Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: There's an emerging trend of transmission problem with the 2010 Elantra at fairly early mileage.

So far owners report having the transmission replaced under warranty but that won't hold up for much longer. It may be a bit premature but for now we're putting the "CLUNKER" rating on the 2010 Elantra just to be safe.

Speaking of being safe, you might not be unless Hyundai can figure out why their airbags aren't deploying.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
36,056 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Hyundai Elantra electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Hyundai Elantra:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Hyundai Elantra Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #21

Jun 142016


  • miles


The contact owns a 2010 Hyundai Elantra. The contact stated that the alarm randomly activated without warning. At times, the transmitter/fob failed to function properly. In addition, the function button was used to open the trunk of the vehicle and it drained the battery to the point that the vehicle was unable to be driven. The contact had to have the battery recharged. The dealer was notified of the failure. Upon taking the vehicle to the dealer more than once, they were unable to replicate and diagnose the vehicle. The failure continued to the point that the vehicle also randomly failed to start and the contact had to make several attempts. The manufacturer was not notified. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was not available.

- Manchester, NH, USA

problem #20

Jun 022015


  • 31,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Hyundai Elantra. While the vehicle was parked, the key fob would not unlock the doors. The doors had to be opened manually. Also, when the key was inserted in the ignition switch, the vehicle did not start. The contact called the dealer and was advised to call roadside assistance. The vehicle was jumpstarted and driven to the dealer where it was diagnosed that there was electrical system failure. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 16V100000 (electrical system). The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failures. The approximate failure mileage was 31,000.

- Springfield Garden, NY, USA

problem #19

May 262016


  • 43,200 miles
Vehicle was took in to dealership last 4/22/2015 for eps recall NHTSA campaign number: 15V100000 and Hyundai recall 127. They completed a software update. The recall does not fix the problem on 5/26/2016 was driving the 2010 Elantra and eps light came on causing loss of steering capability. Called Hyundai they said it was not part of recall take to dealer. Dealer on 6/1/2016 stated that the software update was done but did not fix eps steering issue and would need to replace steering column $2150. The recall obviously did not fix the problem and after doing research online have noticed many others are having the same issue. If a recall is to fix the problem the recall should be done fully and correctly not cheaply and halfway. The eps causes stiff steering making it impossible for a person to steer. This could lead to many accidents and possibly death. The light comes on and immediatley with out warning the steering is automatically gone. While driving I was almost in an accident because after losing steering I tried make a turn off the main road into a subdivision to get off the main road. As I was turning at a very low speed below 5 mph I was unable to stay in my lane and a car was exiting the subdivision. Although there would be minor damages, this could be different if I was on the highway at an exit coming around a turn. The loss of steering is unsafe and I do hope that the right measures are eventually taken to resolve this issue before someone is killed. The vehicle has less than 45000 miles on it.

- Florissant, MO, USA

problem #18

Apr 182016


  • 57,245 miles


While leaving a parking lot in the city, in drive, car would not shift into next gear, unable to go above 25mph; with additional pressure to gas sending rpms high without altering speed or shifting gear. After finding a place to park, no cel. Upon restarting car, cel is illuminated, and car will not shift into park, reverse, or neutral, and upon putting into drive the car jerks forcibly. The shift indicator on the dash also fails to register P, R or N. only drive. Had car towed and left at autorepair shop and the next morning they were able to pull code U0101 from diagnostic testing, and after plugging the tcm back in after examining pins and connectors, the transmission returned to normal function.

- Laurel, FL, USA

problem #17

Nov 282015


  • 50,000 miles
Recall was performed on 4/22/15 at no charge. Bought car from dad on 5/26/15. 7 months later the (eps) light come on and I lose steering. If you shut the car off and turn on the light goes out. Its happening every other day. I think this still falls under the recall. I should be able to get fixed for no charge. Places are wanting money and have my car for a few days. Recall says 1hr. Says if not satisfied to write you. Please review. Pretty dangerous driving condition. Have no other car. Eps light comes on in motion, turning, mostly at slow speeds. Then lose steering. Here is a picture. I also have video on the road but it wont send.

- Troutdale, OR, USA

problem #16

Nov 202015


  • 32,000 miles
Stop lamp switch recall.

- Elk Grove, CA, USA

problem #15

Aug 012015


  • 48,000 miles


The dash lights flash and the key when removed from column is hot.

