Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
39,815 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Honda Civic suspension problems

suspension problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Honda Civic:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Honda Civic Owner Comments (Page 3 of 6)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #75

Jul 092009


  • 75,000 miles


2006 Honda Civic ex defective upper rear control arm which Honda poorly designed so that it is too short from what I understand. Had to replace the control arm at a cost of approx. $700 prior to a 5,000 mile trip because tires were cupping and wearing poorly and handling was impacted especially in inclement weather.

- Ballston Spa, NY, USA

problem #74

Feb 152008

Civic 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 15,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Honda Civic. While driving approximately 45 mph the road surface was covered with black ice and snow. The vehicle uncontrollably wandered across the road. An authorized dealer inspected the vehicle and replaced the rear axle linkage according to the service warranty. The contact had concerns of the safety risk involved. The failure mileage was 15,000. The current mileage was 63,000. Updated 1/11/09 the rear upper control arm needed to be replaced. Updated 01/14/10.

- Sun City West , AZ, USA

problem #73

Nov 282009


  • 25,000 miles
2006 Honda Civic hybrid.... uneven or rapid rear tire wear, resulting in a roaring noise from the rear, and a vibration at highway speeds. The later poising the potential risk of loss of vehicle control. Honda bulletin 08-001 acknowledges problem but Honda is not willing to be proactive by repairing problem, waiting on consumer to complain. This is an obvious inherent problem that Honda recognizes but will not take action to remediate on vehicles that may pass warranty limits. I contacted my local dealer and advised them I was made aware of their service bulletin 08-001 that addresses problem I had originally complained about to Honda city, but was told it was just bad tires. Despite having my car serviced at dealmaker Honda, at no time did they apprise me of this service bulletin. A visual inspection shows uneven tire wear. If it is obvious to the untrained eye, why didn't they note it on their routine checks when I had the car serviced? I believe Honda should contact their customers and make them aware of this problem. The high speed vibration or tire malfunction could potentially result in an accident.

- Watertown, NY, USA

problem #72

Dec 202005


  • 66,000 miles


The contact owns a 2006 Honda Civic hybrid. While examining the vehicle the contact noticed that the 2 rear tires were exhibit uneven tread wear. The contact also noticed that the vehicle began vibrating while driving over 70 mph. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who stated that the rear camber arms needed to be replaced. The vibration was present when the vehicle was purchased. The current and failure mileages were 66000.

- Downey, CA, USA

problem #71

Jun 012009


  • 35,000 miles
At about 35,000 miles I noticed that the rear suspension on my 2006 Honda Civic felt "loose". every time I hit a bump or pot hole the entire rear of the car would fishtail making it difficult to control. It is manageable on dry roads, but any sort of moisture, especially snow, makes the vehicle undriveable. I took the car to the dealership to asses the problem. I was told there was uneven tire wear, and the front passenger side wheel needed to be replaced. They said otherwise there was nothing wrong with the vehicle. I replaced all four tires and the wheel, the fishtailing diminished greatly. However, about 3000 miles later the fishtailing is back, worse than ever. I am taking it back to the dealership asap.

- Worcester, MA, USA

problem #70

Nov 122009


  • 13,000 miles
We purchased a Civic hybrid Dec 2006 and with 13K miles in March went to the dealer because of a very loud noise in the rear. We were told it was the nature of the car and sold one new tire. Since then we went elsewhere for service. After going through 3 sets of tires and ready for the 4th in three years and 80K miles we returned to the dealer and were told that there was a bulletin on some affected cars for rear tire rods that were defective but ours was not covered because E it was out of warranty. I explained that we had the problem under warranty and brought the car to the dealer but they did not fix. Honda says too bad no longer covered so we are to pay for faulty items that we had complained about after only 13K mile due the incompetence of the Honda family. Very upset!

