Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
57,287 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2009 Hyundai Elantra steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Hyundai Elantra:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Hyundai Elantra Owner Comments (Page 2 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #44

Apr 012015

Elantra

  • 83,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2009 Hyundai Elantra. The contact stated that while driving at various speeds, the eps and the ESC warning lights illuminated. In addition, the steering wheel was extremely difficult to turn. The vehicle was restarted and the vehicle resumed to normal. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who repaired the vehicle under NHTSA campaign number: 15V10000 (power steering). However, two weeks after the vehicle was repaired under the recall the failure recurred. The manufacturer was notified of the failures. The failure mileage was 83,000.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #43

Mar 042015

Elantra

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Hyundai Elantra. The contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign number: 15V100000 (steering). The contact stated that the vehicle was repaired under the recall; however, a week later the vehicle started experiencing the failure listed on the recall. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Perkasie, PA, USA

problem #42

Jul 032014

Elantra 4-cyl

  • 39,000 miles
Backing out of a "fast food" drive thru lane, car did not turn, as normal, and struck a pole with the passenger side back panel. At the time I had no explanation for why car didn't follow the driveway curve. I have never as an adult had an at fault accident, and had no explanation for this. The part has been recalled on my car. I am on a fixed income & could not afford to get car repaired. I put report into Hyundai, but need to know liability for "accident" & repairs. I called your phone line & was put in touch with Hyundai & have case #[xxx]. this form won't allow me to enter "eps control unit". information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Pinellas Park, FL, USA

problem #41

Jun 092014

Elantra

  • 118,210 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2009 Hyundai Elantra. Upon exiting the driveway of the contact's residence to enter a main road, the power steering failed and the contact had to apply extreme force to turn the steering wheel. The vehicle was cautiously driven to an authorized dealer who replaced the steering column. The contact indicated that the failure recurred with a strong vibration coming from the steering wheel. The vehicle was taken to a tire repair shop who replaced all four tires and provided an alignment, but the failure recurred. The vehicle was taken back to the authorized dealer and a technician diagnosed that the steering wheel was vibrating and did not provide a specific remedy for the repair. The contact later received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V100000 (steering) and was waiting for the dealer to schedule the repair. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 118,210.

- Barnegat, NJ, USA

problem #40

Mar 012015

Elantra

  • 45,000 miles
The contact owned a 2009 Hyundai Elantra. While driving approximately 10 mph and making a right turn, the power steering seized without warning. As a result, the vehicle crashed into a medium concrete divider. The frontal air bags did not deploy. No injuries were sustained. A police report was filed. The vehicle was destroyed and towed to an impound yard. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 45,000. Updated 6/8/15

- Katy, TX, USA

problem #39

Mar 172015

Elantra 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Hyundai Elantra. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V100000 (steering) however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 4/20/15 updated 04/23/15

- Winter Haven, FL, USA

problem #38

Jan 262015

Elantra

  • 89,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2009 Hyundai Elantra. The contact stated that while driving at 25 mph, the steering wheel seized and excessive force on the steering wheel was required. The eps warning indicator was illuminated. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The VIN was not available. The approximate failure mileage was 89,000.

- Seguin, TX, USA

problem #37

Jan 042015

Elantra 4-cyl

  • 40,000 miles
I was returning home one evening home about a week ago, and I was trying to parking my car in parking lot when the ESC light appeared on dash board and the steering wheel locked. I could not park the car, so I put it in park and pulled out the car manual, after reading it, I turned the ignition off and then turn it back on. The ESC light went out and the steering was back and I was then able to park the car. The next day it happened twice before I was able to get on the highway and the only way I could correct it each time was turning off the ignition. At one point someone was coming out of a parking space and I had to try and move out of the way with the steering wheel locked. I was scared and praying, that I get home safely. I took the car home and haven't driven it since. Towed car to dealer and was told it needed a new power steering column and total cost with labor and tax was over $3,000 and not covered in the power train warranty. The car is barely used how could that be? they are dealers selling lemons as new cars. This car is just over 5 years old, no one should have to pay out that type of money to replace parts so early in the life of the car. There should be a recall this is a dangerous problem and others are having the same issue with this make and model.

