Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: The 2001 Civic has transmission problems, transmission problems & more transmission problems. Did we mention transmission problems? And a dangerous defect with the front airbag that didn't get recalled for 10 years.

Although eventually the defective 2001 Civic airbag inflators were fixed under recalls in 2011 & 2013, that meant for 10 to 12 years airbags were activating with excessive force where metal fragments went shooting into passengers when the airbag deployed.

As for the 2001 Civic's transmission woes? Honda conducted a major transmission recall in 2004 & settled a class action lawsuit for defective transmissions in 2006. But, neither the recall or the lawsuit included the 2001 Civic.

Last thing to consider - the 2001 Civic is the most-recalled car ever, closely followed by the 2002 Civic & the 2001 Accord. The 2001 Civic is the 4th most-recalled vehicle overall, only a Ford truck & two Ford vans have more.


fairly significant
Typical Repair Cost:
Average Mileage:
105,035 miles
Total Complaints:
27 complaints

Most Common Solutions:

  1. not sure (17 reports)
  2. replaced seat belt buckle (7 reports)
  3. replaced the driver seat belt buckle (2 reports)
  4. fixed the seat belt (1 reports)
2001 Honda Civic seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2001 Honda Civic:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2001 Honda Civic Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #27

Feb 102015

Civic DX 1.7L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 180,000 miles


My srs light, which was not on before airbag recall replacement, came on after I left the dealership after the recall work was complete. I am taking it back to the dealership on Wednesday to have it looked at. they said it could be the seat belt sensor but I am not sure cause it only came on after they replaced the airbag.

- , Tacoma, WA, USA

problem #26

Aug 122011

Civic LX

  • Manual transmission
  • 130,000 miles

Took the civic in for the air bag recall thing and on the way to the dealer, the SRS light came on. We asked why that happened and they said they didn't know, they would have to run a diagnostic on it and it would cost extra. At that point we were terribly frustrated and didn't have the extra money. The light is still on but after reading the other complaints I am afraid to drive the car if the seatbelts might fail. The car is totally helpless if there is any snow or ice on the road so it is our "fair" weather car. Great gas mileage! We have manual transmission and haven't had any trouble so far. We have over 150,000 miles on the car. Even with regular maintenance it is starting to leak oil in the front of the engine. Will be looking to sell it soon.

- , Promise City, IA, USA

problem #25

Jan 162012


  • Automatic transmission
  • 98,798 miles

I was quoted over three hundred dollars for this to be fixed, but my bill was almost $500 for it. The service representative now says he quoted my the part price and the labour amount.

- , Kingston, ON, Canada

problem #24

Jul 202011

Civic LX Coupe 1.7L I-4

  • Automatic transmission
  • 87,000 miles


The chip on the drivers side seat belt buckle "went bad" was covered under warranty but I had to drive around for three weeks while waiting for my appointment to have the SRS light read for $97 if the problem wasn't covered even though I already got the code read. Then for them to get the part in, then the other appointment to have the part installed. Also did i mention the seatbelt wouldn't have worked in an accident, and the airbags wouldnt have gone off with the SRS light on.

- , East Syracuse, NY, USA

problem #23

Aug 012011

Civic EX 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 77,000 miles

The air bag had recall and the srs light was on.... Got it fix this summer.

Then, the SRS light came on again. Took it the Honda Dealership and was told it was a sensor on the front passenger side.... That was in September 2011.

Guess What, folks, the SRS light came back AGAIN and Honda has put out another recall out early December 2011.

Now, we are waiting to see if Honda is going to mail us a recall letter. If they don't, guess we will have take the car back in and spend $300.00 or more to get it fix....

Thought Honda cars were built to last as long you did all the required stuff to keep it running in tip top shape.... SIGH.....

Very disappointed in Honda....

- , Austin, TX, USA

problem #22

Apr 202011

Civic LX 1.7L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 256,750 miles

After the mechanic installed a different ecm electronic control module(?), he drove it around for a test drive. That is when the SRS light came on....again. All 4 seat belts are messed up. Can't adjust them when brake is on. How annoying!!!!! This is also when the exhaust manifold really started making noise. GRRRR!!!

- , Columbus, OH, USA

problem #21

Jul 052010

Civic LX 1.7L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 225,000 miles


We got a recall notice in the mail and took advantage of it. Thank goodness it was covered under warranty.

- , Columbus, OH, USA

problem #20

Dec 202010

Civic LX

  • Automatic transmission
  • 58,000 miles

SRS light remains on. Dealership wants $100 to run a test. After reading other complaints, this price seems REALLY high to me. Especially, since it may have something to do with the seatbelt. Hopefully covered by the life time seat belt coverage.

Update from Jan 6, 2011: Just heard from the Honda dealership. It was the seat belt. Warranty covered seatbelt, but I have to pay $100 for the diagnosis.

Update from Jan 31, 2011: Called Honda corporate office. Very helpful. After talking to 3 separate people regarding this issue, each confirmed that since it was covered under lifetime warranty, I do NOT have to pay for diagnostic fee. Dealership is to bill Honda. Apparently, dealership is not aware of this. After, much debate, they agreed to let me have the car. My advise, stay calm and reasonable, do your homework. DO NOT pay diagnostic fee if SRS light is on and the cause is the seat belt. This is completely covered under warranty.

