Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
7 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
86,124 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Ford Taurus engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Ford Taurus:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Ford Taurus Owner Comments (Page 6 of 8)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #55

Mar 152012

Taurus 6-cyl

  • 106,000 miles


Exited the interstate after using cruise control. Approximately 20-25 miles after exiting I applied pressure to the brakes to slow down due to traffic. RPM revved up and car seemed to be fighting me - it wanted to go faster but I wanted to slow down. I was approximately 5 miles from my home and basically was applying pressure to the brakes off and on. I stopped in a school zone for bus traffic and almost could not get stopped. Then when releasing the brake the car jumped up in speed and was hard to control. I did eventually make it to my home and turned into my drive at a very high speed. I did get stopped, placed car in park but engine still revved very very loudly. I turned the car off. A mechanic showed me a hose that had come loose and he put it back on. I only drove car approximately 5-6 mile trips for the next few days. Again on 3-21-2012 while attempting to visit someone 1.5 hours away the same thing occurred again. I stopped at the nearest gas station and felt like the car was going to jump through the wall. It was very scary and I looked under the hood to find the hose had popped off again. I did get it back on after a few minutes and abandoned trip and drove home. Before reaching home repeat of the incident. My significant other called the Ford dealer where the vehicle was purchased and the response was I could bring it for a service call and fee but they could not offer any fix for this problem. My significant other also asked about the safety of driving the vehicle and their response was they had a wrecker service. I really don't know what to do from here, please advise. I work for the state public health department system and could possibly travel at any given time. I read the recent articles and the pictures are exactly what was shown under the hood of my care. Thank you.

- Warsaw, KY, USA

problem #54

Aug 012011


  • 120,000 miles
While traveling on the interstate, the vehicle began to accelerate even while the brake was applied. We were traveling about 80mph while the brake was being applied. At the next exit, I pulled off to the side of the road but it was extremely difficult to get my car to stop as the RPM were increasing as the vehicle was still attempting to accelerate. The vehicle was put in park and the ignition was shut off. After about 5 min, the vehicle was restarted and seemed to be fine. As soon as the accelerated was pressed again however, the same thing happened again. It was then towed to a Ford dealer where the accelerator cable was replaced.

- Cincinnati, OH, USA

problem #53

Feb 272012

Taurus 6-cyl

  • 65,000 miles
While driving, the accelerator became stuck which almost caused an accident. It has occurred numerous times since the first date plus it has occurred at different speeds. I have been able to deal with it, by placing the auto in neutral and hitting the gas pedal a few times which causes the RPM's to decrease to normal. I don't know which auto component is causing this problem, but I recently read in the paper that it might be a faulty cruise control cable.

- Wheaton, IL, USA

problem #52

Mar 012012


  • miles


2006 Ford Taurus. Consumer states idle, acceleration issues and problem with seat belt the consumer stated after many repairs, the mechanics were not able to confirm the cause of the problem. The consumer also stated the seat belt tensioners locked up which made the seat belts inoperable.

- Washington, DC, USA

problem #51

Mar 022011

Taurus 6-cyl

  • 65,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Ford Taurus. While driving approximately 15 mph, the vehicle increased acceleration and proceeded through an intersection haphazardly. The vehicle eventually reduced speed after applying the brake pedal forcefully numerous times. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic who was unable to duplicate the problem. The failure occurred several times. Also, on a separate occasion when driving with the cruise control activated, the cruise control suddenly became inoperative. After the cruise control malfunction the unintended acceleration no longer persisted. There was currently an open investigation associated with NHTSA action number PE12005 (vehicle speed control:cables). The manufacturer was not notified of the problem. The failure mileage was 65,000. Updated 04/26/12 updated 04/30/12

- Bedford, IN, USA

problem #50

Nov 152011

Taurus 6-cyl

  • 130,953 miles
While driving, the gas pedal sticks, I try to put on the brakes the car just keeps going until I press the brakes hard. I press the pedal real sharp and it may idle down.

- Louisville, KY, USA

problem #49

Mar 162010


  • 34,000 miles


The contact owns a 2006 Ford Taurus. The contact stated that the accelerator pedal would intermittently become stuck while driving at 30 mph or higher. The failure occurred over a period of a year and a half. There would be a high rate of engine rpms and the vehicle would continue to accelerate when the brakes were applied. The contact had to apply repeated pressure to the brake pedal to stop the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic and they were unable to diagnose the failure. The manufacturer was notified and offered no assistance. The failure mileage was approximately 34,000.