- New Port Richey, FL, USA

problem #14

May 272015


  • 72,000 miles
When turning the car off and removing keys, it doesn't turn completely off. I have to put the keys back into the ignition, turn on and remove again roughly to make the car turn off. This has been happening for a few months.

- Canfield, OH, USA

problem #13

Sep 252013


  • miles
Purchased Elantra July 12, 2012. I called my brother for financing information. He came to the dealership. Mazda of orange. When he started reading the contract the became very upset. He called out the salesman for the extra charges, taking advantage of me, by not telling me I didn't have to add these things. The manager, ask me to come to his office to close the deal. I needed a co-signer. A friend of mine said he would co-sign. We signed. The first malfunction was the cruise control. I was in the number one lane the traffic began to slow. So I tapped the brake, again and again, it would not shut off. Even though I was applying the brakes. I was terrified and trembling. The second incident was when, I was pulling into a parking place, with my foot on the break. Even though I was applying the brakes, the car sped up went over two cement stops ultimately hitting another vehicle head on. This vehicle was pushed back approximately 6 ft. The third malfunction, was September 25th, 2013. Upon the request of a friend, I pick up her daughter from school. When we got home, I parked in the driveway on a slant. We removed the packages from the trunk into the house. I sat down in the drivers seat, with my feet outside the car on the pavement. The car lunged very hard and fast backwards. I, subsequently was pulled down and under the car. I was dragged 12 to 15 ft. When it stopped, my car had hit another car. I ended up under my vehicle, in serious condition. The national highwaytraffic safety administration had reported on-line that there were extensive recalls on this very model. I have yet to receive any notice.

- Norco, CA, USA

problem #12

Aug 052014

Elantra 4-cyl

  • 49,282 miles
I was driving my car to a doctors appointment when I was making a turn into the parking lot the steering wheel would not move and the eps light came on. I struggled to park the car and after my dr. Appointment called my husband and he drove the car to brandon Hyundai where I purchased the car they took the car in and we got a rental car. They replaced column & shaft assy-steerin 56310-2H250 and bolt-safety lock 81919-31000 qty 2 work order says found steering column shorted out replace module, test ok 731sz recall 110-31C017R0 - stop lamp switch repl installed 93810-4dr0A-qqh switch assy-brake pedal qty 1 then there was another time on December 26, 2014 my granddaughter was driving the car and making a right turn from a two lane road onto a two lane road where cars where stopped at a red light when the steering wheel would not turn and the eps light came on and she hit 2 cars that were at the light. My car had $6002.36 in damage on it. The unibody on the car had to be pulled and squared and an alignment was also done. Thank god no one was hurt but what are the chances of this happening again only worse. When it was only a little over four (4) months since it was fixed. I am afraid to drive this car. That someone may be killed.

- Lithia, FL, USA

problem #11

Aug 012014

Elantra 4-cyl

  • 70,000 miles


Earlier this summer my front passenger window, driver control would roll the window down but not up, then about 2 months later the same issue with the driver side rear window it is very puzzling how the driver control will lower the involved windows, but its as if the driver controls are dead when trying to roll up"?? but if you use the up switch on the door the window is associated with they work both ways. Risky in some of the areas I have to travel for work to reach over or behind you to put up windows! had anyone experienced these problems"

- Spring Lake, NC, USA

problem #10

Sep 242013

Elantra 4-cyl

  • miles
With my car running, I was sitting in the drivers seat, with my legs and feet outside the car, on a drive way. My car came out of park, into reverse and drug my feet and legs under the car, while shooting backwards. My car stopped when it came to rest on another car. The person, whose car I hit and the women from the house, where I was visiting pulled me out from under the car.

- Norco, CA, USA

problem #9

May 072014

Elantra 4-cyl

  • 43,000 miles
The rear passenger automatic door lock has stopped working. It has to manually unlocked and lockedfrom inside the car! I wonder what this will cost"?"

- New Bedford, MA, USA

problem #8

Nov 202013


  • 40,140 miles
Car power goes out for a few seconds while driving. Happened several times such as when turning lights on or signal and all lights on dash go out. Car has also lost power when putting it into reverse and had to restart it. Its an automatic so shouldn't be happening. Also auto locks aren't at times. Hyundai has already replaced the radio and locks thinking this was the fix and clearly its not.

