Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: How many transmission complaints can a new vehicle really receive? You'd be surprised. Unless you're a 2015 Cherokee owner, then I bet you're not surprised at all.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 9
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
6,727 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2015 Jeep Cherokee engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2015 Jeep Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2015 Jeep Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 4 of 5)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #40

Dec 152014


  • 2,000 miles


Vehicle speeds up when brake is applied, downshifting is jerky and uneven. Transmission has been replaced once. Symptoms are the same.

- Naples, NY, USA

problem #39

Jun 012015


  • 800 miles
When you let off the gas it speeds up and takes a little time to get it to go slower!

- Clinton, TN, USA

problem #38

Jan 012015


  • 500 miles
The Jeep is bad and exactly engine, electrical, fuel propulsion system, and ather things,

- El Mirage, AZ, USA

problem #37

Jul 202015


  • 50 miles


The car will accelerate and raise RPM's (sometimes increases speed by 1mph) by itself at 26mph while coasting from 30mph or greater. I'm pretty sure the car is downshifting at this point, but no car I have drove will accelerate while not pressing the gas. When the car is downshifting from any other speed, I can feel the downshift however the car does not accelerate like it does at 26mph. Only at 26mph it accelerates at the down shift. Sometimes the acceleration is greater then other times, but happens 95% of the time. I was told this is a characteristic of the car and it needs to learn how I drive. Which makes no sense because if this is a characteristic of a car, it is a very unsafe one. I feel that this is a safety issue as the car is accelerating on its own while I'm expecting it to de-accelerate. A software update was done on my car, but the issue was not fixed.

- Allen Park, MI, USA

problem #36

Jun 192015


  • 725 miles
6/19/2015: Transmission/electrical issue when attempting to shift the vehicle into reverse it would shift into neutral instead. Had to shift to park and then back to reverse before the vehicle went into gear. This was the fourth occurrence of this issue since purchase date. Airbag warning message and indicator light turned on when shifting from park to reverse and to drive. Electronic stability control indicator came on repeatedly while driving. 6/22/2015: Transmission/electrical issue vehicle would not shift from park to reverse. After several minutes was able to put vehicle into park, and eventually powered vehicle off and on and was then able to shift from park to reverse and then drive. Airbag warning message and indicator light turned on and electronic stability control indicator came on. 6/23/2015: Transmission/electrical failure odometer at 800 miles. While driving, the vehicle suddenly went out of gear. Climbing a parking garage ramp the vehicle stalled, the parking brake turned on, the airbag service message and indicator turned on, the service engine light came on, the windshield wipers came on, the media console and bluetooth connection failed. After several minutes of attempting to shift gears (could not get the vehicle into park, drive, or reverse, and parking brake kept engaging), was finally able to power the vehicle off. Once the vehicle was powered back on, was able to shift to drive, and drove directly to the dealership. Check engine light remained on and electronic stability control indicator came on repeatedly while driving. Delivered vehicle to dealership for inspection and repair, and am awaiting resolution as of 7/20/2015.

- Scottsdale, AZ, USA

problem #35

Mar 012015


  • 4,800 miles
The contact owns a 2015 Jeep Cherokee. While driving at various speeds, the low oil pressure and battery warning lights illuminated. The vehicle was able to restart. The failure recurred several times. The vehicle was taken to a dealer who was unable to diagnose the cause of the failure. The contact mentioned that the vehicle was losing excessive oil and constantly needed oil to be added. The vehicle was the taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the engine needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 4,800.

- Raleigh, NC, USA

problem #34

Apr 142015


  • 6,000 miles


My 2015 Jeep Cherokee, and apparently hundreds or thousands of others from 2014 and 2015, have faulty transmissions. I needed a replacement at only 6000 miles and I've heard worse stories on various web sites. The new transmission is not much better yet Jeep/Chrysler refuses to acknowledge that there is a problem and continues to sell the cars. Someone seriously needs to look into this as someone is going to get killed when theirjeep stalls or just stops at highway speeds.

