Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: Aside from peeling paint, the 2008 Honda Odyssey is a pretty reliable, generally trouble-free minivan.


definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
45,123 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Honda Odyssey electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Honda Odyssey:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Honda Odyssey Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #21

Sep 242016

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • 99,500 miles


Turning onto highway, heard a loud bang, checked my dash, no warning lights illuminated, thought it was a rock or road debris that hit the vehicle. Continued toward our destination at 55 mph, about a mile down the road the ABS lighted up, then the vsa, then the TPMS, then the seatbelt light, then the radio went out, the gauges were next, finally the battery light came on, I let the vehicle come to a halt using very little brakes. As soon as I stopped the engine died and no lights would come on, had to manually unlock and manually open the door. Called the Honda dealership, said it would be towed in that day 24 Sept 2016, there was no accident, but for this to happen with no warning whatsoever, is of concern to me. I don't know if this is a hardware or software glitch, we had the vehicle in for maintenance just this past week, timing belt, rear brakes, oil change. Any input would be appreciated. Thank you for considering this statement.

- Hilo, HI, USA

problem #20

Aug 152016


  • 105,000 miles
The navigation system has been experiencing a failure to read the dvd which also is causing the backup camera system to fail while driving. The only fix to the problem is to restart the vehicle. The dvd for the navigation system in version 4.92 and was placed in the vehicle less than 5 years ago due to problems with the navigation system at that time while under warranty. I contacted Honda today and was informed by one representative that they were aware that dvds are wearing unusually fast, but there was nothing they could do except advise contacting the seller of the dvd to buy a new one for $149. I had spoken to someone yesterday who advised me to contact the dealer who had to replace components of the navigation in 2011 while under warranty. I did that and the dealer is unable to do anything more. I contacted the seller of the dvd and they were unable to provide a replacement for the failed dvd. I contacted Honda a second time today under the recall department and they advised me that there were no reports of these problems available to them and that this is not a covered item by recall or warranty. The case # is 04926816. Since they advised me they were unaware of this problem the second time with the recall contact I advised them I would make the NHTSA aware. Essentially the navigation system and backup camera system all shutdown due to unusual wear on the dvd under the drivers seat in the dvd reader and when a glitch in reading the dvd is encountered the entire system shuts down including backup cameras. I especially find this unusual as this dvd would virtually never be removed so all of the wear and tear is from inside the dvd reader leading to this failure. This failure can happen on startup, or while driving. This last occurred 2 days ago, but has occurred now over a 6 month-1yr period of time intermittently.

- Columbus, OH, USA

problem #19

Jan 172016


  • miles
Only the driver window opens. When trying to open the passenger side or the two back windows I only hear a click and nothing happens. The security lock switch is not engaged. I searched online and found that so many people have the same problem which seams to be the "master window switch." It costs about $200 for parts plus the labor cost.

- Staten Island, NY, USA

problem #18

Jan 022015

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • 60,600 miles


The battery drains overnight making it so the vehicle has to be jumped the next morning. When jumping the vehicle, a bit of steam is emitted from the front right side of the engine compartment accompanied by a loud "jet engine" or "tv static" sound. Once jumped, the car will start throughout the day. However, something overnight is causing the battery to drain. The website has the issue listed with very similar incidents to what I just explained. This needs to be investigated. Always, [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Lufkin, TX, USA

problem #17

Aug 112014


  • 106,200 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Honda Odyssey. The contact's vehicle was repaired according to NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V112000 (fuel system, gasoline) and 13V500000 (electrical system). After the repairs were completed, the contact found bolts that were left in the cupholder. The dealer stated that the bolts belonged to another vehicle. The contact was concerned that the repairs were not performed adequately. The failure mileage was 106,200.

