If you find CarComplaints.com is helpful ... We rely completely on word of mouth. Talk about us on Facebook, Twitter, tell your mother-in-law. Help us help more people.


pretty bad
Typical Repair Cost:
No data
Average Mileage:
43,182 miles
Total Complaints:
13 complaints

Most Common Solutions:

  1. not sure (11 reports)
  2. fix the engine (2 reports)
Get free help with your lemon!
close ad
2009 Honda Pilot engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Honda Pilot:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Honda Pilot Owner Comments

problem #13

Oct 012014

Pilot EX-L 3.6L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 75,000 miles


To start HONDA as a company SUCKS!

I started to do the oil change myself at around 70-71000 miles. First oil change I noticed there were only 2.5 quarts left in the motor. I said maybe the guys at the shop "shortened me" when I did the oil change. SO I change the oil every 3000 miles after that and noticed the same amount remained in the oil pan.

It seems this is a common problem with all or most Honda motors 3.5L V6. I scheduled a test at Honda of Kirkland and they say it is normal for a car with this mileage to consume this amount of oil. Really? I saw cars with 200,000 miles not taking any oil and motor running perfect.

Also to throw "the other guys" under the bus the Honda Service Adviser told me that Nissan and Toyota has the same issue with excessive oil consumption and this is "NORMAL".

So I looked on the internet, Honda has been sued already for the excessive oil consumption, but the guy at the dealership said I should have a motor check light on.

Simple conclusion, I will never step foot in a Honda Dealership again.

BTW, they were also fined approx $30M by the government for not declaring a lot of deaths due to accidents in Honda vehicles. SO STAY AWAY FROM HONDA.

I was planning to spend some to get a new car, but I crossed Honda of my list.


- , Redmond, USA

problem #12

Feb 102015

Pilot Touring V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 54,374 miles

I just now read about a Class Action Lawsuit on www.hondaproblems.com, that Honda admits there is an excessive oil consumption problem with the VCM V6 engines, and settled the suit by extending the warranty 8 years from the original date of purchase. I just checked my oil and found out there is none in my engine. THE DIP STICK IS DRY, NOT A DROP. THIS IS NOT ACCEPTABLE. I WAS NEVER NOTIFIED OF THIS PROBLEM.

I called Honda at 800-999-1009, gave them my VIN number, and they said I was not covered. However, they gave me the number of the Class Action people, 888-888-3082, and they checked my VIN number and said I was covered. It is too late to get reimbursed for any out-of-pocket expenses through the lawsuit.

I have heard through this site, and in TSB #11-033, that the fix is a simple software update. I hope so. I called the service dept. at my local Honda dealer and the service tech didn't know anything about it, or the TSB #11-033 bulletin, but took my name and number and will have his boss call me back. I'll keep you posted to what happens. (Just got off the phone with the Dealer. Will update software and check spark plugs for fowling in pistons 1-4. He said the rings on pistons 1-4 rotate and allow oil into combustion chamber. He will not fix rings until proper code appears with check engine light, because he won't get reimbursed for cost of repair from Honda.I'm afraid my warranty extension will run out before that code appears, because I have so little mileage on it.) I have to put oil in it to safely drive it to the dealer. THIS IS B.S.

Update from Feb 16, 2015: The dealer said they updated the software, under TSB#13-082, (but I don't see that mentioned on my charges receipt, they will call me on 2.18.2015 to verify whether it was done or not.), and found no fowling on spark plugs, ( I did not see the spark plugs when they were removed to verify that claim, I wish I had.), and started an Oil Consumption Test. I have to bring it back every 1000 miles to measure oil loss. They said they will not repair the engine until I get the misfire code, P0301 thru P0304. I also called Honda Product Relations at 800-999-1009, ext.7, and spoke with Jose. He said the same thing. I opened a complaint file with him, to document my effort to get Honda to fix my engine. I recommend that everyone call and open a file. Also, file a complaint with the Dept. of Transportation and Safety Board.