- Brooklyn, NY, USA

problem #33

Jun 262015


  • 3,466 miles
Less than 90 days after buying a new Jeep Cherokee I watched it towed away B/C it was un-driveable. It began in the morning when the gears were not shifting appropriately. Then a few hours later, the engine would rev, and car would speed up, even though I wasn't pushing gas pedal. Then reverse failed. Then the parking brake light came on. Finally, it stopped shifting up -- I had to floor it to go 5 miles an hour. I ultimately had to coast home.....updated 11/02/15

- Washington, DC, USA

problem #32

Jun 272015


  • 490 miles
Had car for 2 weeks, 490 miles and transmission light went on, could not reverse, when putting car in drive car made terrible noise and jumped, smelled a burning smell. Brought to service said probably need a new transmission. Will not have car for at least a week. So disappointed, and am scared even to drive the car when I do get it back.

- Brooklyn, NY, USA

problem #31

Jun 152015


  • 600 miles
My transmission keeps slipping on our brand new Cherokee we saved up for! engine light keeps coming on and it jerks a lot when trying to slow down. Getting into to car dealer asap! I'm so upset and scared to drive my two little kids in this car now that I think I know what the issue is. Whether they fix this or not. I don't trust this car now.

- Washington, IL, USA

problem #30

Jun 102015


  • 8,800 miles


While driving 55mph check engine lite along with stop/start lite came on and vehicle rapidly decelerated from 55mph to 30mph causing transmission to over heat which ultimately lead to transmission replacement on a new 2015 Jeep,

- Mt Morris, NY, USA

problem #29

May 282015


  • 3,744 miles
I went out to start my car at around 8:40am on May 28. When I pushed the button to start it, I heard a pop followed by smoke. I thought maybe something was under the car so I backed up the car approximately 2 feet and then turned it off. I went inside to get my husband, he came out and opened the hood and I tried to start it again. It started right up but there immediately was smoke and fire coming from the front of the car on the passenger side. I turned the car right off after maybe 5 or 6 seconds. I had a meeting to get to so I left in my husband's car. When I got to work, a retired fire fighter suggested that I call the norwich township fire department. Brian beach came to inspect the car. Because of all of the plastic coverings, it was very hard to see anything that was wrong other than melted plastic fittings. I had the car towed (at my expense) to byers on hamilton road. Today, I spoke with the service manager, ron brown, who said that he didn't think that the car caught on fire. He feels that the tensioner belt broke and that is why I smelled burned rubber and there was so much smoke. Either way, this is a brand new car and shouldn't be having any issues.

- Hilliard, OH, USA

problem #28

Apr 282015


  • 4,000 miles
I am writing to express a "safety issue" relating to the push button start our new vehicle. While we are very happy with our vehicle, we recently had a scare with it. Both my husband and I are hearing impaired & I feel it is a safety risk to have a push button start vehicle as number one we park our Jeep in our attached garage. It can be easy to forget to push the engine off & it has happened once already and we were lucky to catch it within several minutes due to going back out to the garage to get something. We do have a remote start on our vehicle as well. When we recently went on vacation, due to being in a rush the vehicle was not turned off & it appears to have ran until it ran out of gas. It did start when we arrived back a week later, but we did not make it to the gas station before it ran completely out of gas. Why can't the engine shut completely down if the key fob is more than five or ten feet away from the vehicle" (or similar with the remote start being within so many feet to start, why not also shut down as well as start")

- Glenford, OH, USA

problem #27

Apr 162015


  • 1,100 miles
Multiple incidents of when applying brakes, the tachometer would increase as the Jeep down shifted and the Jeep would leap forward. Increase in speed. Delays in the ignition switch when starting. When applying the gas, the Jeep would have a 5 - 10 second delay in response and slow down instead of increasing the speed. As days past, the incidents with the Jeep leaping forward when applying the brake got worse and it got to be dangerous to drive. Almost rear ended a few people. Had to have Jeep towed to a dealership because it was unsafe to drive. The computer upgrade that came out in February of this year was not applied to this Jeep before it was sold to me.

