Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: Ahh, the ole' sophomore slump. The 2008 Acadia suffers from widespread transmission failure around 75,000 miles.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
81,451 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 GMC Acadia engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 GMC Acadia:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 GMC Acadia Owner Comments (Page 3 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #31

Apr 212014

Acadia

  • 63,458 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I just had the clutch wave plate break into pieces inside my transmission causing us to almost get into an accident as my kids and I were getting on the freeway. We lost our gears and had to be towed. I looked up the issue and it sounds like this is a more than common issue with the Acadia at this mileage. If this is such a well-known issue why does GM not fix this issue?

- Mead, WA, USA

problem #30

Apr 182014

Acadia

  • 97,940 miles
The contact owns a 2008 GMC Acadia. The contact stated that upon inspection, it was found that the timing chain had worn prematurely. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was found that the timing chain needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was contacted about the failure and informed the contact that the vehicle was not included in the manufacturer's recall. The vehicle was repaired. The failure mileage was 97,940.

- Blair, NE, USA

problem #29

Apr 012014

Acadia 6-cyl

  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 GMC Acadia. The contact stated that while traveling approximately 60 mph, the vehicle suddenly failed to respond to acceleration attempts. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who stated that the transmission needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not contacted about the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 60,000. Also, the check engine light illuminated. Updated 06.19.14

- Brandon, FL, USA

problem #28

Mar 192014

Acadia 6-cyl

  • 83,858 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My 2008 GMC Acadia gave me the scare of my life. I purchased my vehicle just last month and was very proud, I have been dreaming of this car for a while. However while traveling to my sons track meet my Acadia started jerking as if it was not getting any gas and the engine started making a loud humming or buzzing noises on farm market 521. The car slowed down to about 25 miles. Despite my continuing to press the gas pedal. I ended up jerking my way onward with my hazards on. I had cars screeching and flying around me. My kids and I are a nervous wreck. The 521 does not have a shoulder to pull off on. Miles later varying speeds as low as 15 and up to 35 mph I found a gas station (thank god) & pulled over. I powered down waited a few minutes then restarted the car. It started normally but I noticed I could not go into reverse while trying to leave the parking lot. I made my way forward all seemed well but 3-4 minutes into driving on 521 the same thing happened and now my check engine light is on. I started to panic I'm not familiar with the area. This is my first time here & the 521 is the only major road on my gps. I put-putted along and finally made it to the track meet in the middle of nowhere. Called my husband to come and check the car. After his look around he thinks my transmission is going out. He took the children in the Suburban while I drove slowly ahead. Then I get a new message - engine hot idle something - I freak out and pull off as soon as I could. He ended up towing me home. I am one week past the 30 day warranty this sucks. I really love my Acadia & am very possessive of her, no one else can drive her, I don't want my kids to touch her. I take excellent care of her, she is clean, driven with love, but just don't understand what happened. I'm scheduling to take her to the shop in the morning, husbands mad but I'm hoping this can be resolved quickly.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #27

Jan 102011

Acadia

  • 75,000 miles
Transmission originally started skipping around 75,900 miles. At 100,000 miles started system alert of " transmission running hot, idle to cool down". transmission serviced on 11/11/13. Transmission drained and refilled by GMC dealer in el paso, tx. Ran ok until 2/06/14. In GMC repair shop in richmond, ca. Transmission completely failed! $4000 repair.

- Hercules, CA, USA

problem #26

Jan 302014

Acadia

  • 108,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 GMC Acadia. The contact stated that after the ignition was turned off and the key removed the vehicle remained on for five minutes. The failure was not diagnosed nor was the vehicle repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 108,000.

- 32340, FL, USA

problem #25

Jun 262013

Acadia

  • 125,503 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have experienced multiple issues with my 2008 GMC Acadia my first problem was with the transmission having to be replaced. Which just barely was covered under the warranty I had after buying the vehicle used since that first incident I have had continual problems. My engine will stay running after the key is turned to the off position and the key is removed from the ignition the car continues to stay running the engine does that is all other lights go off no radio or ac stay on. I have had it in the shop different times no one can correctly diagnose and fix the issue. I am now watching the tow truck hook my car up to be taken to the GMC dealer which is going to cost more than I am sure I can afford to pay as a single mother trying to make ends meet. So besides the engine running with no key in it. It also kills the battery drains it when it sits. I have also had issues with the wiring harnesses to the head lights melting to the back if the bulbs having to be replaced costing over $200. There has to be some kind of electrical issue with this car there seem to be many people on here with similar issues with transmission and odd issues. Please help I can't afford this car and the continual issues.

- Leesburg, GA, USA

problem #24

Dec 182013

Acadia

  • 92,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 GMC Acadia. The contact stated that while traveling various speeds, the vehicle failed to accelerate over 20 mph. The stabilitrac and several other warning lights illuminated. Additionally, the vehicle shook violently. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the failure could not be diagnosed. The manufacturer was not contacted about the failure. The failure mileage was 92,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Mivland, TX, USA

problem #23

Dec 202013

Acadia

  • 80,000 miles
Approximately 80000 miles on a 2008 Acadia, the engine starts ticking. Bring it in to the dealer, they change the oil, check to see if it still ticks, yes it does. Tell us that we need a new engine, $7000 parts, labor and new warranty. I find it hard to believe that an '08 with 80000 miles and just 6 months past original warranty requires a new engine. Please explain?

- Rosemount, MN, USA

problem #22

Nov 202013

Acadia 6-cyl

  • 74,000 miles
I was merging onto highway when the RPM's on my vehicle went to 5 (or above) and the vehicle lurched into gear. After that happened, the vehicle would not go above 45mphs. Every time the vehicle would need to change gears after this the rpms would climb before changing gears. The vehicle was taken to the dealership and I was advised it was the transmission.