- Urbana, IL, USA

problem #16

May 232014

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 50,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Honda Odyssey. The contact stated that the vsa warning light illuminated and the vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where the 60,000 mile service was performed. The contact was advised by the mechanic that a pressure sensor in the control unit (part number: 6601) had failed, which resulted in the vsa modulator needing to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired at that time. The contact later received notification that her vehicle was included in NHTSA campaign number: 13V500000 (electrical) and took the vehicle to an authorized dealer. The dealer installed and updated the yaw rate sensor under the recall but did not perform the calibration. The vsa warning light continued to illuminate and the dealer advised the contact that the yaw rate sensor could not be calibrated with the system until the vsa modulator was replaced at her expense. The vsa modulator was not replaced. There was a second recall initiated prior to the recent recall under NHTSA campaign number: 10V098000 (service brakes, air) which involved repairs to the vsa modulator by removing any existing air in the braking system, followed by the application of sealant and caps to prevent air from entering the braking system. The contact's vehicle was not included in the recall campaign pertaining to the vsa modulator. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 50,000 and the current mileage was 60,000. Kmj updated 9/11/14 updated 1/20/2015

- York, PA, USA

problem #15

Jun 042013


  • 111,785 miles


The contact owns a 2008 Honda Odyssey. The contact stated that while driving approximately 60 mph, the vehicle jerked abnormally as the instrument panel lights flashed randomly. The vehicle also stalled without warning. The contact then shifted into park and neutral but the vehicle would not start. The vehicle was towed to an authorized dealer where the battery and alternator was replaced but to no avail, the failure later recurred. The dealer advised the contact that the battery and alternator would need to be replaced a second time. The vehicle was repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 111785.

- Chapel Hill, NC, USA

problem #14

Jan 132014

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • 26,950 miles
The car alarm horn going off for no reason at 2 am in the morning. Hit the lock button on the remote and alarm stopped. When daylight, found driver side door was not locked but all the other doors were locked. Then another incident in a week, 4 am the car alarm horn going again. Shut it off with remote. Within 5 minutes the car alarm horn went off again. Shut it off with remote and went outside, opened the driver side door with key. Then locked all the doors with manual switch on driver side door panel and closed the driver side door. The vehicle, while a 2008 model has less than 27,000 miles. This should be a recall for Honda automobiles in general from reading complaints.

- Brandon, FL, USA

problem #13

Jan 072014


  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Honda Odyssey. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 13V500000 (electrical system) the dealer informed the contact that the part needed to repair the vehicle would not become available until the spring. The dealer was unable to provide an expected date for the part to become available. The manufacturer was not made aware of the problem. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Egg Harbor Township, NJ, USA

problem #12

Jan 062014


  • 0 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Honda Odyssey. The contact stated that after receiving notification of NHTSA campaign I.D. number 13V500000 (electrical system) the contact called the dealer to make an appointment. The dealer informed the contact that the parts needed to repair the vehicle would not become available until spring 2014. The contact called the manufacturer who confirmed. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Boca Raton, FL, USA

problem #11

Dec 162013

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • miles


The contact owns a 2008 Honda Odyssey. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 13V500000 (electrical system). The contact was concerned about the availability of the remedy part not being available until spring 2014. The manufacturer had not been made aware of the problem. The contact had not experienced a failure...updated 04-23-14 the vehicle has been repaired under recall. Updated 04/25/2014

- Wesloco, TX, USA

problem #10

Dec 152013


  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Honda Odyssey. The contact received notification that the vehicle was included in NHTSA campaign number: 13V500000 (electrical system) however, the contact was concerned because the remedy parts would not become available until spring 2014. The manufacturer had not been made aware of the failure. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- River Grove, IL, USA

problem #9

Nov 012013

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • 115,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Honda Odyssey. The contact stated while driving 60 mph, the brakes engaged without any warning and as a result, the vehicle came to a complete halt. The vehicle was towed to the dealer. The technician diagnosed that the yaw sensor was defective and needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and stated that recall NHTSA campaign number: 13V500000 (electrical system) will begin spring of next year. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 115,000. Updated 02/11/14 the vehicle was repaired. Updated 02/20/14

- Stafford, VA, USA

problem #8

Jun 222013

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • 51,551 miles
We tried to start our van early Saturday morning 6/15/13 and it was completely dead. After jumping it, we realized we hadn't left any lights on so we drove it to the nearest Honda dealership. We were told there's been a rash of this issue recently and to just make sure we turn off the air conditioner before turning off the engine and we should be okay. We drove 2 hours away from home and stayed overnight. The next morning the car didn't start again even though we had turned off the air conditioner. We bought a new battery for the car thinking it was the battery. The next weekend the car died again. This time we took it back to the dealer. They told us that the A/C compressor relay was stuck and caused the A/C system to over pressurize releasing freon into the atmosphere and discharging our battery. The dealer said that this has been a recall in other models but not our van. I feel that, although we were not in immediate danger, this should be a recall for the Odyssey and all other owners should be made aware of the issue.

