Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
15 / 0
Average Mileage:
81,268 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2001 Honda Odyssey transmission problems

transmission problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2001 Honda Odyssey:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2001 Honda Odyssey Owner Comments (Page 3 of 10)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #151

Nov 052010

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • 124,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My 2001 Honda Odyssey transmission failed at 87000 miles lynnwood Honda dealer sold and installed a rebuilt transmission for $3600. The rebuilt transmission failed in less than a year at 37000 miles. I believe they installed a faulty transmission. Honda says they won't assist me. Results: I lost $3600 dollars on the repair. Plus I have a van worth $7000(kbb) that doesn't work. Total loss $11000.

- Seattle, WA, USA

problem #150

Nov 102010

Odyssey

  • 119,344 miles
Transmission slippage during shift from first to second gear when accelerating from a complete stop, as if the vehicle cannot gain traction. Rolling backward at an incline from a complete stop, when the accelerator is pressed. Engine speeds up, transmission does not immediately shift, and when it does finally engage the shift is extremely rough, with a noticeable loss of acceleration/power. Obdii code indicates a P0740 (tcc enable solenoid circuit electrical) problem, and the transmission now needs to be replaced at 119,344 miles. I've discovered that american Honda is aware of this particular defect, and have issued several extended warranties pertaining to transmission failures in 1999-2002 Honda Odyssey, yet they have never issued a recall to correct the ongoing problem.

- Knoxville, TN, USA

problem #149

Nov 052010

Odyssey

  • 40,000 miles
2001 Honda Odyssey. Transmission defective. Again. The original was replaced by Honda under extended warranty around 60,000 miles (approximately 4 years ago). Second transmission failed the other day with less than 40,000 miles on it. Clearly, Honda did not replace the transmission the first time with a transmission that corrected the design flaw. Rather, they installed a rebuilt transmission with the same design flaw. Honda was fully aware at the time they faced a design flaw - but installed a flawed transmission anyhow. This was done most likely knowing that these transmissions would "on average" make it at least through the warranty period and become the owners problem afterwards. I, personally, consider such behavior potentially fraudulent. That is, installing something that known to be defective and subject to early failure relative to what the expected lifespan of the system is as measured against the norm and within statistical reason. I am aware of the class action lawsuit and outcome (minor extension of warranty). I am filing this complaint simply for record and out of disappointment for Honda's actions.

- Orlando, FL, USA

problem #148

Jun 152010

Odyssey

  • 121,970 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2001 Honda Odyssey ex: Transmission dropped "slammed" into lower gear when decelerating below 40 mph. Occurred about once per month and transmission began to shift more harshly as time progressed. Mileage at time of first incident was just over 117,000. Honda dealer reproduced the problem and recommended replacement of the transmission.

- Fountain Valley, CA, USA

problem #147

Oct 302010

Odyssey

  • 98,091 miles
Merging onto highway in my 2001 Honda Odyssey ex. The "check engine" and "tcs" lights came on. Upon shutting down and re-starting, the "tcs" light went out but "check engine" remained lit. The jeff wyler Honda dealership in florence, ky tells me there is some sort of clutch failure in the transmission, requiring that I get a new transmission for $4,000 plus and extra $1,000 in labor. We have service documentation going back to six months after we purchased the vehicle new in September 2000, stating our complaints about the "rumble" in the transmission upon reaching highway speed of around 45-65 mph. The dealership tried several things, including replacing some sort of module in the transmission, but the problem persisted to this day. Now, american Honda refuses to take responsibility, claiming that the vehicle is "too old".

- Edgewood, KY, USA

problem #146

Oct 242010

Odyssey

  • 108,550 miles
Transmission failed in June of 2006. Honda installed a remanufactured transmission at 66K miles. Transmission failed again at approximately 108K miles on October 24, 2010. Remanufactured transmission lasted only 42K miles. Honda refused to take responsibility for the transmission. Honda refused to admit that the remanufactured transmissions have the same problem as the old transmissions. Honda said that unless there is another class action suit, they will not be taking any type of responsibility, even if the transmission fails again after 40K miles. Honda said that they considered the total miles on my car as the warranty period and that there was no warranty period for the remanufactured transmission. Vehicle transmission failed in the middle of a busy road. I had my 9 year old daughter with me.

- Gurnee, IL, USA

problem #145

Aug 192010

Odyssey

  • 160 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Our money vs. Honda transmission defect and their responsibilities.

- Lawrenceville, GA, USA

problem #144

Sep 232010

Odyssey

  • 95,000 miles
2001 Honda Odyssey; transmission failure. Bucks and shifts erratically. Engine light comes on, D4 light blinks. Extremely dangerous to drive, as it lurches forward uncontrollably. Just started with this problem last week; car currently has 95,000 miles. Original owner; maintained the car privately once the dealer warranty was expired.

- Parkland, FL, USA

problem #143

Aug 202010

Odyssey

  • 103,000 miles
Transmission slipped and shifted violently intermittently, not able to consistently reproduce for dealer warranty. One day at stop light the transmission did not engage. Unable to move vehicle due to transmission not engaging.

- Cypress, TX, USA

problem #142

Jun 202010

Odyssey

  • 27,000 miles
Faulty Honda Odyssey transmissions.

- Lexington, KY, USA

problem #141

Sep 012010

Odyssey

  • 118,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Transmission problem. Need replacement.

