Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: Ahh, the ole' sophomore slump. The 2008 Acadia suffers from widespread transmission failure around 75,000 miles.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
6 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
61,834 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 GMC Acadia steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 GMC Acadia:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 GMC Acadia Owner Comments (Page 3 of 6)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #64

Apr 032014

Acadia

  • 120,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The transmission again is going out on it for the 3rd time. This last time there was snow on the road and when it kicks down because of the wave plate failing again this time I was going around a corner and it kicked down and made me slide off the road I was able to get out and almost hitting the guard rail

- Colorado Springs, CO, USA

problem #63

Mar 202014

Acadia

  • 78,800 miles
Three times in one day my Acadia GMC 2008, steering refused to respond correctly. Each of the tree times it refused to steer. Car on no other time has shown this problem before now. But only purchased used car three months ago. This seems to be a common problem with car that is not being handled under a recall. Steering box and power steering pump on car seem very underpowered. On the three times it happened on 3/20/2014 two where on highway driving conditions in which I was on an on ramp attempting to navigate a circle on ramp in which I almost had to stop car to prevent it from running off road do to lack of power on turn. On another I was attempting to perform a U-turn in which I almost hit a cub. U turn should have been easy do to the fact I had three lanes to perform the turn. In this case I came extremely close to curb and close to damaging car due to impact with 8 inch curb. All three events came on same trip!

- Saginaw , TX, USA

problem #62

Jan 122014

Acadia

  • 65,000 miles
Locked up making a turn going slow, pump getting noisy, just got back for water pump replace.

- Roanoke, AL, USA

problem #61

Jan 012013

Acadia 6-cyl

  • 108,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Transmission started failing and finally went out at 108,000 miles, sitting in our driveway and we had to have it towed to dealer. GM dealer replaced it under warranty but the labor cost us several thousand dollars. Now at 170,000 miles, this remanufactured transmission is now going out. It sticks in low speed and then overheats driving 65mph in 40deg weather. The dealer claims that a stretched timing chain has to be fixed first, before the transmission, at a cost of $1944. They also said the on board computer didn't store the numerous overheated transmission events that began occurring immediately after the remanufactured transmission was installed at 108,000 miles. The GM dealer is trying to tell me that the transmission is probably ok and that the overheating is due to some other reason, but he then couldn't even guess at what the other reasons might be! the fluid level is good, and the vehicle has a tow package with a cooler for the transmission fluid. GM dealer said the transmission will be covered by warranty, which will likely mean another several thousand dollar labor charge on top of the so called stretched timing chain cost of $1,900. The power steering pump has been whining for about a year and is getting loud. The navigation and dvd player system failed twice. Might be time to trade the vehicle for something more reliable. My wife is getting scared to drive it too far and end up being broken down in atlanta traffic...very dangerous.

- Milton, GA, USA

problem #60

Mar 152013

Acadia 6-cyl

  • 54,000 miles
Transmission started slipping. I would pull out onto a street and it would slip and I almost got his by a car. I took it in repeatedly to dealer and they couldn't duplicate and after repeatedly taking it back and them keeping it for a month they finally replaced the transmission. Repeated steering issues. I took it in constantly and was told nothing wrong but after looking at it myself I found melted bushing and after being told all that had been replaced already. Steering problems from day 1. 4 times of having power steering replaced and steering column and every time I got the vehicle back the vibration was worse, today I found the problem on my own. The rack and pinion has a major leak. Not sure how repeated trips to the dealership and they couldn't see this. My steering also locks up while driving almost hit a car..and the dealership never has loaners so im stuck driving an unsafe vehicle while I wait because I was told I can only go where I bought my vehicle because of the extended warranty. This vehicle goes in to the shop and as soon as it is picked up it needs to go right back the same day. Worst vehicle and most unsafe of anything I've ever owned.

