Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: How many transmission complaints can a new vehicle really receive? You'd be surprised. Unless you're a 2015 Cherokee owner, then I bet you're not surprised at all.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 9
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
7,544 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2015 Jeep Cherokee engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2015 Jeep Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2015 Jeep Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 4 of 6)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #46

Aug 262015

Cherokee

  • 10,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Leased a 2015 Jeep Cherokee latitude February 28, 2015. Have had my vehicle at the dealership twice previously for recalls including the "transmission re-flash". have noticed jerky downshifting and revving of the engine upon slowing down. Last week engine light came on along with warning that the "stop start" feature was disabled and unavailable. Took into dealership where it is currently awaiting a replacement of the transmission. Very disappointed in this vehicle. Chrysler could have hit a home run, but instead has a lemon on its hands.

- Farmington Hills, MI, USA

problem #45

Aug 072015

Cherokee

  • 325 miles
This is a newly leased vehicle. After driving at 65 mph for about 20 minutes and then stopping, a burning smell was observed. After opening hood, smoke was rising from behind the engine, but no fire. Oil was observed leaking underneath the vehicle and engine oil level had dropped below the recommended level. Oil was leaking onto the skid plate and exhaust which caused the smoke. Vehicle was driven back to the dealer for repairs. Dealer stated the oil pan seal was leaking and replaced the seal immediately at no charge to me.

- Milton, VT, USA

problem #44

Aug 092015

Cherokee

  • 2,200 miles
The contact owns a 2015 Jeep Cherokee. The contact stated that while coming to a stop at a traffic light, the vehicle stalled. The contact stated that the start system disengaged after the failure, but the vehicle still stalled while driving at various speeds. The battery warning light illuminated. The vehicle was turned off and was able to restart after the third attempt. The failure recurred intermittently. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 2,200.

- Wallingford, CT, USA

problem #43

May 202015

Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 304 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Thank you!! the first incident occurred at 304 miles. Check engine light came on and the car started shaking and could not accelerate. Check engine light started flashing and called the dealership immediately. Had the truck towed in and they advised at first that the upper head of the engine blew, after speaking with my customer resolution rep (case number: [xxx]) the dealership called me again and advised it was just a bad spark plug and they fixed it. The second incident occurred about a week after this service I took a 200 mile trip to pa to visit family and on the way back from this trip the check engine light came on again. I checked the oil levels and there was nothing on the measuring stick. Had to car towed again and this time bayside Chrysler advised the O-ring went on the car and that it was replaced/fixed. After the O-ring service the car is still loosing oil but I can't smell is burning and there is nothing under the car after leaving a parking spot. However, when the car first starts blue smoke comes out of the exhaust and the engine knocks/tics a bit upon starting but that stops after the oil hits the engine I guess. On 8/5/2015 I started the car after work and the check engine light came on and flashing again and the car began shaking. It was towed to the dealership again this morning for service. The above covers the engine issues. Two weeks ago at a stop sign I stepped on the gas but the engine just revved for a few seconds followed by the transmission engaging. Since then the transmission has not been shifting normally. The transmission has not failed yet but it appears it's on its way. Currently the car has 2,400 miles on it. Any help would be greatly appreciated. I've been in contact with many other on forums and these people have family's/small children as do I. something needs to be done about these cars. Their not safe. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Glendale, NY, USA

problem #42

Jun 302015

Cherokee

  • 1,000 miles
Mine is 2015 new Jeep Cherokee V6 limited model. The problems mainly lie in the zf 9 speed transmission. 1) experienced front end wobbling when shifting from 2nd gear to 3rd gear accelerating at 1750 RPM to 2000. The vibration happens most frequent when starting from uphill. 2) the vehicle will accelerate on its own even without gas pedal engaged when down shifting from 4th to 3rd or lower gear, causing significant safety issues.

