Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


fairly significant
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
13,550 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2012 Honda Odyssey drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2012 Honda Odyssey:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2012 Honda Odyssey Owner Comments

problem #12

Oct 262015


  • 71,000 miles


The contact owns a 2012 Honda Odyssey. After parking the vehicle and shifting into park, the vehicle rolled away. The brake pedal was depressed and traveled to the floorboard. The vehicle was taken to a dealer, but was not diagnosed or repaired. The dealer informed the contact that the previous owner had the vehicle repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 13V143000 (power train), but the failure recurred. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 71,000. The VIN was not available.

- Candler, NC, USA

problem #11

Feb 022015


  • 40,752 miles
Al conducir la camioneta de regreso del trabajo sentÍ una vibraciÓN O zangoloteo a no mas de 20 mph Y como a unas 1500 RPM, despuÉS de 15 minutos de haber arrancado la camioneta, solo al hacer el cambio de velocidad "transmisiÓN automÁtica" SE percibe tambiÉN, Y en una subida hace mas fuerte el zangoloteo O jaloneo, no SE si tengan que ver con algo acerca de los convertidores de torcion que salen defectuosos Y provocan este tipo de fallas pero solo he escuchado que en modelos 2004 quisiera saber si algÚN propietario de este modelo de camioneta a tenido algÚN problema similar oddysey 2012.

- Mexico, NM, USA

problem #10

Apr 012014

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • 30,000 miles
Judder and vibrates and makes buzzing sound constantly but intermittently. Dealer and Honda state this is in relation to the eco feature. Research by me indicates either torque converter and/or rear motor mount needs replacing. It seems the issue is worsening as I was told by my Honda service tech that it will get worse the more miles driven. Presently has 40K miles and still under warranty. Car lost power on open highway and was able to drive it to Honda service...(unrelated) to vibration issue. Did a computer update and that took care of power issue.

- Bedford, VA, USA

problem #9

Dec 272012

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • miles


I have had the same problems that everyone has since I bought this van new (May 2012). Around 41,000 miles (Aug 2014) had warning lights & codes come up. Honda replaced cylinders 1-3 & work order also showed service bulletin 13-081, replaced under warranty. Then I smelled oil & saw a small leak in Sept 2014. Honda found leaking valve cover gasket, replaced under warranty. Took van to Florida. When we got there we had to take the van to a Honda shop for a low tone knocking noise while idling and louder when accelerating. They had the van for 4 days. Honda provided a free rental. Honda wrote on work order. 43307 worn camshaft lobe causing knocking noise 36108, performed inspection found noise coming from front cylinder head, called techline, techline instructed to inspect for worn cam shaft, pulled valve cover found cylinder #6 intake lobe worn. Removed and replaced front cylinder head camshaft & camshaft seal. Noise gone. It also responds better when pushing gas pedal & gas mileage improved. I bet I have had about $5000 worth of warranty work done at this time just from under the hood. During all this, I contacted the better business bureau & Honda was notified. I have been complaining to corporate Honda from the beginning about this van & they always would say that nothing is wrong. Finally I get a call from corporate Honda to tell me they found nothing from my visit involving replacement of my cylinders. Boy was he misinformed and got an earfull. I have also had my front rotors resurfaced (35,657 miles), got a goodwill warranty. They should give a goodwill warranty with all the Honda vehicles we have bought. Each van I buy (1995, 2005, 2012) gets worse and lasts for a shorter length of time before I feel I can't trust it for a trip out of town. I am starting to experience little issues again like I did when I first bought this van.

- Hagerstown, MD, USA

problem #8

Oct 142013


  • 14,050 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Honda Odyssey. While driving 78 mph, the contact stated the vehicle stalled and all of the warning lamps illuminated, then powered off. The contact was able to get the vehicle safely off of the highway. The vehicle was towed to the dealer for inspection. The dealer did not specify what component failed. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the incident. The approximate failure mileage was 14,050.

- Kalamazoo, MI, USA

problem #7

Mar 272013

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • 5,000 miles
The same problem that occurred in Dec 2012 when Honda issued a transmission software update, but only worse. I was driving at approx 18mph and the transmission locked then slipped continuously. It was worse when I was on a hill causing the van to jerk backwards. It continued to occur and when on a flat road I almost lost control of the vehicle because it jerk so hard when accelerating to 20mph. I ended up having the van towed to the dealership who can't duplicate the problem, Honda said they are unaware of the issue. I am afraid to drive the vehicle and it only has 5000 miles on it. This is my 4th Honda minivan in 10 years and this is not typical handling for the vehicle and the dealership is trying to get me to believe... [please try to help so no one gets injured in this vehicle.... thanks,

- Birmimngham, AL, USA

problem #6

Sep 072012

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • 200 miles


When traveling at a low speed and try to accelerate, the vehicle does not respond for 3 to 5 seconds. Very dangerous when trying to make a left turn or getting onto highway.