- Levittown, PA, USA

problem #21

Jul 012010

Acadia 6-cyl

  • 70,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On the freeway, power went out. Car was towed. Transmission was out and was replaced.

- Hayward, CA, USA

problem #20

Nov 112013

Acadia 6-cyl

  • 67,358 miles
I was driving on a major highway. The car would not change gears to accelerate. When I got home the car would barely move when I tried to back into my driveway. The engine revved as if the car was in neutral. This transmission failure could have caused a serious or fatal accident, as the speed limit was 55 and I had no warning that the car would not accelerate when expected.

- Coatesville, PA, USA

problem #19

Oct 262013

Acadia

  • 78,500 miles
Wave plate transmission failure 2 months after purchase and 5 months after warranty. So disgusted!!!

- Pipestone, MN, USA

problem #18

Sep 232003

Acadia 6-cyl

  • 93,000 miles
GMC Acadia, catastrophic engine failure, and steering system. 23 Sept 2013, while driving my GMC Acadia, and the vehicle shut off after a loud nose came from the engine, Tuesday 24, 2013, SUV towed to private repair shop. After attempting to start the vehicle and checking the SUV out, I was told that they would not go further because they believe the vehicle needs a new engine, I call GMC and talked with [xxx] a problem specialist, arrangements for vehicle to be check out at ?hennessey GMC. Poc, [xxx], I have met with before in regards to a recall, and told him on multiple occasions that I heard some sounds coming from the engine, I was told they did not hear anything. 25 Sept 2013 SUV left at shop, [xxx]would call me that day. I didn't hear from him, 1 Oct 2013 I stop by hennessey, on the SUV's problem, spoke to [xxx], I stated that I been waiting for his call, they were still checking it out, but GMC only paying for one hour, to open up the engine, it may cost $500 to $ 600 dollars. I can not afford to purchase another vehicle. Army motor sergeant/ master mechanic, responsible for (aoap), army oil analysts program, this uses labs that analyze the oil pull from "engines, transmissions, of vehicles such as GMC, Ford, Chrysler, and other manufactures. 3,000 miles or bi-annually vehicles I.e. hummve. The military learn decades ago that vehicle manufactures will delivery vehicles with defected parts, such as engines, transmissions, that can be out of tolerance. The army started pulling oil samples, and sending them to the labs for test, for water, metal, and any other foreign matter, this help to identify issues in the engine before the "warranties expired. So the suggested failure that manufactures placed on vehicles that covered their bottom line. $2,000 credit to purchase a new vehicle from them is a insult, I have this in writing. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Jonesboro, GA, USA

problem #17

Oct 182013

Acadia 6-cyl

  • 70,000 miles
Transmission failure - wave plate broken forcing vehicle to be stuck in one gear and fail in reverse, 3rd and 4th gears. Automatic transmission slips in reverse, 3rd and 4th. Multiple owners report same issues and recall is needed by GM on the Acadia transmission.

- El Segundo, CA, USA

problem #16

Oct 012013

Acadia 6-cyl

  • 42,315 miles
2008 GMC Acadia slt-2 with 42,300 miles; not yet 6 years old. "service stability control" and "service traction control" warnings received periodically. This week, transmission started to shift unevenly; not correctly upshifting/downshifting while driving at 30mph. Car now only operates in 1st gear. No higher gears, no reverse.....engine just revs. Car has complete service rec no longer safely drivable. Appears to be part of the known waveplate issue. Why no recall with the great number of similar Acadias with the same problem over and over? thanks for your attention.

- Bellmore, NY, USA

problem #15

Aug 102013

Acadia

  • 83,400 miles
Vehicle experiencing bad transmission problems when shifting between 3rd and 5th gears. As accelerating, the vehicle begins to shift, but begins to idle and RPM's rise extremely high. Vehicle begins to slow down and finally jerks into the next gear causing rapid acceleration. This issue almost caused me to run into a car in front of me after pulling off from a stoplight. It is extremely scary to continue to drive the car, but with this being my only vehicle and I must work, I am forced to drive daily. Warranty just expired 5 months ago in March and I cannot afford to fix the problem (March 24, 2013, 5 year/100,000 mi. Powertrain). Vehicle was purchased March 24, 2008.

- Upper Marlboro, MD, USA

problem #14

Jun 012009

Acadia

  • 33,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 GMC Acadia. The contact stated that the air bag, the stability control, and traction control warning lights failed along with the daytime running lights failed. The contact also stated that the engine overheated and the power steering also failed. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the light bulb was replaced but the failure recurred. The dealer was also unable to diagnose the other failures. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 33,000 and the current mileage was 112,000.

- Livingston , CA, USA

problem #13

May 262013

Acadia 6-cyl

  • 53,000 miles
Had to wait to give my daughter a ride. Sat in the pouring rain for about 40 minutes. Put the car in drive and began to pull forward and water poured down the windshield from the inside. Water also came in from the front left curtain airbag and the visor arm. Engine began to idle rough. Anti-lock brakes grab on low speed slow down. Our area of Texas is drought prone so no more significant rain until July 14-16. Water pours in the front windshield, both driver and passenger side. Water from curtain airbags and under the dash. Standing water in the floor board. Obd light is on and my parking break warning light turns on and off. Park assist goes on and off. The warning chime comes on while driving and won't turn off. No telling how much damage all of this will cause. I have one more payment until the thing is mine free and clear. No warranty and no recourse. It figures.

- Harker Heights, TX, USA

problem #12

Jun 102013

Acadia 6-cyl

  • 125,000 miles
Transmission failure immediately followed by engine failure after the transmission was replaced.

- Mckinney, TX, USA

Read the next 11 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?