Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
40,612 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Honda Civic suspension problems

suspension problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Honda Civic:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Honda Civic Owner Comments (Page 5 of 6)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #32

Jun 182011

Civic

  • 37,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Faulty suspension causes tires to wear quickly and unevenly. Tires develop cups that cause excessive vibration at all speeds.

- Schaumburg, IL, USA

problem #31

Mar 152011

Civic

  • 38,000 miles
Driving into the parking log going around 7 mph the support arm for the rear right wheel shock/suspension snapped in the middle and my wheel was basically dragging for around 20 feet so I could park and wait for the tow truck. This car is used as a commute car since I live in the country I drive around 70 miles a day combined mostly at 70 mph on cruise control on decent highways. I don't jump off ramps or drive crazy this is clearly poor manufacturing, workmanship, or design. I'm glad it happened when I was parking and not on the highway.

- Yoakum, TX, USA

problem #30

Feb 072011

Civic

  • 103,000 miles
I had car crash two weeks ago with Honda Civic exi 2007, during driving past three years I complained in service center few times last year about car stability in turns and after drive test they came up with nothing, it happened with me few times that after taking sharp turn the care swing and the car go out of control. This time I was taking exit from the bridge and turning down to the main road, I realize that the turn is sharp and I tried to slow down but the care doesn't response instead the crazy movement happened again and this time I was holding the wheel and make strong brake surprisingly the car accelerate and turn back to hit the side steel rail, I couldn't explain to police and all the people passes by the accident shocked about what happened that it seem up normal car response, I was in conversation with friend has the same car and I shocked after I know he has made accident the same way, not only him but in visiting the show room the dealer had the same accident but with jazz car, I realize that Honda has serious problem in stability and I urge all Honda drivers to take care and drive safe and try to get rid of this car and I urge all concerned person to act or conduct the complain in order to find solution before we Honda kill more life's.

- Dubai, 00, USA

problem #29

Dec 132007

Civic

  • 5,622 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Car rear end moves from side to side in adverse conditions such as ice and snow even driving at what should be a safe speed. Even on dry tar or concrete I notice something is not right. The tires wear unevenly on the rear. The 1st time I brought the car in on 12-13-07 at 5,622 miles the rear tires were shot and Honda blamed it on me. Bulletin # 08-011 (rear upper control arm kit) was performed on 1-24-08 and seemed to help some. That didn't solve the problem because on 2-12-09 at 14,489 miles the tires were shot. After that tire replacement the car was aligned all around and so I thought maybe that would solve the problem. Since then I still noticed the rear end was still unstable and went in several times to get the problem resolved and each time they either blamed it on me or said there was no problem. Then on 1-12-2011 at 38,359 miles and another week at the Honda shop I come to find out the tires are again worn badly on both rear inside edges. The only offer Honda cooperation has made is to replace the tires with them only paying some of the cost but no permanent solution. The 3rd set of tires I put on were the best cooper tires and still had the problem so I know replacing the tires again will not solve the problem. I and my family feel unsafe in this car especially under certain conditions. More important to me then anything is the safety of my family and I hope Honda will understand this and find a permanent solution before an accident happens at a result of this. Honda suggested trading the car in for something else but I can not pass this safety hazard on to another person and feel good about it.

- Springfield, MN, USA

problem #28

Jul 142010

Civic

  • 19,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Honda Civic. The contact stated that the vehicle had been through two sets of tires in less than 38,000 miles. The factory tires had to be replaced in 2009 because of premature wear. The dealer stated that there was a related tsb for the rear upper control arms; the vehicle was repaired and an alignment was performed. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer for premature wear again and the tires were replaced. The failure mileage was approximately 19,000 and the current mileage was approximately 37,000.

- Edinbro, PA, USA

problem #27

Sep 222010

(reported on)

Civic 4-cyl

  • 21,560 miles
2007 Honda Civic. Consumer writes to express discontent with Honda motor co. The consumer stated at 21,560 the original tires on his vehicle were replaced due to extreme uneven wear. The consumer stated his mechanic informed him of a service bulletin that was issued in July 2009 regarding rapid/uneven rear tire wear. The consumer stated he has since purchased his third set of tires for the vehicle.

