Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: Most people need a car where the coil springs don't puncture or shred tires while driving. The Taurus fails in that respect.

The 1999-2003 Ford Taurus has a huge problem with coil springs breaking, which can puncture or even shred tires while driving.

The US government spent THREE YEARS (2008-2011) investigating the 2002-2003 Taurus coil springs. Although Taurus/Sable from earlier years were recalled, ultimately the NHTSA did not force a recall. They determined that because there had been no deaths & very few bad crashes & injuries, the broken coil springs defect was no big deal & not a safety defect. Tell that to all the owners who had close calls...

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
73,204 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Ford Taurus suspension problems

suspension problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Ford Taurus:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Ford Taurus Owner Comments (Page 7 of 21)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #281

Dec 162008

Taurus

  • 8,024 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Broken coil on front passengers side ripped open the tire.

- Cheektowaga, NY, USA

problem #280

Dec 142008

Taurus

  • 104,000 miles
My wife was backing the car out of the garage and the front drivers side tire popped. After removing the tire I noticed the coil spring had broken and went into the tire. We called two Ford dealerships and they told us this was not covered or under recall. We had the car towed and new coil springs and a new tire put on at our expense. I did a search on line and this has been a problem on earlier Ford Taurus with a recall on 1999-2001 models.

- Penn Yan, NY, USA

problem #279

Dec 132008

Taurus

  • 72,000 miles
Front right spring snapped on my 2002 Ford Taurus while backing out of the driveway. Blew a hole in the tire as well.

- Wheaton, IL, USA

problem #278

Dec 102008

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 160,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2002 Ford Taurus. During take off, the front passenger side coil spring failed and punctured the tire. The vehicle was towed to a local repair shop and they confirmed the failure. The vehicle was repaired at the cost of $552.91. The manufacturer stated that no compensation would be made because the vehicle was not included in a recall. The failure mileage was 160,000 and current mileage was 161,000. Updated 4/16/09 updated 04/20/09.

- Newaygo, MI, USA

problem #277

Dec 102008

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 102,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Ford Taurus. The contact noticed that the coil spring punctured the driver's side tire when it failed. The only recalls that applied to the failure were for the 1999-2001 models. The vehicle has not been repaired. The failure and current mileages were 102,000. Updated 1/8/09 the consumer reapired the problem at his expense. Updated 01/14/09.

- Cicero, NY, USA

problem #276

Dec 042008

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 113,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Ford Taurus. While placing the vehicle into reverse, the contact heard a loud popping sound coming from the front passenger side. She noticed that the tire was flat and a spring was visible where the tire was punctured. The failure was caused by the coil spring failing. The vehicle was towed to a local repair shop and the contact is waiting for an estimate of the repair cost. She is in the process on notifying the manufacturer. The failure mileage was 113,000. Updated 12/30/08 updated 12/30/08.

- Goodrich, MI, USA

problem #275

Sep 202008

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 45,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2002 Ford Taurus. While idling, the front driver's side coil spring fractured and punctured the front tire. The manufacturer stated that his VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign id number 04V332000 (suspension:front:springs:coil springs), although the failures were identical. The contact would be responsible for the repair costs exceeding $600. He is in the process of having the vehicle repaired. The failure and current mileages were 45,000. Updated 12/16/08 updated 12/18/08.

- Summit, IL, USA

problem #274

Nov 152007

Taurus

  • 73,000 miles
The left front coil spring broke while backing out of my driveway. The coil spring punctured the tire. Upon inspection the right coil spring needed to be replaced also. Went to taylor Ford to get reimbursed and was informed that the prior year Taurus was covered in a recall not my 2002.

- Taylor, MI, USA

problem #273

Jul 292008

Taurus

  • 82,350 miles
2002 Taurus ses - front coil spring broke while parked at work.

- Glenwood, MN, USA

problem #272

Feb 052008

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 70,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Ford Taurus. The contact backed approximately ten feet out of her parking garage, and the coil spring failed and ripped the front driver's side tire. The vehicle had to be towed to the dealer and they replaced the front coil spring, struts, and front driver's side tire. In addition, the vehicle was aligned. The repair costs were $1,300. The failure mileage was 70,000. Updated 09/10/08 the cam shaft position sensor was replaced. Updated 09/16/08.