- Mapleshade, NJ, USA

problem #41

Feb 162015

Cherokee

  • 1,254 miles
Purchased 2015 Cherokee in January, 2015. First recall in Feb 2015. Software update for transmission and rapid response transmittal. Shifting problems started shortly after update. Hesitation from a stop; delayed start and then "takes off"; surging forward without foot on gas; shifts up when coming to a stop with foot on brake; clunking noise started at 7000 miles. Took it in for recalls on airbag and radio security and told dealer about transmission issues. Was originally told they would have Jeep for 2 hours. 7 hours later they called to tell me they did several software updates (ptu, rdm, dtcm, PCM, BCM); when I went to pick it up I asked for details on each update. Frustrated when I was told it would "take some time for the car to learn my driving habits." I asked, "what happens when I am teaching my kids how to drive (twins that will be driving in a month)?" the service tech told me that "the transmission would be really confused." I expressed my concern for safety. Told him I never know when it is going to accelerate on its own or hesitate with a 5 second or longer delay. I asked how that could be safe when teaching kids how to drive. He didn't have an answer. Just said, "I understand your concern." I have only driven it about 20 miles since the updates. Now it shifts quickly through the first 3 gears, still hesitates, and rough shifting. Keeping detailed records now. I've had my Jeep for 7 months (7000 miles) with 3 actual recalls, and 6 software updates that weren't recalls, just performed based on my complaints. The issues with this transmission are a safety hazard, especially when sitting at an intersection waiting to make a left hand turn and never knowing how the Jeep will respond...this isn't safe for an experienced driver. How can anyone safely put a new driver into a car that has these types of issues?

- Stow, OH, USA

problem #40

Dec 152014

Cherokee

  • 2,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Vehicle speeds up when brake is applied, downshifting is jerky and uneven. Transmission has been replaced once. Symptoms are the same.

- Naples, NY, USA

problem #39

Jun 012015

Cherokee

  • 800 miles
When you let off the gas it speeds up and takes a little time to get it to go slower!

- Clinton, TN, USA

problem #38

Jan 012015

Cherokee

  • 500 miles
The Jeep is bad and exactly engine, electrical, fuel propulsion system, and ather things,

- El Mirage, AZ, USA

problem #37

Jul 202015

Cherokee

  • 50 miles
The car will accelerate and raise RPM's (sometimes increases speed by 1mph) by itself at 26mph while coasting from 30mph or greater. I'm pretty sure the car is downshifting at this point, but no car I have drove will accelerate while not pressing the gas. When the car is downshifting from any other speed, I can feel the downshift however the car does not accelerate like it does at 26mph. Only at 26mph it accelerates at the down shift. Sometimes the acceleration is greater then other times, but happens 95% of the time. I was told this is a characteristic of the car and it needs to learn how I drive. Which makes no sense because if this is a characteristic of a car, it is a very unsafe one. I feel that this is a safety issue as the car is accelerating on its own while I'm expecting it to de-accelerate. A software update was done on my car, but the issue was not fixed.

- Allen Park, MI, USA

problem #36

Jun 192015

Cherokee

  • 725 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

6/19/2015: Transmission/electrical issue when attempting to shift the vehicle into reverse it would shift into neutral instead. Had to shift to park and then back to reverse before the vehicle went into gear. This was the fourth occurrence of this issue since purchase date. Airbag warning message and indicator light turned on when shifting from park to reverse and to drive. Electronic stability control indicator came on repeatedly while driving. 6/22/2015: Transmission/electrical issue vehicle would not shift from park to reverse. After several minutes was able to put vehicle into park, and eventually powered vehicle off and on and was then able to shift from park to reverse and then drive. Airbag warning message and indicator light turned on and electronic stability control indicator came on. 6/23/2015: Transmission/electrical failure odometer at 800 miles. While driving, the vehicle suddenly went out of gear. Climbing a parking garage ramp the vehicle stalled, the parking brake turned on, the airbag service message and indicator turned on, the service engine light came on, the windshield wipers came on, the media console and bluetooth connection failed. After several minutes of attempting to shift gears (could not get the vehicle into park, drive, or reverse, and parking brake kept engaging), was finally able to power the vehicle off. Once the vehicle was powered back on, was able to shift to drive, and drove directly to the dealership. Check engine light remained on and electronic stability control indicator came on repeatedly while driving. Delivered vehicle to dealership for inspection and repair, and am awaiting resolution as of 7/20/2015.

- Scottsdale, AZ, USA

problem #35

Mar 012015

Cherokee

  • 4,800 miles
The contact owns a 2015 Jeep Cherokee. While driving at various speeds, the low oil pressure and battery warning lights illuminated. The vehicle was able to restart. The failure recurred several times. The vehicle was taken to a dealer who was unable to diagnose the cause of the failure. The contact mentioned that the vehicle was losing excessive oil and constantly needed oil to be added. The vehicle was the taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the engine needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 4,800.

