Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
82,007 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Honda Odyssey body / paint problems

body / paint problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Honda Odyssey:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Honda Odyssey Owner Comments (Page 1 of 3)

problem #41

Sep 242016

Odyssey

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The driver's side sliding door completely locked in the open position Saturday evening while out with my grandkids. My daughter's and I had to break the door off just to get home in the dark by securing the inside of the door with the seatbelt leaving one grandchild car seat unsecured. Now the van is parked with the door as is in the rain. I can't drive to the dealer and I can't afford to have it towed there much less pay for any repairs. Safety is a serious issue driving without a secure door.

- Montgomery Village, MD, USA

problem #40

Jun 142014

Odyssey

  • 93,141 miles
The driver's side sliding door closes, latches and then 5 seconds later unlatches itself electronically. The door refuses to close completely and can easily open when the vehicle is moving. This is a very unsafe condition especially if passengers are in the second seating row. This happened by itself over the life of the vehicle - I cannot pin an exact action that made this occur other than repeated usage. In order to keep the door from reopening, I had to remove the fuse (#7) that controls the power sliding doors. Now only the passenger sliding door is used and must be operated manually. Also remote power locks have been disabled because of removal of the fuse. Very dangerous situation.

- Bel Air, MD, USA

problem #39

Mar 232016

Odyssey

  • miles
Our 2005 Honda Odyssey vibrates, especially around 35-45 mph. Honda told us that the engine mounts have broken and that is what is causing it. They are not a cheap fix. Engine mounts, the last thing that you would think would go out on a vehicle! yet, when you go online, this apparently seems to be a massive problem with these vans. Honda has a problem with their engine mounts braking and this seems to be ok with them. This is not ok. They need to take responsibility for this failure. We have already been through having to replace many other failures from Honda throughout the years, including replacing the fuel cap before they recalled it. We will no longer be purchasing Honda vehicles.

- Rapid City, SD, USA

problem #38

Aug 052014

Odyssey

  • 100,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Honda Odyssey. In rainy weather, the contact observed water leaking into the trunk of the vehicle. The failure occurred every time it rained. The vehicle was not diagnosed nor repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 100,000.

- Valley Cottage, NY, USA

problem #37

Nov 092015

Odyssey

  • 180,000 miles
On November 2015 we were traveling back from vacation. As we stopped for a bathroom break we opened the rear passenger side door opened and it would not close back.. it took several hours to get the door back on track in order for it to be shut. The door then did not open, causing a safety hazard. In case of an emergency I could bot use the door to get my children out. The end of February 2016, while dropping the children off at a babysitter, the driver rear passenger door opened and again would not close. I had the vehicle towed to a shop where I had to replace the cable, the motor and other components. I feel that this is a safety hazard to the body of the vehicle.

- Toms River, NJ, USA

problem #36

Feb 132014

Odyssey

  • 90,000 miles
Criminal! both sliding doors on our 2005 Honda Odyssey minivan (children) do not close. Not sure who is more culpable Honda or the NHTSA.

- Bloomfield Hills, MI, USA

problem #35

Jan 132016

Odyssey

  • 55,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Around 10:30 am on Wednesday, 1/13/16, driver-side sliding door would keep opening up "completely voluntarily" when the vehicle (2005 Honda Odyssey ex) was in motion and being operated on a local freeway. Multiple attempts to close the door either using the remote/automatic door-closing switch by the steering wheel or manually (upon stopping the vehicle on the roadside) would not fix the issue. The sliding door kept opening up "voluntarily" once the vehicle was put back in motion / drive mode (attempt to operate the vehicle). The vehicle had to be driven back home, its normal parking location, with the sliding door open during the drive (approximately 10 miles from home).

- Schaumburg, IL, USA

problem #34

Jan 012010

Odyssey

  • 100,000 miles
Honda's have been having issues with paint peeling on blue cars Honda extended the warranty by two years for my 2005 Honda Odyssey I was not aware that Honda was covering the paint issue I was not aware that Honda had extended the warranty I am fairly sure that the dealer I purchased the vehicle from was aware that I purchased a vehicle that potentially had a paint issue and that it was covered under warranty. Honda of lisle (Illinois) should have been more proactive in seeking out and covering this issue

- Bolingbrook, IL, USA

problem #33

Jul 052015

Odyssey

  • 197,000 miles
Was parked at grocery store when a cable snapped on our drivers side sliding door. Power was lost to the door and upon attempting to close the manually the door fell off and could have potentially injured someone as the back of the doors corner hit the ground with enough force to crush if not sever a foot. This left our vehicle disabled and left us stranded.

- Ames, IA, USA

problem #32

Jun 112015

Odyssey

  • 153,000 miles
Both my side doors have been been making noise. Then my passenger side door would not open. We used the drivers side rear door instead. On Thursday, June 11, 2015 while opening it the entire door fell off and smashed my foot. Bruising and swelling on my big toe but nothing to go to er over. Iced it and still hurting a few days later. Called Honda and they said it was normal wear and tear. My responsibility. Out of warranty. Researched online and this is a very common issue. Doors falling off their vans! seems ridiculous and time for a recall. Customer service rep said that it was my car and they were not responsible to repair it. I said that coincidentally I just had my van in for a recall (fuel pump - was smelling gas while driving it) so that's not entirely true. Some things they do fix for free. This seems like a major problem. I opened the door for my 9-year-old daughter to get into the car. What is the door fell on her?

