Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: How many transmission complaints can a new vehicle really receive? You'd be surprised. Unless you're a 2015 Cherokee owner, then I bet you're not surprised at all.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 9
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
6,727 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2015 Jeep Cherokee engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2015 Jeep Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2015 Jeep Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 3 of 5)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #60

Feb 172015


  • miles


The contact owns a 2015 Jeep Cherokee latitude. While attempting to stop the vehicle, it experienced a slight loss of power. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Lynn Haven, FL, USA

problem #59

Oct 162015


  • 120 miles
I bought a 2015 Jeep Cherokee trailhawk V6 on 10/14/15. On 10/16/15 while driving down a street at 45mph, the vehicle died. I managed to get off to the side of the road and after a couple of attempts it started again. The check engine light was now on and I had no acceleration. I managed to drive 5 miles to the dealership in "limp mode" and drop it off for repairs. The last I heard on 10/17/15 was that they were going to replace the tcm and PCM and see if that helps, it is now 10/21/15 and I do not have an update.

- Edmond, OK, USA

problem #58

Sep 022015


  • 312 miles
Water or fluid leaking from exhaust system. At start up and shut down rear exhaust.

- Conway, PA, USA

problem #57

Sep 032015


  • 10,000 miles


The contact owns a 2015 Jeep Cherokee. The contact stated that while driving at approximately 30 mph, the vehicle stalled. The vehicle was able to be restarted. The failure occurred on multiple occasions. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 10,000. The VIN was not available.

- Mokena, IL, USA

problem #56

Oct 072015


  • 4,500 miles
While applying the brakes in an attempt to stop the vehicle, the vehicle slows down to approx. 20mph and then accelerates on its own.

- Bethpage, NY, USA

problem #55

Oct 142015


  • 5,800 miles
I bought my car 3/29/2015. My car has been in the shop 4 times in the 6 months since I have bout it. It had the transmission valve replaced, the harness replaces, and after all of that still did not fix anything. My car is currently having a new transmission put in ( only has 5,000) miles on it! so many costumers are having the same issues with their 2015 Cherokee, they are unsafe and have caused many accidents from transmission failures. They need to be recalled!!!

- New Orleans, LA, USA

problem #54

Sep 242015


  • 10,000 miles


Purchased the 2015 Jeep Cherokee in March. Have had issues with the transmission due to the recalls. The vehicle would slow and not shift properly, it would also lurch and stall and shift very clunky. 9/21 - had the recalls taken care of and was told it would solve the issues. 9/22 - driving on the freeway in stop and go traffic and the car suddenly lurches and then stops. The service transmission, check engine and emergency brake were all flashing. I almost got rear-ended and was in a serious accident. I had to turn the car off on the freeway to "reboot" it as it was stuck in a parked position but not powered off. 9/24 - en route to get the car serviced, I was on the freeway in traffic, it lurches and stopped again, this time causing me to rear-end the vehicle in front of me.

- South St Paul, MN, USA

problem #53

Sep 292015


  • 3,800 miles
The contact owns a 2015 Jeep Cherokee. While driving 15 mph, the vehicle stalled and the brakes failed. The vehicle was towed to a dealer, but was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The VIN was unknown. The failure mileage was 3,800.

- Holbrook, NY, USA

problem #52

Mar 262014


  • 230 miles
The nine speed transmission is horrible at lower gears. The accelerated transition between second and third gear cause the transmission to slip and lunge the car forward. Another issue is during a yield intersection the transmission either doesn't engage, stays at the lower gear or slips follow by a lunge. My father purchased a Chrysler some 30 years ago and vowed he would never repeat that mistake - the car won't run in the rain and transmission dropped. He laugh when I purchase the Jeep should have listen to him. I too vow never to purchase another Chrysler product.

- Johns Creek, GA, USA

problem #51

Apr 102015


  • 4,500 miles
The contact owns a 2015 Jeep Cherokee. While driving approximately 5 mph, the accelerator pedal was depressed but the vehicle would not accelerate. The vehicle was restarted and the check engine warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to a dealer on four occasions where the failure was unable to be determined. In a most recent occasion, the vehicle was taken to a dealer where the module and the wiring harness were replaced and reprogrammed, but the remedy failed to repair the vehicle. The failure mileage was 4,500.

