NHTSA — Power Train Problems

2015 Jeep Cherokee (Page 9 of 19)

CarComplaints.com Seal Of This Might Hurt

CarComplaints.com Notes: How many transmission complaints can a new vehicle really receive? You'd be surprised. Unless you're a 2015 Cherokee owner, then I bet you're not surprised at all.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
12 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
6 / 0
Average Mileage:
7,701 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2015 Jeep Cherokee drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2015 Jeep Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2015 Jeep Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 9 of 19)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #217

Jun 262015

Cherokee

  • 980 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was backing up my daughters driveway. Her driveway is a little steep and when I went to give the Jeep more gas the rpms dropped from 1500 to idle and then back to 1500 rpms really quick, it did this a couple times. The dog ended up on the floor of the car, friends standing outside the car though I didn't know how to drive. I finally had to turn the Jeep around and go up her driveway in the forward direction. We went out to eat later and when I came back I tried backing up her driveway again and it did the same thing. I took the Jeep into the dealer on 6/29/15 with 990 miles on it. The dealer updated the PCM and tcm and retested it but could not get it to fail. It failed again about 3 months later on labor day weekend, 2015. Again backing up my daughters driveway. I contacted the Jeep service manager and he said they probably can't fix it if it doesn't set a code. (great) the Jeep hasn't failed backing up again but it did fail on the highway at 65 miles per hour completely shutting down and not restarting. (see complaint #10819212) like other Jeep owners I've noticed the Jeep stays in third gear to long at low speed, especially if you have to make a left turn in front of on coming traffic. I've resorted to down shifting the transmission myself so I can have some power to make the turn without getting hit. ( note to Chrysler, I'm a first time Jeep buyer, keep doing nothing about the engine and transmission problems and you can find your Jeep at a Ford or Chevy dealership.......real soon).

- Ulster Park, NY, USA

problem #216

Jan 132016

Cherokee

  • miles
My transmission has been slipping since I purchased the vehicle a year ago, (12-28-15) appx, they said they fixed the problem, but it has recently became worse that it was originally. When I'm stopped and then begin to start going again the car hesitates for about 3-5 seconds then it jerks and goes. It also seems to downshift on its own or not at all.

- East Liverpool, OH, USA

problem #215

Sep 252015

Cherokee

  • 17,000 miles
There have been several instances of slow response from the transmission. Heading South at a highway intersection where cross traffic does not stop, I waited at the stop sign until traffic was clear to the East. I pressed the accelerator and didn't get much response until traffic was close enough that I debated about not crossing and the car suddenly moved into the lanes of traffic. I was able to cross to the divider before being broadsided because traffic slowed for me. Another incident involves pulling out of my driveway. I live on a major highway so I am very cautious when I pull out. As I turned right from my driveway my car didn't do more than creep along even though it had gone down the drive just fine. I got the RPM up to 6 on the gauge (7 is red) when it suddenly "caught" and took off. A car that had been a long distance back came very close to rear-ending me. On another occasion as I pulled up behind a car at a light, my car was stopping and then suddenly lurched forward before coming to a complete stop. I hadn't stopped braking or pushed the accelerator. I would have hit the car in front of me if I hadn't been leaving a fair amount of room between us. The variability and unpredictability of this car is what makes it so dangerous. It has small issues like difficulty climbing hills on occasion or jumping when it shifts during normal driving but I have changed my routes (choose stoplights to cross highways) and driving style (leave lots of room between it and other cars) to accommodate daily inconvenience.

- Carl Junction, MO, USA

problem #214

May 062015

Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 3,200 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2015 Jeep Cherokee. The contact stated that the vehicle shifted into third gear and downshifted to the next gear on its own. The vehicle also jerked while driving 30 mph without warning. In addition, when the accelerator pedal was engaged, the vehicle failed to accelerate. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The contact stated that the transmission control module was updated. The manufacturer was notified of the failures. The failure mileage was 3,200....updated 02/03/16 the consumer stated the dealer replaced the transmission control and wiring harness. The consumer stated the vehicle was a little better, but there was still some hard shifting and the down shifting from 5th to 1st was slow and sometimes non-existent. Updated 02/09/16

- Escondido, CA, USA

problem #213

Nov 172015

Cherokee

  • 138 miles
Dangerous 2015 Jeep Cherokee latitude with 853 miles. First week of ownership I noticed a very odd shifting were the Jeep would lung forward from 1st to 2nd gear at about 5mph, hard shifts, and was struggling to find gears at 35-40mph along with a nonresponsive gas pedal that spooked me during many acceleration instances of slow speeds and highway speeds. Took into the dealership where I bought it from and explained what was being experienced, with the back up camera being saturated with light, and gas door that was not aligned with the body. They checked for codes but a service light never appeared. Was told there were updates that need to be installed. After the update, which I assumed was a power train update for the transmission. Left dealership and it all started happening again with the transmission. So was told by a service rep need to let the transmission learn my driving habits whith no harsh acceleration because of the 350 mile breakin period. Drove for a while too see if it would smooth out. Nope it didn't it started having an odd feeling when put in drive and moving forward like the clutchs in the transmission were slipping which gives the sensation of wobble vibrration. Returned it back to the dealership again for second time due to when in the mid del of an intersection while making a left turn with appropriate throttle applied it suddenly loss power with traffic coming from opposite direction so I had to wot the gas pedal to get it to move then it responded with me over accelerating into a turn and immediately got off the gas and had to apply brake pressure and control steering. It happended quiet a few times before I finally got frustrated with it and returned to dealer for service 3rd time. Was told couldn't duplicate, so they can't fix it. Filed complaint with fca for remedy. This Jeep makes me fear driving it.

