springs defect was no big deal & not a safety defect. Tell that to all the owners who had close calls...

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
73,204 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Ford Taurus suspension problems

suspension problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Ford Taurus:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Ford Taurus Owner Comments (Page 6 of 21)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #301

May 052009

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 94,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2002 Ford Taurus. While backing out the driveway at an unknown speed, the contact heard a loud popping sound. He jacked up the vehicle and noticed that the front coil spring failed and punctured the tire. He found recalls on the internet for the 1999-2001 models, but not for the 2002 models. The manufacturer will not cover the cost of the repair. The contact was advised to keep the receipts to receive reimbursement in case a recall is issued. The current and failure mileages were 94,000. Updated 06/24/09. The mechanic also informed the consumer the rear coil spring were near failure as well. Updated 07/02/09.

- Reading , PA, USA

problem #300

May 072009

Taurus 6-cyl

  • 88,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Ford Taurus. While driving approximately 20 mph, the contact heard a loud noise and pulled the vehicle back into the driveway. She noticed that the front driver's side tire was punctured. The vehicle was towed to the dealer and they stated that the front coil springs and strut failed. The dealer replaced both front coil springs and the strut at the cost of $700. The manufacturer stated that the vehicle was out of warranty; therefore, they would not assist. The failure and current mileages were 88,000. Updated 06/12/09 updated 06/16/09

- Kaukauna, WI, USA

problem #299

Apr 262007

Taurus

  • 104,000 miles
On my Ford Taurus the left front coil over spring broke taking out tire and sway bar link called Ford Motor Co they said to bad no warranty I think it is unfair given the known problems with Ford and front coil springs I have another clam #10267309.

- Williamson , NY, USA

problem #298

Apr 252009

Taurus

  • 0 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The front coil over spring on left side broke and ripped tire apart.

- Williamson, NY, USA

problem #297

Apr 202009

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 130,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Ford Taurus. The contact was seated in the driver's seat while the vehicle was parked in the garage. He suddenly heard a loud noise outside the vehicle. He exited the vehicle and noticed that the front driver's side coil spring failed without warning. The vehicle has not been repaired. The failure and current mileages were 130,000. Updated 05/08/09 upated 05/12/09. Updated 06/09/09.

- Waterford, WI, USA

problem #296

Dec 272008

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 53,085 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Ford Taurus. While driving 25 mph, the front driver's side coil springs failed. The vehicle was towed to an auto service shop and was repaired. The failure occurred a second time while backing up from the driveway. The contact heard a snapping sound and exited the vehicle. He noticed that the passenger side coil spring punctured the tire and caused it to flatten. The vehicle was once again towed to the same auto repair shop. The dealer stated that nothing could be done since there was no recall. The vehicle has been repaired and the contact believes that the failure was due to a manufacturer defect. The failure mileage was 53,085 and current mileage was 53,500. Updated 05/15/09 the consumer stated the first time, the left front coil spring failed and the second time, the right front coil spring failed. Updated 05/18/09.

- Greenville, RI, USA

problem #295

Apr 062009

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 50,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Only 50,000 miles on my 2002 Ford Taurus when the front spring snapped for no apparent reason. I was pulling out of a level surface parking lot when it went. Had the same problem with my 1995 Ford Windstar, but that was covered by manufactures recall. I think Ford should be responsible for this obvious defect in their springs and do the right think or I will start buying foreign cars!!!!! car is still at the shop, waiting for damage report....spring (usually have to replace both though), tire and alignment at the least, not to mention the towing charge $$$$$$$. updated 04/29/09.

- Hamburg , NY, USA

problem #294

Dec 182008

Taurus

  • miles
Suspension:front:springs:coil springs on 2002 Ford Taurus. Just before christmas 2008, the front spring blew and shredded the tire. On Saturday, February 7, 2009, the back spring blew and shredded the back tire. Thankfully, both incidents occurred in a driveway. From reading numerous accounts on the internet, this is a common issue with 2002 Ford Taurus'.

- Mogadore, OH, USA

problem #293

Dec 262008

Taurus

  • Automatic transmission
  • 98,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Ford Taurus. The contact stated that her rear and front driver's side coil spring fractured and punctured a hole in her vehicle's tires. She was driving 5 mph at the time. The risk of serious injury was increased. The manufacturer stated that they would not assume liability for the repairs because there were no recalls available. The vehicle has been repaired. The failure and current mileages were 98,000. Updated 3/5/09 updated 03/10/09.

- Princeton, WV, USA

problem #292

Jan 222009

Taurus

  • 91,460 miles
Our 2002 Ford Taurus SE suffered a broken coil spring on the left front and ruined the left front tire. To fix the problem we are incurring more than $750 and Ford knows of this problem on previous Taurus models due to NHTSA recall 04V332000.

