Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2016 Tucson comes with a dual-clutch, 7-speed transmission. But Hyundai forgot to tell you about one key phrase – zero-move. That's right, an alarming number of owners have said their SUV wouldn't accelerate after a stop.

Turns out that's because the transmission's application logic has been stumbling all over itself. Hyundai recalled the issue in September 2016, but it's difficult to say if owners are out-of-the-woods, or if this is just a sign of things to come.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
4,923 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2016 Hyundai Tucson drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2016 Hyundai Tucson:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2016 Hyundai Tucson Owner Comments (Page 5 of 11)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #122

Jun 212016

Tucson

  • 5,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Have encountered several instances of dct not engaging after "creep" or "crawl" to a stop sign awaiting right-of-way to proceed. Following "creep" and subsequent stop at sign, just enough propulsion is given to enter the intersection, and then dct disengages and high engine rpms with no forward propulsion, whatsoever. Has very nearly caused a broad-side accident on a number of occasions. This condition is very unsafe for city and hwy stop-and-go traffic (and entering any sort of roadway). Has happened both in situations when turning from a stop and proceeding foward from a stop. Each time is just enough foward propulsion to allow vehicle to enter the roadway broadside to oncoming traffic, and then complete loss of forward propulsion leaving vehicle stationary for 10, 15, up to 20 seconds with no forward propulsion to move out of the way of oncoming cross-traffic.

- Bartlesville, OK, USA

problem #121

Jul 012016

Tucson

  • 8,900 miles
Intermittently when car is taking off from a standstill, the engine will rev but no power is transmitted to the wheels. This has resulted in me being stuck at traffic lights unable to move. I will shift into park and back into drive to make sure I have the appropriate transmission selection. After about 15-20 seconds of repeatedly stepping on and off the gas, the clutch will slowly catch on and the vehicle will begin moving and resume normal operation. This issue has been impossible to replicate on command which is troublesome when consulting the dealer. It has happened to me three times over the past three months in both cold and warm engine states. Usually presents within 10 minutes of starting the car.

- Naples, FL, USA

problem #120

Jun 192016

Tucson

  • 5,900 miles
Issue with the new 7 speed dct. Transmission revved and would not engage after driving 60 miles on highway, some stop-and-go traffic, in 101 degree heat and sitting for 45 minutes. In order for me to get it to engage, I went into manual mode, noticed it was in 2nd gear from start, downshifted to 1st gear, and was able to work thru the gears to get it going and eventually put it back into automatic.

- Colorado Springs, CO, USA

problem #119

Jul 292016

Tucson

  • 4,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

This SUV stalls & hesitates when accelerating from a stand still, in motion & all other times. Currently have 4500 miles on it, & this problem started right after I first purchased it. This is a dangerous situation when merging into traffic. Push the accelerator down, it revs up, but goes no where.the transmission (dct) is not working right, & the recall to update the software did not fix anything. Please Hyundai fix this problem before serious accidents happen.

- Beckley, WV, USA

problem #118

Jun 262016

Tucson

  • 741 miles
Transmission completely failed in drive. This is a known condition to Hyundai, diagnosed as dct failure. Hyundai has no known fix. Car was 6 weeks old with 740 miles on it. Cat was bought new with 65 miles. Dct failed in middle of intersection leaving wife and child stranded in dangerous traffic situation. Now at dealership awaiting anything from Hyundai. This car was almost not sold to us due to a active recall for the hood latch, but was happily sold with a known defective transmission issue.

- Mesa, AZ, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #117

Aug 012016

Tucson

  • 4,200 miles
Acceleration issues from stop. Engine will go to high RPM's without moving the vehicle. Issues seen with vehicle leaving 1st gear, vehicles rolls in to intersection and loses power. Vehicle has hard shift issues and often seems to be "stuck in gear" for too long.

- Jacksonville, FL, USA

problem #116

Jul 192016

Tucson

  • 8,800 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The dct transmission on this vehicle randomly stops propelling the car forward. Although initially the car refused to move forward while at a stop, I have had several recent incidents where the dct transmission "dropped" out of gear while traveling at 70 mph. I was unable to get the transmission to re-engage until I managed to pull over to the side of the road - and restart the vehicle. This has happened ~10 times since I purchased the vehicle in April 2016. It now has 9400 miles. I have taken the car to my local dealer - and they reported "no problem found." They recommended that I no longer operate the vehicle in "eco" mode, and not do "aggressive" driving. This problem continues whether it is in eco mode or not -- and my driving style is far from aggressive. Losing power at high speed creates a potential dangerous situation, especially when it happened at passing speeds. I cannot consistently re-create the problem - but it's definitive a software/hardware issue with the control of the dct transmission.

