Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: Aside from peeling paint, the 2008 Honda Odyssey is a pretty reliable, generally trouble-free minivan.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
27,773 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Honda Odyssey engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Honda Odyssey:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Honda Odyssey Owner Comments

problem #13

May 132013

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Spark plugged fouled in May. Oil consumption was at least a quart per 1000 miles at the time (every few weeks of driving). Had to replace spark plug and excessive oil consumption remains the same or greater. I am afraid that oil consumption will eventually cause engine failure while driving. Spoke to Honda multiple times and they either say oil consumption is normal or wait until failure for extended warranty to kick in.

- West Friendship, MD, USA

problem #12

Jul 292013

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • miles
This is the 3rd time this has happened. I am listing details pertaining to today because I cannot recall the prior dates (however they were within the past year). Basically the van spontaneously started itself. My children were playing outside and they ran inside saying "mom the van is on". I went to look and the van is running but in the "off" position. There is no key in the ignition. Applying the brake turned it off. I do not have a remote starter and my only set of keys were inside the house. Let me stress again that it started by itself and was running with no key in the ignition. I am concerned now that this could occur while the garage is closed and fill our home with carbon monoxide!

- Oconomowoc, WI, USA

problem #11

Dec 172011

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • 84,000 miles
On 12/17/2011, I took my 2008 Honda Odyssey in for service to have the transmission checked since there was fluid leaking and what felt like transmission slippage. Because I purchase the car new, had all of my services completed, and because the van only had 84,000 miles, you can imagine my surprise when sons Honda (same place where I purchased and had all services completed) informed me I needed a new transmission and quoted me a price of $4,105. Because the mileage was over 60,000 miles, when I filed a customer complaint with Honda customer relations, I was informed there was nothing that could be done.

- Griffin, GA, USA

problem #10

Dec 242008

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • 3,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The engine consumes almost 1 quartz of oil every 1000-1500 miles since we bought it brand new. Dealer insists it is ok. Now the vehicle has 55000 miles, but oil has to be added regularly. This is absurd. The problem tends to occur to vehicles equip with vcm engines. Honda corporation admitted there is a problem, so Honda came out with a service bulletin 11-033 which updating the pgm-fi software. I brought my vehicle to the dealer along with the service bulletin to have the vehicle update, but they refused to do it. Consider these engines will be on the road for years to come. Lack of oil may seize engines, vehicles may stall with could cause accidents. There are hundred of thousands Honda engines consume oil more than normal rate, then Honda does not help the environment at all. NHTSA should investigate and make Honda recalls their vehicles. Thank you

- Glendale, AZ, USA

problem #9

Aug 232011

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • 107,200 miles
Failure of serpentine belt tensioner pulley shaft resulted in loss of power steering control following engine start in a parking lot. This failure occurred a few days after the car was serviced for replacement of timing belt and water pump, which required removal and reinstallation of the tensioner pulley. The question is whether the shaft failure was the result of overtorque following the service, or the result of a design or manufacturing problem. The concern is a failure in traffic rather than at low speed in a parking lot. This shaft is available for inspection.

- Annapolis, MD, USA

problem #8

Apr 232011

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • 43,000 miles
First incident (April 2011) - while the vehicle was in motion, the engine had irregular beats. Then, a blinking check engine sign was on. The vehicle was towed to a local Honda dealer service dept. (as recommended by the manual). The local dealer service dept. Replaced one spark plug and cleaned another one. Second incident (Oct. 13, 2011) - the same as the first incident occurred while driving. This time vehicle stability activation (vsa) was also turned on as the irregular engine beats made the vehicle vibrating significantly. The vehicle was towed to the same local Honda dealer service dept. Again. The local dealer service dept. Informed me that the same spark plugs (replaced and cleaned during the first incident) are malfunctioning again. And the service dept. Informed me that they could not figure out why the same incident was occurring again. So it needs to consult with a national technical support within Honda organization. Consequently, I suspect that the incidents may be due to problems in electrical or computer controlled program related rather than the spark plug itself. I am very concerns about the current symptom with my vehicle which may potentially lead to sudden engine stop or malfunctioning while driving at higher speed travel.

- Midland, MI, USA

problem #7

Sep 292011

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • 49,950 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Car new to me 3/10 @ 34K miles. I am 2nd owner. All hondaa recall notices performed. All routine maintenance done per manual and then some. Complaint #1. I have noticed that the transmission seems to "jump" into gear at low speeds and feels like it is boggin out/jumpy at 60-70 mph on highway. This has been noticeable since 48K miles, therabouts. No problem indicator lights have come on. This powertrain problem concerns me terribly and will be taking it to a Honda dealer to inspect asap. I am hoping they can "simulate and identify" the problem. I am not the only one to notice this condition. I feel fortunate to have caught it early. I have done some research via car forums and too many owners have been dissed by bad torque converters, related components, and/or the entire transmission just out of warranty. Very costly never mind a safety issue. Every discussion I read people say that Honda will do nothing for them, that the dealer gives the run around and that they are switching to another make. Very disappointing to hear since I am a long-time Honda driver. Honda should be forced to issue a safety recall. Too many incidents complaint #2. I have noticed/can feel the eco switch from 6 to less cylinders on the highway since day 1. I have a 2000 Odyssey with 262K miles and it gets better gas mileage under identical driving conditions (e.g., 20.5 vs. 20.0 mpg). I do not believe this feature is working properly. If it is, then it is not an improvement and a waste of money. Please advise. Thank you.