- Bethany Beach, DE, USA

problem #5

Nov 052012

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • 137 miles
I bought a brand new '12 Odyssey exl-nav (5-speed automatic transmission) and from the day I picked it up, I noticed a shuddering when the transmission was at a shift point, especially from 2nd to 3rd and 3rd to 4th. I am submitting this complaint because I see a registered compliant for Odyssey touring and touring elite models with 6-speed transmissions but not for the ex or exls with 5-speed transmission [NHTSA reference #10046880;tsb reference #sb-12-064]; however I have the same transmission issue. It has been in the shop at a Honda dealer twice now to resolve issue and last time they mentioned there had been a service bulletin issued for this issue and they uploaded a new software control module. However, I still have the issue and am concerned that this is a design-flaw issue that Honda may not be able to fix. Please expand the NHTSA issue to include the 5-speed transmissions as well and advise if there is anything I can do. Also, with the brand new vehicle, the rear brake rotors were warped and pulsed when breaking and had to be resurfaced within a month of delivery. That issue is now resolved.

- New Hope, PA, USA

problem #4

Sep 242012

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • 460 miles
We bought this vehicle with my aunt[xxx] for our family, we were breaking it in around 400 plus miles and we notice there is a vibration when the vcm or variable cylinder management turns on. So we took it a the dealership we bought it from which is norm reeves Honda in West covina ca. Humming vibration noise when the vcm turns on at any speed. To whom it may concern, Sept 27 2012 me and my aunt just bought a bought brand new 2012 Honda Odyssey ex Sept 21,2012 with only 33 miles on it, we notice a vibration in the engine so I took it to norm reeves Honda 1 888 637 7262 on Sept 27, 2012 with 622 miles on it and spoke to [xxx] service advisor I told them that there is a vibrations in the engine, wind noise, alignment problem and the rear sliding door not being pushed. He send a guy to meet me which he's name is[xxx] a service diagnostics who come with me for a test drive, so we went and he notices the vibration, wind noise and the sliding rear door not being plush and the alignment. [xxx] told me that they will hook up the computer system of Honda to see the problem with the vibrations we head back to the dealer and he told the service advisor about it. So I left Odyssey with them the whole day, I got a call from [xxx] around 4:30 ish and told me they fixed the rear door striker, the rear sliding door the fixed also, alignment is now straight and the top part of the door is plushed but the lower door is not plushed any more, they fixed the alignment, they said the wind noise is normal, regarding the vibration, they told me that they drove the new one and they drive the same. They is a big problem here and they just not saying. Pls help us out information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Burbank, CA, USA

problem #3

Jan 202012

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • 2 miles
Our brand new 2012 Honda Odyssey touring elite judders between 25-40 mph between shifts. The judder can be anywhere from mild and very transient to rough bucking that lasts for over 2 seconds before it smooths out. Under mild or heavy acceleration, I have not not noticed the judder. It seems to only happen under moderate acceleration. It also seems to occur more violently while going uphill. It happens at least 90% of the time during the shift between 2nd and 3rd gears under moderate (typical) acceleration. This judder results in a loss of expected acceleration and decreased control of the vehicle. While researching this problem, it became obvious that I am not the only person experiencing this issue and feel that Honda must recall these vehicles to permanently repair the underlying issue. This issue affects more than just the 2012 model year.

- Germantown, MD, USA

problem #2

Jan 202012


  • 500 miles
2012 Honda Odyssey has a shuttering at various speeds. This seems most prevalent around 40+ miles per hour, however, it can happen at varying speeds. I have set an appointment with Honda dealer (lehigh valley Honda for Tuesday, January 31. I was informed by the service consultant that this is a known issue, but that there is no fix for this at this time. I filed a complaint with Honda motor corporation regarding this issue. This van is approximately two weeks old and experiencing this shuttering problem. You can feel the vibrations in the steering wheel and in the drivers seat. Additionally, you can hear it as long as you are in a quiet environment. Please investigate as other consumers seem to be experiencing this same issue regarding model years 2011 & 2012. Thank you.

- Macungie, PA, USA

problem #1

Oct 202011


  • 500 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Honda Odyssey. The contact stated that the transmission would emit a shuttering sound while driving approximately 20 mph. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer and the contact was informed that the vehicle was performing to specifications. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and offered no assistance. The failure mileage was 500.

- St Cloud, FL, USA

Not what you are looking for?