Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
71,245 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Honda Odyssey engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Honda Odyssey:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Honda Odyssey Owner Comments (Page 2 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #30

Sep 012011

Odyssey

  • 90,583 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My A/C system failed much like the complaint descriptions you see below. First Honda of Texas quoted me $850-$1,185 to fix it depending on whether I wanted to replace the entire compressor or try a temporary fix with some components (clutch & coil). As a result, I will do the following: 1-make my displeasure known to first Texas Honda - done but will escalate 2-research the issue - in process 3-file a goodwill claim with Honda - done & rejected 4-speak with the service manager and general manager or owner of first Texas Honda 5-file a complaint with Honda of America 6-file a complaint with the department of transportation, nhsta - doing now 7-post complaints on numerous websites 8-inform all people I know looking for a Honda to check out the actual reliability on a number of Honda vehicles that goes unknown to most of the general public 9-stand on the public sidewalk outside first Texas Honda with a sign that states "do not buy a Honda, ask me why!" - tomorrow 10-other actions tbd the remedies I seek: 1-fix my A/C 2-add a protective grill so I don't encounter multiple failures as some Honda customers have endured 3-address other recall items such as airbag sensor, etc....

- Austin, TX, USA

problem #29

Aug 182011

Odyssey

  • 87,000 miles
A/C compressor damaged by rock due to poor design of front grill etc. Compressor needs replaced. Need to purchase after market guard to protect new compressor.

- Mcmurray, PA, USA

problem #28

Jul 132011

Odyssey

  • 108,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Honda Odyssey. The contact stated that while having the vehicle serviced by an authorized dealer for routine maintenance, he was informed that the motor mounts were defective and needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileages were 108,000. The VIN was unavailable. Updated 09/20/2011

- Midlothian, VA, USA

problem #27

May 252011

Odyssey

  • 149,247 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Honda Odyssey. While the contact was driving approximately 25 mph, the engine warning light illuminated on the instrument panel until the engine was turned off. In addition, the engine revved and the engine power was extremely low. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer for diagnostic testing. The technician stated that the timing belt jumped time and the head gasket valves were bent. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the problem. The failure mileage was 149,247.

- Bowie, MD, USA

problem #26

Apr 262011

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • 90,000 miles
1. normal usage of our 05 Honda Odyssey. Transport for wife and two young children. In other words typical mini van easy driving. Since last oil change around 90K miles notice seldom, random vibrations. 2. Honda service tells me rear motor mount has failed and will cause drive train and stability issues if not fixed at a cost of about $900 per mount. Dealer tells me this is a common problem with the Odyssey yet Honda has not recalled or offered any assistance other than taking all my money. 3. haven't corrected/replaced the faulty motor mount yet due to lack of funds and need to research this issue first. From what the dealer tells me and what I'm finding all over the internet this is a very wide spread problem with these failing Honda Odyssey motor mounts. Fearful for the safety of my family while driving this Odyssey should the other mounts and or drive train malfunction as a result of these defective motor mounts.

- Raleigh, NC, USA

problem #25

Mar 142011

Odyssey

  • 126,000 miles
Odyssey had great vibration through steering wheel and through body of car. Vibration varied depending on speed. This could of caused a tragic accident. Diagnosis was failure of rear and side motor mounts for the second time in 20 months. Poor design of these mounts fail prematurely and cause vibration and handling errors which could have tragic consequences.

- Agoura Hills, CA, USA

problem #24

Mar 142011

Odyssey

  • 54,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Honda Odyssey. The contact took his vehicle to the dealer to be repaired where he was informed that his engine mounts were cracked and needed to be replaced. The manufacturer advised the contact that since the engine mounts were made of rubber that the wear and tear was normal. A complaint was registered with the manufacturer. No repairs were performed. The current and failure mileage was 54,000. Updated 04/07/11 updated 1/13/2012

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #23

Mar 012011

Odyssey

  • 108,000 miles
The vehicle engine is shutting off with no warning. There have been approximately 6 instances of the vehicle being operated and then the engine will cut off. The first incident occurred in a parking lot when in reverse. There have been 3 incidents at low speed, while making turns, and 2 incidents while traveling at speed (one at 40 mph and one at 70 mph). The vehicle has been taken to the dealer on 3 occasions but the dealer has been unable or unwilling to address the issue because there are no codes sent to the on-board computer. The most recent incident on 3/6/2011 was while traveling at 70 mph on the interstate highway. We referred the service writer to NHTSA campaign id numbers 05V132000 and 07V097000 but he was unwilling to consider that our issue was related to either of these previously noted failures.