- Navarre, FL, USA

problem #50

Aug 212015


  • 1,843 miles


Transmission stalls alot and is very sluggish, really afraid to let my son ride in the Jeep because im scared we will get hit because you have no power to get out of the way. My Jeep always would not start today and when I tried cranking it the brakes felt like a rock and could not be depressed, ,, that could really cause a problem and get myself and others hurt if the brakes did that while driving, thank god I was not on the road this accured in my driveway. Scared to really drive this Jeep but I pay $940 a month and you would think this thing would run and drive and be safe but im now wondering about this and I have only had this Jeep since July 20 15 and it only has 1977 miles on it.hope this info may help others.

- Douglasville, GA, USA

problem #49

Jul 272015


  • 10,524 miles
The transmission issue has been occurring intermittently, but the Jeep in inoperable when the transmission failure is occurring. The transmission has failed to engage when starting the car or when the auto start/stop sequence occurs while driving. The screens pop up on dash including 4WD failure, parking brake failure, and service transmission. I have now brought the Jeep in 3 times in the last month with the same unresolved transmission issue. On the first occurrence, the vehicle was towed into the local dealer, the second time I drove it in after restarting the vehicle and the tcm was replaced. The third time, the dealer was unable to repeat the issue and apparently the codes cleared. The interesting part about the third time was the fact that uconnect sent me an email warning me of the issue. I have very little confidence that this issue will not reoccur. The key takeaway of the issue is once I restart the vehicle several times the transmission eventually engages and the vehicle is drive able. The transmission light remains on, but will clear sometimes.

- Katy, TX, USA

problem #48

Oct 312014


  • 7 miles
The powertrain is frequently unresponsive and there is often a significant lag time between pressing the accelerator and receiving any response from the powertrain when trying to accelerate from a full stop. Sometimes the vehicle responds immediately but other times it feels as if it can take a full second or more for the vehicle to respond. While this is not a big issue when accelerating from a stop light, this has become a significant issue when making a left turn across oncoming traffic because the vehicle cannot be counted on to respond and begin accelerating in a timely manner. The dealership service has responded that problem may be my driving or my inexperience with the active assist II transmission, but my previous car was a hybrid, I know about engines stopping at signals. Nevertheless, the car stalls less if I disable the active assist every time the engine starts, although not completely. The dealership said they reprogrammed the system but the problem still exists.

- Atascadero, CA, USA

problem #47

Jan 122015


  • 4,000 miles
Car does not accelerate when pushing on gas, gets stuck in gear and then when it finally fins the right gear the whole vehicle bucks. Reported the problem in January, was told to wait for the recall update, which didn't happen until June. Have brought the vehicle in 2 more times for the same problem. This problem has caused me to almost be in a number or accidents when trying to merge on to highways or pass someone on the highway. In another incident my sunroof exploded from the inside out while driving on the highway and Jeep is refusing to cover it under warranty even though nothing hit the vehicle and there are other reports online of this happening.

- Carmel, NY, USA

problem #46

Aug 262015


  • 10,000 miles
Leased a 2015 Jeep Cherokee latitude February 28, 2015. Have had my vehicle at the dealership twice previously for recalls including the "transmission re-flash". have noticed jerky downshifting and revving of the engine upon slowing down. Last week engine light came on along with warning that the "stop start" feature was disabled and unavailable. Took into dealership where it is currently awaiting a replacement of the transmission. Very disappointed in this vehicle. Chrysler could have hit a home run, but instead has a lemon on its hands.

- Farmington Hills, MI, USA

problem #45

Aug 072015


  • 325 miles
This is a newly leased vehicle. After driving at 65 mph for about 20 minutes and then stopping, a burning smell was observed. After opening hood, smoke was rising from behind the engine, but no fire. Oil was observed leaking underneath the vehicle and engine oil level had dropped below the recommended level. Oil was leaking onto the skid plate and exhaust which caused the smoke. Vehicle was driven back to the dealer for repairs. Dealer stated the oil pan seal was leaking and replaced the seal immediately at no charge to me.