- Sturgeon Bay, WI, USA

problem #26

Sep 072010

Civic

  • 33,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I bought a new 2007 Honda Civic hybrid from a certified Honda dealership. The design flaw of the rear tire arms of the vehicle caused the tire arm to rub on the tires of the car until the tires were nearly bald causing the car to shutter and the structure of the tires to weaken endangering me and my passengers. When I took the car to Honda, I was forced to replace the tires prematurely 2 times since owning the car due to the irregular wear on the tires. Honda did not notify me of the problem, refused to pay for new tires but finally admitted after the second pair of tires were rubbed bald, that the tire arm of the car was causing damage to the tires. They repaired the tire arm, but would not pay for new tires. The transmission of the car is also flawed in design. Occasionally when accelerating, the gas pedal of the car can be pushed to the floor and the car will not continue to accelerate and will loose power. This has happened at stop lights, entering the freeway, and going up hills endangering my life and the lives of my passengers. Honda again, did not notify me of the problem, but told me when I brought the car in after experiencing the problems that I needed an upgrade to my computer and that those upgrades may fix the problem. Those updates to the computers effect the battery of the hybrid part of the car's engine. Those batteries are loosing the ability to hold a charge and causing the transmission to fail because the car relies on that battery power to run the engine. The gas mileage of the car has also been steadily declining. When the car was new, it got 45 mpg and Honda advertised it get 50 mpg, the car now gets around 33 mpg. The computer updates are changing the way the car runs off of gas and battery power and Honda is not replacing the faulty batteries. This has endangered my life and the lives of my passengers because the faulty batteries effect how the car operates.

- Sacramento, CA, USA

problem #25

Sep 062010

Civic

  • miles
Honda Civic hybrid has tire wear on inner part of back tires. At 21,000 miles dealer says the back tires need to be replaced, they say it may be a balance problem. I researched the problem and safety bulletin indicates the rear control arm is defective, but car hasn't been recalled. The control arm needs replacement, but they will only give a % of replacement for back tires. It sounds like if the problem is not fixed there will continue to be unsual tire wear, which poses a safety risk to drivers. Am contacting dealer tomorrow about problem.

- Norman, OK, USA

problem #24

Apr 172010

Civic

  • 12 miles
The front anti-sway bar on the 2007 Honda Civic ex is dangerously weak. The slightest side wind while driving on the interstate causes the front end to lift up on one side, causing the car to be unstable. Twice I had to swerve on the interstate. Both times I thought the car was going to roll down the highway. I feel very lucky to be alive. After replacing the front anti-sway bar, the rear end still had some sway, so I replaced it, too. Only eiberg makes replacements so far for 2007 & up for the Civic ex. The car is now safe to drive on the interstate and during windy conditions.

- Cincinnati, OH, USA

problem #23

Jul 272010

Civic

  • miles
I bought a brand new 2007 Honda Civic hybrid that I have had to replace the tires on 3 times and the vehicle only has 45,000 miles. Counting the original tires that came on the vehicle that's 4-sets of tires. These tires were 70,000 mile rated tires. I contacted my local dealer in little rock, ar and they advise that there is no recall to fix the problem; however, they stated that Honda was aware of the problem and attributed it to a defective rear camber arm. They advised me that there is a public safety bulletin 08-001on the part. Because no recall has been issued for the defective rear camber arm they advised me that it would cost $700 to replace the defective ones. The excessive tire wear caused by this defective part can easily result in tire blow-outs, vehicle accidents, and highway fatalities. The fact that a known safety deficiency exist that Honda is aware of but unwilling to correct needs to be investigated.

- Angier, NC, USA

problem #22

Jun 202010

Civic

  • 69,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Honda Civic. While driving approximately 70 mph the vehicle began to vibrate. The contact stated that over time the vibration became much worse and more profound while driving at highway speeds. The vehicle was in the process of being taken to an authorized dealer in regards to a suspension related technical service bulletin. The failure mileage was 69,000. The current mileage was 72,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Belgrade, MT, USA

problem #21

May 072010

Civic

  • 32,000 miles
When I am traveling at speeds above 65mph my entire car vibrates/shutters/shimmy/shakes. It is felt in the steering wheel, and shifter, and the overall ride of the vehicle. It only occurs when I press the gas to accelerate. If I am traveling at 72mph and I release my foot from the gas the vibration does not go away 100%, but it's greatly reduced. At 32,000 my tires were completely bald and worn. I brought my car to Honda who would not honor the warranty which expired at 30,000. I then took my car to a repair mechanic who told me the he could not fix the camber which was out of alignment. It was the cause of the excessive tire wear and so I bought new tires and had them mounted, aligned and balanced. Recently after having a 50,000 major service performed on my car by Honda the problem came back. Had the right and left inner cv joints replaced and the vibration still persists.

