Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: The 2014 Jeep Cherokee shows an early trend of transmission complaints. Most of the complaints are for rough shifting — things like jerking & hesitation when shifting gears.

We are keeping an eye on things but the 2014 Cherokee doesn't look like a good model year compared to past years.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
6 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
11,593 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2014 Jeep Cherokee brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2014 Jeep Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2014 Jeep Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 1 of 3)

problem #42

Sep 262016


  • 55,217 miles


1.) vehicle shifts into neutral without notice while actively driving and shifter column indicates "drive". 2.) parking break engages without warning or physical activation. Dealership refuses to identify issue.

- Monroe, CT, USA

problem #41

Jul 292016


  • 34,500 miles
Car cut off while driving clunk when putting into reverse or drive has delayed acceleration sometimes no acceleration car radio does not come on at all or the screen freezes traction control goes on and of on its own alternator not charging properly owned the vehicle for about a month and half I expressed concerns when I first test drove the car my dealer told me he would send the car to Jeep I bought it from a Chevy dealer with about 34,200 miles as I said owned the car less than 2 months hawthorne Chevrolet has sent my vehicle to Jeep been without for over a week have not even made 1st payment yet contacted Jeep corporate I have a case # 3009-95-39 but still no satifaction

- Baldwin, NY, USA

problem #40

Dec 032015


  • 18,388 miles
12/03/16 I was backing out the drive way and the E brake engaged on its on and would not go off so I was stuck in the middle of the drive way! a message in the dash said "service park brake". I had to have it towed by Chrysler to the closet dealer. It was at the dealer for 4 days and no one had looked at it and they would not give me a loaner. It took me repeatedly going to the dealership and making phone calls to the service manager to get my car looked at and to get a loaner vehicle. They finally discovered there was corrosion in the E brake module and wire harness. They ordered the parts and fixed in a week and a half. I am thankful that I was only backing out of my drive way when this occurred, if I was on the highway I could have been seriously injured.

- Killeen, TX, USA

problem #39

Dec 052015


  • miles


12/5/15 jerking SUV stops driving stops in middle of intersection gration& 13mile 12/7/15 returned to dealership Jan 2016 roseville Chrysler Jeep threatened to have vehicle towed to scrap yard and bill me for towing & pay remainder of car note Jan 18 2016 car was delivered back to my home as of June 1 2016 my vehicle still jerks when I accelerate after taking my foot off brake & press gas pedal - cant afford to pay for 2 vehicles - my lease ends May 2017

- Sterling Heights, MI, USA

problem #38

May 192016


  • 27,000 miles
The Jeep continues to stall with no warning in traffic, causing a serious risk of collision. The vehicle has also experience unwanted and automatic acceleration, also causing a serious risk of injury. A leaky break line was just replaced. The vehicle only has 27,000

- Austin, TX, USA

problem #37

May 222016


  • 25,000 miles
On Sunday on May 22, 2016, I drove my 2014 Jeep Cherokee on interstate 275 from the montgomery road exit to the five-mile road exit. I was alone in the vehicle. I used the cruise control during this travel. I originally set the speed for 70 miles per hour. At one point, I had to slow down because a car pulled into the lane in front of me and the step down of feature of the speed control worked as expected. When I exited from I-275 to five-mile, I applied the brakes but was unable to slow my car. I continued to apply pressure to the brake pedal but the car's speed was not being reduced and I realized that I would be crossing into the signalized intersection without being able to stop. Shortly before entering the intersection, I honked the horn of my car. My car continued across all four lanes of five-mile road and onto the on-ramp from five mile to interstate 275. There it stopped. I do not remember pushing the button on the steering wheel to cancel the cruise control. The car did not impact or touch any other vehicle or pedestrian or other property. It came to a stop on the onramp. The cruise control was not then causing the car to accelerate and the brakes worked. I drove my car very slowly and parked it in the parking lot of the shopping center at the intersection of five-mile and beechmont avenue. From there, I had the car towed from the parking lot to the dealership where I purchased it, kings Chrysler/Dodge/Jeep, Inc. At kings auto mall. A report referenced by ntsa id no. 10861030 describes a similar incident involving the same make model and year. So far, the dealer service department says there is no problem discernable from the computer codes or fault indications.