- Milton, VT, USA

problem #44

Aug 092015


  • 2,200 miles
The contact owns a 2015 Jeep Cherokee. The contact stated that while coming to a stop at a traffic light, the vehicle stalled. The contact stated that the start system disengaged after the failure, but the vehicle still stalled while driving at various speeds. The battery warning light illuminated. The vehicle was turned off and was able to restart after the third attempt. The failure recurred intermittently. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 2,200.

- Wallingford, CT, USA

problem #43

May 202015

Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 304 miles
Thank you!! the first incident occurred at 304 miles. Check engine light came on and the car started shaking and could not accelerate. Check engine light started flashing and called the dealership immediately. Had the truck towed in and they advised at first that the upper head of the engine blew, after speaking with my customer resolution rep (case number: [xxx]) the dealership called me again and advised it was just a bad spark plug and they fixed it. The second incident occurred about a week after this service I took a 200 mile trip to pa to visit family and on the way back from this trip the check engine light came on again. I checked the oil levels and there was nothing on the measuring stick. Had to car towed again and this time bayside Chrysler advised the O-ring went on the car and that it was replaced/fixed. After the O-ring service the car is still loosing oil but I can't smell is burning and there is nothing under the car after leaving a parking spot. However, when the car first starts blue smoke comes out of the exhaust and the engine knocks/tics a bit upon starting but that stops after the oil hits the engine I guess. On 8/5/2015 I started the car after work and the check engine light came on and flashing again and the car began shaking. It was towed to the dealership again this morning for service. The above covers the engine issues. Two weeks ago at a stop sign I stepped on the gas but the engine just revved for a few seconds followed by the transmission engaging. Since then the transmission has not been shifting normally. The transmission has not failed yet but it appears it's on its way. Currently the car has 2,400 miles on it. Any help would be greatly appreciated. I've been in contact with many other on forums and these people have family's/small children as do I. something needs to be done about these cars. Their not safe. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Glendale, NY, USA

problem #42

Jun 302015


  • 1,000 miles
Mine is 2015 new Jeep Cherokee V6 limited model. The problems mainly lie in the zf 9 speed transmission. 1) experienced front end wobbling when shifting from 2nd gear to 3rd gear accelerating at 1750 RPM to 2000. The vibration happens most frequent when starting from uphill. 2) the vehicle will accelerate on its own even without gas pedal engaged when down shifting from 4th to 3rd or lower gear, causing significant safety issues.

- Mapleshade, NJ, USA

problem #41

Feb 162015


  • 1,254 miles
Purchased 2015 Cherokee in January, 2015. First recall in Feb 2015. Software update for transmission and rapid response transmittal. Shifting problems started shortly after update. Hesitation from a stop; delayed start and then "takes off"; surging forward without foot on gas; shifts up when coming to a stop with foot on brake; clunking noise started at 7000 miles. Took it in for recalls on airbag and radio security and told dealer about transmission issues. Was originally told they would have Jeep for 2 hours. 7 hours later they called to tell me they did several software updates (ptu, rdm, dtcm, PCM, BCM); when I went to pick it up I asked for details on each update. Frustrated when I was told it would "take some time for the car to learn my driving habits." I asked, "what happens when I am teaching my kids how to drive (twins that will be driving in a month)?" the service tech told me that "the transmission would be really confused." I expressed my concern for safety. Told him I never know when it is going to accelerate on its own or hesitate with a 5 second or longer delay. I asked how that could be safe when teaching kids how to drive. He didn't have an answer. Just said, "I understand your concern." I have only driven it about 20 miles since the updates. Now it shifts quickly through the first 3 gears, still hesitates, and rough shifting. Keeping detailed records now. I've had my Jeep for 7 months (7000 miles) with 3 actual recalls, and 6 software updates that weren't recalls, just performed based on my complaints. The issues with this transmission are a safety hazard, especially when sitting at an intersection waiting to make a left hand turn and never knowing how the Jeep will respond...this isn't safe for an experienced driver. How can anyone safely put a new driver into a car that has these types of issues?

- Stow, OH, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?