Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
40,612 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Honda Civic suspension problems

suspension problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Honda Civic:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Honda Civic Owner Comments (Page 4 of 6)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #52

Apr 172008

Civic

  • 20,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Honda Civic. While traveling 60 mph, the contact drove over a bump and noticed that the vehicle had began to sway from left to right. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the rear sway bars were replaced. The current mileage was 80,000 and the failure mileage was 20,000.

- Covington, LA, USA

problem #51

Apr 012012

Civic

  • 50,000 miles
Rapid tire wear occurred on the inner portions of both rear tires. The problem was discovered after noticing much road noise and having the tires rotated. Two new tires were purchased and the rear upper control arms were replaced. The problem still exists to this day after consulting two different Honda garages they both confirmed that the rear control arms were installed correctly and are within spec. Both garages recommended replacing the tires again, but this is becoming very costly. The ride of the car over the last year has gotten significantly worse and now I'm noticing braking problems. The car hops in the back when applying the brakes at highway speeds. Honda is denying the problem and has offered no compensation.

- Davie, FL, USA

problem #50

Apr 042011

Civic

  • 50,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Honda Civic. The contact stated that while the dealer inspected the vehicle, the dealer determined that both the front and rear axles were defective. The manufacturer was not notified. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 50,000 and the current mileage was 67,000.

- Lake Forest, NC, USA

problem #49

Mar 282012

Civic

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I went to Honda dealer for maintenance and found out that my rear tires are wearing prematurely and unevenly. I only have 38000 miles on the car and regularly maintained at Honda dealerships. Dealer suggested me to change all four tires for that and alignments + replace rear upper arm, which is causing uneven wearing of rear tires. However Honda is not doing anything about this issue and they charges customers for all cost for prematurely wearing tires and cost for replacing defectively designed parts. I have searched online and many other customers are complaining about this issues and Honda is unresponsive to the issue.

- Aurora, IL, USA

problem #48

Feb 162012

Civic 4-cyl

  • 59,000 miles
Rear tires are cupping and they've become very noisy after 5,000 miles. Problem first noticed: November 2011. The rear tires were always slippery in tight curves at normal speed. Went to route 23 Honda, NJ for a check up on 02/16/12. They blamed my new tires (10000 miles old). Charged me $96.25 for a 4 wheel alignment, no problem found with the rear wheels. I have asked them about service bulletin 08-001 (uneven or rapid rear tire wear) but they did not admit any fault. They've said my car does not need a repair as per sb 08-001 mentioned above. I have contacted (opened account with) american Honda motor co. They did not call back.

- Ringwood, NJ, USA

problem #47

Dec 152010

Civic

  • 45,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Honda Civic. The contact stated that the rear wheel bearing failed prematurely, causing the vehicle to move from side to side while driving. He also noticed a grinding noise coming from the rear end. The dealer had not been notified of the failure. The manufacturer was notified who provided no assistance. The contact replaced the rear bearings and the O ring. The current mileage was 49,000 and the failure mileage was 45,000.

- Greenville, WI, USA

problem #46

Dec 112010

Civic 4-cyl

  • 50,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have less than 65,000 miles on my car. It has received regular scheduled maintenance from the Honda dealership. After replacing the 4 original Michelin tires @ 38,000 miles I have had to replace the rear tires 3 additional times. The car has an extremely loud "humming" noise coming from the rear end. It eats up the rear tires quickly, which cause the car to mishandle. Each new set of rear tires wears out more quickly than the previous ones. I just bought the 4th new set of rear tires on 12/18/2011, drove down to the los angeles area from sacramento. When I returned, I went to the tire store where I purchased the new tires, to gage/check out any possible wear that may have occurred on the trip. At less than 1000 miles (850 of these being highway miles), the new rear tires were already down to 8/32. The humming noise is so loud you can not have a normal conversation in the car, or hear a siren for that matter and the steering appears to be/feel loose. I am afraid to drive this car any short/long distance.

- Loomis, CA, USA

problem #45

Feb 012010

Civic 4-cyl

  • 40,000 miles
I purchased car from Honda dealership in May 2008; a Honda service bulletin regarding problem with rear upper control arms was issued in February 2008. Therefore, the dealership knew of the problem, but did not fix it or inform me prior to purchasing vehicle. Around February 2010, I started experiencing severe problems with the handling of my car. It vibrated and shook aggressively at highway speeds and I had absolutely no control over the vehicle whatsover on wet roads. It felt like only two wheels were on the ground at any given moment. At 42K miles in July 2010, I replaced the tires at ntb. (I thought issues were related only to bad tires.) now, 30K miles and a little over a year later, I am experiencing the exact same problems. Severe vibration, loss of control. My car feels like a death trap that I don't have the money to buy my way out of. After investigating the problem online and discovering that the car had a manufacturing flaw, I feel like I have been scammed by Honda.

- Tonganoxie, KS, USA

problem #44

Sep 182009

Civic 4-cyl

  • 57,634 miles
Rapid tire wear occurred on the inner portions of both rear tires. The problem was discovered after noticing much road noise and having the tires rotated. Two new tires were purchased and the rear upper control arms were replaced. The problem still exists to this day after consulting two different Honda garages they both confirmed that the rear control arms were installed correctly and are within spec. Both garages recommended replacing the tires again, but this is becoming very costly. The ride of the car over the last year has gotten significantly worse and now I'm noticing braking problems. The car hops in the back when applying the brakes at highway speeds. Honda is denying the problem and has offered no compensation.