- Mount Sinai, NY, USA

problem #31

Mar 062015

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • 165,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The paint is coming off my car in sheets. The people at the repair shop said they have seen this and that it was recalled by Honda. Honda will do nothing about my car. Said old age. That isn't true.

- Levittown , PA, USA

problem #30

Jun 282010

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • 35,000 miles
The first incident of the driver side automatic sliding passenger door occurred in June 2010, when vehicle was only about 5 years old. There has never been an accident, dents, or anything that might impact the function of the doors. Since then, both passenger auto sliding doors now have trouble closing, and will often close on a passenger, with the passenger's body being the only thing that makes the door stop closing. Summary: Both sliding doors either do not close properly (stop short and have to be restarted several times, often forced to close); or they close back immediately after opening and scare or squish the passenger who is getting into the vehicle. This is a safety hazard, and we fear that soon the doors will not stop and completely crush the person entering the vehicle, or we will have to drive with the door open if it will not close. Sometimes it takes about 4-6 attempts to close the doors after everyone is in the car and belted in. My friend has the same car and similar issue, so I was wondering if there are more complaints, perhaps there should be a recall? thank you for your time and consideration!

- Haddonfield, NJ, USA

problem #29

Mar 122008

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • miles
At the time of purchase I was forced to obtain an extended warranty, etching and many other things. One year later I began to have problems with the sliding doors. I informed Honda because doors are covered under the extended warranty and the dealer refused to do any repairs. Summer of 2014 there's a recall on the fuel pump and the dealership claims that because the doors are stuck closed they cannot repair the recall. However the service advisor opened the sliding doors and still then they refuse to complete the recall. I contacted Honda's manufacturer and per the case manager at corporate office, " Honda cannot help me the recall." I recently learned that on September of 2011 there was an extended warranty on the steering. I informed the case manager that I never received such notice. Her response was "perhaps the notice was mailed to the previous owner, because we go by the address noted at the dmv office."; September of 2011 the vehicle was registered under my name and address, the case manager did not have a response for me. Fuel pump recall has not been repaired.

- Boonton, NJ, USA

problem #28

May 012014

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • 99,000 miles
Our 2005 Honda Odyssey LX is having massive paint peeling issues. There was an extended warranty offered for this problem a few years ago and has since expired, but at the time of the warranty we did not notice a problem. It now has 60% paint loss on the roof and patches as large as a hand on the body are peeling. Van is garage kept and well maintained. After contacting the Honda dealership where van was purchased, we were told there were no Honda reps in our area to inspect van and they don't expect one until next month or so. The service manager is aware of the issue but did not offer any suggestions other than to wait until the rep is available to inspect van. By the time the rep sees our van, we may have no paint left.

- Williamsport, PA, USA

problem #27

Jun 012012

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • 180,000 miles
I have a navy blue color Honda Odyssey 2005. Now, that car is becoming a junk because of the paint defect. And it start changing with rust. Paint peeling becomes serious day after day, almost everywhere the top of the car, and paint start to peel bonnet too. Recently, I found that certain model cars which I have had paint defect, but Honda company said they couldn't fix my car because the date they sat for repairing was over. They never send any recall information about this defect. This paint peeling originally start from the roof, so it is hard to notice quickly. It is definitely the manufactural defect, so Honda company has to fix this no matter what date customers find out, and Honda had to send information about this paint defect early for preventing this happening. I hope someone review my complaint, and help me. Thank you for your reading.

- Poolesville, MD, USA

problem #26

May 012014

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • 155,000 miles
Paint failure on roof and spreading.

- Cary, NC, USA

problem #25

May 072014

Odyssey

  • 107,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Honda Odyssey. The contact stated that the rear driver and passenger side doors were fractured. The contact mentioned that the motor function to secure the doors became inoperable. The contact also stated that the instrument panel and all of the interior lighting in the vehicle failed. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where the vehicle was repaired. The failure recurred. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 107,000.

- Brewster, NY, USA

problem #24

Oct 182012

Odyssey

  • 65,000 miles
Large patches of paint have come off the hood, roof and above the passenger-side sliding door. Washing the car with a standard garden hose nozzle results in paint actually flying off these body panels as if it were being sand blasted. The first time I noticed this (October 2012) was less than one year after the extended warranty (dealing with this precise problem) ran out. Up until this time, there was no problem with the paint so it wouldn't have occurred to the original owner to avail himself of the extended warranty.

- Delmar, NY, USA

problem #23

May 142009

Odyssey

  • 57,000 miles
The power sliding doors will not close on a hill. They will start to close and then reopen automatically on there own, they will only then close when you get to level ground. I bring this up now because I was with 7 Odyssey owners that have the exact same problem.

- Cincinnati, OH, USA

problem #22

Nov 182013

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • 3,000 miles
The contact owns 2005 Honda Odyssey. The contact stated that the rear driver's side door would not latch closed and the failure would recur intermittently for six months. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer. The manufacturer was not notified of the defect. The approximate failure mileage was 3,000. Updated 06/27/14 the consumer stated while driving the door opened, cable snapped, then came off the brackets. Updated 07/1/2014

- Painsville, OH, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?