- Westley Chapel, FL, USA

problem #48

Jun 222011

Taurus 6-cyl

  • 91,000 miles
When driving, the vehicle would not decelerate when pressure was taken off the accelerator pedal. This typically occurred around 55 mph. It felt as if the cruise control was on, but it was not. When the vehicle would not decelerate on its own, I would apply the brake to come to a complete stop. When I would stop, the engine was remain at approximately 2,000 rpms. This problem was intermittently, but did occur approximate 10 times over the course of a week (until the problem was corrected at a mechanic shop). Furthermore, the cruise control no longer worked. A certified mechanic found that the wire had broken/detached within the cruise control/throttle assembly. This wire was the reason why the cruise control no longer worked and why the throttle was getting "stuck." The entire cruise control assembly had to be replaced. This fixed the problem.

- Farmington, MN, USA

problem #47

Mar 082012

Taurus 6-cyl

  • 77,285 miles
Many times while driving only (not parked with motor running), the accelerator becomes stuck/jammed and must be tapped several times to unstick what seems to be a ghost-driven pedal. The vehicle will sometimes unstick while moving, but I have been scared to the point of stopping the vehicle since it won't unstick and put it into park and hit the gas again. This does unstick the gas pedal.

- Fredericksburg, VA, USA

problem #46

Jun 172011

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 126,981 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Ford Taurus. The contact stated that while driving 55 mph, the vehicle continued to accelerate, although the accelerator pedal was not depressed. The contact stated that he was able to maintain control of the vehicle by shifting to neutral and engaging the brakes. The vehicle was taken to a dealer, who diagnosed that the throttle cable was fractured and the throttle body and cable assembly needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was repaired. The failure mileage was 126,981 and the current mileage was 150,000...updated 04/16/12 according to the repair invoice, the cable was broken. The dealer replaced the cable and throttle body. Updated 05/17/12

- Woodland, CA, USA

problem #45

Mar 142010


  • 80,000 miles


The contact owns a 2006 Ford Taurus. The contact stated that while driving approximately 60 mph, the accelerator pedal became jammed and caused the vehicle to abnormally accelerate. The contact attempted to decelerate but the vehicle would not stop. The contact had to shift into neutral and restart the vehicle. Once started, the engine would race and the RPM's would increase excessively. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where they advised the contact that the cruise control cable needed to be disconnected. The vehicle was disconnected repaired. The manufacturer was contacted and they offered no assistance. The failure mileage was approximately 80,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Sylva , NC, USA

problem #44

Jul 152011

Taurus 6-cyl

  • 72,000 miles
Regarding action #PE12005.sudden acceleration, my 2006 Ford Taurus had several instances of acceleration, beginning July 14 & 15th 2011, and ending approximately September 2011...I know the beginning dates are accurate, because one of these dates is a family birthday, and it happened first on that birthday.. this usually happened when I was decelerating, such as at stop required hard, heavy pressure on the brakes to keep the vehicle stopped until I could pull over and put the car in neutral I would guess the number of instances to be 6-8 times this somehow seemed related to my cruise cruise stopped working on June 14 2011, then the incidents of acceleration started almost immediately..I was usually driving a daily stretch of road at 45 mph when the instances of acceleration occurred. When the accelerations happened, I pulled over to the side of the road, riding the brakes hard until I was slowed, then I slipped the transmission in neutral and would depress the accelerator pedal fast and release..this usually caused the acceleration to stop...occasionally I had to shut the engine off to get this to cease.. after several weeks, this all stopped, and has not happened again in several cruise control no longer works..

- Bowling Green, KY, USA

problem #43

Mar 082009

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 130,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Ford Taurus. The contact stated that while driving approximately 60 mph and approaching an off ramp, the vehicle could not be stopped. After depressing the brakes to no avail, the contact turned the ignition off. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic where they advised her that the cruise control cable could have been the cause of the failure. The cruise control cable was disconnected. The manufacturer was not contacted. The failure mileage was approximately 130,000. Updated 6/4/12

