Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
9 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
17 / 0
Average Mileage:
11,703 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Honda Pilot seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Honda Pilot:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Honda Pilot Owner Comments (Page 1 of 3)

problem #46

Jun 212016

Pilot

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2011 Honda Pilot. The contact received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 16V346000 (air bags). The contact stated that the parts needed for the recall remedy were still not available. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Colorado Springs, CO, USA

problem #45

Aug 292016

Pilot

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2011 Honda Pilot. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V346000 (air bags) and stated that the part was not available within a reasonable time frame to schedule the recall repair. The interim notice did not give a specific date for when the part would become available. The manufacturer could not provide an estimated date for when the vehicle would receive the recall repair. The contact was not experiencing a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- West Hills, CA, USA

problem #44

Jul 012016

Pilot

  • miles
Takata recall - after multiple attempts to have the dealer from whom the vehicle was purchased replace the airbag, we've been repeatedly told "they'll let us know when they are available". given the time which has passed since the recall was announced, this is no longer an acceptable response. We need your assistance with Honda to have the safety repairs related to the air bag performed.

- Georgetown, TX, USA

problem #43

Jul 222016

Pilot

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2011 Honda Pilot. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V346000 (air bags); however, the parts to do the repair were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Penbrook Pines, FL, USA

problem #42

Jul 252016

Pilot

  • miles
I received a recall notice in July 2016 on the airbag defect. I have tried having the vehicle serviced but have not had any luck. Several calls have been made to the local dealer and they are still unable to repair my vehicle. It has been over 2 months (60 days) since I contacted the dealer for a repair appointment. All of this time I must avoid having any passengers ride in the front passenger seat until the recall is performed. I am unable to use my vehicle to Transport my family on trips and therefore unable to use it for its intended purpose.

- West Columbia, SC, USA

problem #41

Sep 302016

Pilot

  • miles
Takata recall.- it has been more than 60 days (since I received the letter from Honda and since I notified Honda of fort worth, 3400 w loop 820 S, fort worth, tx 76116. I have called them several times and they told me to avoid having a passenger on the front seat. This is not acceptable; I have children and that's why I got an SUV, children ride in the back and adults in the front. If I am not able to drive our Pilot the way it was designed, I would like to request an equal loaner vehicle until the air bag is fixed. Waiting longer is not acceptable. Respectfully, juan romero

- Weatherford, TX, USA

problem #40

Jul 202016

Pilot

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall contacted brahman Honda 561-966-5160 on July 20, 2016. Left a message for myra in recall dept stating we received a notice stating the passanger side airbag inflator was recalled. Spoke with myra later that day, gave her VIN of the Pilot and requested repair. She stated that it was taking until the "end of summer" before car part would be in. She stated our information was put into the system and part was ordered. Called brahman Honda the beginning of September and told part was still not in but they would call us when it was. 66 days later and still no part, no call, no repair.

- Wellington, FL, USA

problem #39

Jul 012016

Pilot

  • miles
Takata recall taking too long to repair

- Violet, LA, USA

problem #38

May 232016

Pilot

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2011 Honda Pilot. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V346000 (air bags). The part to do the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Richfield, UT, USA

problem #37

Jul 012016

Pilot

  • miles
I received a notice from Honda automobile division, saying I have a recall on my car. The air bags are defective, and a dangerous hazard to my family! and should repaired by Honda. I have taken my car to the the dealer and they said they will contact me as soon as the parts a in. This was back in July of 2016! I have not received a call! I have made several trips to the dealer and each time they said the same thing it should be just a couple of days. I tried to contact them on 9/15/2016 and I still get the same answer. I called Honda America and they said the parts are on back order. I then listen to a message from bruce smith S.V.P. saying this is something I should not take lightly.! needless to say, I am very frustrated and anxious, as this is a very serious life or death situation! I am very concerned for the safety of my family....