- Collierville, TN, USA

problem #22

Jan 142010

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • 70,000 miles
Dear safecar.gov: I am an owner of a 2005 Honda Odyssey van. I have experienced sudden engine stalling and highway speed dropped to below 15 mph on my van since January, 2010. It has happened four times. I have worked with Honda dealers and Honda car for over eight months, from Jan 2010 to Aug 2010 without success. I then went to another Honda dealer and finally able to find the problem: The 2005 Odyssey van is the first model and year Honda has put the new V6 engine with three cylinders shutting off during cruising speed to save gas, which makes sense. However, because of the temperature difference between the cylinders, the idling cylinders begin to burn oil on the cylinder rings. And there is no "low oil? warning sensor from the car, but has a ?low oil pressure warning?. however, the ?low oil pressure? will only kicks on with the car engine starts to stall. It was very dangerous to have my van staff from highway speed to less then 15 mph in a matter of couple seconds. It has happened four times from January, 2010 to may, 2010. I have all the service records and descriptions. Honda has been denying any problem until they limited release a new software in January, 2011 to periodically fire the idle cylinders to minimize temperature difference between the cylinders so that they will not burn motor oil. However, Honda has not done a ?recall" on this safety issue (the engine stalling at high speed when oil pressure is too low due to motor oil burning). The dealer service manager told me that Honda is reluctant to conduct such safety recall, they are afraid that with firing up the idled cylinders; they may fail the epa mileage claims. All the post 2005 V6 with "econ" mode to save gas models will have this problems once the cars are driven, let say over 70,000 miles. It will take a few years of motor oil burning before the oil level is low enough to trigger the low oil pressure sensor and stalls the engine. Please look into this issue and feel free to contact.

- Rowland Heights, CA, USA

problem #21

Jan 082011

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • 94,896 miles
Had to replace a front motor mount in my 2005 Honda Odyssey. My mechanic indicated that he contacted a Honda dealer and they were out of the part because there were several Odyssey's with the same problem. I didn't know how many complaints needed to be launched before a recall notice would be considered. I wanted my vehicle noted since I did not go to a Honda dealer.

- Greenwood, IN, USA

problem #20

Jan 112011

Odyssey

  • 63,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Honda Odyssey. The contact stated there was a noise coming from the front of the vehicle while driving 35 mph. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who stated the rear motor mount needed to be replaced. There were no recalls or warranty on the vehicle. The manufacturer was contacted who offered no assistance. The failure mileage was 63,000.

- Livonia, MI, USA

problem #19

Jan 032011

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • 64,162 miles
We have a 2005 Honda Odyssey w/less than 65K miles on it and just had to replace both the rear and side motor mounts. The repair bill was $1041.65 plus the labor to diagnose this issue both by leith and bayleaf. The cracked rear motor mount noticed by leith Honda on capital rd. In raleigh, nc. They quoted close to $900 for just the rear motor mount replacement, and they said that the other motor mounts could be broken but that they would have to take the motor out to see. We had bayleaf tire and auto repair it because they were recommended to us and their quote was lower. They found that the side motor mount was broken as well. Chris of bayleaf said that they have had Odyssey around the same model year come in for the same issue and had called Honda to tell them about the issue. I have seen plenty of evidence online that this is a design flaw in the motor mounts related to the eco mode (dropping from 4 to 3 cylinders to save fuel) being instituted in the Odyssey in the mid-2000's without a corresponding change to the design of the motor mounts which could not handle the additional vibration. Here are just a few of the many others complaining about the same issue: www.google.com/search?Q=Honda+engine+mount+design+flaw grassrootsmotorsports.com/forum/off-topic-discussion/Honda-Odyssey-engine-mounts/30508/page1/ action.publicbroadcasting.net/cartalk/posts/list/1560611.page our car may have not set on fire like a rear-ended pinto, but there is no telling what additional damage has occurred that we'll have to pay for in the future because of this apparent design flaw. Honda should recall all motor mounts with this flaw and should compensate owners for repairs related to the apparent motor mount design flaw in the Odyssey.

- Raleigh, NC, USA

problem #18

Aug 212010

Odyssey

  • 97,000 miles
I own a 2005 Honda Odyssey. Sept 2009 my ac abruptly stopped working (blowing cold air) I took it to the dealership. I also have an extended warranty on the car. The dealer told me it was a fluke, chance happening that a rock must have entered my condenser through the front grill and caused a hole in the condenser. They said it was not covered under warranty and it would cost approx $800 to repair because the condenser has to be replaced. I then paid to have it repaired only to have the problem happen again on 8/21/10. Not even a year later. I do not drive on dirt roads and avoid construction. This time I searched the internet for similar stories. I found thousands of threads of others with Honda Odyssey's complaining of the same problem. I feel it is a manufacturer's design defect that allows rocks or other such items to penetrate the condenser. This is a very expensive repair. There are aftermarket grills to be placed on the front of the car to eliminate the problem which is yet an additional expense and changes the look of the front of the car. I think a recall is in order to fix this problem.

