Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
79,604 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2001 Honda Odyssey electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2001 Honda Odyssey:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2001 Honda Odyssey Owner Comments

problem #19

Nov 042015


  • 166,700 miles


The contact owns a 2001 Honda Odyssey. When the accelerator pedal was depressed at various speeds, the gauges on the instrument panel fluctuated up and then down to zero. The vehicle stalled without warning intermittently. The vehicle was able to be restarted. The vehicle was taken to the dealer on three occasions; however the diagnosis was unknown. The vehicle was repaired, but the failure recurred. In addition, when the brake pedal was depressed, an abnormal sound emitted from the vehicle. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer where the technician stated that the vehicle was operating as designed. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 166,700.

- Saint Paul, MN, USA

problem #18

Aug 262014


  • 150,500 miles
Van was parked in driveway. I was washing it and opened the hood. Luckily I noticed that the negative battery terminal was almost cut clean through. There were only a couple of copper strands grounding my Honda van. I do not want to know what would have happened if it had lost electrical connection while driving!!!

- Greenville, SC, USA

problem #17

Jan 172011


  • 113,048 miles
Sliding door failure. Both sliding doors failed on Jan 17, 2011. The doors were stuck halfway open. I consider this to be a safety issue. Was repaired for the price of $800. Luckily the van was no moving that the time, but we did have to drive it to the mechanic with the doors open.

- Greenville, SC, USA

problem #16

Apr 012013


  • 160,000 miles


Ongoing problems with sliding door, seat belt and electrical issues. At 160K replaced transmission for $5000. Not happy at all.

- Camarillo, CA, USA

problem #15

Jun 152012

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • 140,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Honda Odyssey. The contact stated that while driving approximately 70 mph, the vehicle decelerated and suddenly stalled. Additionally, the instrument panel lighting failed. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnosis where the technician advised the contact that the transmission and the electrical system computer would have to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 140,000.

- Wimauma, FL, USA

problem #14

Jul 112012

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • 86,734 miles
Transmission failure while driving. Sudden stop causing car to turn off in the middle of traffic. After restarting the car, transmission will not go into gear. Pushing the car to the side of the road on a busy street had to tow car back to home address. Transmission was recalled by Honda. Told me that it is safe to drive, unfortunately it wasn't leaving me stranded on busy road. Many incidents like this all with the same transmission failure.

- Richmond Hill, NY, USA

problem #13

Nov 212011

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • 75,137 miles


The car started slipping between 1st and 2nd, 2nd and 3rd gear and later the check engine light and tcs light came on and D4 was flashing. The was turned off and restarted minutes later. Tcs light was off and D4 stopped flashing, but, the check engine light was still on. I went to a dealer and was told that the transmission was bad.

- Thornhill, MA, USA

problem #12

Jul 012011

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • 99,000 miles
Sliding doors: One door stopped opening all together, so passengers cannot get out on the drivers side in the back, creating a safety hazard. The passenger side sliding door opens but the alarm sounds when driving, so the master switch in on the front must be in the off position in order to drive. This makes the door inoperable unless the switch is on, and this must be done manually every time the door needs to be used, creating a safety hazard in an emergency.

- Piedmont, CA, USA

problem #11

Apr 182011

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • 122,570 miles
2001 Honda Odyssey rear passenger doors do not close or fully retract. My wife took the vehicle to the Honda dealer and it we received an initial estimate of $415 to repair. We received a revised estimate of $717 to replace the right side door switch followed by a third revision of $1033 to replace the control unit. A fourth revision totaling $1955 was received to replace the right side door motor. This did not fully correct the problem. The door open alarm continues to sound. The recommended corrective action now is to replace the interior wire harness. This will be an additional cost. We have declined this repair believing that the wire harness should have been identified early on during the troubleshooting process. I now believe this is a safety and potential fire issue. As I continue to read of these problems Honda should issue a safety recall notice concerning this potential safety issue.

- Clovis, CA, USA

problem #10

Jan 152010


  • Automatic transmission
  • 88,000 miles
The 2001 Honda Odyssey started having problems of stalling while driving on 01/15/10. When the problem occurred again on 01/20/10, we brought it to a Honda dealer for examination. The dealer had it for nine days until 01/29/10 but was unable to make a diagnosis. On 01/29/10, we took the vehicle back. On 02/03/10 and 02/04/10, the stalling recurred so we brought it back to the same dealer. Now, having been unsuccessful to make a diagnosis, the dealer notified us that they would not make any more attempts to repair the vehicle.

- Audubon, PA, USA

problem #9

Sep 292009


  • 160,000 miles


2001 Honda Odyssey - vehicle has been having intermittent electrical problems. Indicator lights come on randomly, but there isn't an actual problem. Recently, the vehicle blew a fuse which operates the radio and overhead lights. Every time the fuse was replaced, it blew again. I had my mechanic investigate the problem. He traced the wire from the fuse box to locate the electrical short. He discovered that the plastic clip that is supposed to be holding the electrical wires broke and the electrical wires are laying on a hot part of the car and all the wires melted together and exposed the wires. I was told that the vehicle is at serious risk for an electrical fire and it is very likely that I will lose all my electrical connections, both of which could result in a very serious, life-threatening accident.