- Orange, CA, USA

problem #20

Sep 012007

Civic

  • 15,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Honda Civic si. While driving at approximate speeds of 50 mph, the front passenger side tire blew out without warning. The next week, the rear driver side tire blew out suddenly. Upon further inspection, the contact believed the failure to be attributed to the manner in which the tires were mounted to the vehicle. The dealer advised the vehicle would need a specific unknown tire and an alignment. The contact confirmed the failure persisted and the dealer was unable to determine the exact cause of the failure. The failure mileage was 15,000 and current mileage was 75,000.

- Conway, AR, USA

problem #19

Nov 152009

Civic

  • 10,000 miles
Tires severely worn and cupped, car has serious vibration asked Honda dealer for a wheel alignment they stated the problem was rear control arm so the Honda dealer replaced it I had to pay 1/3, the dealer paid 1/3 and Honda paid 1/3 or so I was told after much bickering.

- Holly Hill, SC, USA

problem #18

Oct 132009

Civic

  • 26,000 miles
2007 Honda Civics eat up tires. Something is wrong with the suspension of the car that causes the tires to wear at unevenly and dangerously quick. We only get 1/3 of the warranty life of tires and when we replace the technicians tell us the tires are unsafe to drive on. They are worn unevenly, blistered on the inside so much that wires are sticking through. This is a common complaint for this vehicle.

- Olin, NC, USA

problem #17

Apr 302009

Civic

  • 10,000 miles
Tires wear out, due to weak stabilizer bars on rear end, Honda replaced the stabilizer's, and aligned car, however don't pay to replace tires, only way to know you have a problem is to take car to dealer, if you get you service anywhere else, you don't know you have a problem. I took car in for oil change and got the word about the service bulletin.

- Davenport, IA, USA

problem #16

Feb 232008

Civic

  • 21,948 miles
There has been uneven tire wear, particularly at the rear of our 2007 Honda Civic. Ever since we bought the car. The feathering of the tread resembled a tracking problem, but we also had wheel bearing failures. Three were replaced over the last 3 years. The dealer never checked the track despite my queries. I now find that there is a Honda service bulletin that was issued regarding rear suspension in February 2008. The dealer still hasn't addressed the problem beyond selling us new tires and adjusting the track and charging us for the full cost. They did not perform the recommended replacement of components.

- Harrisonburg, VA, USA

problem #15

Dec 172008

Civic

  • miles
My complaint is that Honda has (1) knowingly put in faulty (suspension parts) upper control arms in the front & back of the Honda Civic, (2) failed to inform customers of the problem (a recall is needed), (3) failed to properly reimburse customers for the tire damage due to the faulty control arms installed in the vehicles. I bought my Honda Civic used at around 13K miles. Since then, I've needed an alignment every month. Despite this my tires became excessively worn at 27K. I went to two Honda service stores (mission valley & pacific Honda in san diego) to complain about the excessive need for alignments, road noise, & tire wear. They knowingly withheld information & failed to inform me of the service bulletin 08-001 since they would be required to replace the upper control arms (a warranty item) that they didn't want to replace. In the service bulletin, Honda informs the dealers of common complaints related to tire wear & suspension & advises them to replace the rear control arms on the Honda Civic. Honda also will reimburse customers pro-rata for tire replacement if they have less than 25K in mileage. If hadn't have done my own research on the internet, I would not have known about this service bulletin. I took my car in around 26K so that they could replace my rear control arms. They did this for free but said I didn't qualify to get my tires replaced since I was over the 25K threshold. If I had known about the bulletin, I would have been able to get my tires replacement by Honda earlier. It was their faulty parts that led my tires to wear excessively in the first place. I had to shell out $650 to replace my tires at around 26K miles. I've probably spent $500 dollars in alignments because of the control arms too. Honda should own up to the faulty parts entirely and stand by their product. See Honda service bulletin 08-001.

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #14

Mar 172008

Civic

  • Automatic transmission
  • 18,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Honda Civic. While driving 10 mph, the contact heard a loud rattling and roaring noise coming from the tires. He took the vehicle to the dealer and they replaced the front strut linkage. Immediately after the repair, the failure resurfaced. All four tires were replaced, but the failure continued to persist. A tire specialist stated that the rear passenger rear shock failed, but no repairs were made. The contact was advised by a technician to closely monitor the issue. He is in the process of having the vehicle inspected again. The failure mileage was 18,000 and current mileage was 46,000. 4/01/09 NJ* updated 04/07/09.

- Cleveland, OH, USA

problem #13

Dec 142007

Civic

  • 14,000 miles
Premature tire wear leading to loud rear axle noise, and tire failure. First set of tires failed after 14000 odometer miles. Second set at 37000 odometer miles. The dealer indicated that there is defective weld in the control arms.

- Deltona, FL, USA

Read the next 12 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?