Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
33,063 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Honda Odyssey wheels / hubs problems

wheels / hubs problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Honda Odyssey:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Honda Odyssey Owner Comments

problem #6

Aug 142011

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 77,968 miles


Aug 2008, purchased 4 versado LX tires at 46851 miles. On 14 Aug 2011, had a tire blow on right rear on I-16. There was $75 damage to car as the tire tore the factory mud guard from the fender. Tire was replaced for $53 under warranty at 77968 miles. On 10 Oct 11, returned to dealer and found 2nd tire separating. Replaced for $73 under warranty at 79720. On 23 May 2012, 3rd tire was found to be separating at 84275 miles. I contacted toyo by email. Rep called my local tire dealer, raffield tire, and discussed issue. Dealer was told to re-inspect 4th tire closely while replacing the 3rd tire for $83 under warranty. It appeared to be ok. On 3 Jul 12 the 4th tire was replaced for $79 under warranty at 85676. Had long discussion with toyo customer service. Was told there were "no known issues with this tire". very funny that all 4 tires for my vehicle failed. Tire dealer does rotation/balance/check every 5000 miles. Wanted toyo to replace this tire at their cost due to all of the trouble I have had. Rep refused, stating that the government would not let them do any customer relief other than the limited warranty on tire. Otherwise, "they would be guilty of hiding defect information from the government". I cannot believe there are no known issues if all 4 of my tires failed. They also could not pay for the repair I had done in Aug 2011 since the tire was not turned over to an independent 3rd party for analysis.

- Warner Robins, GA, USA

problem #5

Aug 292011

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 69,912 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Honda Odyssey equipped with toyo tourevo tires, size: 235 65 R16. The contact was traveling 45-60 mph when the front end of the vehicle vibrated. The vehicle was taken to a local repair shop. The local repair shop confirmed that the front driver's side tire tread separated and needed to be replaced. The contact also stated that on another occasion after traveling 60 mph, the failure repeated with the remaining tires on both passenger and driver side rear tires. The manufacturer was contacted. The vehicle was repaired. The failure mileage was 69,912 and the current mileage was 77,558.....updated 06/18/12 on 09/21/09 the consumer mounted four new toyo toureveo all season blackwall tires on his vehicle. On 08/29/11 the left front tire had to be replaced due to tread separation. On 6/05/12 the right front, left rear and right rear tires also failed due to tread separation.

- Cotton Wood , CA, USA

problem #4

May 102007

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 28,000 miles
Pax tires fall apart and the dealer did not service them well. Tread failure 1 to 2 inches of rubber fell off, down to threads. Dealer claimed that running into a curb could cause this to happen. Tires failed before 30 thousand miles. Cost approximately $100 more than normal tires. Honda provided no other options to tire problem, monopoly on the manufacturer of tire, Michelin. Monopoly on service to vehicle where little other dependents are available to replace tire. Discount tire is the only other provider. Honda does not recognize any other optional tires for use on their Odyssey. Discount tire proposes a replacement with a 18 inch Z rated tire that might leave vehicle with a dash warning that cant be turned off or disarmed. Tire pressure system also is not accurate or reliable. No restfully options by owner. Weather changes set off the tire pressure alarm that can only be reset by dealer. One of the pax features was to replace a spare because of weight. A pax tire is 25 lbs more per tire than a normal tire thus nullifying any benefits. Cost is a hundred dollars more per tire and reliability is less. Service ability is less. A dealer this last time was unable to break the bead on the tire. The tire before that they had to replace tire and rim 2 to 3 weeks to get it done. This time two weeks has past and the service not done failed due to mechanical failure on there new $30K000 tire machine.

- Sammamish, WA, USA

problem #3

Sep 112006

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 8,000 miles


We own a 2005 Honda Odyssey equipped with the Michelin pax tire system. We have been complaining to the dealer's service dept. About the odd wear (edges worn out while the center of the tread looks fine, and so far they have charged us for an alignment (they said they could not even consider checking into it until we paid for this, and then later told us this was a common complaint with the pax system tires, which leads me to believe that they were only trying to make a few bucks off of us, but that's another matter). The vehicle has TPMS, so we know tire pressure is not a factor (at least if following Honda's recommendations is assumed to not contribute to the wear). We do not drive the vehicle aggressively (it is a minivan, and carries our 2 young children, with my wife being the primary driver, so the odds of anyone with this complaint on the Odyssey are that they drive very conservatively). The dealer has told us for approx 10000 miles (half the total mileage driven to this point) that the wear is not abnormal, but now we can not longer drive the van in inclement weather since the last 1/5 of both sides of the tires have worn to the point of not having any water sipes left to prevent hydroplaning in rainy conditions. The dealers service dept has revealed that they have had numerous complaints about these tires, but Michelin in their typically "holier than though" manner of never making a bad product (this words from the dealer rep) has stone walled attempts at getting them to admit fault with the design or manufacture of the product. Furthermore, they have a monopoly on the product's replacement, leaving customers no choice but to pay a king's ransom for another set of these tires we do not want. We are filing a complaint, and seeking any info on joining a class action lawsuit against Michelin and Honda of America for selling a patently dangerous product to a consumer group who purchased a product with safety being a major factor in the purchase decision.

- Simpsonville, SC, USA

problem #2

Sep 122006


  • miles
The pax tire system by Michelin gives marginal tire wear. The tires wore out at 25,000 miles. The tires can only be changed by pax authorized dealers making them nearly impossible to find convenient nor inexpensive. What is meant to make us safer has only made us poorer.

- Indian Trail, NC, USA

problem #1

Mar 242006

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 14,500 miles
My wife was driving our 2005 Honda Odyssey (14500 miles) at 60 mph on a smooth dry highway when the right rear tire exploded. The tire separated into three parts, left and right sidewall and tread. The tire was a Michelin energy LX4 235-65-16, original equipment on the Odyssey. Inflation pressure was normal, having been checked two days earlier. Temperature was approximately 65 deg. There were four women with their weekend luggage on board, certainly weighing less than the rated load of the vehicle and the tires. Since she was 200 miles from home, she had to buy another tire (off brand) at the nearest tire shop. The failed tire was later taken to discount tire in lake worth, tx for replacement with a correct tire.

- Azle, TX, USA

Not what you are looking for?