- La Porte, TX, USA

problem #59

Nov 182009

Acadia

  • 15,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 GMC Acadia. The contact was driving 20 mph when the steering wheel made a grinding noise and became difficult to turn. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the steering wheel pump was replaced but the defect was not remedied. The contact took the vehicle to a second dealer and was informed that the steering column needed to be replaced. No repairs was performed. The manufacturer was contacted in reference to the defect. The VIN was not available. The failure mileage was 15,000.

- Tampa , FL, USA

problem #58

Oct 312013

Acadia 6-cyl

  • 85,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

At low speed, power steering seemed to go out while in parking lot. The steering became very difficult to manage with a loud clunking noise coming from the front end. Shutting off and back on, steering returned to normal. Took it in for service at GM dealership in evansville, in for diagnosis and response was that the power steering pump, fluid and steering rack needed to be replaced. Investigation online turned up information that this is a relatively common occurrence but GM would not do anything about it as it was outside of warranty.

- Newburgh, IN, USA

problem #57

Sep 232003

Acadia 6-cyl

  • 93,000 miles
GMC Acadia, catastrophic engine failure, and steering system. 23 Sept 2013, while driving my GMC Acadia, and the vehicle shut off after a loud nose came from the engine, Tuesday 24, 2013, SUV towed to private repair shop. After attempting to start the vehicle and checking the SUV out, I was told that they would not go further because they believe the vehicle needs a new engine, I call GMC and talked with [xxx] a problem specialist, arrangements for vehicle to be check out at ?hennessey GMC. Poc, [xxx], I have met with before in regards to a recall, and told him on multiple occasions that I heard some sounds coming from the engine, I was told they did not hear anything. 25 Sept 2013 SUV left at shop, [xxx]would call me that day. I didn't hear from him, 1 Oct 2013 I stop by hennessey, on the SUV's problem, spoke to [xxx], I stated that I been waiting for his call, they were still checking it out, but GMC only paying for one hour, to open up the engine, it may cost $500 to $ 600 dollars. I can not afford to purchase another vehicle. Army motor sergeant/ master mechanic, responsible for (aoap), army oil analysts program, this uses labs that analyze the oil pull from "engines, transmissions, of vehicles such as GMC, Ford, Chrysler, and other manufactures. 3,000 miles or bi-annually vehicles I.e. hummve. The military learn decades ago that vehicle manufactures will delivery vehicles with defected parts, such as engines, transmissions, that can be out of tolerance. The army started pulling oil samples, and sending them to the labs for test, for water, metal, and any other foreign matter, this help to identify issues in the engine before the "warranties expired. So the suggested failure that manufactures placed on vehicles that covered their bottom line. $2,000 credit to purchase a new vehicle from them is a insult, I have this in writing. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Jonesboro, GA, USA

problem #56

Sep 212013

Acadia

  • 83,000 miles
For several week I have been having power steering problems with the GMC Acadia. This particular vehicle had a "noisy" power steering since new and I brought this to the attention of the dealer on two occasions while under warranty. The serivce personal said that GMC was aware of issues but they did not have a "fix". the vehicle is extremly hard to turn a low speed as if the power steer is not functioning. My wife is not able to drive the vehicle due to the strength require to turn the wheel and I will not allow her to drive it with our children due to safety concerns. This past weekend I went off the road (over the curb) while turning into a subdivision since the steering seemed to "lock up". I have read numerous reports on the internet of the exact same problem. This is a known problem that gma is aware of but has not offer any recall or assistance to repair the power steering system. The cost of repair is nearly $2000. I feel that GMC should be required to fix this issues as it is major safety concern.