- Lehi, UT, USA

problem #17

Aug 022010

Odyssey

  • 62,000 miles
We were informed that our 2005 Honda had a damaged/broken rear engine mount. Additionally, we were told by the Honda service writer that this if from normal driving wear and tear, such as shifting from reverse to drive, acceleration and the transmission shifting. It certainly seems af if Honda terribly under engineered this part. There activities are part of normal driving. Our van has 62, xxx miles on it and used mostly for Suburban driving, and not exceeding the recommended driving conditions from Honda. The dealer wants to charge $850 for the one mount. Clearly Honda should recognize the issue and replace these items, at their expense, for defective parts.

- Alpharetta, GA, USA

problem #16

Jul 242010

Odyssey

  • 53,500 miles
Air conditioner stopped working on 2005 Honda Odyssey. Took in for repair and were told that it was caused by "road debris" hitting the compressor and puncturing it. Not covered under extended warranty that we purchased in the event that something would go wrong with the vehicle. This is a known problem with these vans, and there is a way to fix the problem by covering the are with a mesh screen, but Honda is unwilling to help in any way. It seems that it is reasonable to expect that you could drive on the road where there are rocks without it causing the compressor to be punctured. I am also concerned with the environmental safety issue of the chemicals being released onto the roads due to a faulty design on Honda's part. Honda needs to fix this problem.

- Peoria, IL, USA

problem #15

Jun 192010

Odyssey

  • 60,390 miles
Issue: Design flaw in 2005 Honda Odyssey exl nav res which exposes the vehicles air conditioner condenser to unnecessary puncture damage from common street debris allowing dangerous freon gases to escape to damage the environment and provide great financial hardship to the vehicle owner. Common issue experienced by many of the exact same vehicle owners. This is a serious environmental issue that needs to be resolved by Honda as well as reimbursement for repairs and prevention steps taken by consumers to protect vehicles from future damage. My Honda had just experienced this issue and now all the freon released unnecessarily into the atmosphere and we are stuck with a $1000 repair and the vehicle is then still easily susceptible to future damage. I would like to file a formal complaint against Honda for this serious issue environmentally damage issue caused by their design flaw which easily exposes the air conditioning condenser to unnecessary damage and great financial hardship to the vehicle owner.

- Birmingham, AL, USA

problem #14

Jun 152010

Odyssey

  • 94,000 miles
Premature wear out of engine motor mounts in the Honda Odyssey. I have a 2005 model and there are numerous complaints on the web concerning this issue. The technician & svc writer at the dealership even acknowledged this was a known problem in this vehicle. Less than 6 months ago I had 3 out of 4 engine mounts that were broken and needed replacing the front and sides which was covered under my extended warranty with a deductible I had to pay. Now 6 months later the rear mount has gone bad and now requires replacing. I advised the dealership when they replaced the other 3 this one should have been replaced as well since they knew it was a known problem & would eventually wear out soon which it has now done and prematurely. My extended warranty will cover it once again but I have to pay another deductible. Just like a dentist when he has to remove 3 wisdom teeth, the 4th one is still good but he will suggest having it removed as well at that time. Same thing should have happened in this case, especially since it is a well known defect - please google " defective motor or engine mounts in Honda Odyssey ) and you will see what I mean.

- Virginia Beach, VA, USA

problem #13

Jun 012010

Odyssey

  • 55,250 miles
2005 Honda Odyssey minivan with 55,000 miles. Engine mount failure. Cost is $836 to repair. Per review of cartalk.com message boards, this appears to be a very common problem at about 55K to 65K miles.

- Wilmette, IL, USA

problem #12

May 012009

Odyssey

  • 87,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Honda Odyssey. The contact stated that the rear engine mounts would fail intermittently at steady cruising speeds, hard accelerations and when the cruise control was activated. When depressing the accelerator pedal the failure would correct itself. The contact was driving 30 mph when the failure occurred. The dealer and manufacturer were notified of the failure and stated that the repairs to the vehicle would be at the owners expense. There were no recalls and the factory warranty was not valid. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was approximately 87,000 and the current mileage was 91,000.

- Baltimore , MD, USA

problem #11

Apr 232009

Odyssey

  • 5,000 miles
The dealer found a hole in the A/C compressor for my 2005 Honda Odyssey. I had notice no cold air blowing and the dealer did a diagnostic. I am now faced with a $900 repair bill. After researching the issue I have found that hundreds of Honda owners have had the same problem with the A/C compressor. The dealer even acknowledged that Honda is aware of the problem and will not do anything about it. The compressor is placed in an area with no protection, making it vulnerable to damage. I feel Honda should offer a recall of the vehicle to protect the air compressor to reduce the risk of this happening. Many of the complaints on saw on line, the same problem happened to their car on more than one occasion.

- Morrisville, PA, USA

Read the next 10 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?