Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: How many transmission complaints can a new vehicle really receive? You'd be surprised. Unless you're a 2015 Cherokee owner, then I bet you're not surprised at all.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 9
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
7,544 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2015 Jeep Cherokee engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2015 Jeep Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2015 Jeep Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 3 of 6)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #66

Oct 252015

Cherokee

  • 3,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I started leasing this brand new car July 2015. Initially there were a few minor shifting changes that felt unsteady. Coming home from work one day in October 2015 I noticed the car was not accelerating, would shift poorly into different gears and was jolting. At the same time the "service engine light" turned on as well as a message stating "service transmission". I waited seven hours for Jeep to tow the car, it took them one week to diagnose, and they estimated another week to repair. So far they've had the car for two weeks and the estimate pickup day would mark 17 days without the car if its even ready on time. They are replacing the entire transmission.

- Hoboken, NY, USA

problem #65

Sep 202015

Cherokee

  • 10,946 miles
The contact owns a 2015 Jeep Cherokee. While driving 15 mph, the check engine light illuminated on the instrument panel. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the system needed to be updated. The vehicle was repaired. The contact also stated that the next day while driving at 15 mph, the transmission failed, . the vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the engine failed and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The failure recurred numerous times. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The VIN was unknown. The failure mileage was approximately 10,946. Updated 1/20/16

- Shelburne, NH, USA

problem #64

Oct 262015

Cherokee

  • 12,000 miles
The contact owned a 2015 Jeep Cherokee. The contact stated that while the vehicle was in motion, smoke appeared inside and outside the vehicle. The contact merged to the side of the road and large flames appeared under the hood. A fire technician extinguished the fire. A police report was filed. The vehicle was destroyed and towed to an impound lot. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 12,000.

- Rockport, TX, USA

problem #63

Oct 242015

Cherokee

  • 4,916 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Jeep 2015 Cherokee stalled while in motion in high speed lane of highwayin heavy traffic. Upon restarting, car was stuck somewhere around 3rd or 4th gear. Engine was skipping.

- Wallingford, CT, USA

problem #62

Oct 232015

Cherokee

  • 4,800 miles
Our Cherokee latitude was at 4,800 miles when it suddenly flashed service transmission and service engine. We were stuck in a high gear on the interstate which allowed us off of the interstate to safety but we were nearly hit trying to get to a pull off area as it wouldn't pick up speed once it slowed down. Then it jumped and banged to shift off due to the start\stop which we quickly turned off and were glad we didn't Ram anyone. Once the car was off for awhile it reset itself and we tried getting to the next town since we were in a trip. It did it again, so we called the nearest dealer. They said they were aware of a recall and would call us back to help but never did. We managed to get it back home after it sat off for awhile have been given a loaner from our dealership. It seems like more needs to be done to fix this issue as there are lots of transmission complaints!

- Fishers, IN, USA

problem #61

Oct 152015

Cherokee

  • 6,000 miles
I was trying to continue through a busy intersection, I pressed the accelerator and the car acted like it was in neutral. It revved up, but did not accelerate. I looked down at my gear shift and it was still in drive, however my dashboard said that the Jeep was in neutral. Because I could not continue through the intersection, I was rear ended by the person behind me.

- New Orleans, LA, USA

problem #60

Feb 172015

Cherokee

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2015 Jeep Cherokee latitude. While attempting to stop the vehicle, it experienced a slight loss of power. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Lynn Haven, FL, USA

problem #59

Oct 162015

Cherokee

  • 120 miles
I bought a 2015 Jeep Cherokee trailhawk V6 on 10/14/15. On 10/16/15 while driving down a street at 45mph, the vehicle died. I managed to get off to the side of the road and after a couple of attempts it started again. The check engine light was now on and I had no acceleration. I managed to drive 5 miles to the dealership in "limp mode" and drop it off for repairs. The last I heard on 10/17/15 was that they were going to replace the tcm and PCM and see if that helps, it is now 10/21/15 and I do not have an update.

- Edmond, OK, USA

problem #58

Sep 022015

Cherokee

  • 312 miles
Water or fluid leaking from exhaust system. At start up and shut down rear exhaust.

- Conway, PA, USA

problem #57

Sep 032015

Cherokee

  • 10,000 miles
The contact owns a 2015 Jeep Cherokee. The contact stated that while driving at approximately 30 mph, the vehicle stalled. The vehicle was able to be restarted. The failure occurred on multiple occasions. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 10,000. The VIN was not available.

- Mokena, IL, USA

problem #56

Oct 072015

Cherokee

  • 4,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While applying the brakes in an attempt to stop the vehicle, the vehicle slows down to approx. 20mph and then accelerates on its own.

- Bethpage, NY, USA

problem #55

Oct 142015

Cherokee

  • 5,800 miles
I bought my car 3/29/2015. My car has been in the shop 4 times in the 6 months since I have bout it. It had the transmission valve replaced, the harness replaces, and after all of that still did not fix anything. My car is currently having a new transmission put in ( only has 5,000) miles on it! so many costumers are having the same issues with their 2015 Cherokee, they are unsafe and have caused many accidents from transmission failures. They need to be recalled!!!