- Shawnee, KS, USA

problem #55

Jun 012012

Acadia 6-cyl

  • 77,700 miles
The contact owns a 2008 GMC Acadia. The contact stated that the steering wheel failed and became hard turn when parking or when turning at low speeds. The failure was experienced numerous times. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, who flushed the power steering lines. The failure was not corrected. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer for further inspection. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 77,700 and the current mileage was 104,000. Updated 11/19/13 the consumer stated that the wave plate and timing chain were both replaced under warranty. The steering gear box pump was not covered under warranty. Updated 12/2/2013

- Deerfield, NH, USA

problem #54

Jun 262013

Acadia

  • 73,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Power steering intermittently will not work.. pulled into parking spot and the veh started a loud screaching sound for several minutes. Again while traveling down the road the steering completely cuts out. In may of 2013 the power sterring rack was reported to me that it was leaking ( while in the dealer for transmission replacement ). the GMC dealer, serra GMC in Washington, mi., replaced the steering rack and charged us for the new rack. A few weeks later the power steering began to cut out while driving. We took veh in for service and paid for a diagnostic of the problem and we were told that they could not duplicate the power steering issue.. but said it was probrably the steering pump.in addition we were told the timing chain cover was leaking oil and the timing chain would need replacing. They got GM to pay a portion of the repair. They wanted over $700 to replace the power sterring pump but would not gaurantee that would fix the problem. This is crazy we just paid to have the steering rack replaced and a portion of the transmission replacement and now the steering pump. The veh currently has less than 79,000 miles. I really feel this is an unsafe condition that NHTSA needs to look into. My daughter ( who is 15 years old ) is currently a "learning driver" who drives this veh ( with a licensed driver in the veh) as part of her logged driving time. I'm concerned that the steering will fail while she is driving. GM would be liable for any damage and injuries if the steering fails while she is behind the wheel...

- Macomb, MI, USA

problem #53

Jul 292013

Acadia

  • miles
Problem #1 of 3: during heavy rains, water would leak in through the sun visors on both sides. Took it to the dealership several times. They said the drain tubes from the sunroof were clogged, they blew it out, when that didn't work, they charged me to put it longer tubes, when that didn't work, they said it was because they only replaced the front tubes, not the back. Problem #2 of 3: when driving through water puddles at low speed I lose power steering for a brief time (which is troublesome when turning). Problem #3 of 3: two warning lights for airbags come on everytime I start the vehicle. I can push a button each time to make the written warning go away, but the red light with a picture stays on. Not sure if the airbags would deploy or not.

- Savoy, IL, USA

problem #52

Dec 052012

Acadia 6-cyl

  • 75,000 miles
In the winter of 2012, the steering started to get more difficult while parking and backing out of spaces. It whined a bit. Service at collection auto told me to replace the position sensor. No change. The steering got worse, fluid began leaking, and I was involved in two near crashes with young children in the car. One the power steering went out upon entering a freeway ramp. It returned to normal after about 10 seconds. It then again happened, but total steering failure while turning into a shopping center across oncoming traffic. The car had to be towed. We took it back and were told that the pump and rack and pinion needed to be replaced. After a good deal of digging and speaking with several dealers other than the one that recommended the change for pump and rack and pinion, we found out that there was no need to replace the position sensor and there were several service bulletins to dealers to replace these with redesigned parts dating to 2012. It currently is at a dealer who is working with GM to fix the problem.

- Lyndhurst, OH, USA

problem #51

Aug 262011

Acadia 6-cyl

  • 71,309 miles
8/26/2011 - 71,309 miles - water pump went out and had to be replaced. 5/07/2012 - 86,885 miles - transmission shuttered when coming to a stop in traffic. Would not start and had to be towed to mechanic. Transmission assembly replaced with GM reman transmission due to broken reverse wave plate that damaged the carrier, sun shell and metal throughout. Also detected an oil leak in the engine front cover that needed to be repaired and heard power steering noise so bled power steering system. 12/31/2012- 100,947 miles - headlight switch fell inside dash panel. 7/26/2013 - 112,506 miles - power steering has never worked properly. It has always made noises and has been stiff. Had it bled several times with no improvement. Power steering went out while making a left hand turn into a busy intersection. At shop now to determine if it needs a new power steering pump, rack, and/or serpentine belt. I have read many complaints with the same issues as those that I have experienced. I am disappointed that GM isn't more concerned about the safety of their consumers and the reliability and quality of their vehicles. I have never owned such a lemon! I personally will never own another GM product. Going back to Lexus.

