Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: There's no way around it, the Cherokee's transmission is junk. There's no other explanation for why a vehicle, usually with under 40,000 miles, would have so many complaints

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
7 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
12,521 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2014 Jeep Cherokee brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2014 Jeep Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2014 Jeep Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 2 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #24

Oct 142014

Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 6,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

As has been reported by others, my Jeep Cherokee has brake for no apparent cause on three different occasions. The "collision imminent" tone has sounded at the same time. There was no accident or loss of control at the time this happened, but it was disconcerting. On two other occasions, the same thing has happened, but these were triggered by a car leaving the road to the right side, to turn at an angle into a street that branched off the route I was on. Although the car was clearly out of the path of the car, apparently the collision avoidance system thought that my car was closing on the other car too quickly, and again sounded the warning and slowed the car down. Again, there were no problems with control of the car, and no accident, although drivers behind me had to slow down by about 15 miles per hour below the speed limit. I have learned to leave some extra distance between me and cars turning off for just this reason.

- Portland, OR, USA

problem #23

Jul 102014

Cherokee 6-cyl

  • miles
I was notified on the recall for a brake booster on 04-1-14 and attempted to get the vehicle repaired on 07-10-14 and 10-2-14 at auto nation Chrysler located at 21027 interstate 45 spring, Texas. I was told they did not have the part. I asked to be put on the waiting list. I was told there was no waiting list and they would contact me when the part comes in. I never received a call. I also attempted to file a complaint with Chrysler and they totally blew me off. I finally have the vehicle scheduled for the brake booster replacement on 06-08-15. I have been driving with this defect for over a year. The dealership stated they have parts for two out of the six recalls my vehicle has. This is unacceptable and unsafe. I drive my family in this vehicle and am very disappointed in Chrysler and their dealership auto nation. By not having a waiting list they have no documentation or paper trail of this extended wait to have these vehicles fixed. Please help address this issue.

- Tomball, TX, USA

problem #22

Mar 172015

Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 24,000 miles
70 mph on interstate hwy, suddenly emergency brake comes on. Car immediately brakes to 35 mph before car can be moved to emergency lane. Mil light is on, emergency brake light is on, transmission gear light is flashing, screen command says "park the car, service transmission and parking brake". emergency brake light on console is off. Ignition turned on and off 6-8 times, try to drive, car won't move. Cycling ignition and transmission shifter car suddenly starts working normally except for mil light. Scan revels no codes. Car runs fine for two weeks and again at 70 mph on interstate the emergency brake comes almost stopping the car in slow lane. Repeated the procedure referenced above for about 5 minutes until the car started running normally. Mil was on for 50 miles but no codes stored or freeze frame. This occurred 5 days after having recall R05 performed, rrt 14-040, and PCM update.

- Crestwood, KY, USA

problem #21

Feb 202015

Cherokee 4-cyl

  • 31,800 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The car completely shuts down with no indication or warning while driving, steering wheel locks. Immediately after shutting down the brake (however the gear is in drive) and battery light displays. I take gear out of drive and put it in park, wait a minute or two at times right in the middle of residential street or the end of a turn but it always occur while the car is in motion. I have to crank the ignition several times while tapping down on the gas pedal until the engine starts, hit the brake release, put gear back in drive or at times neutral then back in drive in order to move. This occurrence happened a few times before repairs and about two or three times daily after transmission repairs, and software updates. When pushing down on brakes to make a stop the car will accelerate (as if it's confused whether to stop or go, although I'm pressing the brake to stop) before coming to a complete stop. When backing up or switching gears it's a forceful loud jerk between shifting gears. While driving out of the blue the windshield wipers came on (no rain) and I was not able to disable them. I pulled over on the shoulder and turned the car off waiting a moment before restarting they continued to go back and forth on a dry window they stop on their own about 20 minutes later. Speedometer blanking in and out. Car burning excessive amounts of gas. Prior to engine shut down no indication or warning messages however after repairs of transmission and software updates the engine, throttle, ABS lights, and transmission service message appear and disappear simultaneously when the car is running as expected. Tire pressure display inconsistent.