- Grayson, GA, USA

problem #36

Jul 102016

Pilot

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2011 Honda Pilot. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V346000 (air bags); however, the part to do the recall repair was not yet available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Lithia, FL, USA

problem #35

Jul 192016

Pilot

  • miles
Takata recall: I received notice July 2016 of this recall and immediately contacted my dealership who ordered the necessary parts on July 19, 2016. I have been calling the dealer weekly to check on the parts arriving. As of this week, the parts have still not come in and not being able to use the passenger seat has caused a significant inconvenience with my job and my family.

- Jacksonville, FL, USA

problem #34

Aug 032016

Pilot 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
Takata recall. Honda automobile division sent me the recall but now says contact dealer. Dealer ordered part 3 Aug. To date no part. Dealer takes trade ins cars requiring recall and sells them. I was told swapping recall parts by the dealer is authorized. Are my parts being swapped by the dealer to sell trade ins instead of fixing customers. Dealer is university Honda, florence al, 35630. Honda automotive division is recordings only, dealer has no answers and makes no contact regarding status of ordered part while I continue to drive an unsafe vehicle. Honda has not stepped up to the plate on this issue and only put you on to the dealer who appears more interested in selling trade ins that fixing customers' cars. Honda should track recall parts by VIN and inform the customer when their part has been shipped with expected delivery date. As currently managed the customer has no way of knowing anything about the status of the part ordered for their car by VIN. Trust in the dealer is not a viable solution as their objective is to sell cars, Honda has the responsibility to the customer for safe cars and they are failing. I also have a 2009 Honda ridgeline VIN# [xxx] that is subject to the recall with the same issue. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Florence, AL, USA

problem #33

Jul 222016

Pilot

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Honda Pilot. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V346000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Gray, TN, USA

problem #32

Jul 062016

Pilot

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Honda Pilot. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V346000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Lompoc, CA, USA

problem #31

Jul 202016

Pilot 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2011 Honda Pilot. The contact received notification of nets campaign number: (air bags) and stated that the part needed for the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Vine tool confirms parts not available. Updated 10/28/16 the consumer stated the air bag was replaced in late September. Updated 11/02/16.

- Johns Creek, GA, USA

problem #30

Aug 042016

Pilot

  • miles
Takata recall I have reached out to Honda 3 seperate times in relationship to providing a rental vehicle since receiving the notification our vehicle is part of the takata recall. They suggest we do not have anyone ride in the passenger seat as part of their recommendation. With a family of 4 with two small children in car seats there recommendation is not possible. Our other vehicle they suggest we drive is a Honda ridgeline, also part of the recall for the passenger side airbag. There is also not enough room in the back to seat 2 children in car seats along with an adult. Each time we have called that say they will escalate the case. We have yet to hear a response in a month.

- Kennesaw, GA, USA

problem #29

May 232016

Pilot

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2011 Honda Pilot. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V346000 (air bags). The part to do the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Cumming, GA, USA

problem #28

Jul 012016

Pilot

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2011 Honda Pilot. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V346000 (air bags); however, the parts to do the recall repair were not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Norris, SC, USA

problem #27

Jul 192016

Pilot

  • 96,000 miles
Takata recall Honda is refusing to call me in regard to this recall, and specifically to discuss options for alternative transportation. O I received a recall letter from Honda in July 2016, instructing me to not use the front passenger seat. O I contacted them on 7/19/2016, and they said that a case manager would call me back, but no such call came. O I called them back on 8/5/2016. They told me a case manager would call me back, but again, no such call came. They told me my case number is 04888305. They also told me to call my dealer, which I did, (they said that parts are back ordered, with no delivery estimate, and meanwhile, I'm still using the front seat. O I called them back on 8/22. This time, they sent an internal message to the case worker, marking this case as urgent, but again, no call back has taken place. So, in summary, it has been 45 days since my first phone call to Honda, and I still have received zero response. At this point, it appears that Honda is refusing to call me regarding this airbag recall. Due to my large family, I am forced to use the front seat, and this puts my family at risk. I want to discuss with them the availability of alternative transportation while we are waiting for the parts to arrive.

- Guilford, CT, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?