Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
10 / 1
Average Mileage:
18,690 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Honda Pilot seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Honda Pilot:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Honda Pilot Owner Comments

problem #20

Nov 082016

Pilot

  • 156,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall notice of recall received June 2016 in July 2016 I called northwest Honda of owings mills to schedule appointment to have recalled part replaced and was told the part was on back order and I would be notified of its arrival via email notification of part arrival in pink card received in the mail on 11/1/16, 4 months after the recall notice. Appointment scheduled with appointment desk at northwest Honda of owings mills upon receipt of card for 11/8/16 to replace air bag. Upon arrival at northwest Honda I was told the appointment was never scheduled, they were booked and I had the option to wait 2 hours to be serviced. I have waited 5 months for a recalled part to be replaced in my car and after waiting 5 months I am told to wait 2 additional hours after the dealer made a mistake in their scheduling. I requested for the existing defective airbag to be removed and was advised this cannot be done because it is against the law. I requested for the part to be given to me so I can have another dealership install it, I was told they are not allowed by law to do this either. So I am forced to wait for northwest Honda to not mess up my rescheduled appointment on 11/21, or get rid of the part which per pink notification will only be on hold until 11/14.

- Catonsville, MD, USA

problem #19

Jun 032016

Pilot

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Honda Pilot. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V344000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Hawthorne, CA, USA

problem #18

May 012016

Pilot

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 Honda Pilot. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V344000 (air bags) in may of 2016. After contacting the dealer and the manufacturer on multiple occasions, the contact was informed that the parts needed for the recall remedy were still not available and no estimated time for receiving the parts could be provided. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Port St. Lucie, FL, USA

problem #17

Sep 302016

Pilot

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 Honda Pilot. The contact received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 16V344000 (air bags). The contact stated that the parts needed for the recall remedy were still not available. The manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #16

Jun 102016

Pilot

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 Honda Pilot. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 16V344000 (air bags) and 16V061000 (air bags); however, the parts to do the repair were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Port Orange, FL, USA

problem #15

Jul 112016

Pilot

  • miles
Takata recall. I contacted brown's Honda city at 712 North crain highway, glen burnie, md 21061 to address this recall. My initial contact was on 7/8/16. I was given an appiontment of 7/15/16 to have the problem fixed. They then cancelled my appointment and since then they keep putting me off saying they don't have the parts yet. It has been over 60 days since I first contacted them and the recalled parts still have not been replaced.

- Pasadena, MD, USA

problem #14

Aug 312016

Pilot

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 Honda Pilot. The contact received recall notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V344000 (air bags) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Florida, NY, USA

problem #13

Jun 012016

Pilot

  • miles
On June 2015 I bought my vehicle from brandon Honda dealer. In December 2015 my vehicle started to give me some problems, alignment, tires, engine, instability when you are driving in the highway. The dealer expected me to pay over 1,000 dollars for the repairs, however they did fixed them at no cost. Now June 2016, one year after purchase my car still having major problems, tires, instability when driving and alignment issues. When I took my vehicle for oil service on June 2016 I expressed that my vehicle was pulling to left so they recommended an alignment I agreed, after 5 hours waiting and me driving away the pulling to the left was not fixed at all I went back to the dealer and demanded them to fixed it, they stated that because my tires needed to be changed that's why it was not fixed, mind you that I already paid over $100 dollars and they told me this after the fact. Now I received a recall and they have not contacted me back to even make an appointment to address this issue. How can a known dealership promised you that the car is reliable and inspected by a certify mechanic and that it will last for at least 5 years and here I am only 1 year from the time I bought my vehicle and I am having car issues that can caused me and my kids life because this vehicle is not safe to drive. I have express this to brandon Honda and they have not do anything. Can someone please help?

- Seffner, FL, USA

problem #12

May 242016

Pilot

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 Honda Pilot. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V344000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Pittsburg, CA, USA

problem #11

Jul 082016

Pilot

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 Honda Pilot. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V344000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The contact had not experienced a failure. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Orlando, FL, USA

problem #10

Jun 172015

Pilot

  • 0 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall: I am writing to you, in order to ask your assistance. I have Honda Pilot, with takata recall, but already for a year I am not driving this car, as Honda does not give me any answer when the recall would be made. I have registered a claim a year ago, wrote to Honda recalls several times (attached file below), also as I made dozen of calls to them. Additionally I have enquired to local dealership in order to seek assistance there, but I did not get any answer and from them. Can you help me with following: 1. find out the date, when it is possible to make a recall for takata airbags. 2. can you, please, explain me, who will cover the costs, of Honda inactivity for a year, as I cannot drive the car, with faulty airbags. Rytis markevicius mob. +370 682 55 636 el. P. rytis@protingesnis.lt

- Vilnius48, AL, USA

problem #9

Aug 202015

Pilot 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
Your recall is a total fraud. Called Honda. Gave info and had appointment to repair (4 weeks after call..they said it would take 7 days to get part). Get to the dealer (manhattan Honda)...they take car, tell me that they do not have part but I need over $2000 in other repairs...they will have part in 7 days and will call...now it is 5 weeks later no call..this is total [xxx] and the Honda dealer is a crook. This is a total con game!!!!! information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- New York, NY, USA

problem #8

Aug 042015

Pilot

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Honda Pilot. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V320000 (air bags); however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 09/18/15

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #7

Jul 152015

Pilot

  • 19,500 miles
I received a recall notice for the driver's side airbag and had the repair performed in May. In July, I received a second recall notice for the driver's side airbag which clearly states "even if your vehicle was previously repaired, your vehicle is still covered by this recall and will need to be repaired again." However, on checking the VIN number on both the recall website and with my dealership, there are no open recalls shown. Which is correct - that there must be a second repair or that there are no further repairs necessary?

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #6

May 222015

Pilot

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Honda Pilot. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V320000 (air bags) however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #5

Apr 272015

Pilot

  • 98,000 miles
I received a recall notice from Honda" important safety recall" in the mail on my faulty air bag. Letter said call my local Honda dealer and they would repair it for free. Called oxnard dch dealer on 4/27/15 about my Honda Pilot 2008 requesting it to be repaired, they said we do not have the replacement part but will me back when it comes in, that was a month ago they have yet to call back. When will theycall back, when will replacement parts come in, and how soon will they repair this problem?

- Camarillo, CA, USA

problem #4

Apr 302015

Pilot

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Honda Pilot. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V153000 (air bags); however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Oakley, CA, USA

problem #3

Sep 122014

Pilot 6-cyl

  • 88,000 miles
Honda Pilot was struck (tbone) at 65 mph side curtain airbags deployed and driver was knocked unconscious and leaned on the gas. Car went into full rev and crashed into a wall where the front airbag deployed. Homeless man was sleeping behind the wall and was struck by the runaway Honda Pilot. Shouldn't the vehicle of shut down after airbag deployment? fuel inertia or cut off did not engage.

- Huntington Beach, CA, USA

problem #2

Dec 182010

Pilot

  • miles
Airbag light keep on after the car start up. 2008 Honda Pilot. No accident involved. Honda said a control module need to be replaced.

- Dallas, TX, USA

problem #1

Aug 162008

Pilot

  • 12,300 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Honda Pilot. While driving approximately 60 mph, the contact rear ended the preceding vehicle and was rear ended by the vehicle in his rear. The vehicle behind him was traveling 60 mph as well. Four occupants were injured. The vehicle was towed and a police report was filed. The vehicle sustained major damage. None of the eight air bags deployed. The current and failure mileages were 12,300.

- Bedford, MA, USA

Not what you are looking for?