Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
39,815 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Honda Civic suspension problems

suspension problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Honda Civic:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Honda Civic Owner Comments (Page 4 of 6)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #55

Jun 242009

Civic

  • 30,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Own a 2006 Honda Civic. Having trouble with uneven tire wear on the rear tires. I have had the tires replaced at 38,000 and bought expensive tires for replacement. Now 20,000 miles later, having cupping and needing replacement again. (tires have been aligned and rotated.)

- Lafargeville, NY, USA

problem #54

Jun 162009

Civic

  • 40,000 miles
I own a Honda Civic LX 2006. The current mileage as of 06/18/2009 is ~40K miles. We started noticing a lot of noise from our rear tires while driving at speeds even as low as 30 mph. We also noticed significant vibration on the steering wheel while driving at speeds greater than 60 mph. The problem became worse every day. We took our car to the dealership (round rock Honda), described the issue in detail and requested them to look at the issue. They noticed extreme uneven tire wear on the rear tires. They have given me written notice that I need to replace the rear control arm and the rear tires. I further found out from web complaints that this is a well know frequently occurring issue on Honda Civic 2006 model cars. There is a service bulletin 08-001 (NHTSA campaign id number : 10024687) on this issue. The dealer (round rock Honda) is refusing to replace the rear control arm of the car claiming that they do not have a recall notice and I am out of warranty (called them on 06/18/2009). I have now replaced my tires to avoid driving in unsafe condition. I understand this is a temp. Solution and this issue can come back at any time. I am more worried to know that some of the other customers have this issue occur even at low mileages (10K miles). I kindly request you to consider this as a serious issue - putting the driver, passengers and other vehicles on the road at extreme risk. I also request you to demand Honda to release a recall notice to make this car safer to drive.

- Austin, TX, USA

problem #53

Feb 012009

Civic

  • 85,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Honda Civic hybrid. The contact stated that the tires are causing road noise due to a faulty rear lower control arm. The failure wears the tires down and could cause a blowout. A tsb was issued, but not a recall. The contact feels that a recall should be issued for this component since the manufacturer is aware of the failure. The current mileage was 94,105 and failure mileage was 85,000.

- Mount Pleasant, MI, USA

problem #52

May 162009

Civic

  • 68,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2006 Honda Civic sedan with 68,000 miles had two cracks in the engine block causing the coolant to leak and causing the car to overheat suddenly without any warning. Also, the rear tires only last about 15,000 miles before they develop a flat spot. There are two service bulletins issued by Honda on these malfunctions but unfortunately they are not admitted as a problem with the car until after the powertrain warranty runs out. Honda dealerships have acknowledged these are defects in the car and are widely known but Honda refuses to cover repairs or will only pay for partial repairs. The engine block is a casting problem per the dealership and the rear wheels are a control arm problem which causes premature uneven wear and possible blowout. Honda refuses to pay for the control arms at all. Thankfully we did not have any crashes or injuries due to catching the problem before anything happened. Unfortunately, the first dealership I went to tried to hide the problems and would not acknowledge it is widespread in 2006 and 2007 Civic models. I am being forced to pay for a portion of the engine block and all of the control arms to fix the problems.

- Chuluota, FL, USA

problem #51

May 192009

Civic

  • 80,000 miles
According to searches done via the internet and with issues with my 2006 Honda Civic ex sedan model I have noticed a staggering amount of complaints to the 2006 and newer model Civics with vibrations issues and constant replacement of tires for the rear of the vehicle. I have had to replace my tires about 5 times since I have had my car and it has always been the rear tires on my vehicle and 2 times in the past 6 months due to un-even tire wear on the inside of the tires caused by the rear chamber arm. Currently there is no recall for this issue but have noticed quite a number pf people throughout the us with this problem on the vehicle. The outcome of this issue could cause a tire to blow out while driving on the highway and potentially causing great harm to the passengers of the affected vehicle as well as other drivers on the road. If you need to the web links with all the other complaints for this issue feel free to contact me.

- Stockton, CA, USA

problem #50

Mar 262009

Civic

  • 26,000 miles
Tire noise during driving. Progressively getting worse over 2 months. Found rear tire inner wear (cupping) on driver side. Honda is aware of this problem and is repairing the vehicle. Honda will not cover the tire replacement of pay pro-rated amount because vehicle has over 25K miles. I drive 90% highway and tires still have 40% life remaining.

- San Diego , CA, USA

problem #49

Mar 242009

Civic

  • 83,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Tires wear and cup. Major vibration and noise while driving at highway speeds. Newest set of tires have rear tires cupped to the point of needing replaced at 10,000 miles. Company has issued a bulletin on the issue but never informed customer. We thought our first tires were the problem but come to find out the rear arms need to be replaced to try to fix issue. Car is now out of warranty. Winter of 2007 husband did 3 360's across 3 lanes of highway without any warning.