- , Olympia, WA, USA

problem #11

Sep 012014

Pilot EX 3.5L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 78,000 miles

Like other users my 2009 Honda Pilot is burning excessive oil. I have never had a car that I have to monitor this closely to make sure it has oil. So I called the Honda service department I use, (even though its not the closest) and they said they would start with the oil consumption test. That its acceptable to burn a quart of oil in 1,000 miles. Really?!?!? So, by the time I have to have my oil changed at 7500 miles, I would have gone through 7.5 quarts of oil. Why would I ever need an oil change since the engine is burning it, and I'm replacing it, at more than 5 quarts per cycle?

What a pain in the ass. I understand problems occur by Honda has to realize that when I go to purchase a new car, I am going to consider. How can I have the confidence that the Honda I buy, they won't say the same thing?

For Gods sake, we all know its an issue, acknowledge it and apply the software update free of charge.

- , Swedesboro, NJ, USA

problem #10

Jun 232014

Pilot Touring 3.5

  • Automatic transmission
  • 88,000 miles


I bought this with 88000 miles, did not really need it but the kids loved it. traded a 2012 Dodge Caravan but needed something to tow party barge. The second day I had it oil light came on and the suspension was rattling. The four wheel drive does not work so I called them back up and they told me bring it in so I did.

Four days later they tell me it's all fixed, drive it for a week, oil light comes back on and it's low almost to nothing. I bring it back to them they tell me it's a computer issue????? I'm not a dummy, the engine is bad. I told them to give my van back and now they're pulling my chain. They're trying to let 30 day warranty run so I have to pay out of pocket. So I have to get a lawyer now. Very upset because it's a nice vehicle but the mechanical parts are junk. I will never buy a Pilot again.

- , Utica, NY, USA

problem #9

Jul 202013

Pilot Touring V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 95,000 miles

I have received the notice about a settlement law suit with a conclusion that Honda promised to pay for the repair cost once the case is settled. The last time I changed the oil I had three or four engine lights on and my mechanic told me that the engine was completely empty without a drop of oil and he is not sure if that caused any damage to the engine or not. He told me to let him know. I started having some issues with the vehicle a couple of days later, hesitation, speed variation while driving, occasional engine lights, etc. I have to fix this because it is becoming very annoying.

I am sure (hope) that Honda will pay the repair cost in a timely manner.

Update from May 20, 2015: Honda refuses to do the software update that could possibly solve the problem. they keep insisting that unless they see the computer codes they will not fix it for free. nevertheless, the problem with the oil consumption remained the same.

- , Springfield, VA, USA

problem #8

Jan 202010

Pilot Touring 3.2L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 987 miles

Discovered this problem on my own as I change the oil on the vehicle. Prior to the due date for it's next oil change I checked the oil level and it barely registered on the dip stick....I was shocked and puzzled...it was not leaking oil...so what was going on? I did some research and found that this model aggressively consumes oil!!!! So now every Sunday I have to check the level and add a bit to top it off. This is very annoying...and can be dangerous, because it is difficult to determine the rate of consumption. I will be discussing this with HONDA soon....Thank's for listening...

- , Tampa, FL, USA

problem #7

Dec 012012

Pilot EX-L 3.5L-Liter Sohc I-Vtec V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 77,000 miles


This problem began when my engine light came on suddenly when I had to brake really hard to avoid an accident. I wasn't sure what this meant but I ignored it at the time because the engine light just went back off.

I hadn't made it a habit with this vehicle to check the oil since I didn't ever think there would ever be a problem with oil consumption. I've owned many a vehicle in the past including the very first Honda Pilot that came on the market. Never had any issues other than wear and tear because of mileage and normal use.

When I decided to check the oil on my 2009 Pilot, I noticed the dip stick was DRY! I couldn't believe my eyes!! I made an appointment with my Honda dealer and they noticed that it barely had any oil in the engine. The service center did some oil consumption test on my vehicle. After two checks on two different situations it was determined that the oil consumption level was normal for this vehicle. This was after I had the software update that Honda suggested as the problem.