- New Bern , NC, USA

problem #69

Oct 062009


  • 51,000 miles


The contact owns a 2006 Honda Civic. The rear control arm system caused the tire to prematurely fail. While driving, the driver side rear tire blew-out. No repairs were made. The current mileage was 88,000. The failure mileage was 51,000. Updated 09/21/11

- Exeter, RI, USA

problem #68

Apr 012009

Civic 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 37,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Honda Civic si. He noticed that the rear left and right tires were loosing tread on the inside. He replaced all four tires in July of 2009. The vehicle was making a noise in the rear. He will add an adjuster to the control arm. The failure mileage was 37,000 and the current mileage was 40,000. Updated 12/8/09 the tire shop stated the camber was off in the rear and there was no adjustment that could be done. Updated 12/09/09.

- Kingman , AZ, USA

problem #67

Jun 012009


  • 13,000 miles
Rapid tire wear may not be noticed and tire failure could occur. Defective rear suspension control arms cause inside edge of tire to drag and wear rapidly. My rear tires were down to steel cords when I noticed problem. This was covered by NHTSA item number 10024687.

- Warroad, MN, USA

problem #66

Oct 232009


  • 50,000 miles
Defective rear upper control arms which cause excessive tire wear. Only a service bulletin was issued from Honda. The bad part is when the service bulletin was issued in July 2008 my vehicle was under warranty. There's trust issues with my dealer (phil bachman Honda) which I feel should have been looking out for me their customer and made me aware of this but that didn't happen so I am paying $700 instead of Honda. When I contacted Honda the representative chris tried to point the problem to me for not replacing my tires with the same brand that come on it from the factory. How crazy this proves Honda is a company of placing the blame on others instead of taking ownership / fixing the bad control arms they installed. I read the complaints and see that basically every brand of tire has been damaged due to this. This should be reclassified as a recall and everyone paid back for there repairs and prorated tire cost - in my case Honda owes me $220 for the control arm repair and $150 prorated tires. This must be the Honda's new mind set never take ownership. It also may have to do with having 3 recalls already.

- Kingsport, TN, USA

problem #65

Oct 232009


  • 85,000 miles


The contact owns a 2006 Honda Civic. While exiting a parking space the rear passenger side wheel bent to the right, which then jammed into the wheel rail. The vehicle was towed to a dealer, and a technician concluded that the rear lower control arm had fractured. The vehicle has not been repaired, but was still at the dealer. The current and failure mileages were 85,000. Updated 11/03/09 the consumer stated the control arm broke in half which caused the wheel to jam into the wheel well. Updated 11/03/09.

- Little Rock, AR, USA

problem #64

Jul 152009


  • miles
I have a 2006 Honda Civic that is getting severe uneven tire wear on the back tires. Honda does have a service bulletin (08-001) about design flaw in the control arms that are causing the problem. The issue seems to be, in my experience, that they really don't want to do anything unless you push the issue. And they want to charge for the fix. Unfortunately, I prematurely ruined two sets of tires before I was aware of this problem. I am currently fighting with the dealership to do the repair at no charge and am having no luck.

- Carson City, NV, USA

problem #63

Jul 152009


  • 65,000 miles
Tire failure on my 2006 Honda Civic. I have had unusual tire wear since I bought the car new. I have had my tires rotated regularly at the dealership. I have had the rear upper control arms replaced, bought new tires only to have the same problem.

- Washington, PA, USA

problem #62

Jan 182009


  • 600,000 miles
I purchased a 2006 Honda Civic new from dealer with 100K mile warranty. They will not fix this issue. The suspension is faulty, causing the rear two tires to wear out on the inside of the tread within 15K miles. I've spent money for 4 sets of tires so far, and they won't fix it. They acknowledge that it's their problem, but there is no solution. I cannot understand how a company can produce a vehicle they know can't be aligned to not eat up tires.

- Bay St Louis, MS, USA

problem #61

Dec 042007


  • 38,000 miles
2006 Honda Civic ex, 38000 miles. The 2006 Civic has problems with struts. It causes uneven tire wear and an unstable rear end. The cupping wear in the inside of the rear tires magnifies this suspension defect. We wore out two sets of tires by 38,000 miles. The rear end is loose. The tire wear is not visible unless you look carefully on the inside of the rear tire tread. The car was involved in a severe accident in which the car flipped and rolled. The driver lost control after a corner on wet pavement. With the defects in this model, the driver never stood a chance in maintaining control in a situation that drivers regularly face. This problem should be recalled before any other family is traumatized.