- Phoenix, AZ, USA

problem #7

Nov 192013

Elantra 4-cyl

  • 60,641 miles
Driving to work today the eps light came on while in the process of changing lanes. The steering wheel locked up causing the vehicle to do a bit of swerving. Managed to pull off to the side. Prior to all this, I complained about the eps as it was something that was happening before. The light would come on, the vehicle would lock up and upon turning off the ignition and restarting the vehicle, it would reset itself. I went and saw a mechanic, they alleged testing the vehicle for the eps problem however nothing came up and they refused to address that issue., I called Hyundai warranty department and filed complain since I just run out of warranty and prior to this I had my car at the dealership before and left without repairs being done due to no code showing.I was told I should get the issues fixed and hope I mid be refunded. This is a serious safety issue and a defect on their part which needs to be addressed and at the expense of Hyundai. I am filing this complaint as I expected more from them and have gotten nothing besides bills left to pay for something Hyundai knew was an on going issue with the vehicle they had been selling. With the excuse they cant work on a car unless the code is showing. Well dear Hyundai the light shuts off when U turn the car off and it is dangerous to drive to an dealership for them to lock at the issue and it is ridicules to have a run around for a well know issue on your product that can cause an accident.

- Columbia , SC, USA

problem #6

Aug 122013

Elantra 4-cyl

  • 52,000 miles
I put my 2010 Hyundai Elantra in the garage about 11:00 pm on Sunday night August 11, 2013. At about 01:00 am on August 12, 2013 I was awakened with my entire garage on fire. The fire appeared to come from the front of the Elantra, as both front tires were completely burned with only steel wires wrapped around wheels. Engine is warped and burned. Entire front end melted. I lost my garage and contents along with kayaks on kayak trailer parked beside garage. Both neighbors' privacy fences were burned down behind and beside my garage. The Elantra burned completely from the fire. No steering wheel or upholstery left. All aluminum parts melted. Radiator melted. Wires melted. Even the battery was melted.

- Jackson, MI, USA

problem #5

Feb 252013

Elantra 4-cyl

  • 64,659 miles
When I purchased the car on the 23 of February the salesman assured me nothing was wrong with this car had only had one owner noticed that in the interior of the car there were water rings and a mold substance salesman assured it was not mold took it back 2 days later they replaced struts and again voiced my concern about mold was assured again it was not took it back on 13 of March the owner called and advised me to pick up car stated they had some one come out and inspect the car and they determined it was not mold when ask for a copy of document was told inspector refused to leave one. ESC light kept coming on sales manager instructed service dept not to touch my car got test run to check for reports on ESC it came back with 2 code C1260(steering sensor)the other B1322(airbag control)was told if it came back on to bring it back.I have tried to get these issues corrected on more that 4 occasions the owner didn't see a problem with the way I was treated.mold is a health hazard I use my car for work. I am in home health and drive the elderly around this is very unhealthy and I think the dealership should correct this at their cost.

- Newnan, GA, USA

problem #4

Apr 062012


  • 43,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Hyundai Elantra. The contact stated that the anti-theft alarm began to sound independently and without warrant. The contact was able to turn the alarm off by activating the keyless remote sensor. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer for inspection of any possible failures. The manufacturer was not contacted. The failure mileage was 43,000 and the current mileage 100,000.

- Baytown , TX, USA

problem #3

Nov 112010

Elantra 4-cyl

  • miles
2010 Hyundai Elantra. Consumer states while driving all systems locked up the consumer stated the vehicle lost power for the second time while her son was driving. Her son was unable to remove the key from the ignition and the vehicle had to be towed to the dealer.

- Olympia, WA, USA

problem #2

Nov 142010

Elantra 4-cyl

  • 1,000 miles
The contact owns 2010 Hyundai Elantra. While traveling 40 mph, the contact heard a knock from the engine and the vehicle then stalled. The contact shifted into neutral at first and was unable to remove the key from the ignition. After allowing the vehicle to sit idle for several minutes, the contact was able to shift into park and restart the vehicle. The vehicle resumed normal operation. The vehicle was neither inspected nor repaired. The failure and current mileage was 1,000. Updated 01/24/11 the consumer stated while her son was driving, the vehicle made a noise and the engine completely lost power and the power steering, brakes and gear shift locked up. The vehicle was towed to the dealer and the consumer was informed the vehicle had a faulty junction box. However, the same thing happened again 10 days later. The vehicle was towed to the dealer again, but they were unable to find anything wrong. Updated 04/18/11

- Olympia, WA, USA

Read the next 1 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?