- Cincinnati, OH, USA

problem #36

Jul 152015


  • 9,682 miles


A list of the current life threatening and non life threatening conditions I have encountered with my Jeep Cherokee trailhawk. The most serious being a persistent problem in relation to the transmission shifting and accelerating causing the car to jerk and in some cases whiplash. As an electrical engineer I have seen the electronic repairs made to the vehicle and yet there is still persistent mechanical problems with this transmission. I have encountered lint mode were the car will not move from gears 1, 2, or 3 on 65mph highway which I believe has caused irreversible damage to the car. The issue occurred in July on route 202 in a cattle shoot created by summer time road work I had to continue to drive the vehicle nearly 2 miles until I was able to pull over and asses the issue. Below is a list of current and past problems: -transmission stopped on a 65mph highway (new software loaded still a problem) -shifter locked in drive couldn't shift to neutral took 4 hours to shut car off at dealership (entire shifter replaced) - navigation (replaced two times, on my third nav system) - window motor mechanism (replaced) - moonroof shade and assembly (being replaced this week) -faulty wiring of cigarette lighter causing fuse to blow due to electrical short (rewired and fuse replaced) -speaker (replaced) -waterproofing trim falling off (replaced) -rattling from bolts for seat-belts (attempted fix didn't work) -O2 sensor causing multiple engine starts (replaced) -front seat uneven (replaced) -recalls ranging from hacking to electrical shorts that have been noted to cause a serious electrical fire

- Malvern, PA, USA

problem #35

Nov 242015


  • 30,000 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Cherokee. While driving approximately 35 mph, the contact's vehicle struck the rear passenger side of another vehicle. Neither of the frontal air bags deployed and the ABS failed. A police report was filed and there were no injuries. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The contact stated that a crash field supervisor would evaluate the situation. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 30,000. Updated 06/15/16

- Harlingen, TX, USA

problem #34

Oct 192015


  • 19,000 miles
Forward collision avoidance system is activating without warning and without any other vehicles or road obstructions in front of the vehicle. This has happened 4 times over the last month. One of the times this happened my wife was traveling at approximately 40mph and there was a vehicle following behind her and they in turn had to slam their brakes on to avoid hitting her. Of course this enraged the driver behind her thinking that she was intentionally slamming on her brakes. Another time my wife was traveling at 65 mph on the highway and the forward collision avoidance system slammed the brakes on hard enough to engage the ABS system. Thank god that there were no other cars or semi's behind her or slick roads as this could have caused a very serious if not fatal accident. The two other times were the same, the crash avoidance system activating for no reason. The vehicle is currently at the dealer for repair and we were notified that the vehicle was ready for pick up on 11-13-2015. Upon arrival at the dealer I specifically asked if the safety concerns with the crash avoidance system and transmission had been corrected. I was told that they hadn't been looked at because they weren't on the list of repairs, when actually this is why the appointment for service was set. The dealer told me to go ahead and take the vehicle and bring it back on 11-23-2015. I refused taking the vehicle as it was not safe for my wife to drive. After arguing, they kept the vehicle. We were notified again on 11-19-2015 that the vehicle was ready for pick up, but they could not duplicate the symptoms with the crash avoidance system. On 11-20-2015 I went to the dealer and again refused the pick up of the vehicle until it has been repaired and is safe for my wife to operate. I have been in contact with Jeep multiple times during this ordeal and have an open case on the vehicle at this time.

- Englewood, OH, USA

problem #33

Oct 212015


  • 20,000 miles
Driving to work on hwy in heavy traffic I accelerated up a small hill car jerked then powered down on hwy at 65 mph I was able to coast over three lanes of traffic and pull off to side of road then noticed service transmission, check parking break, put car in park and then select gear all came on as messages also the traction control light came on. Put care in park and restarted engine all lights/messages still on dash and car would not go into gear for driving. Tried two more times and finally could drive under 50 mph straight to dealer for service. The check transmission light remained on during my entire drive to the dealership. I had previously experienced acceleration when in traffic coasting and my foot off gas pedal. Also hard shifting multiple times like it was skipping gears when accelerating. Very scary and unsafe situation to be in.

- Rossford, OH, USA

problem #32

Oct 272015


  • 13,000 miles


This vehicle had been showing issues for a while now. The issues were brought to the local dealers attention but only would accept to take the car in for the radio recall these vehicles have currently. After taking the car on its first 100+ mile journey, upon getting closer to the exit I was supposed to take, the car would not shift to lower speeds properly and I had to stay on the shoulder to come to a stop, otherwise I would risk flipping the vehicle approaching the curved exit at such a speed. Must I say I gave the vehicle plenty of stopping/slowing distance. Upon coming to a stop ahead of the exit the car jumped forward clearly a problem with the deceleration of the transmission. I brought this issue up with the dealer the following day and stated I should watch the car further and be more careful. Just earlier today, the vehicle decided to jerk forward while decelerating from highway speeds again and the same response was given. Later this afternoon, approximately 2:30 pm est the key was put into the ignition and the car jumped forward striking the vehicle upfront but luckily not doing any visible damage. This car is an accident waiting to happen as I live near a children's school and work near a middle school and I worry one morning this car jumps forward and G-D forbid strikes a child or pedestrian and turn into chaos, as well as putting my children in danger. This car clearly has transmission faults and needs to be recalled legally once and for all..