- Reisterstown, MD, USA

problem #20

Jan 122015

Cherokee

  • 100 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Cherokee. While driving approximately 25 mph and coming to a stop, the brake pedal was depressed and the vehicle unexpectedly increased acceleration. The vehicle came to a complete stop after the brake pedal was applied forcefully. The failure recurred whenever driving at the speed of 25 mph and coming to a stop. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, who stated that the vehicle operated normally. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The approximate failure mileage was 100.

- Nesconset, NY, USA

problem #19

Mar 082015

Cherokee

  • 15,601 miles
Problem: Driving down I79 clunk sound "D" on shifter starts blinking service transmission message appears service parking brake appears mil check engine light comes on ESC indicator light comes on *pulled off to the side of the interstate turned car off, then back on repeated 4 times drove to a safe location called roadside assistance had car towed to dealership this is the second time this car has had a transmission failure on the interstate at 70 mph. I am now scared of this car. This is unacceptable and disappointing for a new $34,000 vehicle with 15,601 miles on it. First time this happened and was serious enough to complain about was Dec. 14, 2014.

- Fairmont, WV, USA

problem #18

Sep 012014

Cherokee

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Just received my third safety recall today...P67. P14, brake booster and P36, sun visor wiring are yet to be fixed. P14 dates back to this fall 2014. I've been on a waiting list since that time. The dealership, patriot Chrysler Dodge in mountain lake park, md says they cannot get the parts to fix the recalls. Is this ridiculous? please advise.

- Oakland, MD, USA

problem #17

Aug 302014

Cherokee

  • 9,043 miles
Pulling into driveway..as I stepped on brakes car accelerated crashing into my sister car..pushing it into next yard.continue thru and taking down part of our tent dragging chaise lounge through bushes and crashing into neighbors shed which was on blocks.finally stopping.

- Wethersfield, CT, USA

problem #16

Sep 152014

Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 986 miles
Was stopped at a red light in an intersection when my instrument cluster/screen lit up with the following: Cel on ABS/brake lights on service parking brake on 4X4 system disabled odometer flashing upon all those messages/lights coming on we lost all power steering control to the vehicle. Speedometer was not functioning while attempting to move the vehicle out of the interaction into a nearby parking lot. Once safely parked in the parking lot we turned off the car and turned it back on again to the same messages/lights turning on. We regained power steering after we turned it off and back on but all other issues persisted. Called for a tow back to the dealership. Chrysler claimed it was a bad ABS module. I am filing a safety complaint for poor electrical design if an ABS module has the ability to bring down the entire computer system in the 2014 Cherokee this can pose a serious hazard to all vehicle operators.

- Springfield, OR, USA

problem #15

Sep 152014

Cherokee 4-cyl

  • 12,890 miles
I was driving on a low traffic road going approximately 30 mph when the parking brake error warning light appeared on the dash hud and the gear selector D was flashing. Another warning appeared in the hud that stated "service transmission", as well as the check engine light and stability control warning light. As this began I was on a slight incline and began drifting backward, leading me to believe the engine had died but I could still hear it was on so I applied more pressure to the gas pedal but couldn't move forward. I turned the engine off and as I turned the car back on, another warning appeared stating that I should put it in park before attempting to shift (I was in park at the time) so I went ahead and shifted to drive but the entire car jerked and made a very loud thud that sounded as if I was shifting into another gear while flooring the gas pedal. When I finally was able to go forward, I could barely move even though I was applying full throttle and the rpms were redlined. I couldn't go any faster than 15 mph for the remainder of my trip (I only had a mile to go since I was almost home) and the rpms stayed redlined for about half that time but I was never able to accelerate over that 15 mph for the duration of the trip. When I got to my driveway, I put it in park again and opened the hood and the engine was idling much louder than usual.