- Newton, MA, USA

problem #115

Jul 282016

Tucson

  • 400 miles
Leased vehicle on 7/18/16. Noticed slight hesitation during acceleration shortly after taking possession of vehicle. On 7/28/16, I was in stop and go traffic on freeway going around curve. Traffic finally picked up speed. When I released my foot from the brake and stepped on the gas, the car wouldn't move and the RPM's were all over the place. I was panicking, fearful that I was going to be rear ended at any moment. I continued to press down on the accelerator, praying that it wouldn't rocket forward. It took approximately 20 to 25 seconds for the vehicle to move at all and finally kick into gear. I am totally traumatized by this situation and cannot even fathom putting my family in this vehicle.

- Parma, OH, USA

problem #114

Mar 162016

Tucson

  • 1,500 miles
I purchased this vehicle in Jan 2016 and have less than 2000 miles on the vehicle. I am having dct transmission issues. Had noticed that on several occasions the vehicle is very sluggish and has some difficulty accelerating from a complete stop and at times it lurches forward. This is an intermittent and ongoing issue, but very troublesome, none the less. This occurs during normal in town traffic and especially going up hills from a complete stop. There have also been issues in traffic where it accelerates unexpectedly. I have taken the vehicle into the dealer on two occasions in a seven day period, after deciding that this is not safe to drive at times. When I made the initial appt the receptionists stated that there have been several vehicles in for this issue. The initial time at the dealer, they completed the latch recall and reset the computer to relearn the system, hoping that would be the saving grace. Driving down the road a couple of days later and the sound was so loud while driving, that I pulled over and the sound died down at bit. Made another appointment to take in the vehicle the following Monday, I was told that they were not able to recreate the issue and the service manager was not sure what was going on. It's very frustrating, because you have to take time off work to go back and forth to the dealer to hear that nothing is wrong. The dealer acts like they have never heard of the concern. I was also told that it's the design of the clutch that gives drivers the sluggish feel. I decided to come back to Hyundai to purchase a vehicle and I deeply regret that decision.

- Colorado Springs, CO, USA

problem #113

Jun 292016

Tucson

  • 4,500 miles
Transmission not providing power to the wheels from a standing stop. The engine accelerates, but the car does not move. First instance was trying to turn from a stop. Second instance was backing out of a parking spot. Reverse worked, car stopped drive. Third instance was after starting the car and placing it in drive. Intermittent problem that was duplicated at the dealership service department. This is extremely dangerous when entering traffic or turning in front of oncoming traffic. Two instances of being stopped for 15 to 20 seconds. The occurrence at the dealership lasted about 30 minutes. Hyundai usa is aware of the problem.

- Palm Springs, CA, USA

problem #112

Jun 062016

Tucson

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Dct problems: Purchased Tucson eco in April 2016. Currently 1350 miles and car stalls, creeps up, doesn't move at stop/go, and unresponsive. Also high revs/low mph. Major dct product failure. Dealership ran gds scan tool and can't duplicate problem. They're aware of problem and cannot do anything unless corporate has a programming update. Car creeps up at drive thru line when foot released from brake pedal. Dangerous and unsafe at intersection, esp when you have to make a sharp left turn. RPM revs high, car unresponsive. Filed complaint with Hyundai Consumer Affairs. They played dumb and was told that's how the dct behaves and get used to it. Waiting for Hyundai investigation

- Irvine, CA, USA

problem #111

Jul 192016

Tucson

  • 3,000 miles
I had ~3,000 miles on the vehicle, at the time of the incident. I went to move the Tucson up my driveway. The engine was revving 3-4K rpms and the vehicle speed was 1 mph.

- Omaha, NE, USA

problem #110

Jul 272016

Tucson

  • 3,800 miles
Same as others, hesitation on start in stop and go traffic. One time in eco mode it just revved at 6500 RPM and would not move. Scary. Need a fix, love the car otherwise

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #109

Jun 202016

Tucson

  • 4,000 miles
Purchased car new in 3/16. 1.7 turbo engine with dual-clutch automatic transmission (dct). 2 months after purchasing, when attempting to accelerate, engine would rev, but car would not move (called "false neutral"). in traffic, this is a dangerous situation. Took car in to dealer. Told they had seen several of these. Hyundai was aware of the problem and "working on it." Told to go home, wait to hear from them, and don't bring it back. Reached out to Hyundai customer care. After several weeks, they finally called back. Told me to take car back to dealer and leave it with them. Hyundai would provide a rental car. Dealer told me they had no idea when Hyundai would come up with a software fix for the problem. It could be weeks or months. In the meantime, I'm driving around in a rental car while my beautiful new $31,000 vehicle sits collecting dust.