- Brooklyn, NY, USA

problem #36

Nov 102014

Elantra 4-cyl

  • 58,000 miles
Eps light came on.

- Hollywood, FL, USA

problem #35

Oct 302014

Elantra

  • 49,000 miles
I was driving home from work when my eps light came on and my power steering completely went out. At a stop light I turned my car off and turned it back on. The light went off and the power steering was restored. A couple of minutes later the light came back on and the steering again went out. I was on a busy street and was very nervous when attempting to turn. When I made it home I looked in the owner's manual and it stated if the eps light came on during normal operation to take it to the dealer. I drove the car to the nearest Hyundai dealer and left it overnight. The next morning I was informed that my entire steering column/eps motor had to be replaced and the cost was $2,400. My car is just over 5 years old and only has 49,000 miles on it. To have to replace something this major, this early in the life of the car, was a huge shock to me. When researching the matter online I saw multiple examples of the same exact thing happening to other owners of the 2009 Hyundai Elantra. I asked the dealer if there was a recall for this and they informed me there was not. This is very troubling to me as something as serious as losing your steering unexpectedly is a huge safety hazard and needs to be remedied.

- Westmont, IL, USA

problem #34

Sep 012014

Elantra

  • 71,470 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Eps system failed. Repairs included whole new steering column.

- Phx., AZ, USA

problem #33

Oct 122012

Elantra 4-cyl

  • 90,000 miles
While driving approximately 60 mph on I-35, my electronic power steering went out. I took it to dealership and I was told the whole steering column needs to be replaced in order to remedy the problem. The cost is $2,400. The car is only five years old, three years old when it occurred. I have been dealing with driving the car without power steering for over a year and a half. I cannot afford a new car, nor can I afford the cost to replace the steering column. I have heard of several other people who own Hyundai vehicles that have had the same problem. It would be nice if Hyundai would replace the steering column for me with no charge due to the fact the car is not very old, I'm still making payments on it, it has never been wrecked and I'm not the only one that has had this issue with their product. Thank you

- Allen, TX, USA

problem #32

Jul 082014

Elantra 4-cyl

  • 78,000 miles
In the last 2 weeks, the eps light has come on my dashboard 3 times, accompanied by the power steering failing. The first time it happened, I was in the middle of an intersection, turning left, and my power steering failed. The second time I was in my driveway, luckily not yet pulled out into the busy street on which I live. The third time was just today on the highway, and as I was going 65 mph, the power steering failed. The only way I've found to "fix" it is to turn off my car and start it again. Had I been going over the bridge near my house where there is no shoulder to pull onto where I could restart my engine, today I would have been unable to steer around the curves of the highway. This is not just a minor problem. This is a safety liability on the part of the manufacturer and needs to be addressed. I have read about many other people with the same car having this issue and Hyundai doing nothing about it. So far, only a handful of 2015 sonatas have been recalled for the exact same issue, but nothing has been done about the Elantras. I have contacted Hyundai regarding this, and they say that my VIN is not part of a recall, even though it clearly has the same problem as the recalled sonatas occurring repeatedly, and therefore I must absorb the cost of whatever it will take to remedy this problem. Again, this is a liability on Hyundai's part, and they should be responsible for fixing it at no cost to the consumer. Thank you for your time.

- Kimberly, WI, USA

problem #31

Aug 082013

Elantra 4-cyl

  • 78,000 miles
On my way to work on August 8, 2013, I was on the freeway in the early morning rush hour traffic driving approximately 50 mph when my power steering went complete out and the eps light came. I took the vehicle to the Hyundai dealership and after they inspected the vehicle, they indicated that it was a known issue and they had developed an update that they could upload it to to the computer responsible for the power steering in the vehicle. Once the update was run, the vehicle was driving like normal. This morning on July 4, 2014, I went to start my vehicle and was driving again in the early morning rush hour traffic, and low and behold the eps light came on again. I will be contacting the dealership first thing in the morning and asking they inspect the vehicle. I doubt that this time an update will fix the problem as it has occurred twice now and expect that it will cost tons to fix the vehicle. This time I have done research on various Hyundai forums and just googling the term "eps light Hyundai Elantra 2009" and found that many individuals are experiencing the same issue with the eps light. This is a hazard and is something that needs to be investigated. It could cause someone serious injury if their power steering unexpectedly goes out on the freeway or in the middle of a turn.

