Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
39,429 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Honda Odyssey engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Honda Odyssey:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Honda Odyssey Owner Comments

problem #7

Oct 132015


  • 28,000 miles


The engine shutters at low speeds and going up hill. Honda declines to accept the issue. Battery low indicator warning pops up even when the battery is flooded. May need a software update to battery management system.

- Charlottesville, VA, USA

problem #6

Feb 182015

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • 57,000 miles
Check engine (malfunction light blinking), car was struggling to accelerate, checked the check engine code from the onboard computer, the code was 302. As recommended in owners manual, tried to open and close the fuel tank lid, still the issue is there. I will be taking this to a dealer. Honda cars are suppose to be reliable.

- Johns Creek, GA, USA

problem #5

Dec 232013

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • 51,000 miles
12/23/13-while driving on I95 at 65mph the vehicle engine shut off without warning but the radio/lights remained on, vehicle became difficult to steer and brakes had to be pushed to the floor, vehicle came to a stop on the side of the road approx 300 feet later. Vehicle restarted and was driven to dealership, dealer stated could not be replicated and that fuel system needed to be cleaned, service performed as suggested. 12/25/13- while coming to a traffic light, engine shut down without warning but radio/lights remained on, restarted and drove home. 12/26/13- while approaching stop sign vehicle engine failed but radio/lights remained on as in accessory mode, steering and braking became difficult to control vehicle, this time the engine light came on and remained lit. Van was towed to dealership to be repaired. Dealer stated no error code although the engine light was visibly on, no obvious reason for the vehicle to do this. Dealer suggested replacing engine control module at their expense. Repairs have not been completed yet as they are waiting on the part to arrive. During these failures there was no warning and little time to react, the van became near impossible to steer as if the steering wheel was locked when in the anti-theft mode after parking. The vans brakes although pushed to the floor did not respond immediately even while traveling at low speed.

- Middle River, MD, USA

problem #4

Jul 202012

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 25,000 miles


The contact owns a 2011 Honda Odyssey. The contact stated that while traveling various speeds, the vehicle intermittently stalled. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the failure could not be diagnosed. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was contacted about the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 25,000..... updated 10-17-13 the consumer stated on particular occasion the vehicle, while in motion, stalled without warning. The steering wheel and brakes locked up. The consumer was able to restart it but the failure recurred about one mile later. Each time the failure occurred the 15% oil indicator light appeared.

- Avon Lake, OH, USA

problem #3

Sep 032013


  • 41,000 miles
On 9/3/13, while driving five children to school in our leased 2011 Honda Odyssey, the engine shut down abruptly and without warning while I was turning through a major 4-way intersection. The steering wheel and brakes immediately locked, leaving me completely paralyzed and unable to control the vehicle. The Odyssey coasted into a yard, narrowly missing a large pole, where I was able to place it into park and restart it. I drove back onto the street and exercised great caution to proceed the short distance to school. Approximately one mile later, the engine completely shut off once again. This has occurred a total of 5 times over the past year (twice while stopped at a red light and three times while the vehicle was in motion - twice on city streets and once on the highway). I delivered the vehicle to our leasing dealer, ganley Honda in North olmsted, Ohio, on 9/3/13 for service, where it remains to this day. Ganley Honda's service department has been unable to identify and/or resolve the cause of the engine problem. They have indicated that unless they have "evidence" of the malfunction, the vehicle is fine and safe to drive. Since their computers have generated no error codes and road tests have not replicated the potentially latent malfunction, they maintain that there is no problem. They are now ready to return the vehicle to us for the duration of our lease (we have five months remaining). This is the fifth vehicle over the past 16+ years that we have purchased through this dealership. Given the engine's pattern of shutting down unexpectedly and without warning, leading to the steering wheel and brakes locking, we feel the vehicle is unsafe to drive and are unwilling to place ourselves or our children into it unless the cause of the engine malfunction is identified and the problem is resolved.

- Avon Lake, OH, USA

problem #2

May 262013


  • 49,000 miles
While slowing down for a traffic light, engine was running rough and misfiring. Cel was flashing and check vsa and emissions came on. Found out engine oil level was literally zero. Called Honda. Later found out there is a service bulletin for this issue. Took it to dealership and they followed tsb11-033. Honda rep called back and said they need to monitor engine oil level and told me to bring it back in 1000 miles to check oil level. Did that at 50000 miles and dealer found normal. Again at 53000 miles the problem repeated today Sep 8, 2013. Will be calling Honda today or Monday. Seems like the issue may be with vcm. Very disappointed with this Honda vehicle.

- Edwards, IL, USA

problem #1

Sep 012011


  • 25,000 miles
My Honda Odyssey has "stalled" on numerous occasions. It happens most often when you are slowing down to near stop and then need to rapidly accelerate (ie, you are approaching a red light that then turns green). It often pauses and stutters (almost like it jumps) before actually accelerating. It has never completely cut off, it just feels like it is going too. This problem always occurs on an incline as well. For example, if must stop on a hill and then accelerate - it feels like it will most certainly cut off before rapidly starting to accelerate several seconds later. One time, several months ago, I actually had to have the vehicle towed in because it was doing it so much and I was afraid to drive it on the highway. I was told by the Honda dealer that it was a spark plug problem (corroded or something) and these were replaced. However, the problem has persisted. Vehicle is currently in the shop again because it is now occurring every single time I drive it. Currently, have about 40,000 miles on it.

- Durham, NC, USA

Not what you are looking for?