- North Salt Lake, UT, USA

problem #50

Jun 012009

Acadia

  • 33,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 GMC Acadia. The contact stated that the air bag, the stability control, and traction control warning lights failed along with the daytime running lights failed. The contact also stated that the engine overheated and the power steering also failed. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the light bulb was replaced but the failure recurred. The dealer was also unable to diagnose the other failures. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 33,000 and the current mileage was 112,000.

- Livingston , CA, USA

problem #49

Jul 092013

Acadia 6-cyl

  • 94,000 miles
About a week ago my family and I were driving home from vacation and had been on the road for about 3.5 hours. As we pulled out of a driveway about 5 minutes from our home the car engine light came one, the car would not gain speed like normal and it began to over heat rapidly. We took side roads and slowly crawled home. I took it into the shop the next day and it came back with a crack in the radiator and codes P0700 and P07016, which they confirmed to be a transmission issue and suggested to have a specialist look at it. I did some research and found that this are common codes that come back for the 2007 and 2008 Acadia's that require a rebuild/replaced transmission with an average cost of $4000. This is a known issue with GMC for many years and they have yet to acknowledge it. I am very lucky to not have had a worse incident in discovering this issue, but I am very concerned that at any moment the transmission will go out, and we do not have $4000 to drop into a new one, especially when I just spent $650 on a new radiator. These are not problems that a reliable car, the 2008 Acadia, under 100,000 miles should be having. GMC needs to own up to these issues and take action to correct it before something more serious happens.

- Rocklin, CA, USA

problem #48

Apr 052013

Acadia

  • 136,000 miles
While attempting to maneuver out of a parking space, my wheels locked up. Still thinking the wheel had turned enough, I attempted to clear a cement bea, however the car rolled into it. I was told that the tire had detached from the car "rod under the car" which prevented me from turning.

- Redan, GA, USA

problem #47

Jun 102013

Acadia 6-cyl

  • 74,000 miles
We purchased our 2008 Acadia in 2011, it had approximately 30,000 miles on it at the time of purchase. Less than thirty days after purchase we had to replace the front rotors. At 40,000 miles we had to replace the front brakes; the air conditioner backed up, which required maintenance to the blower motor; and the head lights went out, which required replacement. At 45,000 miles the rear struts went out, which required replacement; and we had to replace two tires. At 60,000 miles the water pump went out and needed to be replaced. At 55,000 miles the front struts went out, which needed replacing, along with four new tires, and a new set of headlights. At 60,000 miles the rear brakes and rotors needed to be replaced. At 70,000 miles the transmission went out, which also required replacement. The final incident happened on 6/10/13 at 74,000 miles, while I was driving with all three of my children. I was going 50 miles an hour on a highway, and the entire car shut down. The steering console locked with the keys in the ignition, I had no ability to steer the vehicle, the brakes did not function either. I had to use the parking brake to slow the vehicle down, barely avoiding a collision with another vehicle.

- Ellsworth, KS, USA

problem #46

May 312013

Acadia

  • 50,000 miles
Steering column makes a grinding noise when you turn in either direction. Dealer says the rack & pinion is leaking.

- Plains, GA, USA

problem #45

Jan 012012

Acadia

  • miles
The steering started making grinding noise when I turn it to the left or right at the around 38000 miles on the car. I contacted GMC dealer they didn't care about it. And I can see on the Acadia forums that thousands of people have the same problem. I'm afraid of steering wheel being stuck and I have my family in the car. GMC has to recall for this problem before lives are lost. Why do we always have to act after people are dead. Is there anyone in the government that actually care about us. GMC knows this car has a problem but does nothing about it. This is stupid.

- Concord, CA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?