If you find CarComplaints.com is helpful ... We rely completely on word of mouth. Talk about us on Facebook, Twitter, tell your mother-in-law. Help us help more people.

5.7

fairly significant
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
14,935 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 GMC Acadia electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 GMC Acadia:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 GMC Acadia Owner Comments

problem #4

Mar 042009

Acadia

  • 47,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Existing ODI id number references for 2007 Acadias: 10255735, 10254149, 10248331, 10211267, 10210839, 10210533. Existing ODI id number references for 2008 Acadias: 10246694, 10243591, 10241649, 10230134, 10229896, 10212682. The above ODI id numbers signify existing complaints identifying water leaks and resulting damage in 07 & 08 GMC Acadias. GM instituted recall campaign #08207: Customer satisfaction - sunroof water leak-install drain tube extensions dated: Aug 27, 2008. Campaign was preceded by numerous tsbs linked to the same type of water leak. *** purchased certified vehicle on 3/4/09. Tsb #08027 performed prior to certification and sale. Service manager stated water was present in the rear dome lamps and headliner. Returned to dealer 3/5/09 for water in the passenger floor area. Tsb # 080857003A was performed. Prior title owned by a commercial entity and most likely never responded to these issues. Picked up vehicle on 3/6/09. Still taking in rain water. Took back to dealer on 3/9/09. Door seals replaced and returned on 3/11/09. Has not rained since this posting but concern is for electrical integrity on vehicle as water leakage was concentrated near main fuse block near kick panel and main wiring harness under passenger floor area. Mold is also a concern as dealer has not replaced carpeting or headliner but only cleaned affected area. Vehicle is used for Transport of family over long distances and an electrical failure during on road use can be catastrophic.

- Oak Lawn, IL, USA

problem #3

Nov 192007

Acadia

  • 80 miles
Turned down a road and felt something pop and then the transmission would not shift out of 2nd. Gear. Since then have had several issues with the transmission shifting to excessively. That some issues with extremely excessive shifting. Once my wife pulled out into traffic and the transmission would not shift causing a man in a truck to slid off of the road to avoid hitting her because the vehicle would not shift and go down the road. And also with the battery dying for no reason. This has happened 4 different times.

- Pardeeville, WI, USA

problem #2

Aug 182008

Acadia

  • 6,783 miles
Water leaking in into passenger area and on instrument panel body electrical centre causing fuse block to become wet and short out. All dash display went out and came back on with the "service air bag "service tire maintenance system" illuminated. Purchased car on 7/16/08 and leaking occurred approx 1 month later on 8/18/08. Have had to take car back to dealer several times. It has been at dealer 2 of the 6 weeks I have owned it. I am concerned that air bag will deploy. Have contacted GMC and they are very un-helpful.

- Onley, VA, USA

problem #1

Jan 062008

Acadia 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 5,876 miles
My complaint concerns my 2008 Acadia delivered Sept.2007. Currently with less than 5,900 miles on it. It is now in the shop for failure to start for the third time. The battery is somehow being dischanged. Other than replacing the original battery, on the first occurance, the dealer service can not seem to track down the source of the problem. They say that the charging system checks out ok. It does seem to start fine for a while, several weeks, then all of a sudden it will have a dead battery over night. Nothing is ever left on. I check that each time the garage door is closed. The headlights always go out in one minute, if on. While driving I do notice the voltmeter on numerous occassions well stay at about +15 volt charging rate. I know that it should be no higher than about +13.5 volts, and sometimes it does, but most times, not. I am concerned about a possible fire danger and being stranded somwhere. I am an aircraft a&P. my trouble shooting thoughts point to a starter shorting. I could be wrong but I would start there and prove that not to be the problem. Easiest fix first, the air force way.

- Missouri City, TX, USA

Not what you are looking for?