- Lancaster, NY, USA

problem #43

May 052009

Civic

  • 39,000 miles
My 2007 hit 80,000 miles and I just had to get my third set of rear tires (after the originals) because of extremely fast wear in a cupping pattern. It has gotten so bad that between one oil change to the next my independent mechanic told me I needed to replace two year-old tires immediately because they were in danger of the tread separating from the body of the tire and causing an accident. The abnormal tire wear started at about 39,000 miles when the first set of tires wore out. I had thought I just had some bad tires for the first and second replacement sets, but after I bought a third set of rear tires - and my second set of Michelin tires - I figured there must be something else to this and so checked with the dealer. The Honda dealer acknowledges this is apparently a "common" problem with the 2006-07 Civics and the (sort of) fix is to replace the control arms in the rear suspension and do a 4-wheel alignment. They don't see it as a safety issue and apparently Honda will not do the replacement at no charge.

- Chapel Hill, NC, USA

problem #42

Dec 052011

Civic

  • 42,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I am now on my 3rd set of tires for the rear of this car. It keeps wearing the inner rear tires until the belt becomes exposed and heat up. There is a danger that if gone unnoticed that one of the tires will rupture causing a blowout and a high speed accident!

- Fayetteville, AR, USA

problem #41

Dec 012008

Civic 4-cyl

  • 25,000 miles
Premature tire wear and failure due to rear upper control arm suspension defect.

- Towson, MD, USA

problem #40

Dec 012011

Civic

  • 79,000 miles
The tire dealer says rear tires are wearing prematurely and rear control arms must be replaced or new tires installed today will also wear prematurely. Rear tires are cupping. This causes terrible road noise and a rough ride. Honda issued a factory service bulletin to dealers in 2008 about the control arms having a design defect that causes tires to wear prematurely. However, they never informed their customers of this problem. I have burned through two sets of tires in 4 years and less than 80K miles. I just put the third set of tires on today. I only found out about the control arm problem by doing research on the internet. It appears several Honda customers have had this problem on models 06-08. Some have reported control arms snapping in half. Since this problem took some time to diagnose, the warranty has expired. Honda should be held responsible for this design flaw.

- Collinsville, IL, USA

problem #39

Dec 012009

Civic

  • 20,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Honda Civic. The contact stated the rear end of the vehicle would sway back and forth while driving various speeds. The failure recurred intermittently. The vehicle was eventually taken to an authorized dealer who stated that the rear upper control arms were defective and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and the contact was awaiting a response. The failure mileage was 20,000.

- Lowell, MI, USA

problem #38

Oct 202011

Civic 4-cyl

  • 76,128 miles
Excessive noise at highway speeds caused me to ask dealer about this as one shop stated rear shocks were worn and needed to be replaced. Dealer printed out service bulletin 08-001 which explained the problem about rear tires cupping and improper upper control arms being installed when manufactured. Dealer has not said cost of incorrect part is covered, and I will have to buy two new tires, replacement cost of both upper control arms and four wheel alignment. This is a manufacturing error on Honda's part and consumers should not have to bear the cost of part and tire replacements. American Honda should recall and replace. Many bona fide complaints on this fault, which contributes to personal and vehicle safety. Most owners are unaware of this problem!

- Hartland, VT, USA

problem #37

Feb 152008

Civic 4-cyl

  • 1 miles
The rear suspension has a "geometry problem", the upper control arms are too short resulting in negative camber which causes the rear tires to wear out quickly on the inside edge. I bought new tires and they are ruined after 12K miles. Apparently Honda is aware of the problem, there is a Honda service bulletin 08-001 about it sent to dealers. As for safety, the rear tires appear to be fine from the outside, plenty of tread left. It is only the very edge on the inside of the tire that is worn quite badly. Hence the safety issue: Someone could be confident they have new tires in great condition from the outside appearance, until the inside edge wears out to the point of the tire blowing out while they're driving. This really should be a recall for all affected Civics.

- Wallkill, NY, USA

problem #36

May 312011

Civic 4-cyl

  • 67,825 miles
I replaced the original 2007 tires at 41,887 miles in 2009 with premature wear. Eighteen months later, I had terrible road noise. I thought it was the bearings. It turns out that despite an alignment and proper rotation, my tires were all cupped in less than 26,000 miles. The mechanic mentioned the problem Honda had with the rear upper control arms in this vehicle. I just spent another $218 to get updated rear upper controls arms on top of $800 for new tires and another alignment. Honda is responsible for the poor quality control and not alerting me that this was a problem. The tires I just replaced were good for 85,000 miles.

- Jackson, WI, USA

problem #35

Oct 102011

Civic 4-cyl

  • miles
My 2007 Honda Civic back wheel bearing failed. I seen on the web there is a recall on this car NHTSA campaign no.07V399000. I took the car to walker Honda in alexandria Louisiana for recall repair and was told there is no recall on this car. So I replaced the bearing myself. I would like to know is there a recall on this car and can I make Honda pay me back for parts and labor on this repair.

- Ball, LA, USA

problem #34

May 012008

Civic 4-cyl

  • 18,000 miles
Rear tire wear to the belts. No adjustment of camber possible. Owner has no way to prevent this dangerous and expensive wear. These vehicle should all be recalled and rear camber adjustable components installed regardless of vehicle miles. Wear happens very quickly and is not shown at all on the front tires which have a fully adjustable suspension.

- Waterford, WI, USA

problem #33

Jul 012011

Civic

  • miles
2007 Honda Civic. Consumer states problem with vehicle tires the consumer stated the rear tires had to be replaced three times. The consumer stated it was a known defect as Honda issued a tsb to the dealership describing the problem, but no notification was ever sent to the consumer.

- Willard, MO, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?