Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

3.1

definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
45,240 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Honda Odyssey body / paint problems

body / paint problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Honda Odyssey:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Honda Odyssey Owner Comments

problem #17

May 312013

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • 105,928 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Steering wheel severe vibrations while driving on highway at 50 up to 70 mph went to auto mechanic and replaced 2 engine mounts ($1113 total).

- Rocklin, CA, USA

problem #16

Sep 292014

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • 114,464 miles
Brought the car to a Honda dealership (tony Honda, waipahu hi 96797) for recall (fuel pump) and routine maintenance and two broken motor mounts were discovered (right side and rear side). Was advised that repair of the two broken mounts would most likely lead to damage to the remaining mounts, which would then have to be replaced as well.

- Honolulu, HI, USA

problem #15

Apr 052010

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • 52,000 miles
Strong vibration felt in passenger compartment and steering wheel when driving at 40 to 45 mph. There was a droning noise as well. This has been an issue since 2010, but identified by dealer service advisor only in Feb 2014. Quoted 800 dollars to replace both front engine mounts. Also identified rear engine mount to be close to needing replacement. Called Honda customer service asking for assistance in replacing the engine mounts. We just replaced catalytic converters due to diagnostic code P0420 two months ago for 800 dollars. Honda's representative (his name is [xxx] refused to assist in any way. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Wildwood, MO, USA

problem #14

Jan 082011

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • 94,896 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Had to replace a front motor mount in my 2005 Honda Odyssey. My mechanic indicated that he contacted a Honda dealer and they were out of the part because there were several Odyssey's with the same problem. I didn't know how many complaints needed to be launched before a recall notice would be considered. I wanted my vehicle noted since I did not go to a Honda dealer.

- Greenwood, IN, USA

problem #13

Nov 062010

Odyssey

  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Honda Odyssey. The contact stated that the vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer for repair for recall 10V055000 (structure: Body: Hatch-back lift-gate support) in June 2010. On November 6, 2010, the contact opened the lift gate which fell on her. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer where the strut was replaced. The contact stated that the dealer replaced the part with the same defective material. The contact called the manufacturer who offered to sell the contact a one year warranty on the part. The VIN was unavailable. The failure mileage was approximately 100,000 and the current mileage was approximately 110,000.

- Montgomery, AL, USA

problem #12

Oct 202010

Odyssey

  • 57,000 miles
Rear lift gate struts fail without notice. At this point, the rear lift gate is extremely heavy and dangerous to ones safety. This is the second time this issue has occurred on this vehicle. Honda keeps replacing the struts with the same part number that continues to fail. Same repair was completed on this vehicle eighteen months ago. I requested a better stronger or beefier replacement strut, but since my vehicle is under extended warranty they keep replacing with the same part number. I have four small kids and if it were to fail with one of them standing under the lift gate it could be a very dangerous situation.

- Bartlesville, OK, USA

problem #11

Aug 022010

Odyssey

  • 62,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

We were informed that our 2005 Honda had a damaged/broken rear engine mount. Additionally, we were told by the Honda service writer that this if from normal driving wear and tear, such as shifting from reverse to drive, acceleration and the transmission shifting. It certainly seems af if Honda terribly under engineered this part. There activities are part of normal driving. Our van has 62, xxx miles on it and used mostly for Suburban driving, and not exceeding the recommended driving conditions from Honda. The dealer wants to charge $850 for the one mount. Clearly Honda should recognize the issue and replace these items, at their expense, for defective parts.

- Alpharetta, GA, USA

problem #10

Oct 262008

Odyssey

  • 44,521 miles
Failure of tailgate stay assembly.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #9

Mar 152008

Odyssey

  • 57,000 miles
Front grill is designed in a manner that objects can fly through and cause damage to interior parts. A/C condenser was damaged - appearance of a rock shot puncture.

- Rockaway, NJ, USA

problem #8

Jun 202007

Odyssey

  • Automatic transmission
  • 11,500 miles
I am the original owner of the 2005 Honda Odyssey with about 15 K miles. In June we noticed loss of the ac system. Upon a visit to local Honda dealer I was told that a rock/road debris punctured the ac condenser and the repair estimate runs about $ $700. In a process of calling 5 other local Honda dealers trying to get a better pricing, I learned that my case is not that rare as it may sound. I was told that on average they replace about 2-3 ac condensers a month. Then I checked the internet and found much more Odyssey's owner with identical stories. My issue is that 2005-2007 Odyssey has a design flaw - too big opening under the bumper that allows any road debris to penetrate ac condenser and/or radiator. I am firm believer that Honda acknowledges that problem because 2008 Odyssey has a very nice, factory installed screen mesh under the bumper without any significant body upgrades for that year model. I called the regional Honda customer service center but they denied any responsibility.