Bottom line here is that I'm very disappointed with this vehicle. I was so excited to purchase this vehicle when Honda came out with this model and, for the most part, the vehicle has been very good-very happy with all its features and, for the price that I paid, it was a much better deal than what Toyota offered.

Now this oil consumption problem has really dampened my spirit and my faith in the Honda line of vehicles. I've always owned Toyota's but decided to stick with the Honda this time since the Pilot I owned seemed to fair well.

I plan to call, write, email Honda customer service and/or public relations regarding my problem and my disappointment with my Pilot. It's such a shame it got to this point because I have been very satisfied with the vehicle until now!!

- , Peoria, AZ, USA

problem #6

Jun 012009

Pilot EXL V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 4,000 miles

I first found out about the oil consumption problem when the car only had a few thousand miles. I was 4 and 1/2 quarts low on oil!!! I had the oil consumption tests done and Honda says that a quart of oil burned every 1000 miles is NORMAL!!! They didn't tell me this when I bought it. Or I wouldn't have bought it!!!

Three years later, it is still burning oil away. 2.5 quarts in the last 5,000 miles.

I officially give up. I am going to purchase a different vehicle and trade this one in.

But, besides that, I did like the Pilot. Except for the oil which is a deal breaker.

Good luck to anyone that has one and PLEASE CHECK YOUR OIL.

- , Merrimack, NH, USA

problem #5

Nov 172011

Pilot Limited 3.2L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 44,500 miles

Been Having some serious issues with my 09 Pilot. It consumes so much oil that has me questioning their reliability. Took it to the dealer and they charged me for an oil change and supposedly update the on board computer with a new software that should have fixed the problem. However, the problem is still there and now the vehicle is stalling. SOOOO PISSSED

- , Wildomar, CA, USA

problem #4

Dec 032009

Pilot EXL V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 17,000 miles

They told me the knocking was due to piston adjustment and honda was aware of it. Now less than a month my engine light is on. I have not been happy with this pilot. We owned a 2006 pilot with 60,000 miles and had no issues. The quality on 2009 is bad.

- , Gainesville, FL, USA

problem #3

Apr 152009

Pilot Touring

  • Manual transmission
  • 15,000 miles


Totally amazed that this very expensive, brand new car burns oil like my Chevette from high school.

- , Manassas, VA, USA

problem #2

Apr 012009

Pilot EX-L 3.5L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 7,600 miles

I tradeed my 2009 Honda Pilot with the same Honda 09' Pilot last December and hoping that I just got a bad one ( I lost about $5000 for the trade in), but guess what? it has the same problem with too much "OIL CONSUMPTION" the handling and performance is good but with this problem showing up in the early stage, how much more when it gets older. so those who got an 09' Pilot please check the oil level so you will know what I'm saying and when you report this to the Honda dealer they will just say "we will continue to observe" even though it already happened to different 09' Pilot......

- , Harlingen, Texas/Harlingen, USA

problem #1

Jul 242008

Pilot EX-L 3.5L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 4,900 miles

We trade our 2004 pilot with the new 2009 Honda Pilot last June 24, 2008 and we travel from Texas to San Francisco California on July 12, 2008 and before going back to Texas I check the oil level and it went down to 1/2 in the oil dip stick I drive it still going to Las Vegas to El Paso Texas and stay there overnight the next morning before starting the engine I check the oil again there is only 1/4 oil left in the dip stick. I brought it to the dealer and they just change the oil and said that they will observe it again and there are more problem when I show it to them the Monroof window stop working (they replace the motor) and the corner paint in the front bumper is chipping off..... Damn what kind of quality has Honda now. Even my 2008 Honda Civic that we bought last April 2008 the sun visor keeps on breaking and the dealer just keep on replacing them and I ask the dealer he said Honda is not doing anything to improve it they just keep on replacing them ......I'm Honda user for a long time I started from my 1995 Civic, 1997 Civic, 2004 pilot, 2008 civic and to 2009 pilot.....but if they cannot fix the problem with my 2009 pilot since this is my family car I might switch to other maker.....

- , Harlingen, Texas/Harlingen, USA

Not what you are looking for?