Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

2.0

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
77,791 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Honda Pilot transmission problems

transmission problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Honda Pilot:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Honda Pilot Owner Comments (Page 2 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #24

Oct 112010

Pilot 6-cyl

  • 50,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2004 Honda Pilot began making shuttering vibrating noise on deceleration at about 50,000 miles. Carried back to Honda dealership 3 times and told could not reproduce noise or vibration. I got in vehicle with shop foreman and was able to reproduce the noise for him with no problem. This was on the third trip to the dealership with 102,000 miles on the vehicle. We were told the transmission would need replacing. We were told Honda America would pay 40% of cost for "good faith". we still paid $2400 for the repair. We looked on the Honda forums on the internet and there are hundreds of Honda Pilot owners with this same problem.

- Hallsboro, NC, USA

problem #23

Oct 222009

Pilot

  • 90,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Honda Pilot. The contact stated that the automatic transmission was slipping and not changing gears correctly; she noticed that it would accelerate the way it should have. There was a noise when accelerating which progressively became worse. The vehicle was taken to a repair shop where the mechanic informed the contact that the transmission needed to be replaced. The vehicle had not been repaired. The contact called the manufacturer who offered no assistance. The current mileage was approximately 124,000. The failure mileage was approximately 90,000.

- Fredericksburg, VA, USA

problem #22

May 012009

Pilot

  • 80,000 miles
Transmission and torque converter causing serious shudder and possible lock-up.

- Reston, VA, USA

problem #21

Jun 072010

Pilot

  • 115,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2004 Honda Pilot ex with 122,000 miles the problem first began in June 2010 and has persisted ever since. While driving, my car's transmission will "shudder". it typically occurs between 25-55 mph. While the duration is brief (15 seconds or less), it has become more frequent, at least one time during each driving occurrence. In addition to the shudder, at low rpms the car will have difficulty shifting and begin to jerk until the car is slowed down or until the gears are able to engage at a higher RPM. At this time, I am now aware of a recall that was conducted in 2003-2004 that involved numerous cars of various models. However, my car was not included in this recall. According to the posts and documents that I have read from NHTSA on the recall, the transmission must be replaced.

- Genoa City, WI, USA

problem #20

Sep 232010

Pilot

  • miles
Around 35-45 mph, loud noise is produced inside my 2004 Honda Pilot transmission. The vehicle has 117,000 miles. It sounds as if gears are not engaging, and are rather chipping off. I took the car to Honda before my warranty expired and they stated they could not reproduce the noise. I continued to drive the vehicle, and the noise would intermittently happen. Now the noise happens all the time around 35-45 mph as I let off of the accelerator a bit. I took it to my local mechanic(who I trust) and told him to check it out. He stated that a recall was out for the 2004 Honda Pilot automatic transmissions. I took the car the next day to the Honda dealership, and they stated that my vehicle had already received the recall, and therefore the automatic transmission was replaced with a new one (transmission number 2 I will call it). I asked Honda to investigate the cause of the transmission noise to see if it was something else. Honda tested the car, and it now again needs another automatic transmission. If I replace the transmission as they recommend, this will be the 3rd transmission in the car and I do not even have but 117,000 miles on the vehicle! the Honda representative stated that the noise will continue and eventually lock up...which could cause a serious accident if on the highway when it occurs. This is a serious safety concern, and I am not pleased with Honda's customer service in this instance. Upon researching, I have seen numerous posts on the internet, and official complaints stating they too are having the same issues even after the recall. Honda should have a 2nd recall as the safety of their customers is in jeopardy. This is ridiculous, and Honda should step up to pay for the repair as they clearly have a problem with their transmissions even after the recall.

- Alpharetta, GA, USA

problem #19

Feb 012009

Pilot

  • 55,000 miles
I own a 2004 Honda Pilot and I have been complaining to the Honda dealership for almost 2 years about a 'shudder' that occurs between 30-50 mph. It sounds and feels like you are driving over a washboard in the road and it will continue until you push down or let off of the accelerator. The Honda service department said that they were able to reproduce it, but nothing showed up on the computer tests. They also said that it maybe something that has to get worse before they can figure it out. I find it hard to believe that it took me 1 minute on the internet to find countless complaints of the same nature as mine, with a diagnosis.

- Dover, OH, USA

problem #18

Nov 012008

Pilot 6-cyl

  • 130,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2004 Honda Pilot that makes a "washboard" sound between 30 - 45 mph. Dealership failed to diagnose problem as torque converter which has now damaged the transmission. Problem started in late 2008 when vehicle was only 4 years old. I am aware of numerous problems with this transmission in Honda and Acura. Honda is not making the situation right and leaving the consumer with a substantial expense for something that certainly appears to be a defect.