- Westerville, OH, USA

problem #7

Feb 242013

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • 76,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Honda Odyssey. The contact stated that the vehicle was parked in her garage and ignited into flames. The vehicle was destroyed and there were no injuries. The contact stated that the fire department stated that the cause of fire was due to an electrical malfunction with the sliding door. The manufacturer was notified but provided no assistance. The failure mileage was 76,000...updated 05/29/13 updated 06/12/2013

- Campbell Hall, NY, USA

problem #6

Feb 212012

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • 52,000 miles
After starting the vehicle and driving a short distance down the road at about 35 mph, the vehicle suddenly began slowing hard and the brake pedal went stiff as it applied it's own brakes. The event occurred over only a second or two before the brakes released and the car could accelerate again. However, moments later, the brakes applied again and promptly slowed the car down to a halt, again over a matter of a couple of seconds. During both occurrences, after immediately switching from the accelerator pedal to the brake pedal found the brake pedal impossible to press until the event passed.

- Wilmington, MA, USA

problem #5

Jan 132011

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • 33,000 miles
2008 Honda Odyssey suddenly stopped in the middle of road in cold winter evening with all alarm lights in the dash board on, and could not start. It didn't respond to even jump start. All dashboard lights were on about an hour and eventually all out. Police showed up at the scene and urged to tow the car and leave the site due to danger. Unfortunately, he didn't issue a report for this. The vehicle was towed to dealer to check with my own expense. Dealer mechanic checked it next day and he said the battery failed and replaced under warranty. After replacing the battery, everything was working fine and couldn't find anything else wrong, he said. I asked if there's a recall for this and answered no. He said that he saw this kind of issue a few times before. I don't understand that then why it is not recalled yet. It is dangerous and could kill my family if there's a car behind. It is only 2yr and 4M old now and has 33,000 miles. This is the first time experiencing this.

- South Riding, VA, USA

problem #4

Jul 082010


  • 31,253 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Honda Odyssey. The contact was driving approximately 35-40 mph, when the vehicle stability assist system activation indicator and vehicle stability assist system indicator illuminated on the instrument panel. The failure occurred intermittently. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer on two occasions where the computerized system code was reset. The vehicle was taken to the dealer on a third occasion and the yaw sensor was replaced. The failure continued after the repairs were performed. The contact was in the process of taking the vehicle back to the dealer to be repaired. In addition, the passenger side automatic door failed to release. The vehicle was repaired for the malfunction. Also, the front passenger side axle and struts were replaced. The failure mileage was 31,253.

- Baltimore, MD, USA

problem #3

Dec 202008


  • 2,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Honda Odyssey. The contact had to have the battery replaced twice by the dealer; however, it continued to malfunction. The contact received a new battery in January 2010; however, the failed recurred. The dealer stated that there was nothing wrong with the vehicle. The contact was concerned that the failure was related to the electrical system. The failure mileage was approximately 2,000. The current mileage was approximately 14,700.

- Bronx, NY, USA

problem #2

Nov 122009


  • 4,250 miles
I own a 2008 Honda Odyssey purchased in 2009. A couple of months after we purchased the brand new mini van, the accelerator /throttle stuck as I was driving my children to school, ( the throttle kicked on somewhere between 30 & 40 mph). The brakes were not slowing us down much at all as the engine raced ( foot was off the gas pedal) and we nearly crashed in the elementary school parking lot. ( I put the van in neutral and turned off the engine along with the emergency brake to get us to stop.) we towed the car to Honda & they had it for four days. I did not want it back ! Honda said they could not reproduce the problem and that the computer sensors didn't track the disturbance. We ended up paying out of our own pocket for a completely new computer system to be installed. ( we have the old computer part.) we reported this to Honda. I am writing to tell you about this because Toyota is not the only car with an acceleration problem ! our Honda dealer swept it under the rug but I am sure there has to be other Honda owners who have had the life threatening same issue.

- San Bruno, CA, USA

Read the next 1 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?