- New Orleans, LA, USA

problem #54

Sep 242015

Cherokee

  • 10,000 miles
Purchased the 2015 Jeep Cherokee in March. Have had issues with the transmission due to the recalls. The vehicle would slow and not shift properly, it would also lurch and stall and shift very clunky. 9/21 - had the recalls taken care of and was told it would solve the issues. 9/22 - driving on the freeway in stop and go traffic and the car suddenly lurches and then stops. The service transmission, check engine and emergency brake were all flashing. I almost got rear-ended and was in a serious accident. I had to turn the car off on the freeway to "reboot" it as it was stuck in a parked position but not powered off. 9/24 - en route to get the car serviced, I was on the freeway in traffic, it lurches and stopped again, this time causing me to rear-end the vehicle in front of me.

- South St Paul, MN, USA

problem #53

Sep 292015

Cherokee

  • 3,800 miles
The contact owns a 2015 Jeep Cherokee. While driving 15 mph, the vehicle stalled and the brakes failed. The vehicle was towed to a dealer, but was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The VIN was unknown. The failure mileage was 3,800.

- Holbrook, NY, USA

problem #52

Mar 262014

Cherokee

  • 230 miles
The nine speed transmission is horrible at lower gears. The accelerated transition between second and third gear cause the transmission to slip and lunge the car forward. Another issue is during a yield intersection the transmission either doesn't engage, stays at the lower gear or slips follow by a lunge. My father purchased a Chrysler some 30 years ago and vowed he would never repeat that mistake - the car won't run in the rain and transmission dropped. He laugh when I purchase the Jeep should have listen to him. I too vow never to purchase another Chrysler product.

- Johns Creek, GA, USA

problem #51

Apr 102015

Cherokee

  • 4,500 miles
The contact owns a 2015 Jeep Cherokee. While driving approximately 5 mph, the accelerator pedal was depressed but the vehicle would not accelerate. The vehicle was restarted and the check engine warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to a dealer on four occasions where the failure was unable to be determined. In a most recent occasion, the vehicle was taken to a dealer where the module and the wiring harness were replaced and reprogrammed, but the remedy failed to repair the vehicle. The failure mileage was 4,500.

- Navarre, FL, USA

problem #50

Aug 212015

Cherokee

  • 1,843 miles
Transmission stalls alot and is very sluggish, really afraid to let my son ride in the Jeep because im scared we will get hit because you have no power to get out of the way. My Jeep always would not start today and when I tried cranking it the brakes felt like a rock and could not be depressed, ,, that could really cause a problem and get myself and others hurt if the brakes did that while driving, thank god I was not on the road this accured in my driveway. Scared to really drive this Jeep but I pay $940 a month and you would think this thing would run and drive and be safe but im now wondering about this and I have only had this Jeep since July 20 15 and it only has 1977 miles on it.hope this info may help others.

- Douglasville, GA, USA

problem #49

Jul 272015

Cherokee

  • 10,524 miles
The transmission issue has been occurring intermittently, but the Jeep in inoperable when the transmission failure is occurring. The transmission has failed to engage when starting the car or when the auto start/stop sequence occurs while driving. The screens pop up on dash including 4WD failure, parking brake failure, and service transmission. I have now brought the Jeep in 3 times in the last month with the same unresolved transmission issue. On the first occurrence, the vehicle was towed into the local dealer, the second time I drove it in after restarting the vehicle and the tcm was replaced. The third time, the dealer was unable to repeat the issue and apparently the codes cleared. The interesting part about the third time was the fact that uconnect sent me an email warning me of the issue. I have very little confidence that this issue will not reoccur. The key takeaway of the issue is once I restart the vehicle several times the transmission eventually engages and the vehicle is drive able. The transmission light remains on, but will clear sometimes.

- Katy, TX, USA

problem #48

Oct 312014

Cherokee

  • 7 miles
The powertrain is frequently unresponsive and there is often a significant lag time between pressing the accelerator and receiving any response from the powertrain when trying to accelerate from a full stop. Sometimes the vehicle responds immediately but other times it feels as if it can take a full second or more for the vehicle to respond. While this is not a big issue when accelerating from a stop light, this has become a significant issue when making a left turn across oncoming traffic because the vehicle cannot be counted on to respond and begin accelerating in a timely manner. The dealership service has responded that problem may be my driving or my inexperience with the active assist II transmission, but my previous car was a hybrid, I know about engines stopping at signals. Nevertheless, the car stalls less if I disable the active assist every time the engine starts, although not completely. The dealership said they reprogrammed the system but the problem still exists.

- Atascadero, CA, USA

problem #47

Jan 122015

Cherokee

  • 4,000 miles
Car does not accelerate when pushing on gas, gets stuck in gear and then when it finally fins the right gear the whole vehicle bucks. Reported the problem in January, was told to wait for the recall update, which didn't happen until June. Have brought the vehicle in 2 more times for the same problem. This problem has caused me to almost be in a number or accidents when trying to merge on to highways or pass someone on the highway. In another incident my sunroof exploded from the inside out while driving on the highway and Jeep is refusing to cover it under warranty even though nothing hit the vehicle and there are other reports online of this happening.

- Carmel, NY, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?