- Rockport, ME, USA

problem #26

Apr 152015


  • 1,393 miles
Transmission has always been with problems, it has been in service for 3 times and for the last one has been there for 3 weeks, I'm still waiting for a solution. Vehicle is at the dealer waiting for a new transmission. I saw all the stories online about the transmission issues in this vehicle and decided I should also report my experience.

- El Paso, TX, USA

problem #25

May 052015


  • 9,500 miles
As I was driving on the highway (cruise control), I raised my right knee which accidentally bumped the ignition key which turned the car off. I turned to key to on, but no help, then start position, again no help. I then put the trans in neutral and was able to restart the engine. However, I could not shift back into drive. I had to pull off the highway, come to a complete stop before I could shift into drive. Fortunately I was on a two lane highway where I could safely pull off to the side of the road. Had I been in one of the middle lanes of I-5 near seattle, this could have caused a serious accident (me getting rear ended). Note that I able to duplicate this problem later.

- Seabeck, WA, USA

problem #24

May 072015


  • 1,100 miles
I was moving very slowly in the second from right lane on route 287 in New Jersey. In my attempt to change into the far right lane to be in my exit lane I accelerated heavily. The engine surged and made noise appropriate for the situation but did not actually engage in moving the vehicle for approximately 1-3 seconds. This could have caused a serious accident. Jeep dealership has been advised. Thank you.

- Mount Arlington, NJ, USA

problem #23

May 032015


  • 500 miles
I purchased a Jeep Cherokee 2015 on May 1st and started having trouble with the start/stop system on the 3rd. A passenger and I were coming to a stop and the vehicle completely shut off and stopped running. The control system, within the driver's panel, flashed start/stop system is unavailable, service start/stop system. I had to restart the car in the middle of the highway. It did this three times before we got home. The engine light also came on at this point. I did not drive it again until the next morning and hoped to make it to work and then take it to the dealer that afternoon. Well I shouldn't have done that... on the way to work, on the interstate, I started slowing down and the system did the same thing. As I sped up the gears starting sticking, the car was stalling and I finally had to pull over and restart the car. On the interstate!!! the car did this another four or five times before I made it to work and another three times before I got to the dealership. When I first arrived, they could not figure out the issue and no reprogramming fixed the problem. They did state that the car has a flash update (aka recall), which was not communicated to me when I purchased the vehicle. So finally today, Thursday, May 7th, (3 days later) Chrysler decided the car needed a brand new transmission. Wasn't the transmission brand new anyway"???" this purchase has been very disappointing and I am really concerned about the safety of these vehicles. I really hope this new transmission fixes the problem. I also hope a serious recall is communicated to the public before anyone gets hurt!

- Rome, GA, USA

problem #22

Apr 172015

Cherokee 4WD 4-cyl

  • 60 miles
1 day after purchasing the vehicle (Jeep Cherokee trailhawk) while turning into traffic, the vehicle shut down and lost all engine and steering and was completely disabled in oncoming traffic. The transmission check engine light, parking brake warning, and loss of 4-wheel drive warnings all came on. The vehicle was completely immobile and highly unsafe to drive. Chrysler/Jeep has advised they don't know exactly what is causing the problem and have offered several fixes, but they can not guarantee any of them will fix the safety issue.

- Marietta, PA, USA

problem #21

Apr 202015


  • 1,500 miles
Shortly before reaching her destination, the driver of our vehicle smelled an odor, but couldn't determine what it was. She continued onto her destination as it was just up the street. She parked the vehicle and was preparing to exit. Before she could exit the vehicle, a witness saw smoke coming from under the vehicle. She quickly exited the vehicle and saw the smoke. The smoke then turned black and she saw flames. The vehicle then burst into flames.

- Pekin, IL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?