- Renton, WA, USA

problem #7

Jul 162007

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 32,709 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On 07/16/07 my wife drove about 65 miles to a dr. Appointment. When she stopped smoke came from under the hood. She called me and I drove the 65 miles to check the van. The air conditioner was not working so I took the van to the dealer thinking a warranty repair. They told me a object hit the air conditioner coil in front of the radiator and this was not covered under warranty. It cost me $720.35. They advised me to order a aftermarket billite grill from E bay and this will keep this from happening again. I did and this cost me $104. I did a search in the internet and found this is happening to a lot of people in all areas of the country. Seems there is poor designing for this area of the van allowing objects to damage the vehicle's parts. Please investigate this problem.

- Northport , AL, USA

problem #6

Jan 012007

Odyssey

  • miles
2005 defective Honda Odyssey spoiler customer states that the spoiler had a defective design because ice and snow accumulated under it causing it to become loose* the consumer stated while driving down the highway, the spoiler became detached from the vehicle along with the brake light and fell onto the road.

- Trumbull, CT, USA

problem #5

Jun 272006

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 18,229 miles
: the contact stated while driving 30 mph on normal road conditions, the front of the vehicle shook when the brakes were applied. No warning signal illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealership who determined the front wheel pads were worn out and the two front rotors were machined. After 4000 miles, the problem recurred and the dealership determined the front wheels brake pads were worn out and replaced them again. The problem persisted and the front shaking was noticed nine times. The manufacturer was contacted who opened a case with the commitment of calling back promptly which has not happened. There was a wind noise coming from the windshield and the left sliding door. The rear seat belt was ripped. Updated 11/14/06.

- Farmington, AR, USA

problem #4

Nov 292005

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 14,830 miles
Windshield wind noises.. noises started 7 months and 9900 miles after possession of vehicle. Starting hearing whistling noise when drive vehicle @ low speeds on windy days. Took vehicle into the shop and they replaced both moldings and adjusted fender. Took vehicle back into the shop a month later with same problem. They preformed bulletin #04-078. Drove vehicle additional 2000 miles and wind noise started again. This time I had other dealership in town try to fix windshield. Picked up vehicle and drove it out of town and rt. Windshield moldings came loose. Pulled over and noticed that dealership had scratched and dented fender and windshield post. Pulled back the loose and flapping moldings and noticed that they had shoved a red shop towel in the fender/windshield area to stop the noise. * this proper procedures in the repair manuel** shoving red shop rags in the fenders to stop wind noise?? what to do now - fender and windshield post and quarter needs to be repainted - I now have lost value on vehicle because vehicle will be painted and windshield molding is held on by duck tape. --fyi, windshield moldings are only held in with double sided tape clips - double sided tape will only hold for a couple of years, before they deter ate and they will need to be replaced.. factory did not think of the longevity of the windshield moldings. Many, many more people will continuously have problems with wind noise.

- Broken Arrow, OK, USA

problem #3

Apr 012005

Odyssey 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 4,000 miles
The contact stated the air bag sensor light stayed on. She received a NHTSA recall 05V344000 concerning the air bag sensor. The dealership replaced the air bag sensor, but the light was still on. Updated 12/11/2005. A hole in the under side of the bumper allowed small rocks and peddles in the bumper. The weather stripping on the rear doors is pulling away and bending outward.

- Richland, MI, USA

problem #2

Apr 212005

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
I bought a new 2005 Honda Odyssey ex-L and drove it on only 2 occasions. The first time I drove it, I had the windows behind the front seats down and not only was the noise level extremely high, but it created some kind of vibration or pressure change which caused extreme pain to my ear drums. About 2 weeks later, I drove it again, tried all combinations of rolling down windows but as long as the back ones were down, the vibration/pressure to my ears was intolerable. I had throbbing in my ears for several days and it finally led to an ear infection. I brought this to the attention of darling's Honda (the dealership in bangor, Maine) and to american Honda. The dealership has tried for 3 months to try to find an alternate vehicle for me. However, american Honda said they would do nothing and the vehicle design is not defective, even though I have heard similar complaints from others. Apparently ruptured or perforated ear drums are not considered a hazard to the Honda company. I now have a new car I cannot use unless it is too cold to roll down the windows, or so warm that the A/C is the only alternative, because it is a hazard to my health.

- Glenburn, ME, USA

problem #1

Dec 062004

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The consumer is experiencing a loud noise and shaking while the windows are open at 40 miles per hour. There is tremendous air pressure inside, which is making the owner have ear pain distracting him from the road when driving. Owner has contacted manufacturer. Air pressure abrupt changes when windows open is a jolt to driver.

- Rochester, NY, USA

Not what you are looking for?