- Peoria, AZ, USA

problem #108

Jul 272016

Tucson

  • 7,600 miles
Leased a brand new 2016 Hyundai Tucson limited in November 2015. The same week the car was leased, I had noticed some lag in the transmission when leaving stop signs/stoplights. This issue got a little better after having a software update done the following week. As of last week, my ac has not worked on 2 separate occasions. It will only blow hot air. After shutting the vehicle off, the ac resets itself and works again. Last night while driving home, I was sitting at a stoplight waiting to get on the freeway. When the light turned green and I took off, the car revved up to 5000 rpms, but never moved. I shifted the car back and forth between park and drive with no luck. I shut the car off, restarted it, and still revved like it was in neutral. After about 5 minutes, the car kicked into gear and started moving very slowly before it finally kicked back to normal. This was very dangerous as the car would only go 10mph up the freeway ramp! on my way to the dealer this morning, the car did the same thing. I was in stop-and-go traffic and the car once again revved up, but never moved. When taking my foot off the brake, the car rolled backwards. Finally after restarting the car and shifting back and forth, the car kicked into gear. After taking my car to the shop this morning, they said they would look at it, but there is no known fix. I am extremely disappointed that I am paying for a fully loaded vehicle that doesn't drive and makes for unsafe situations!

- Oak Creek, WI, USA

problem #107

Jul 272016

Tucson

  • 11,000 miles
Pulling into traffic and rpms went to 5500 but car would barely move. Transmission would not shift up. Turned off and on twice and car worked. This is the third time it has happened but was super dangerous pulling out in traffic - barely avoided being hit.

- Mcdonough, GA, USA

problem #106

Jul 222016

Tucson

  • 2,900 miles
The car randomly does not shift into first gear when attempting to accelerate from a stopped position. My husband and I had been noticing that the car would sometimes lag when attempting to accelerate from stopped and then jump forward. We also noticed similar issues when the automatic transmission is changing from first to second gear and second to third gear. Last week, my husband and I were entering a main road from a parking lot. When my husband released the break and stepped on the gas pedal, the car slowly rolled forward into the road, but did not accelerate even when my husband pushed the gas to the floor and the car revved. The first gear did not engage. My husband had to turn off the car and restart the engine in order to get the car to move. We took it to the Hyundai dealership for repair. They claimed to clean some contacts and update the software and said that this fixes the problem, which was a known issue. The next day, we were once again entering a road from a parking lot, and the same issue occurred. We took it back to Hyundai and the manager said that this is a known defect with the dual clutch transmission of this model of car and that they had already performed 'software updates¿ on approximately 70 cars at their dealership and only just realized the day before that this doesn¿T fix anything. He said that the car was not safe to drive, Hyundai does not currently know how to fix the issue, and that they would give us a loaner car while Hyundai engineers work on the problem. He said they may have a solution in a few weeks. In the meantime, he claimed that their dealership was no longer selling these vehicles. These cars are a safety hazard and it is only a matter of time before someone gets killed. They all need to be recalled immediately.

- Cottonwood Heights, UT, USA

problem #105

Jul 262016

Tucson

  • 450 miles
It doesn't always go. You push the gas it revs up and then doesn't move. Or moves incredibly slow. Not all the time but not at good times either. Usually happens after coming to a complete stop or if you'd slowed down and go to accelerate. Started about a week after I bought it and the vehicle is not more than 15 days old. Very terrifying went to dealer and they act as if they are not even aware of this problem

- Redmond, WA, USA

problem #104

Jul 272016

Tucson

  • 6,300 miles
Shortly after departing for work in the morning hours and while traveling on city streets, I noticed a problem with the acceleration of the car following a brief stop at a stop sign. The car was moving, although in a very sluggish and unresponsive manner when depressing the gas pedal. It seemed as though the car was in the wrong gear and struggling to gain momentum. I tried to trouble shoot the problem as I was looking for a open place to pull over to the curb and I switched into manual mode while still in motion to see what gear the display would show... I was surprised to see that the "D" remained even though I tried several times to verify the active gear through several cycles of slight acceleration and deceleration. It seemed as though the dct was confused and unable to properly accelerate the vehicle. This is clearly an unsettling and unpredictable safety concern and problem that needs to be addressed with the highest priority.

- Oceanside, CA, USA

problem #103

Jul 262016

Tucson

  • 8,260 miles
While vehicle was stationary, waiting to make a left turn on an inclined surface, I waited for oncoming traffic to clear so I could make the turn. Once traffic cleared, I tried to accelerate, but the vehicle would not move forward. In fact, the vehicle rolled back about three feet before I realized what was going on (the driver behind me laid on the horn too, thank goodness). The transmission indicator was in "D" (drive) but the vehicle had zero motive power. The engine tachometer was reading as high as 6,500 rpms but the vehicle remained still, and would not move under its own power. Despite multiple attempts to engage the transmission (park, then drive, then park, then drive), the vehicle remained stalled in traffic. Ultimately, drivers of the two vehicles behind me helped to push the car across two lanes of traffic into a parking lot. The problem remained. After finally giving up, and shutting the car off and waiting approximately 20 minutes, I was able to drive the vehicle to my home, approximately 15 miles away. I came home to do some research, only to find that there are many, many complaints on the 1.6 liter turbo version of this vehicle, most arising from the dual-clutch transmission (dct). I have had the vehicle for four months, and I now wish that I had done more research prior to my purchase. I will not be driving this vehicle until a proper remedy, replacement or repair can be made. Summary: Sudden and complete loss of motive power.

- Lexington, KY, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?