- Hales Corners, WI, USA

problem #8

Mar 312009

(reported on)


  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
2001 Honda Odyssey sliding doors have many problems. Consumer states that some issues are electrical and sticking locks. The consumer stated the driver's side sliding door didn't close completely and there were a couple of times when she couldn't open the doors at all.

- Davenport, IA, USA

problem #7

Jun 052008

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • 89,000 miles
2001 Honda Odyssey van continues to have electrical door problems. Driver side electric door lock will not unlock, very dangerous should there be a vehicle fire or if vehicle were to turn over. Passenger side electric door already had same problem and was fixed. Doors don't fully close properly either. I have heard of many people who have these same issues. Honda should issue a recall and fix for free due to the large number of people who have experienced electrical door problems. Current lock problem occurred 6/5/08; however, have been having issues with door closing properly for years now.

- Fremont, CA, USA

problem #6

Mar 252007


  • miles
Nothing happened leading up to the failure that I know of. I was driving my van Sunday 3-25-07 on the interstate and my throttle stuck I was driving up to speeds of around 95 I had the brake to the ground and still going 80 to 85 I alomost hit 2 other cars and I could not get my van stopped it was like it was locked up on me. Fimally after 2 miles I got ot to stop. I had my two children with me and I was scared to death thank god nobody was hurt.

- St Marys, KS, USA

problem #5

May 012004

Odyssey 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 35,000 miles
The automatic sliding doors both stopped functioning. I learned that they could be reset by removing fuse #13 for a few seconds and replacing it. This worked until it happened again several months later. This time it didn't help. Now one door works but because the other doesn't I have to turn off the auto-door switch because it buzzes constantly. I have also had the clock light burn out and my Honda mechanic (who specializes in Honda) cannot remove the cover to replace it. I have had several other warning light incidents that may or may not be electrical problems.

- Cordova, TN, USA

problem #4

Dec 272002

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 25,728 miles
Automatic sliding doors apply dangerous pressure to people before retracting. I have been hurt twice by being crushed and bruised by doors closing on my body when door was accidently activated while loading children and passengers. The sensor to retract does not operate as indicated by manufacturer. This defect poses serious danger to children. Also, both sliding doors have been malfunctioning since Oct 2002. Will almost close, then retract with nothing obstructing them. Dealer has attempted to repair this malfunction four times in the last year starting at 25,000 miles with no success. Faulty junction switches have been replaced and doors rehoned but malfunctions continue to happen approx every couple months and mileage is now at 38,000. Driver side window is very slow to raise. Faulty regulator was replaced Oct, 2002. Almost a year later, the problem continues to occur with dealer saying it just needs cleaning. Car has been serviced three times in the last year for this problem.

- Foxboro, MA, USA

problem #3

Jun 202003

(reported on)


  • miles
Problems with vehicle dome lights dimming briefly. The purge control solenoid cycled off and on repeatedly, the A/C blower motor speed decreased and various dash/dome lights dimmed for approximately 10 seconds then revert back to its high speed setting and original brightness. There was a grinding noise that had come from the transmission which was repaired.

- Boca Raton, FL, USA

problem #2

May 252001

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 1,064 miles
The vehicle experienced the following: Out of alignment, loud bang/ticking, shaking, engine hesitation, inoperative A/C, a contaminated filter with metal shavings, A/C drain tube was rubbing and draining on the steering rack boot, coolant reservoir was empty and the right front seal on the body was damaged due to it being improperly placed, A/C knob was broken, the A/C airflow automatically changed, when the A/C blower motor speed decreased, various dash lights would dim, the hood latch was defective, static shock problem, there was a coolant smell, due to the reservoir fluid level, the sliding door was inoperative, the transmission was defective, the crankshaft pulley and the steering wheel vibrated, the right door seal had come apart, the splash shield clip was missing, the idle speed fluctuated from 750 to 2000 RPM with the vehicle in park/neutral, and immediately after, the mil light had come on. The repairs are as followed: Wheels aligned, A/C condenser and compressor evaporation dryer, intake manifold, reinstalled rear evaporator/heater unit, installed a drain tube in the retainer bracket, hood latch was replaced, PCM replaced to solve the transmission problem, removed the broken bolt from the block, the crankshaft pulley vibration is still unresolved, and the slash shield clip has been replaced. Scc

- Boca Raton, FL, USA

problem #1

Jun 072002


  • miles
While vehicle was parked, opened sliding door and noticed smoke inside. Ten seconds later, vehicle was in flames. Police investigator sad it was a result off bad electric system.

- Shrewsbury, MA, USA

Not what you are looking for?