- Lincoln, CA, USA

problem #42

Sep 022011

Taurus 6-cyl

  • 75,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Ford Taurus. The contact stated that the throttle stuck and he crashed into a ditch as a result. The contact suffered injuries during the crash. The vehicle was repaired, but was not examined to determine the cause of failure. The contact stated that the vehicle surged forward and would not stop prior to the crash. The failure mileage was 75,000 and the current mileage was 80,000. Updated 05/09/12 the contact's wife pulled up to the back door of her home and exited her vehicle. Upon reentering the vehicle a few minutes later, the vehicle reversed a few feet. Then shifting into drive and put her foot on accelerator the car immediately surged forward, resulting in the car landing in a ditch. She suffered some minor bruising of her leg. The vehicle was repaired, but not examined to determine the cause of failure. The failure mileage was approximately 75,000 and the current mileage was 80,000. Updated 06/06/12

- Sandusky, MI, USA

problem #41

Jan 102012

Taurus 6-cyl

  • 81,000 miles
On Jan. 10, 2012 I was coming to a stop at a cross walk with a follow to a stop light. It was at that time that the car accelerated so fast I had to put the brakes on, that was not going to stop the car, so I put it in neutral and hit the gas pedal with my foot, that stop the car from accelerating. I almost hit a person in the cross walk and then I would have gone in to the intersection. This was one of many incident's my self and my family, (husband, and son) had with this car. I called Ford Corp office and asked if there were any recalls on this problem of course they said no. I told them on the Ford form website, others were having the same issue. Still Ford said there was nothing they could do, that no recalls were out there. I said does someone have to die to get a recall. Still no real answer from them. So, I had to go to (3) different mechanics to figure out what was wrong. The Ford dealer in greenfield, MA disconnected my cruise control, they said that it was latching on to the throttle, that was the problem. This to me is a Ford recall issue. I plan on addressing this with the attorney general office.

- Granby, MA, USA

problem #40

Jul 272011

Taurus 6-cyl

  • 73,310 miles
I had purchased the vehicle in Nov of 2010 and the speed control issue began in July of 2011. The engine RPM would go up around 4 or 5 while coming to a stop or slowing. At times this made it hard to slow down. I would have to shift out of drive to get slowed or stopped. Noticed that the speed control did not work during this time period. I took the vehicle to my local inspection station and they fixed the problem with a zip tie. Not to sure if that would work. It did correct the problem.

- Townville, PA, USA

problem #39

May 022010


  • 68,000 miles
I was driving on the highway at approximately 80mph with the cruise control on when I decided to exit the highway to go to a gas station. At the time the light was green so I maintained speed but slowed gradually. The light turned yellow and I tried to speed up a little bit. The light quickly turned red. I slammed on the brakes hard as I possibly could but the vehicle didn't seem to slow and the engine RPM remained steady. I managed to slow the vehicle to around 35mph before having to take an evasive maneuver into a busy intersection through a red light. I struck one car and it spun me around hitting another car.

- Grandville, MI, USA

problem #38

Oct 032008

Taurus 6-cyl

  • 60,250 miles
Recurring - intermittent speed control problem from 2008 to present (3/1/12). Engine unintentionally accelerates when the vehicle is driven over a bump or depression in the road, especially when driven over a railroad track crossing. Once it starts to accelerate out of control, applying the break will only have a slight effect for as long as pressure is put on it, once I remove my foot from the break, the engine will continue to accelerate despite the fact that no pressure is being placed on the gas pedal; however hitting the gas pedal (down to the floor) several times corrects the problem. Engine also unintentionally accelerates when the break is applied abruptly. The only way to control the car once this happens is to apply intense firm pressure on the break and then quickly placing the car into park. The engine will still continue to race in the parked position; however hitting the gas pedal several times seems to correct the problem. I did previously attempt to adjust the cruise control buttons to solve the problem; however that had no effect. Floor mats where no where near either pedal. This problem has occurred more than a dozen times over the past 4 years. I did take it to the mechanic several times when it first happened, however the mechanic could not detect the problem and explained that they could not diagnose the issue unless it happened while they were inspecting it or test driving it.

- Bethpage, NY, USA

problem #37

Mar 082011

Taurus 6-cyl

  • 77,964 miles
I was sitting at a red light. I had my foot on the brake yet the car began to jump and move forward while my foot engaged the brake pedal.

- Hammond, IN, USA

problem #36

Oct 012011


  • 83,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Ford Taurus. The contact stated that while the vehicle was at a stop with the brake depressed, the vehicle continued to accelerate and lunge forward without warning. In addition, the rpms increased to 7,000 abnormally. The vehicle was shifted into neutral and returned to normal function. The failure was experienced several times. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer and the manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 83,000 and the current mileage was 89,000.

- Saint Albans , WV, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?