Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
30,692 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2009 Honda Odyssey drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Honda Odyssey:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Honda Odyssey Owner Comments

problem #8

Sep 302014

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • 44,000 miles


Engine light came up. Drive light flashes. Moving into drive is very noisy. Car hesitates to move and changes gear late.

- South Elgin, IL, USA

problem #7

May 142012

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • 88,333 miles
On May 12, 2012, I was driving about 50 mph when the van started to sputter. I came to a red light and the car acted as if it were about to cut off. The check engine light started blinking along with the vsa light. It rode very rough all the way to the closest Honda dealership as I was not in my hometown. They informed me that one of the spark plugs needed to be replaced. I went ahead and replaced all of them to the tune of $308.23. On November 23, 2012, I was driving about 60 mph when the same thing happened. The mileage was 105,001. Again, I was out of town and drove the car to the nearest Honda dealership. They said the #3 spark plug had fouled out. I told them to replace only the #3 plug. On my receipt it says, "retrieved code P0303...misfire #3 cylinder...found spark plug fouled out. Possible faulty valve seals...replaced spark plug and performed PCM software update." That cost me $138.76. On the drive home the air conditioning started to act up. It would run but sometimes it was cold and sometimes the air was not. On November 24, 2012, I took the car to the Honda dealership that I normally use. They couldn't figure out what was wrong with the air conditioning except for a dirty cabin filter. They replaced it and charged me $131.97. However, they said my brakes were worn out. That cost $359.68. Then there was the brake fluid exchange, transmission fluid exchange, and power steering flush. All in all the visit cost me $1049.61. Funny, on November 19, 2012, I had taken the van in for an oil change and they did a courtesy inspection. No mention of brake problem. November 26, 2012, car dead, wouldn't start. They replaced the battery under warranty. December 3, 2012, car dead again. Invoice reads, "A/C clutch relay stuck killing battery making A/C compressor run even when A/C off." Fixed for free due to all the problems.

- Lakeland, FL, USA

problem #6

Jun 152012

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • 40,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Honda Odyssey. The contact stated that while driving 50 mph, the vehicle vibrated and jerked abnormally. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnosis but the dealer was unable to duplicate the problem. The vehicle was not repaired and the manufacturer was notified. The approximate failure mileage was 40,000.

- Cinnaninson, NJ, USA

problem #5

Nov 112012

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • 37,250 miles


I just bought 2009 Odyssey from used car dealer at 37125 miles and on the first day itself I noticed few problems with the van which is still under power train warranty. 1) it makes a noise with little jerk during startup, seems like transmission issue 2) steering wheel gets lots of vibration between the speed of 45mph and 57mph and looks like van is being dragged... 3) at the speed of 40-50mph there is wind sound coming underneath of the van looks like it has some kind of resistance by the badly designed aerodynamic body and which makes you feel that car will be dragged by the wind. I hope Honda should consider this issue seriously as transmission may cause accident any time, even wind drag and steering vibration may definitely cause an accident.

- Iselin, NJ, USA

problem #4

Jan 182010


  • 50 miles
Transmission downshifts are extremely rough, especially from 45 mph. When slowing down from this speed and re-accelerating from 25 mph (as in slowing for an intersection or traffic), the downshifting and upshifting are both rough - to the point of wondering whether the transmission will fall out, or not. This condition has existed from the day I purchased the car. Took it to the dealer in February 2010 for a Honda-requested transmission programming update. That didn't do anything.

- Lambertville, NJ, USA

problem #3

Apr 282010


  • 25,899 miles
Vehicle above 40 mph Honda dealer refuses to work on it anymore.

- Laurel, MD, USA

problem #2

Jan 162010


  • 7,000 miles
My vehicle is Honda odysee 2009 I purchase this unit U=in triangle dealers in P.R. and my unit have a difficult in the front with the punta de eje Y tiene que reemplazarla my husband paid for security bumper to bumper and he sevice is bad I waiting up January and this piece no arrive because triangle talk me and said american Honda worked order of November 2009 and my unit continue with defect I need help because is very iconvenient that this unit is new. I callng and this call to dealer always is negative please chek this unit.

- Carolina, PR, USA

problem #1

Jul 152009


  • 3,000 miles
2009 Honda Odyssey LX. 2 times I was stopping and pushed the brake and accelerator at same time. Motor was racing and ABS was coming on - very frightening as I did not know what the problem was and motor is very powerful. Almost rolled into busy 55 mph intersection first time and almost hit basketball post in driveway second time. Have never had this problem with a vehicle and have been driving for over 30 years. Plain sneakers were being worn - not winter boots. Seems to be little difference in height or location of brake pedal with respect to gas pedal.

- South Wales, NY, USA

Not what you are looking for?