- Lexington, OH, USA

problem #48

Mar 142009

Civic

  • 19,139 miles
09/07 - took 2006 Honda Civic hybrid in for service due to excessive vibration at speed. Was told tires were cupping despite excellent, documented vehicle maintenance (tire balancing, alignment and rotations incl.). dealership/Honda finally agreed to replace 3 tires, I paid for fourth. (dunlop tire defect was assumed cause) 03/09 - vibration and tire noise began to recur in approx. Feb 09 but didn't get vehicle in for service until 3/14/09. Diagnosis revealed cupping again. This time I was told that a Feb 2009 Honda service bulletin suggested to dealerships that if their Civic owners complained of excessive/premature tire wear they should replace the rear upper control arms with the newly redesigned arms. The dealership rep stated that since this was not a safety issue no recall was required. I disagree that this is not a safety issue. My tires, after only 15,000 mi. Are seriously worn. So much so that Honda is refusing to replace or even give partial credit. If these tires would have blown on the road costly property damage, serious injury or even fatalities could occur. If this defect warranted the redesigning of an integral piece of the vehicles suspension system, then I strongly urge you to mandate that Honda replace these parts in all affected vehicles on the road. The only reason I found out about this was because of the vibration issue, not from notification from Honda. What about people that don't go to the dealership for service" how large does the potential loss of property/life have to be before the public is warned of this"

- Celina, TX, USA

problem #47

Jun 072007

Civic

  • 12,000 miles
I bought a new Honda Civic, 2006, and within one year, all four tires had excessive wear and had to be replaced. The dealer said it "happens". I had about 12K miles on those tires. Now, again after one year, I have to replace my rear tires due to unusual wear. I have read that it is a design fault of the car.- upper control arms. I bought this car to save money, not to have to buy tires annually and have an unsafe vehicle. My sister bought the same car at the same time I did and her tires had to be replaced after one year also.

- Austerlitz, NY, USA

problem #46

Feb 242009

Civic

  • 39,686 miles
I'm an owner of a Honda Civic ex '06, which was purchased brand new in 2006. After getting a flat tire (rear right side), my car was taken in to another dealer (not Honda) and had all 4 tires replaced. The car had 39K miles on it. At the time, it was suggested that the car should be taken into Honda to be inspected for uneven tire wear. I searched the internet and found out that other people had experienced the same problem with that model/year of car and there was even a service bulletin about it. After the inspection, Honda stated that yes indeed, the uneven tire wear was due to a known problem with the rear upper control arms and that it must be replaced in order to correct the problem. Honda wouldn't pay for it at the time since my warranty had already expired. I just want to write this notification because they should not be selling cars that has a potential safety hazard (especially when driving in rain or snow).

- Rolling Meadows, IL, USA

problem #45

Feb 282009

Civic

  • 20,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have a 2006 Honda Civic hybrid, which is exhibiting excessive and uneven rear tire wear. The tires were initially replaced in Feb. 2008, and again in June 2008 (along with the rear control arms). Now, in February 2009, the rear tires are worn out again on the inside, with cupping and scalloping of the tread. These tires have less than 20,000 miles since new, and have been rotated. This appears to be a common problem with the Civic, and this problem is not being addressed or fixed by Honda.

- Fairview Park, OH, USA

problem #44

Dec 212008

Civic

  • miles
I am writing to let you know about the disappointing experience I had recently with my 2006 Honda Civic. 1.on November 26, 2008, the service advisor told me that I would need new tires soon. I then mentioned to him that the tires were very loud and the car seemed to be making excessive road noise. He said nothing about my comment. 2.on December 21, 2008, I noticed that the tires on the Civic were worn down very unevenly and one of them was buckling. I did not want to drive with those tires any longer due to safety issues and proceeded to buy 4 new tires the following day, December 22, 2008. 3.after the tire purchase and reviewing Honda service bulletin 08-001 (dated April 11, 2008), I decided to return to my Honda dealer as I became concerned that this was only the beginning of a larger problem. As it turns out, I was right. 4.the service bulletin describes exactly what was happening with my car. As the car was and is still under warranty, the work was covered at no cost to me. However, I paid for 4 new tires and I think american Honda motor co., Inc should cover this cost. In addition, this is a revised service bulletin from February 8, 2008 and no one ever informed me that my car might have this problem. Clearly there was a defect with this car. This car was well maintained and the original tires should have lasted well over 30,000 miles. The service advisor who assisted me on December 22, 2008 insisted that this was not a safety issue nor did it warrant a recall on the 2006 Honda Civic. As a proactive consumer, it was my good fortune to be able to access the service bulletin, and point out that these 'symptoms┐ were occurring with my car. If I had not had the problem with the rear upper control arm repaired at the dealer, the defect would have ruined my brand new set of tires. By that time, the car would no longer be under warranty and I would have incurred the cost to fix it when Honda was well aware of the problem.