- Royal Oak, MI, USA

problem #271

Jun 122008

Taurus

  • 67,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2002 Ford Taurus. In approximately December of 2007, the contact had to replace the front driver's side tire and spring. On June 12, 2008, he took the vehicle to a repair shop for routine maintenance and was informed that both rear springs failed. The cost for both failures was over $1,000. The manufacturer was notified and stated that the recall did not include the 2002 Ford Taurus. The vehicle was out of warranty and was not taken to a Ford dealer for repair. The dealer would not provide any assistance. The recall number was unknown. The failure mileage was 67,000.

- West Decatur, PA, USA

problem #270

Jun 182008

Taurus

  • 92,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Ford Taurus. When the contact attempted to pull out of his driveway, he heard the front driver's side tire deflate. He attempted to change the tire and noticed that the coil spring failed and punctured the tire. He did not notice any differences in the vehicle prior to the failure. The vehicle has not been diagnosed by the dealer. The current and failure mileages were 92,000.

- Capac, MI, USA

problem #269

Jun 072008

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 52,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Ford Taurus. While attempting to pull out of a parking lot, the front driver's side tire suddenly flattened. The contact examined the vehicle and noticed that the front coil spring punctured the tire. There were no warning indicators prior to the failure. The vehicle has been diagnosed by the dealer. The current and failure mileages were 52,000. Updated 02/02/09. Updated 02/03/09.

- Saint Francias, WI, USA

problem #268

May 252008

Taurus

  • 75,633 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Ford Taurus. When the contact attempted to drive her vehicle, she noticed that the front driver side tire was flat. She attempted to replace the tire and discovered that the front coil spring punctured a hole in the tire. The contact did not notice any differences in the vehicle prior to the failure. The vehicle has been diagnosed by the dealer. The current and failure mileages were 75,633.

- Manitowish Waters, WI, USA

problem #267

May 012007

Taurus

  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Ford Taurus. While driving no more than 25 mph, the contact smelled burning rubber and then heard a tire pop. He pulled off the road and had the vehicle towed. The mechanic informed him that the front driver side coil springs failed and punctured the tire. The coil springs were repaired. The failure recurred one year later with the front passenger side coil springs. He called Ford and was informed of a recall on his make and model vehicle; however, his VIN and year were not included. The failure mileage was 100,000 and current mileage was 121,000.

- Thornhurt, PA, USA

problem #266

May 152008

Taurus 6-cyl

  • 113,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Ford Taurus. When the contact entered the vehicle, she heard a spring snap. She exited the vehicle to inspect it, but saw nothing unusual. She re-entered the vehicle and began backing out of the driveway (approximately six inches) and the front driver side tire blew out, followed by a cloud of smoke around the blowout area. The vehicle was towed to a mechanic. She heard about NHTSA campaign id number 04V332000 (suspension:front:springs:coil springs), but it only applied to the 1999-2001 models. The contact spoke with the Ford dealer and they stated that there were no recalls for her vehicle. The following day, the mechanic went to pull the vehicle into the shop from the towing position and the other front coil spring failed and punctured the front passenger side tire. The current and failure mileages were 113,000. Updated 09/16/08 updated 09/24/08. 8jb

- Novi, MI, USA

problem #265

Mar 122008

Taurus

  • 55,695 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Ford Taurus. While driving in reverse at an unknown speed, the front coil springs failed and punctured the front driver side tire. The failure caused the wheels to lock. The dealer stated that the VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign id number 04V332000 (suspension:front:springs:coil springs); therefore, the contact would be responsible for the repair costs. The front coil springs and the tire were replaced at the cost of $288.15. The failure and current mileages were 55,695.

- Pierpont, OH, USA

problem #264

Apr 292008

Taurus 6-cyl

  • 91,375 miles
2002 Ford Taurus with coil spring failure. Consumer states that she heard a loud bang and noticed that the coil spring destroyed the left front tire.

- Black Creek, WI, USA

problem #263

May 112008

Taurus 6-cyl

  • 116,000 miles
Within one month, two brother-in-laws and I have had our 2002 Taurus front springs break causing a flat tire and extensive linkage repairs. There is NHTSA campaign #04V332000, but it only goes to model year 2001. Ford should extend this recall to what every year they used this design! a search of the internet finds many 2002 complaints...

- Canton, MI, USA

problem #262

May 052008

Taurus

  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Ford Taurus. While driving approximately 3 mph, the front passenger side coil spring failed and punctured the tire. The vehicle dropped completely to the ground. The contact placed a spare tire on the vehicle in order to drive home. He is in the process of having the vehicle repaired. He filed a formal complaint with the manufacturer. The failure and current mileages were 100,000.

- Carleton, MI, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?