- Arlington, TX, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #212

Jun 082015

Cherokee

  • 6,000 miles
Error light comes on took to dealership at 6000 miles, replaced transmission, have had multiple shifting issues and Chrysler refuses to fix the problem. Really discouraged and frustrated with Chrysler lack of response.

- Gloversville, NY, USA

problem #211

Jan 062016

Cherokee

  • 10,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I noticed that when the automatic transmission would downshift from 5th to 4th gear, the car would lurch forward and begin to accelerate even when my foot was not on the pedal. Soon afterward the transmission light came on. Took it in on two separate occasions with no results. After the third service they replaced the entire transmission. When I picked my car up the lurching from 5th to 4th gear was gone, but a new and more aggressive lurch takes place every time it shifts from 2nd to 1st. I've also noticed what appears to be a vibration that was not present before the new transmission. After this 3rd service I decided to file a lemon law report

- Jacksonville, FL, USA

problem #210

Nov 012015

Cherokee

  • 4,000 miles
Transmission hard shifts when decreasing speed reaches just under 20 mph. The thunk is loud and hard enough to momentarily shake the Jeep. This model was not supposed to be affected by the software issues affecting other production runs, bu it is clearly present. I took the vehicle to the dealership and they said they reset the shift points. Now the transition thunks coming from 4th into 3rd. The initial complaint was 3rd into 2nd. This happens the majority of downshifts. If the auto-engine off switch is engaged (auto-off disabled) the ratio of hard shifts to clean shifts improves by about 20%. this appears to be an unreported software issue. The dealership is telling me that if there is no error code there is nothing they will do, but there is certainly a safety issue going on here. The force of these hard shifts are putting enormous strain on the power train.

- Baltimore, MD, USA

problem #209

Oct 232014

Cherokee

  • 2,900 miles
Transmission is faulty. Numerous difficult shifting issues, particularly after stopping and restarting. The vehicle has been taken back at least three times for reprogramming but the condition still exists.

- Mcmurray, PA, USA

problem #208

Dec 222015

Cherokee

  • 19,150 miles
When an operator slows down to 5mph to a yield sign or uncontrolled intersection, and then attempts to accelerate the Jeep sticks in a higher gear such as 3rd gear or 4th and keeps at a constant 5mph speed as it enters an intersection. The operator notices this issue and presses the accelerator pedal harder to avoid getting hit by oncoming traffic. After a few seconds with the accelerator pedal pressed to the floor the Jeep finally downshifts to 1st gear, squeals the tires and accelerates hard throwing the operator and occupants into the seat in a whiplash fashion. This all happens if the operator is not struck by an oncoming vehicle. Operators this particular Jeep Cherokee are use to other vehicles that accelerates normally under this condition. The Jeep has been into the local Jeep dealership 4 times and they state "the Jeep is acting as designed". a Jeep care number has been assigned to the issue but nothing has been done to this date.

- Hudson, WI, USA

problem #207

Dec 212015

Cherokee

  • 7,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Vehicle has rolling stop condition (description given by Jeep technician) which occurs between 1 and 3mph. Vehicle comes to a rolling stop, transmission will stay in third gear and hold third gear. When the throttle pedal is depressed to complete a turn the vehicle will not move forward. Then suddenly a violent transmission kick down occurs causing the car to downshift in to first gear causing the Jeep to lunge forward and squeal the tires. Dealership claims second gear has been eliminated in the software update causing this to happen. My Jeep has been at the dealership four times. Chrysler is now involved because crossing intersections while turning below four mph is unsafe and unpredictable when driving. When there are passengers in the car (extra weight) or a incline the condition is even worse. It seems everything happened after first software update was done. My Jeep had no issues of any kind before this.

- Round Lake, IL, USA

problem #206

Dec 102015

Cherokee

  • 5,000 miles
My 2015 Jeep Cherokee trailhawk has 5000 miles on it and the transmission shifts really hard and at times on take off it stalls really bad, almost got me hit because the transmission was not shifting and performimg like it should. This problem has been happening very often. Im afraid one day its gonna get me killed or injured.

- Douglasville, GA, USA

problem #205

Sep 282015

Cherokee

  • 5,000 miles
Vehicle lunges and or jerks forward nearing and or at a complete stop. It happens the majority of driving time and has been in the Jeep dealership 3 times.