- Paterson, NJ, USA

problem #31

Feb 072014


  • 807 miles
The first time it happened was when I was merging onto a highway and the car locked. The steering wheel locked, the breaks locked, and multiple different malfunction lights came on including the engine light and my car saying to check the transmission. I turned the car off and back on, and no lights were on so I drove it to the next exit to get off the highway. As I was trying to get into a parking lot in 5 O'clock traffic, the car accelerated on its own then locked up again. I ended up having to get a new transmission owning the car for less than a month. Since then the car has had random moments of accelerating on its own and when I have reported it to Jeep arlington they would say nothing was wrong with my car. Since then, my car has had 3 other separate occasions where it has locked up and/or accelerated on its own and having to get it towed to Jeep; all reportedly by Jeep having to do with my transmission. One of those times occurred again on a busy state road during 5 O'clock traffic and an officer had to stay behind me until a tow company came.

- Tallahassee, FL, USA

problem #30

Sep 012015


  • 17,608 miles
1st incident- 9/1/15- driving in interstate traffic when w/O warning Jeep lost power, immediately slowed as if it dropped gears and went into neutral, "service parking brake" message flashed and said to put in park/turn car off/restart. Other emergency warnings appeared: Check engine, stability traction, service transmission. Jeep had no power and was hard to steer. I was in far lane and able to coast to shoulder. Turned car off/on. Said "service transmission". tried to drive but parking brake was still locked. Had towed to Dodge service dept. 9/3 diagnosis- "code U042 error causing service parking brake message and transmission to go limp". told it was reprogrammed and problem fixed. 2nd incident- 9/4- driving on country road in school traffic when same exact problem occurred.there was no where to coast/pull over. Turned car off/on. Service transmission warning light was on but attempted to drive to move car out of traffic. Shut down 5 more times w/ loud clunks as if transmission was going to drop out before able to safely park. Nearly caused school bus accident! had towed to Dodge. Star case opened. In service dept for 14 days. Replaced "body control module" but couldn't get it reconfigured and had to "write" into Dodge to find out how to fix it. 9/17 diagnosis- "internal BCM failure caused active U0140- lost communication w/ BCM dtc in electric park brake module; test confirmed BCM failed causing false activation of park brake. I expressed concern of recurrence and my safety based on history of complaints but was assured it was fixed. 3rd incident- 9/21 in rush hour traffic again! how many times do I have to risk my family's lives before they recall/replace this death trap! Jeep still in service dept and they have now ordered a valve body, transmission range sensor, transmission fluid and electric parking brake control module. Please help before someone is killed!

- Denham Springs, LA, USA

problem #29

Sep 182015


  • 22,000 miles
This is the third incident in which the computer of the Jeep Cherokee has malfunctioned. I had it serviced for the second time just two weeks prior to this incident for the check engine light turning on and then the transmission failed. In this particular accident, the screen froze, my phone was charging and when the screen froze my phone was powered off along with the charging port, and then when I went to brake due to it being a red light and car in front of me the brakes and steering wheel locked on me and I was unable to brake or switch lanes. A service light flashed at me when everything froze but then disappeared. Of course, after the car had been off and turned back on, there were no issues. This is not the first time the car has frozen on me. I'm unsure of the better term to describe this. But this time resulted in an accident which was not in my control due to my brakes and steering wheel locking. I was told two weeks ago my car was up to date on all service issues. Apparently this was incorrect and needs to be addressed with Jeep. I also have yet to receive any safety recalls regarding the known transmission issue and the brake hack due to the 3G and uconnect computer systems. This is a safety hazard and needs to be addressed and fixed.