- Conroe, TX, USA

problem #60

Aug 132009


  • 15,000 miles
Uneven rear tire wear on 2006 Honda Civic hybrid caused by flaw of upper control arms. Honda never told me even though I had to replace my rear tires 2 times - once at 15,000 miles and again at less than 31,000 miles. Was told that tire wear was because of how I drove, amount of air in tires, need of alignment although it was within specs, etc. Honda never told me that there was tbs 08-001 or that the repair was needed. I even went to Honda on Aug. 13, 2009 complaining of vibrations felt especially in the steering wheel when traveling on the highway at 68 mph. They put the car on the lift and my rear tires were worn on the inner bottoms right down to the steel belts! the told me that I needed tires and an alignment and said nothing about the need for the upper control arms even though the mechanic said to sal (the serviceman helping me) about some sort of recall only to have sal say that there were none. I was leaving for nc the following morning to visit my son and would definitely have had a horrible accident if I had driven the car that way. I went to a garage and got the rear tires put on. I went to a licensed mechanic in nc for the alignment, but was told that it was already within the specs. When I returned to NJ, I went to Honda again and told them that I needed to know why my tires kept wearing out and they pretty much said that they did not know and that I should call Honda, which I did. Fernando said that he would contact the manager at the dealership and that I should take the car back to him. It is only than that they replaced the parts and told me that it was covered by my extended warranty because of the wear on them. I feel that it had nothing to do with wear. They said nothing about the service bulletin. I investigated myself to find that many others had the same problem with their Honda. I feel that this is a huge safety issue and there should have been a recall. Someone is going to get killed because of this.

- Hamilton, NJ, USA

problem #59

Jul 152009


  • 29,000 miles
Excessive wear and cupping of rear tires on Honda Civic 2006 hybrid. I had to replace original tires at 29,000. The rear tire were cupped badly. I did rotate every 6-8,000 miles. I have 12,000 on the replacement tires and the rear tires were again cupped at time of rotation.

- Noblesville, IN, USA

problem #58

Jul 232009


  • 61,400 miles
Rear wheels upper control arm (service bulletin 08-001). I have a 2006 Civic hybrid that wears the inner edge of the tires excessively. Caused by the defective design of the upper control arm. Having read other similar complaints this should be a national recall or replacement. Not just a service bulletin. It will cost me approx. $327 for this repair and Honda should cover it even though my car has exceeded the warranty period do to mileage. In Aug 2008 I replaced the factory dunlop tires because they were excessively noisy and rode ruff. I had a wheel alignment with the new tires 36500 mi. And again in May 2009 55441 mi and again July 2009 because of the uneven wearing of the tires, after the 3rd alignment 61400mi.the dealership made me aware of the service bulletin 008-001. The first two alignments were done at the tire shop. But I have had all my oil changes done at the dealership. Had there been a recall the mechanics would have been more aware and I wouldn't have cut the tire live by half. Request that this service bulletin be alleviated to a national recall due to defective design of the control arms.

- Altus, OK, USA

problem #57

Jul 012009


  • 12,700 miles
Rear tire failure due to improper rear control arms. Inside tread of rear tires wear exceedingly fast and develop cupping. Honda has a tsb for this, but has not had a recall. This could be dangerous to people who just drive their cars, but don't know much about the mechanics of the vehicle. There should be a recall. It seems that this only occurs on 2006 and 2007 Civics because in 2008 Honda made a change in the production by changing the control arms.

- Henderson, NV, USA

problem #56

Jun 022009


  • 55,000 miles
2006 Honda Civic rear control arms. Honda has issued a tsb08-001. Yet they will not honor the repair of what should be considered a defective part that was deemed to be too short and can cause rapid and uneven tire wear.

- Minnetrista, MN, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?