- Columbus, OH, USA

problem #30

Jun 052014

Elantra

  • 51,000 miles
While driving on a rural road at low speed, vehicle shut down without warning. Rolled to the side of the road. Restarted vehicle but had no power steering. Both ESC and eps lights were on dash display. Vehicle has remained in this condition since then.

- Ballston Spa, NY, USA

problem #29

Jun 162014

Elantra 4-cyl

  • 97,000 miles
Comments: My eps electronic power has ceased to function twice. Once a year ago - I got into start the car and the eps light came on and there was no steering - could not turn the wheel. I reported to Hyundai and was ignored. There are others reporting the same thing on the internet. Tonight, we came out of the theater late late show - and the same thing occurred. A year ago- I put the key in and out 3 times the light went off and the steering came back. Tonight it did not. I believe to be electrical in nature and a result of a faulty design. The only thing we did tonight differently than before was to turn on the rear overhead light before going in the theater.

- Albuquerque, NM, USA

problem #28

Jun 012014

Elantra

  • 79,384 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Hyundai Elantra. The contact stated while driving approximately 10 mph out of a parking space, there was a complete loss of power steering. The engine was turned off and upon restarting, the vehicle resumed normally. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer for diagnosis where a trouble code was detected. The power steering software was updated. The manufacturer was notified of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 79,384.

- Rochester, NY, USA

problem #27

Apr 072014

Elantra 4-cyl

  • 82,140 miles
Had car in shop for power steering / eps light issue on 3/21/14 (81431 miles). They did an update #C1290 to recalibrate the esp and had to do a front wheel alignment too. The power steering went out again while I was on a busy road around 4pm. I took it back to the Hyundai dealership on 4/8/14 and they re-did the update #C1290. They told me that it is an electrical 'shortage' causing the problem and I would need to replace the entire steering column shaft assembly - costing $1600. I saved up the money and called to get the work done (5/8/14) and the price went up to $1920 now!!!! they told me they can put in a used steering column for $350 - but would only guarantee the work/part for 90 days. Meanwhile I am driving without power steering causing more injury to my arms and neck and very difficult to drive & dangerous in traffic. The sonata was recalled for the same issues....why won't they recall the Elantra's also?

- Columbus, IN, USA

problem #26

Mar 212014

Elantra 4-cyl

  • 81,420 miles
Driving car on wet roads at 45 mph, applied brakes to slow down for a street light and the ABS was gone. Car slid into the opposing lane and made a grinding noise due to the failure. Then the eps light came on and the power steering was gone. Close-call accident, very scary, and a lot of pain in my neck and arms from driving without the power steering.

- Columbus, IN, USA

problem #25

Apr 092014

Elantra 4-cyl

  • 78,000 miles
As I was driving the vehicle the power steering stopped working making it very difficult to maneuver vehicle. I took it to dealer and they said it was either a software update needed or if that doesn't work the steering column.will need to be replaced..the software update was installed and appeared to work. Approximately one week later as I was turning a corner and it went out again nearly causing me to have an accident. It now needs a steering column which would cost around $3000. I contacted consumer department at Hyundai corporate offices requesting a warranty decision review as I am unable to financially have this work done at this time. I told them it should be a recall since it is a very serious issue and sure to cause an accident. I went on line and there are multiple statements from others with this vehicle that have the same issues with the power steering failing while driving. I feel this is a very serious situation and a recall should be on this vehicle before injuries are caused. The response from Hyundai consumer department was they will not include it in the warranty and they are unable to help me.

- Voorhees, NJ, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?