- Denver, CO, USA

problem #28

Aug 252015


  • 21,271 miles
Episode one: While driving up hill at about 30 miles and hour car jerked into neutral, instrument cluster flashed engine light warning, transmission light warning, parking break warning, traction control warning and flashed "service transmission" and service parking brake". operator restarted car three times before transmission would engage. This cleared all warnings except "check engine" light. Car was driven to dealer where without documentation they stated that they flashed the transmission control module and then car was returned to owner. Second episode: On Sept 3, 2015 operator was driving about 55 miles per hour when suddenly with a jerk the car shifted into neutral and the car jerked into neutral, instrument cluster flashed engine light warning, transmission light warning, parking break warning, traction control warning and flashed "service transmission" and service parking brake".. operator was able to pull over to the side where he restarted the car about 4 times before transmission would engage. Then about 10 miles further on the road, coming up to a stop sign the same behavior reoccurred. Car was delivered to dealer on 9-03-2015 and their service report of 9-04-2015 indicates that they flashed tcm, BCM, ipc and R40 recall. Episode three: September 6 2015 operator was driving car up to stop sign car jerked into neutral, instrument cluster flashed engine light warning, transmission light warning, parking break warning, traction control warning and flashed "service transmission" and service parking brake". from that point to the dealer operator noted that the engine RPM maintained at about 3000rpm instead of fluctuating normally as with normal driving.

- Brownwood, TX, USA

problem #27

Jul 312014


  • 3,671 miles
After doing my homework and research on a vehicle with #1 safety ratings in its class, I am now in a constant state of fear for the safety of not only myself and my family, but to any other innocent people around me. I travel as little as possible in a vehicle that I am still in debt a very large sum of money on. I took delivery of my 2014 Jeep Cherokee trailhawk, 4X4 on May 28, 2014. The first issue occurred on July 31, 2014 when the vehicle felt as though the engine dropped out into the street of my neighborhood, disabling the vehicle completely; it was not drivable, nor would it shift into neutral in order to get onto the tow truck. (the transmission and emergency braking systems failed) to make an incredibly long story short...I have experienced this same event as well as many others continuously over a 14 month period in regard to failure of my emergency braking system as well as my transmission to include: Jerking so much that my purse flies from seat onto floorboard, jerking that causes my daughter to lunge forward into the back of the front passenger's seat, a stalled vehicle on busy highways and streets on numerous occasions, sudden engagement of emergency brake with the inability to release the brake while stopped at traffic lights; I could go on and on. After a total of 20+ trips to the dealerships for repairs (8-10 of these of which were via tow truck), (3) new transmissions, several repairs and modifications to the emergency braking vehicle is still currently out of commission and not in my possession. I received a call on tues. Of this week from the dealership to inform me that a resolution was made; yet another transmission would be installed in my death trap of a vehicle. (this makes #4) to say that this is clearly the definition of insanity is an understatement. Something drastic needs to be done before people are killed.

- Lakeland, FL, USA

problem #26

Jul 292015


  • 17,188 miles
After less than a year and less than 18K miles, I was told I needed new brake rotors because mine were warped. The dealer claimed that getting them too hot will cause them to warp. I have been driving many years and have never needed brake rotors replaced, especially after 18K miles, nor have I altered my driving style. My last vehicle went over 100K miles without even needing brake pads. I believe that there is a problem with the the brakes, not the way I drive.

- Churchville, PA, USA

problem #25

Apr 092015


  • 1,000 miles
Would not shift to another gear. This has happened three times within 3 monthes.

- Orange, CA, USA

problem #24

Oct 142014

Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 6,000 miles
As has been reported by others, my Jeep Cherokee has brake for no apparent cause on three different occasions. The "collision imminent" tone has sounded at the same time. There was no accident or loss of control at the time this happened, but it was disconcerting. On two other occasions, the same thing has happened, but these were triggered by a car leaving the road to the right side, to turn at an angle into a street that branched off the route I was on. Although the car was clearly out of the path of the car, apparently the collision avoidance system thought that my car was closing on the other car too quickly, and again sounded the warning and slowed the car down. Again, there were no problems with control of the car, and no accident, although drivers behind me had to slow down by about 15 miles per hour below the speed limit. I have learned to leave some extra distance between me and cars turning off for just this reason.

- Portland, OR, USA

problem #23

Jul 102014

Cherokee 6-cyl

  • miles
I was notified on the recall for a brake booster on 04-1-14 and attempted to get the vehicle repaired on 07-10-14 and 10-2-14 at auto nation Chrysler located at 21027 interstate 45 spring, Texas. I was told they did not have the part. I asked to be put on the waiting list. I was told there was no waiting list and they would contact me when the part comes in. I never received a call. I also attempted to file a complaint with Chrysler and they totally blew me off. I finally have the vehicle scheduled for the brake booster replacement on 06-08-15. I have been driving with this defect for over a year. The dealership stated they have parts for two out of the six recalls my vehicle has. This is unacceptable and unsafe. I drive my family in this vehicle and am very disappointed in Chrysler and their dealership auto nation. By not having a waiting list they have no documentation or paper trail of this extended wait to have these vehicles fixed. Please help address this issue.

- Tomball, TX, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?