- Adairsville, GA, USA

problem #14

Sep 052014

Cherokee

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign id number: 14V392000 (service brakes) and stated that the part needed was unavailable to perform the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Brooklyn , NY, USA

problem #13

Sep 052014

Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Cherokee. The contact received notification NHTSA campaign number: 14V154000 (service brakes, service brakes, hydraulic) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Boynton Beach , FL, USA

problem #12

May 012014

Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
I received a recall notice for a brake booster in may of this year. I contact my dealer at champion Dodge, 9655 Firestone blvd, downey, ca 90241, (562) 231-3500 and was told that I should call back at the end of June because they did not have any brake booster in. It was stated that Jeep was slow in sending out the parts and so they didn't have a time frame as to when they would get the part. I was also told that no other dealer would have the part because it was the same situation for all dealers. At the end of June I contacted the company again and was told that I needed to have my car brought in first. This was not told to me originally and so more time was wasted as I needed to take the car in for them to determine that it was in fact the brake booster. I took my car in that week and was told that it was the brake booster and my name would be put on a list. In July I called and asked about the brake booster shipment and was told that they had a long list and didn't see my name on the list. So now I am still waiting. I received another recall notice now for the sun visor vanity lamp. Since having this car I have received 3 recalls which I have never had before with any other car I have ever owned. I will not be buying a Jeep again. Please assist me in either canceling out this lease or having these recalls fixed. I have also already experienced the brakes being put on by itself while driving my vehicle and it flashes "brake" on the dashboard. Thank you.

- Whittier, CA, USA

problem #11

Jul 302014

Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
There is a recall on this vehicle that shows on your website was dated 5/14/14. I was not notified by Chrysler until July 2014 of the recall. I took it into the dealer as it indicates there is a brake booster safety issue. The dealer ordered parts July 30, 2014 and as of today are saying they still cannot get parts from Chrysler and they don't have any eta on when they will have the parts. The dealer refuses to tell me if the vehicle is safe to drive while waiting on this fix. The recall number is P14/NHTSA 14V-154.

- Brimfield, IL, USA

problem #10

May 142014

Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • 5,000 miles
We received a safety recall notice (P14/NHTSA 14V-154) from Chrysler several months ago and have been unable to schedule an appointment with our dealer for necessary repairs. The dealer informs us that spare parts arrive sporadically and in small quantities. I have spoken with Chrysler's recall assistance center about their tepid response to the safety issue and their need to dramatically increase allocations with approaching cold weather. Their representative would provide no assurances that production would be increased to meet demand. I am roughly #210 on the list for repairs at my dealership. Accordingly I am registering a complaint about Chrysler's poor response to this safety issue.

- Oakton, VA, USA

problem #9

May 122014

Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Cherokee. The contact received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 14V154000 (service brakes, service brakes, hydraulic). The dealer was unable to repair the vehicle for four months because the parts were not available. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 10/23/14 the consumer stated the repairs were completed on 9/15/14. Updated 4/13/2015

- Burgettstown, PA, USA

problem #8

Jul 122014

Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 19,351 miles
Went in to stateline for a brake booster recall after receiving a letter stating the part was in. After sitting for an hour, I was then told I did not have a part there and I would have to wait for a letter. Another words the dealership gave my part away and a 2nd letter has never come in the mail. The brake booster has never been fixed.

- Waxhaw, NC, USA

problem #7

Aug 122014

Cherokee

  • 10,000 miles
Jeep has recall for a shield to be placed over brake booster. While inspecting dealer found that master brake cylinder has a leak. Informed by dealer within the next couple of days I would have lost all breaks while driving. Part is on back order which seems very strange. Have checked around the county and no one has this part and everyone shows an expected shipping from the manufacture not until September. This could be a huge safety problem for Jeep. I feel this should be looked into at the earliest possible time.

- St. Charles, IL, USA

problem #6

May 052014

Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 12,000 miles
Received notification of safety recall P14/NHTSA 14V-154 in may, 2014. Called the dealer. They put the vehicle on list and promised to call when they received parts. Multiple calls to dealer have yielded no results. I am told repeatedly that I am on list and they will call when the parts come in. Received 2nd recall notice for same recall: P14/NHTSA 14V-154 August 12, 2014. Again I called the dealer with no results. I am continually told I am on list and they will be in touch.

- Middlebury, CT, USA

problem #5

May 302014

Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Cherokee. The contact received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 14V154000 (service brakes, hydraulic); however, the part needed for the repair was unavailable. The manufacturer was not notified. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 09/05/14

- Troy, NY, USA

Read the next 4 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?