- Atmore, AL, USA

problem #17

Aug 202010

Pilot

  • 10,000 miles
2004 Honda Pilot driveline vibration. The 2004 Honda Pilot we own shudders and vibrates very loudly when accelerating between 25-50mph. This has been ongoing throughout the life of the car. (family owned since new) the vehicle has been taken to Honda on several occasions for diagnosis and repair for the problem. Honda has stated they can not reproduce the issue or said they find no problem. Honda did complete a recall and installed an oil jet kit at 12K miles. This was their attempt to quell the problem. After research I have found Honda has issued tsb 06-003(9 June 2007) and is fully aware of the problem. American Honda has diagnosed the problem as a faulty torque converter, thus causing premature destruction of the vehicle's transmission. Due to the vehicle's age/mileage american Honda refuses to cover the repair of the torque converter and or transmission, even though the problem was reported/documented while still under warranty.

- Sandston, VA, USA

problem #16

Jun 252010

Pilot

  • 104,000 miles
I just recently (in November) purchased a 2004 Honda Pilot. The transmission starting causing shifting problems. The first time it was like I slammed the brakes on but thankfully I was just going up our drive way and not driving fast. I started driving again and it kept messing up. Then the green light started flashing on the D when I was driving and parked. I took it in and they plugged it into the computer and it was a transmission code. There was also a 2-3 shift malfunction. They said my transmission needed replaced. I looked up recalls and my car had a recall for the transmission and it was """fixed""" in May 2006. However, they did not change the transmission, just installed an oil jet kit to keep it lubricated! apparently that did not help especially if there are chips of metal in the fluid! everyone I talk to just tells me my car, being at 104,000 miles, is out of warranty and they have to draw the line somewhere! no crap people! but if you would have fixed the darn thing properly when it had a recall it would not need replaced already! Honda has been horrible through this and refuse to help me. I am a single mother of 3 children and I can not afford a new transmission at $4,000 especially when it is their screw up and they should have to fix their recall! I am so angry and will never buy another Honda as long as I live and I will tell anyone I know about their horrible transmissions and their bad customer service. They are just trying to cover their butts on this one. It is time they start helping their customers rather than basically saying "its your problem now". from what I see this is an ongoing problem with Honda and I think something needs to be done! with the number of complaints about the transmission this could lead to more serious and dangerous problems if not fixed properly! I am very disappointed in Honda and feel like they should fix this and make it safe at no cost to the customers.

- Big Prairie, OH, USA

problem #15

Jul 302010

Pilot

  • 80,000 miles
Transmission noise/vibration at low rpms while driving in 4th gear. Does not make noise while driving in D3. Recall work was supposed to have been done by dealer when vehicle was purchased new. Recall stated that trans could "lock up" while driving. Have seen other complaints online for same problem with Acura MDX which uses the same transmission. The problem appears to be faulty torque converters.

- Whitehall, PA, USA

problem #14

Jul 162010

Pilot

  • 78,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Our 2004 Honda Pilot began making noises every once in a while a couple of months ago. At first, the noise sounded like we had run over a paper cup with the rt front tire. This small sound got more frequent. We noticed it happened most often when we were moving at a slow speed -- between 30 and 40 mph. We called the dealership and the mechanic determined the torque converter is malfunctioning. The dealer says we need to replace both the torque and transmission at $3,500. Our Pilot has 78,000 miles.when I pull up information for our VIN, it shows 3 safety notices/recalls including the one for the transmission (recall number: 04V176000)the recall began on Apr 21, 2004 and I remember getting a notice to take the vehicle to the dealer, but Honda America says the recall did not include my VIN no. And there are no recalls for our Pilot at all. The recall involved 1099796 units -- including the 2003 and 2004 model yr Pilot. Honda America does not want to acknowledge that our VIN was -- or at the very least should have been -- in the recall. The Honda America rep was abrupt and repeated the same scripted line over and over..."your VIN is not under any recall..." the dealership has been supportive. We don't know if there will be any discount from either Honda America or the dealer. Our 1999 Odyssey had to have transmission replaced just out of warranty -- and this was the vehicle Honda promised to be the best of the best for quality and safety. We will be selling or trading the Pilot and looking for something out of the Honda line. The powertrain should have 100,000 miles -- not the 36,000. I want Honda America to look into our problem, step up and say this issue is the same issue in the recall. Our Pilot was serviced on schedule through the dealer. The Honda America rep said they don't look at what websites say about Honda issues (edmunds, safecar.gov...). perhaps Honda should ask Toyota how that worked for them... --[xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Franklin, GA, USA

problem #13

Jun 252010

Pilot

  • 83,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Honda Pilot. The contact stated while driving at 55 mph the vehicle started making a noise and the automatic transmission light came on. The vehicle start jerking and suddenly locked-up causing the vehicle to stop in the middle of the highway. The contact restarted the vehicle but the engine kept locking up while driving. The contact took the vehicle to the dealer and the dealer informed the contact that the transmission needed to be replaced. The contact called the manufacturer regarding the transmission and they told the dealer that they will cover 50 percent of the transmission repair. The contact stated the transmission should not have gone out at 83,000 miles and this could have caused a major crash on the highway. The failure mileage was 83,000.

- Kendall Park, NJ, USA

problem #12

Jun 222010

Pilot

  • 97,500 miles
2004 Honda Pilot transmission gear problems....gears are engaging while driving at approximately 40 mph.