- Berkley, MA, USA

problem #6

Jul 192010

Odyssey

  • 35,174 miles
My 2008 Honda Odyssey was completely disabled after running over a 1 inch rock on a paved road at 30 mph. According to the Honda service department who performed the repairs, the rock was tossed up by the tire into the undercarriage, came through the fan and struck the radiator from behind, putting a hole in it and stranding us in the mojave desert in July. According to Honda corporate there was no specific defect or design flaw and the "vehicle performed as designed." Honda corporate also says that this could be a common occurrence with this chassis design but they do not keep track of such problems in anyway and only take any sort of action to address recurring problems when forced to do so by the NHTSA.

- Laughlin, NV, USA

problem #5

Dec 012009

Odyssey

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Vehicle accelerated suddenly to an uncontrollable speed while driving on the highway. Vehicle crashed onto guardrail and damaged entire driver's side.

- Lilburn, GA, USA

problem #4

Jan 102010

Odyssey

  • 25 miles
2008 Honda Odyssey van - bought brand new October 2008 3 weeks ago, while driving on the freeway, the engine suddenly lost power, cruising to a max speed of only 25 mph no matter how hard you step on the gas pedal. Have to put on the hazard lights and cruise on the shoulder of the freeway to exit on the nearest ramp and have to drive back home using side streets on a speed of only 25 mph, no more, no less. Brought the said van to the Honda service center since it is brand new and still covered with the warranty. Released after 1 week, and was working on the way home without glitch. Then the day after, upon starting the engine, the check engine light went on, and the motor gives off a weird humming sound and won't accelerate to no greater than 25 mph again. Brought the van back for service and after 1 week was released and was working fine when the same thing happens again as forementioned. Have to let the dealer service center tow it back for service again for the 3rd time and have to demand a loaner car at this time while they ponder (or guess) what's wrong with this van.

- Stockton, CA, USA

problem #3

Jul 032009

Odyssey

  • 32,450 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Honda Odyssey. While driving 65 mph, the vehicle suddenly stalled. The contact could not restart it and had it towed to the dealer. Three weeks later, the mechanic stated that the engine needed to be replaced. Once it was replaced, the vehicle began to shake while driving at any speed. She took the vehicle back to the dealer and they stated that it was working properly. While driving home, the vehicle stalled again and all of the instrument panel lights were illuminated. The vehicle was towed to the dealer and, after a few days, they claimed that the vehicle was fine. The dealer further stated that the vehicle would shake for a few days before returning to normal; however, the failure continued. The contact took the vehicle back to the dealer and they stated that there was transmission failure. When she retrieved the vehicle from the dealer, she was informed that the transmission was replaced. After all the repairs, the failure still persists. The failure mileage was 32,450 and current mileage was 35,000.

- Roanoke Rapids, NC, USA

problem #2

Feb 052009

Odyssey

  • 2,000 miles
Driving my Honda Odyssey 2008. In the morning of 2/5/09, engine revved up to 3000 RPM while I was at a stop light. I checked to see if I was pumping gas or if carpet was stuck but none applied. Car finally settled down and drove normally. In the evening it started again going up to 3000 at a stop (actually rising as I put my foot on the brake to slow down) could barely control car. Happened again but this time it had revved up to 5, 000 RPM. Couldn't stop the car - thought I would hit someone. Threw it into park and shut if off. Had it towed to dealership where they kept it for three days, driving it all over and this did not occur. Over the past six months, the car would rev up to 1500 or so at a stop sign but never paid much attention to this as it wasn't dangerous. Last Thursday, thank god people jumped out the way or else I would have killed someone.

- Brooklyn, NY, USA

problem #1

Nov 122008

Odyssey

  • 4,250 miles
New 2008 Honda Odyssey ex-L minivan / May 28, 2008 took delivery a few days later, in June. Two weeks ago the engine light mysteriously came on for 1/2 a day and then turned off by itself. A week later the tire sensor light came on. On wed ( Nov 12, 2008) while driving my 3 year old & 8 year old sons to school, the throttle started to stick. It did it once lightly - did not respond when I took my foot off the gas. I applied the brake & the car stopped. The engine settled down and we set out again & it did the same thing. We stopped but were one block away from school & the engine sounded normal again, so we set off again. This time, while going up a fairly steep hill, the engine took over and the throttle went on full blast - the regular brake would not stop the car ! I applied the brake- mashing it to the floor & we kept going forward ! I put it in neutral & put on the emergency brake which stopped the car right before hitting the parking lot fence but the engine was screamingly high & I thought it might blow. I shut off the engine with the key & it stopped. We had aaa tow it back to the dealership 30 min later. The service dept. Did investigate & was able to see the engine light error message from two weeks ago - but we were told that it was "an odd unrelated sensor code" that had nothing to do with the throttle. That code was a sensor malfunction & it was reset. The dealership kept the car over the weekend & on Monday we were told that they were giving the car back to us with nothing fixed because they could not track any other error messages & could not reproduce the problem. The dealership called Honda who declined to replace the computer. The dealership asked if they could replace the computer as good will & Honda told them the dealership would assume all risk for liability - so the owner of the dealership declined to replace the computer. We are now faced with this new/lemon car that has a life threatening computer glitch/virus and no recourse.

- San Bruno, CA, USA

Not what you are looking for?