- Raleigh, NC, USA

problem #34

Apr 142015

Cherokee

  • 6,000 miles
My 2015 Jeep Cherokee, and apparently hundreds or thousands of others from 2014 and 2015, have faulty transmissions. I needed a replacement at only 6000 miles and I've heard worse stories on various web sites. The new transmission is not much better yet Jeep/Chrysler refuses to acknowledge that there is a problem and continues to sell the cars. Someone seriously needs to look into this as someone is going to get killed when theirjeep stalls or just stops at highway speeds.

- Brooklyn, NY, USA

problem #33

Jun 262015

Cherokee

  • 3,466 miles
Less than 90 days after buying a new Jeep Cherokee I watched it towed away B/C it was un-driveable. It began in the morning when the gears were not shifting appropriately. Then a few hours later, the engine would rev, and car would speed up, even though I wasn't pushing gas pedal. Then reverse failed. Then the parking brake light came on. Finally, it stopped shifting up -- I had to floor it to go 5 miles an hour. I ultimately had to coast home.....updated 11/02/15

- Washington, DC, USA

problem #32

Jun 272015

Cherokee

  • 490 miles
Had car for 2 weeks, 490 miles and transmission light went on, could not reverse, when putting car in drive car made terrible noise and jumped, smelled a burning smell. Brought to service said probably need a new transmission. Will not have car for at least a week. So disappointed, and am scared even to drive the car when I do get it back.

- Brooklyn, NY, USA

problem #31

Jun 152015

Cherokee

  • 600 miles
My transmission keeps slipping on our brand new Cherokee we saved up for! engine light keeps coming on and it jerks a lot when trying to slow down. Getting into to car dealer asap! I'm so upset and scared to drive my two little kids in this car now that I think I know what the issue is. Whether they fix this or not. I don't trust this car now.

- Washington, IL, USA

problem #30

Jun 102015

Cherokee

  • 8,800 miles
While driving 55mph check engine lite along with stop/start lite came on and vehicle rapidly decelerated from 55mph to 30mph causing transmission to over heat which ultimately lead to transmission replacement on a new 2015 Jeep,

- Mt Morris, NY, USA

problem #29

May 282015

Cherokee

  • 3,744 miles
I went out to start my car at around 8:40am on May 28. When I pushed the button to start it, I heard a pop followed by smoke. I thought maybe something was under the car so I backed up the car approximately 2 feet and then turned it off. I went inside to get my husband, he came out and opened the hood and I tried to start it again. It started right up but there immediately was smoke and fire coming from the front of the car on the passenger side. I turned the car right off after maybe 5 or 6 seconds. I had a meeting to get to so I left in my husband's car. When I got to work, a retired fire fighter suggested that I call the norwich township fire department. Brian beach came to inspect the car. Because of all of the plastic coverings, it was very hard to see anything that was wrong other than melted plastic fittings. I had the car towed (at my expense) to byers on hamilton road. Today, I spoke with the service manager, ron brown, who said that he didn't think that the car caught on fire. He feels that the tensioner belt broke and that is why I smelled burned rubber and there was so much smoke. Either way, this is a brand new car and shouldn't be having any issues.

- Hilliard, OH, USA

problem #28

Apr 282015

Cherokee

  • 4,000 miles
I am writing to express a "safety issue" relating to the push button start our new vehicle. While we are very happy with our vehicle, we recently had a scare with it. Both my husband and I are hearing impaired & I feel it is a safety risk to have a push button start vehicle as number one we park our Jeep in our attached garage. It can be easy to forget to push the engine off & it has happened once already and we were lucky to catch it within several minutes due to going back out to the garage to get something. We do have a remote start on our vehicle as well. When we recently went on vacation, due to being in a rush the vehicle was not turned off & it appears to have ran until it ran out of gas. It did start when we arrived back a week later, but we did not make it to the gas station before it ran completely out of gas. Why can't the engine shut completely down if the key fob is more than five or ten feet away from the vehicle" (or similar with the remote start being within so many feet to start, why not also shut down as well as start")

- Glenford, OH, USA

problem #27

Apr 162015

Cherokee

  • 1,100 miles
Multiple incidents of when applying brakes, the tachometer would increase as the Jeep down shifted and the Jeep would leap forward. Increase in speed. Delays in the ignition switch when starting. When applying the gas, the Jeep would have a 5 - 10 second delay in response and slow down instead of increasing the speed. As days past, the incidents with the Jeep leaping forward when applying the brake got worse and it got to be dangerous to drive. Almost rear ended a few people. Had to have Jeep towed to a dealership because it was unsafe to drive. The computer upgrade that came out in February of this year was not applied to this Jeep before it was sold to me.

- Rockport, ME, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?