- Syosset, NY, USA

problem #140

Aug 202010

Odyssey

  • 88,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Honda Odyssey. While the contact was driving approximately 40 mph, the transmission began to slip causing the engine to revv. The gear selector was shifted into the lowest gear, because the transmission was unable to shift into first gear. The failure occurred on four different occasions. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer where they informed the contact the transmission would need to be replaced at the his expense. The estimated repair cost was $2,800. The vehicle had not been repaired at the time of the complaint. The failure mileage was 88,000.

- Oxon Hill, MD, USA

problem #139

May 282010

Odyssey

  • 87,861 miles
The transmission on our 2001 Honda Odyssey failed at 87,861 miles in may of 2010. The transmission had been properly maintained and there were no warnings or problems prior to the failure. The transmission was replaced by us. Honda would not cover any of the cost because it was past the time limit on the extended warranty, despite being well under the mileage limit.

- Granger, IN, USA

problem #138

Aug 202010

Odyssey

  • 113,000 miles
2001 Honda Odyssey 4 speed automatic transmission is failing. Clutch slippage going from 2nd to 3rd. Service shop says repair and replace 3100 plus tax. Many many complaints regarding this problem from other alike vehicle owners. Clutch slippage has been going on for over 2 years. Honda extended the warranty on this but my problem started a few months after the warranty for my year of Honda expired. Family of 6 and unable to pay for replacement.

- Mitchell, SD, USA

problem #137

Sep 192001

Odyssey

  • 138,750 miles
When I would go to pass and push down on the gas the engine would rev up and it would take 2 or 3 seconds to kick in to passing gear. I took it to them and they said nothing was wrong. Now the engine light has come on and the code says I need a new transmission. I told them that it wasn't right within the first year I had it. I took it to them twice and they said nothing was wrong. I changed the transmission fluid every 15000 miles and it still happened. I went to Honda after the light came on and since it is out of warranty they denied my claim. The only reason it took this long to go bad was because I serviced it regularly. The best part was when I took it to them after the transmission light has gone on they did not have any record of me bringing my van for this problem. What a coincidence.

- Waxhaw, NC, USA

problem #136

Aug 132006

Odyssey

  • 37,000 miles
Honda 2001 transmission failure. The is number 2. first one was replaced at 42,000 at no charge in July 2006. Now at 79,000 the second one is failing and Honda wants $5000 for a replacement. Help.

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #135

Mar 012003

Odyssey

  • 48,000 miles
2001 Honda Odyssey 1st transmissions failure at approximately 48000 miles. Vehicle sitting at intersection. Attempted to pull across traffic and turn left at 4 lane busy road with no light. Car revived but did not move. Then took foot off accelerator and as RPM's came down, car lurched and moved into traffic as 18 wheeler approached.3 kids in vehicle and wife. Nearly a major accident. Second transmission failure at approximately 109000 miles. Vehicle under cruise control 50 miles North of waco. Transmission suddenly and abruptly revived to reclined attempting to maintain cruise control set speed of 70 mph. Left wife and 3 kids stranded in middle of nowhere North of waco. Took 3 hours for tow truck to find. Anything could have happened. Third transmission failure at 180000 miles. Vehicle just. Quit running engine revived like before. Spouse and kids were able to limp to shopping mall at 30 mph and 4000 RPM. Vehicle os on 4th tyranny in 180,000 miles. Honda refused to pay for replacement tyranny. Cost 4000. Vehicle had extended warranty purchased. Each new tyranny came with 3/36 warranty and Honda lost lawsuit for transmission and extended warranty to 109K miles. Subsequent lawsuit extended warranty further. Residual value when sold was completely stolen dealer gave 3900 in trade. Had listed on craigslist...nobody and I mean nobody wanted to buy it of called.

- Katy, TX, USA

problem #134

Jun 052010

Odyssey

  • 86,000 miles
Transmission failure of 2001 Honda Odyssey.

- Daly City, CA, USA

problem #133

Aug 012001

Odyssey

  • 50,000 miles
2001 Honda Odyssey, multiple transmission failures. Potential for transmission to lockup and stop car abruptly at any speeds. Honda was directed to extend warranty to 93 months and 109,000 per a class action lawsuit. This applies to original sales date only. Does not apply to transmissions they have replaced one or more times already. Some owners are reporting they are are on their fourth transmissions. Honda and Honda of America of America have not performed any major upgrades to these transmissions, merely replacing defective transmission with another rebuilt transmission of the the same type. This appears to be affecting 2000-2003 Honda Odyssey. No recall ever issued. Original transmission failed at 47,800, replacement transmission failed at 97,200.

- Evergreen Park, IL, USA

problem #132

Jul 112010

Odyssey

  • 119,000 miles
I have a 2001 Honda Odyssey and at a little over 75,000 miles I had to have the transmission replaced. I now have 44,000 miles on the new transmission and it has gone bad again. I have been doing a lot of research on this issue and have found out that there is a problem with the 1999-2004 Odyssey transmissions. We were lucky enough to pull off the side of the road safely when the transmission began slipping and seconds later the transmission went out completely and we were not able to move at all. This could happen to someone on an interstate which could cause a terrible accident which could include death. Honda is aware of this issue but has done nothing to fix the problem nor do they offer any help to consumers who have purchased the vehicle in the good faith that they are buying a safe reliable car. Consumers are not told about this defect and are the ones that suffer by paying the price of a new transmission due to Honda's issue. Honda will not take responsibility for this issue and it is not right. Most people do not have the money to buy a new car nor replace a transmission. Toyota was confronted about the issue with their cars so why has Honda not been in the news" are we waiting for fatalities"

- Massillon, OH, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?