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #43

Feb 232009

Civic

  • 56,000 miles
At 55K miles, we have just installed our third full set of tires on 2006 Honda Civic LX. The original tires lasted approx 35K. We heard loud growling from rear tires, initially at higher speeds, then progressively lower speeds. This was accompanied by vehicle vibration which seemed to increase exponentially w/increased speed. Discovered online about issues w/Civic's rear control arms. Took the car to dealer, who advised the tires were unevenly worn. In fact there were completely bald spots, while appropriate tread remained elsewhere on each tire. Dealer agreed to replace control arms only after we replaced the tires.. we bore entire cost of replacement tires. After six months and 20K miles, including one tire rotation, the noise and vibration returned, this time on front end. Could this be because the front right tire wore unevenly while initially on back? took car back to Honda dealer, who said "tires were wearing unevenly; they need to be replaced." No acknowledgment of any issues w/Civic model. Tire dealer pro-rated replacement tires [still a bunch of $$$], said they'd never had that "better" [70K] model of tire wear so unevenly. [cupping/feathering] it seems Honda's "fix" wasn't really. I am genuinely concerned for my family's safety; we will likely sell the car asap. I am also concerned that some Civic owner out there will be unable to afford replacement tires and just continue to drive on worthless rubber. Since Honda will not concede the problem, they refuse to absorb the cost of tires. Nor does Honda seem particularly interested in resolving this problem. I have been astounded by the total lack of concern at Honda. When, because it will happen, there is a resulting catastrophic tire failure, I hope its not at 75mph on a crowded interstate highway.

- Boardman, OH, USA

problem #42

Oct 012006

Civic

  • 3,500 miles
2006 Honda Civic has the worst tire wear/vibration of any car I have ever had...it's not safe for my family or others on the road. Honda is aware of the problem and is not fixing it. It's been blamed on multiple issues. This is a serious issue and should be addresses. I have now gone through going on 3 sets of tires. My car only has 50,000 mile on it!!!

- Eldridge, IA, USA

problem #41

Sep 012008

Civic

  • 35,000 miles
Improperly designed rear suspension keeps wearing the inside of the tires away causing them to be unsafe for operation.

- Centerville, UT, USA

problem #40

Jun 172008

Civic

  • 12,000 miles
A rumbling noise emanating from the rear that has progressively increased in volume from ~12K to 38K miles. Recently noticed extreme wear on the inside of both rear tires and a pronounced toe out of both rear wheels. I also had several close calls from hydroplaning emanating from the rear. Numerous entries on the net indicated a serious problem with 06 to 08 Civic rear control arms and a service bulletin issued 1/08 to replace these control arms. I was not contacted or informed in any way of this bulletin even though I had my 06 Honda Civic at my dealer in May 08. After realizing the severity of the problem ie. Pure safety issue and running into denials and resistance from both pfluegar and tony Honda on oahu I called Honda Corp. In California and they are going to deal with tony Honda for replacement of the arms. Honda must announce a recall on this serious defect before there is a rash of accidents/deaths due to their unconscionable conduct regarding replacing this seriously defective part. Contacted pfluegar Honda honolulu.

- Ewa Beach, HI, USA

problem #39

Nov 212007

Civic

  • 40,000 miles
I have a 2006 Honda Civic si that has been through three sets of tires since I bought the car. The first set of tires that came with the car were from the manufacturer and were replaced at 40,000 miles. The second set was replaced at 15,000 miles due to severe tire wear in the back of the car. The dealer does not want to deal with this problem I'm having and just tries everything to get around this. I have read many complaints from Civic owners with the same problem. Eventually someone is going to get hurt if they have a blown tire.

- Westport , MA, USA

problem #38

Oct 012007

Civic

  • 55,000 miles
I own a 2006 Honda Civic sedan LX. I have replaced the rear tires 3 times in the last 50,000 miles. The rear tires cup severely and create excessive road noise. I was told this is due to a factory defect in a rear arm being too short.

- Lancaster , OH, USA

problem #37

Apr 262008

Civic

  • miles
I have a 2006 Honda Civic. I have had to replace the rear tires on it 4 times since April of 2007. I contacted Honda today, December 2, 2008 after finding a bulletin that they posted about the problem, but because my vehicle is now out of warranty they refuse to reimburse me or pay to get this fixed. It states in the bulletin that the rear upper control arm is too short and that it causes uneven and rapid rear tire wear, as well as vibration at highway speeds. This is a hazard for me driving the vehicle as it is, but I do not have the money to keep replacing tires, nor do I have the money to get it fixed on my own. If they had sent me some type of notice or something I would have gotten this fixed while my vehicle was still under warranty. Things like this should be fixed by the manufacturer, or dealership for no charge because they are a hazard to us as drivers, and expensive to fix.

- Butte, MT, USA

problem #36

Oct 122008

Civic

  • miles
2006 Honda Civic LX with 20,500 miles. Rear tires are nearly bald. Dealer indicates that there is a known rear suspension problem. Honda notified dealers of problem in April 2008 and dealers are addressing concerns when the vehicles are brought in. My son drives this vehicles to and from college and we bought the car for safety reasons. We expect that Honda will replace the worn tires since it was their defect but the dealer has not offered to replace the tires.

- Chagrin Falls, OH, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?