- Navarre, FL, USA

problem #11

Mar 052010

Pilot

  • Automatic transmission
  • 92,500 miles
Flashing D indicator in 2004 Honda Pilot - automatic transmission model has about 92,000 miles and during driving demonstrated a flashing "D" drive indicator on the dashboard. Took to dealer and they advised pressure sensor on 4th gear needed to be replaced. Appears numerous similar complaints exist on the internet for 2003 and 2004 Honda Pilot vehicles.

- El Paso, TX, USA

problem #10

Jan 122010

Pilot

  • 80,334 miles
I was driving home from work yesterday when the D (drive) light started blinking. I drove less than a half mile down the road to pick up my children at school, I put the car in P (park) and the D light kept blinking. I turned the car off and went into the school to pick up my children, when I came back out and turned the car back on, the D light was no longer blinking. I spoke to a mechanic this morning and it is apparently a problem with the transmission so now I need to take the day off of work and go get it looked at. I'm sure it will also be a pricey fix if the transmission is involved. I am definitely not happy considering I have just over 80K miles on my Pilot, and Honda vehicles are supposed to be reliable. Was there a problem with 2004 Honda Pilot vehicles, specifically with their transmissions?

- Allison Park, PA, USA

problem #9

Aug 012009

Pilot 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 135,000 miles
2004 Honda Pilot V-6 automatic transmission premature failure causing vehicle to come out of gear when accelerating, transmission to slip when climbing hills or attempting to pass and also causing the transmission to lock up when traveling at road speed. This problem was addressed in recall on October 29, 2004 but only included a limited VIN range. Vehicles were manufactured after the VIN range with the same transmission and the same problems but were not recalled and Honda dealers and american Honda will not acknowledge the issue. They are hard pressed to even acknowledge the recall itself unless you tell them you realize there was a recall and give them the details.

- Hodgdon, ME, USA

problem #8

Jul 272009

Pilot 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 106,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Honda Pilot. The contact stated that the vehicle made a clunking sound and was towed to the dealer. The dealer examined the vehicle and stated that the transmission locked up. Through online research, the contact discovered a recall; however, her VIN was excluded. She stated that this was a safety hazard and the vehicle should be included in the recall. The NHTSA campaign id number was 04V176000. The current and failure mileages were 106,000. Updated 09/16/09 updated 09/17/09.

- Canon Lake, CA, USA

problem #7

Apr 232009

Pilot

  • 62,885 miles
My 2004 Honda Pilot requires a new transmission at ~60,000 miles with repair fee of $4,000. I found this recall information. I did not receive this recall information in the past. I believe the manufacturer should assume full responsibility for the repair. I am reading that the transmission could have locked up. This is alarming and I am concerned for the safety of many other families (including my friends) who drive the Pilot. The reason we purchased the Pilot was to Transport our four children and their friends. NHTSA recall campaign number: 04V176000 component: Power train:automatic transmission details: On some mini vans, sport utility and passenger vehicles, certain operating conditions can result in heat build-up between the countershaft and secondary shaft second gears in the automatic transmission, eventually leading to gear tooth chipping or gear breakage. Consequence: Gear failure could result in transmission lockup, which could result in a crash. Corrective action: On vehicles with 15,000 miles or less, the dealer will update the transmission with a simple revision to the oil cooler return line to increase lubrication to the second gear. On vehicles with more than 15,000 miles, the dealer will inspect the transmission to identify gears that have already experienced discoloration due to overheating. If discoloration exists, the transmission will be replaced if discoloration is not present, the dealer will perform the revision to the oil cooler return line. The recall began on April 21, 2004, for Pilot, Odyssey, and MDX owners. Owners of the Accord vehicles will start receiving letters on June 28, 2004, and on June 29, 2004, for owners of the TL and cl vehicles. Owners should contact Honda at 1-800-999-1009 or Acura at 1-800-382-2238. Units potentially affected: 1099796 recall initiated by: Mfr date added to NHTSA datbase: 04/20/2004.

- Sandy Hook, CT, USA

problem #6

Aug 132008

Pilot

  • Automatic transmission
  • 97,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Honda Pilot. While driving 45 mph, the vehicle began shaking and making noise. The dealer test drove the vehicle and stated that the transmission was the cause of the failure. The dealer also stated that they would partially repair the failure. The contact stated that he does not have the other half available to pay. The failure mileage was 97,000. Updated 01/07/09. Updated 01/08/09.

- Lewistown, OH, USA

problem #5

Feb 262007

Pilot 4WD 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 6,200 miles
While driving on the hwy, 4 wheel drive on Honda, Pilot 2004, automatically engaged. When I tried to slow down and pull over, the car jerked and started to knock. I had to speed up again to 60 mph and the sound went away. I pushed the 4 wheel drive button on the dashboard and no help. I finally slowly slowed down the car. The 4 wheel drive (vt-4) light went off, but the automatic transmission light is still on.

- Oakton, VA, USA

Read the next 4 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?