- Munster, IN, USA

problem #204

Dec 112015

Cherokee

  • 20,000 miles
My Jeep Cherokee I4 lattitude fwd will not shift down through 3rd-2nd-1st. This results in a constant "lunging of the vehicle" (due to vehicle torque when going 5mph in 3rd) when slowing down to park or when in stop and go traffic and coming to a stop behind a vehicle (causing a near collision) the sheer mass of the vehicle remaining in 3rd gear at 5mph results in many unnerving incidents that would be avoided if the vehicle geared down. It is beyond obvious that Chrysler/ Jeep has corrected this issue in 2016 vehicles with the same powertrain but appears to leave a large number of product build with the issue from the 2014-2015 period. Chrysler actually may have designed a software update (R01) under the guise of resolving "durability issues" and injected this particular safety issue into vehicles. They now appear to have no interest in actually fixing the root problem. Will NHTSA wait until some child is hit in a driveway due to one of these "lunges"?

- Marysville, OH, USA

problem #203

Aug 062015

Cherokee

  • 11,000 miles
The contact owns a 2015 Jeep Cherokee. The contact stated that when the accelerator pedal was engaged, the vehicle failed to accelerate and jerked forward without warning. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the transmission control module needed to be updated. The vehicle was repaired three times but the failure recurred. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 11,000.

- Senoia, GA, USA

problem #202

Oct 012015

Cherokee

  • 10 miles
The contact owns a 2015 Jeep Cherokee. The contact stated that the rear windshield shattered without warning. The contact stated that there were two holes near the heat sensor. While driving at various speeds, the vehicle jerked forward without warning. The failure recurred numerous times. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The VIN was included in NHTSA campaign number: 15V393000 (structure). The failure mileage was approximately 10.

- Miramar, FL, USA

problem #201

Dec 042015

Cherokee

  • miles
Had three months with my car, started showing the check engine light periodically, I didn´T take much importance, then I receive a recall from the dealer, they fix the unknown problem, then five months later I park on the pending street and trying to drive back, the shifter wasn´T moving at all, after a few minutes strangling with the shifter the car finally work, after that the check engine light was on for a day, this happened again continuously. This check engine light on, happens a lot. Today 12-04-2015, a tragedy happened to me, when I park my car on a climb street, I put the shifter on park, turn off the car, took my key, I get out of the car, close the door, when I was about to set up the alarm I notice by reflection that something was moving, and that was my car, passing by next to me and crashing into a concrete wall, almost run me down, ¿again the car was off and I had the key in my hand¿. how is this possible"?" if my car has an automatic transmission. I don¿T feel safe anymore, owing this car, putting my life and others in risk, I don¿T this is fair, when you´re investing your money for security, I need a response or solution for this problem a.S.a.P. thanks. Alan cuevas hernandez.

- Chula Vista, CA, USA

problem #200

Dec 022015

Cherokee

  • 5,230 miles
Vehicle hesitates for a few seconds to go forward when I press on gas..then it lunges forward..very dangerous..especially when turning left in traffic..I took it to the dealer and told them about this and I am afraid this car is going to get me killed doing this. They checked codes and could not find anything wrong. This happens dailey whenever I'm driving it.

- Schaumburg, IL, USA

problem #199

Nov 022015

Cherokee

  • 5,200 miles
While driving in a shopping center filled with pedestrians and vehicles..the vehicle lunged forward..I was at 1 mph or less..this has happened frequently..my son was in the vehicle with me at the time and ask me what I was doing..I told him that I didn't accelerate the car..it did it on its own..this scared me as well as him. I have taken the car the the dealership several times to have the transmission checked..and they say there are no codes and cant find anything wrong.

- Schaumburg, IL, USA

problem #198

Jun 292015

Cherokee

  • 13,631 miles
Purchased Jeep and have had safety issues with inconsistent shifting since day one. I have returned to the dealer 19 times for shifting issues and other complaints. At the present time I continue to have a "service shifter" light come on in the vehicle. The light comes on while the vehicle is in motion. You can try to reset the shifter to let the computer try to recognize the error, but it doesn't work. Technicians have told me not to drive with the light on as the car may shift in a different gear or even reverse. Chrylser star technicians keep resetting the software, however the light continues to come back on randomly. I have expressed my concerns and fears with the shifting, however they do not know what is causing the problem nor how to fix the issue so they continue to reset the computer. I do not feel safe driving the vehicle as I never know when the light will come on nor what it will do. Found error codes U146500 and P1C861D. Performed flash updates. Dates of issues: 6/29/15, 07/17/15, 09/06/15, 12/01/15. I also have problems with inconsistent shifting and take of. You can try to accelerate and the car will not go but the RPM's will rise. The car will suddenly take off after a 4-5 second delay. This has caused me great fear as sometimes you will go to turn and the car pauses before taking off. By the time it does take off you have turned in front of an oncoming car. Again Chrysler star technicians have told me I am "over sensitive" and the car functions as any 9 speed transmission is designed to do.

- Saint Henry, OH, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?