- , Troutdale, OR, USA

problem #19

Dec 232010

Civic LX

  • Manual transmission
  • 129,500 miles

Bought our civic with the SRS light on. We came on here and figured out the most likely cause was the sensor in the seat belt buckle and also saw someone mention the fact that it should be covered under the lifetime seatbelt warranty.

Went to the dealer and told them the problem and the fact that the buckle did not always want to latch unless you got rough with it. The first person I talked to told me the latching problem would be covered under warranty but not the sensor issue. Didn't make much sense to me given the fact that either way the whole buckle would need replaced!

He gave me a quote of 30-40 bucks for diagnostic testing and set me up an appointment.

When I went in for the appointment the guy I talked to at that time told me the testing would be $75. Whoa, wait a minute. Got it straightened out with him that I ONLY wanted the SRS light diagnosed, he thought I wanted a complete thorough check over of the car. So, 15 minutes later he comes out and tells me it is the sensor and because it is the sensor it would be covered under the warranty and all they charged me was $22.50 for the diagnostic testing. I still have no idea which guy was right about how it was covered under warranty. All I know is I took it in today and the new buckle was put in at no charge to me and it now latches wonderfully and my SRS light is no longer on.

They did give me a list of about 4 things that could cause the light to be on but said the seat belt buckle sensor is the most common problem in this car.

- , Berwick, IL, USA

problem #18

Jan 012005

Civic EX

  • Manual transmission
  • 100,000 miles

The dealer removed the warning light but it just came back.

- , Dallas, TX, USA

problem #17

Sep 012009

Civic EX 1.7L

  • Manual transmission
  • 95,000 miles


I got notice of the airbag recall around the same time my SRS light came on , i figured they were related. Today I went in to finally take care of the recall and when I got it back, i realized the SRS light was still on. The Service rep told me that it wasnt related at all and was probably due to the drivers side seat belt , said he sees alot of cars with the problem. They know what the problem is but said they need to charge me $108.00 to diagnose it and if that is the problem, it would be covered under the seatbelt lifetime warranty Thats nice, but C'mon just fix the stupid thing when you fix the airbag issue.

- , Huntington Beach, CA, USA

problem #16

Feb 262009

Civic EX 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 142,000 miles

what do i need to do i haven't drove any friends around in a year because idk if my air bags will work

- , Cincinnati, OH, USA

problem #15

Oct 012008

Civic LX Inline 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 77,000 miles

I thought Hondas are great cars..little did I know.

My girlfriends 2001 Civic LX just went over 100,000 miles and is falling apart. We just replaced the Oil Pan Gasket, Control Bushings, Front Struts and the kicker..we have to shell out $500.00 for the SRS Control Sensor Unit to be replaced.

Like a lot of people, we had to pay $105 just to get it diagnosed properly (this was after 2 years of having the seat belt fiddled with to no avail). The dealer says it is not covered under warranty, but seriously, the reason you buy a Honda is for years of trouble free service! No more Hondas for us!

- , Trenton, NJ, USA

problem #14

Mar 012008

Civic LX

  • Automatic transmission
  • 68,000 miles

My SRS light is always on. Does this mean the air bags will not deploy if I'm in an accident? I dont want to find out the hard way! How can I fix it? Should I pay to fix this, even if it is a safety issue and really should be taken care of by the company. Has there been any recalls due to this?

- , Boca Raton, FL, USA

problem #13

Jul 012009

Civic LX 1.7L 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 110,000 miles

SRS light has been on, I've had Honda look at it and they say its a defective sensor that detects the seatbelt is locked so it can send a message to the airbag to activate in the event of a crash. If the light is on, the sensor is broken and the airbag will not deploy under any circumstance. They expect me to pay $390 to replace the entire belt holder/lock unit. Ridiculous I say when I have seen over 100 different complaints across the web about the very same thing. This is not a fluke in just a few cars. I think Honda needs to wake up and issue a recall, instead of expecting it customers to clean up after their faulty product.

- , Sedona, AZ, USA

problem #12

Apr 112006

Civic 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 74,565 miles

Back again to the dealer about the SRS light and the driver's side seat belt. The SRS light has been on for about 4 years now and I have been told that when they replace the defective airbag assembly, perhaps the light will finally go off. 'Majic' I guess. But perhaps it is the Driver's side seatbelt that is almost impossible to get to hold. You have to have the right angle to make it catch. What up Honda. Great mileage but stupid defects that ruin your reputation.

- , Whitby, Ontario, Canada

problem #11

Dec 202008

Civic DX 1.7L 4 cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 130,488 miles

SRS light came on after front end accident; Air bag sensor on passenger side under bumper skin was removed to allow for repairs and since then SRS light is solid in dash.

- , Port Au Port, NL, Canada

problem #10

Aug 122009

Civic LX 1.7L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 39,688 miles

Seat belts are covered for life on Honda. Never had anything like this happened on any other car.

- , Modesto, CA, USA

problem #9

Jul 012009


  • Automatic transmission
  • 70,000 miles

I called both the 800 number for Honda and local dealer. Both said this problem was not covered, despite what I've read here. Am I missing something? Safety issue, right?

- , Plano, TX, USA

problem #8

Feb 102009

Civic LX

  • Automatic transmission
  • 59,030 miles

My SRS light stays on. Took it to dealership. They charged $70 for scan and I was told that it is a seat belt buckle problem. They will replace it for $340 plus taxes. It is really annoying specially considering many people are having same problem.

- , Windsor, ON, Canada

Read the next 7 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?