- Plymouth, IN, USA

problem #291

Jan 102009

Taurus

  • 65,700 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On January 10, 2009, my 2002 Ford Taurus front passenger's side coil spring fractured while I was backing out of my driveway and slashed my tire. The next morning, January 11th, while my damaged car was sitting in my garage, the front driver's side coil spring fractured and ruined yet another tire. On Monday, January 12th, I called Ford customer service and was told that since my car was a 2002 model it was not covered even though 2000-01 models were recalled and repaired free of charge. I just thank god that this happened as it did and not while traveling on the road. This unfortunate incident cost approximately $900. We had to have our car towed to a mechanic who replaced both front coil springs, right and left struts and swaybar. Our car had 65,700 miles when this happened.

- Youngstown, OH, USA

problem #290

Jan 162009

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 67,025 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Ford Taurus. While driving approximately 10 mph, the contact heard a loud popping noise coming from the front end of the vehicle. A rapid loss in tire pressure accompanied the failure. The vehicle was towed to a local repair shop and the mechanic stated that the front coil spring fractured, which punctured a hole in the front driver's side tire. The vehicle was repaired at the cost of $712.64. The manufacturer stated that they would not assume financial responsibility because a recall was not available. The failure and current mileages were 67,025. Updated 2/23/09 updated 02/25/09.

- Hoosick Falls, NY, USA

problem #289

Jan 202009

Taurus

  • 110,536 miles
Left front spring on my 2002 Taurus broke and the broken end of the spring punctured the tire causing a total tire failure while traveling 65 mph.

- Shirley, MA, USA

problem #288

Jan 082009

Taurus

  • 56,000 miles
My son was backing his 2002 Ford Taurus with 56,000 miles from the driveway when the front driver side coil spring ruptured and impaled the front driver side tire. I have not yet received an assessment of or an estimate to repair the damages.

- Pompton Plains, NJ, USA

problem #287

Jan 072009

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 90,412 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Ford Taurus. While proceeding to reverse the vehicle, the coil spring failed and punctured the tire. The failure occurred without warning and the vehicle was towed to a local repair shop. The mechanic confirmed the coil spring failure. The failure and current mileages were 90,412. Updated 3/19/09 updated 03/23/09

- Pataskala, OH, USA

problem #286

Dec 252008

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 95,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Ford Taurus. The contact stated that the front suspension coil springs exploded and punctured the tire. The coil spring was wrapped around the axle as well. The vehicle was towed to an auto body shop and was repaired at the cost of $690 by the contact. Through research, he discovered NHTSA action number EA08018, open investigation for 2002/2003, for the same spring failure. The failure and current mileages were 95,000. Updated 02-18-09 the rear coil spring failed as well. Updated 02/17/09.

- Waterford, MI, USA

problem #285

Dec 302008

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 37,800 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Ford Taurus. While driving various speeds, the contact heard a noise and the tires flattened. He replaced the tire with a spare, but it also went flat. The vehicle was towed to a repair center and the mechanic stated that the coil spring on the passenger side failed and punctured the tires. The dealer stated that there were no recalls; therefore, the contact would have to pay for the repair. The repair would cost $672.83, but the contact wants reimbursement from the manufacturer. The failure mileage was 37,800. Updated 01-26-09

- Upton, MA, USA

problem #284

Dec 302008

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 53,156 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Ford Taurus. While proceeding to reverse the vehicle, the coil spring failed and punctured the tire. The failure occurred without warning. The vehicle was towed to a local repair shop and they confirmed the coil spring failure. The vehicle was repaired at the cost of $271. The contact is in the process of notifying the manufacturer. The failure mileage was 53,156 and current mileage was 53,200. Updated 02/05/09 updated 02/06/09.

- Wauseon, OH, USA

problem #283

Dec 242008

Taurus

  • 73,000 miles
2002 Ford Taurus right front spring broke and punctured tire as I was driving.

- Cheshire, CT, USA

problem #282

Dec 202008

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 88,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Ford Taurus. While driving approximately 30 mph, the driver felt as if the front passenger side tire was flat. The vehicle was pulled over to the side of the road and he noticed that the tire was flat. The driver was going to replace the tire with a spare when he noticed a hole on the inner sidewall of the tire, which was due to the front coil spring failing. The vehicle was driven to the dealer and they confirmed that the front coil spring failed. The mechanic also stated that both rear coil springs were cracked and should be replaced. The vehicle was towed to a local repair shop and repaired. The manufacturer has been notified. The current and failure mileages were 88,000. Updated 020209 updated 02/03/09.

- Fort Jennings, OH, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?