Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: Most people need a car that shifts gears & coil springs that don't shred tires. The Taurus fails in that respect.

The 2003 Ford Taurus has major issues with the transmission failing. Typically the 2003 Taurus transmission failure costs $2,000 to fix by about 90k-100k miles. Not good.

Adding insult to injury, the 1999-2003 Taurus also has a huge problem with coil springs breaking which can puncture or even shred tires while driving.

The US government spent THREE YEARS (2008-2011) investigating the 2002-2003 Taurus coil springs. Although Taurus/Sable from earlier years were recalled, ultimately the NHTSA did not force a recall. They determined that because there had been no deaths & very few bad crashes & injuries, the broken coil springs defect was no big deal & not a safety defect. Tell that to all the owners who had close calls...

2.5

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
59,167 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2003 Ford Taurus transmission problems

transmission problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2003 Ford Taurus:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2003 Ford Taurus Owner Comments

problem #12

Aug 152016

Taurus

  • 76,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2003 Ford Taurus. While driving approximately 60 mph, the speed suddenly declined when the accelerator pedal was depressed. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic who diagnosed that the torque converter was faulty and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 76,000.

- Holly, NY, USA

problem #11

Aug 102016

Taurus

  • 53,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Ford Taurus. While driving 20 mph, the transmission failed without warning. The vehicle felt as if it were in neutral. The accelerator pedal was depressed, but the vehicle failed to respond. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic to be diagnosed. The contact was informed that the torque converter in the transmission failed and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 53,000.

- Penn Yan, NY, USA

problem #10

Sep 082015

Taurus

  • 90,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Ford Taurus. While driving at 30 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic where it was diagnosed that the torque converter failed and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 90,000.

- Tabor City, NC, USA

problem #9

Jul 052013

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2003 Ford Taurus. Consumer writes in regards to transmission problems. Consumer sent additional correspondence. The consumer stated the vehicle stopped forward movement, in the middle of the highway, and it felt as though the vehicle was in neutral. The engine continued to idle, and the vehicle had to be towed. The consumer stated the torque converter was defective. Updated 11/20/13

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #8

Mar 022013

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 38,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Ford Taurus. The contact stated that while driving approximately 70 mph, the transmission suddenly failed to operate. The vehicle was maneuvered to the side of the road and then towed to the contact's residence. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the problem and was unable to provide assistance. The approximate failure mileage was 38,000....updated 05/29/13 the consumer stated the torque converter was replaced. Updated 06/04/2013

- North Port, FL, USA

problem #7

Dec 262012

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Ford Taurus. The contact stated that the driver was traveling approximately 30 mph when the vehicle stalled without warning. The contact was able to coast to the road shoulder where the vehicle was towed to the contact's residence. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer to have a diagnostic or repairs performed. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure and current mileage was 100,000. Updated 01/29/13 the consumer stated the vehicle was repaired. The torque converter failed. Updated 1/30/2013

- Anderson , SC, USA

problem #6

Sep 292011

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 78,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2003 Ford Taurus. The contact was driving 20 mph when the vehicle became resistant to acceleration attempts. The vehicle was towed to an automotive shop where it was diagnosed that the torque converter failed. The vehicle was repaired with a new torque converter and input shaft. The failure mileage was 78,000 and the current mileage was 85,000. Updated 03/28/12 updated 04/09/12

- Prairie Duchien, WI, USA

problem #5

Jan 092012

Taurus 6-cyl

  • 38,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Ford Taurus. The contact was driving 30 mph when the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle was towed to the dealer to have a diagnostic performed but the vehicle was not repaired. The failure and the current mileage was 38,000. Updated 02/09/12 the consumer stated when he pulled onto a street, the vehicle lost all its gears. The torque converter had to be replaced. Updated 02/28/12

- Canton , OH, USA

problem #4

Sep 132011

Taurus

  • 117,000 miles
I stopped at a signal light waiting to make a left hand turn. The light turned green so I pushed the accelerator and thankfully just cleared the busy intersection. I was in the outside lane of traffic and the car just stopped. I drifted to the curb. The motor still running. Put the car in park and then in gear. Pressed the gas. Nothing happened. I could tell by the sound the car was not going into gear. I turned the engine off then restarted the car. Put into gear, pressed gas nothing happened. It just sat there. I had no problems or prior symptoms with this car. No warning signs! this problem could result in some very serious accidents. After talking to a local mechanic he told me that the problem I had was a very common problem with the Ford Taurus esp. The 2003 model. He had replaced several torque converters on Ford Taurus' lately.

- Lebanon, VA, USA

problem #3

Aug 032010

Taurus

  • 61,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Ford Taurus. While merging onto the highway at 70 mph, the speedometer began rapidly decreasing. The vehicle stalled. The vehicle was towed to the contacts place of residence. The vehicle was inspected by the an independent mechanic who advised that the torque converter was defective. The manufacturer advised the contact that the vehicle was not under recall and did not provide any further assistance. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileages were 61,000.

- Milan, MI, USA

problem #2

Jul 292008

(reported on)

Taurus

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
2003 Ford Taurus has a bad torque converter and transmission. Consumer states that the transmission and torque converter needs to be replace and the vehicle has less than 60,000 miles on it but Ford will not do anything about it.

- Syracuse, NY, USA

problem #1

Jul 092007

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 59,000 miles
While driving at 65 mph in busy early am traffic I heard a noise & the car was losing speed. I pushed on accelerator it would not move. Barely got off to the side. The car did not work in any gear. Only 59000 miles and had been serviced regularly. No abuse. Towed to Ford dealership in fort mill, SC. Told me the car was not under warranty and torque converter was bad plus transmission was likely damaged.have to rebuild whole transmission. Called Ford motor customer service & asked for some help since the mileage was so low & the car not paid for. After 2 days said nothing they would do. The bill was $3500 plus $250 diagnostic and $80 towing. I am single, had 2 more years to pay on the car. I was just about to let the bank fight it out with Ford. I called amoco and they T will fix for approximately. $1650. So I am having it repaired. Ford had transmission problems in the cars and trucks for more than a decade. Many circulated on the internet with transmission stories. I will never buy another Ford. Could not believe they wouldn't at least pay for parts. I am going to file complaints against Ford everywhere I could. I was going to the local tv station and tell my story. Plus I will never miss a day telling everyone I meet or talk with folks countrywide at my job about this experience, and Ford lack of concern. I could have been killed. It would have been better for Ford to have helped with the cost, than have me as their worst advisory. I will never quit telling my story. I will make a big impact in their already sagging sales. It will take me years to pay this off & could happen again with this transmission type. If Ford wants to retain their honor& stop my telling the story, then they can do the honorable thing & help with their mess. I can cost them a lot more than a couple of thousand dollars.

- Mcconnells, SC, USA

Not what you are looking for?