Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
11 / 3
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
50,027 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Jeep Commander electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Jeep Commander:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Jeep Commander Owner Comments (Page 15 of 17)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #41

Jun 042012

Commander

  • 80,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Commander. The contact stated that while traveling 45 mph the vehicle stalled and the check engine light illuminated on the instrument panel. The contact stated that the vehicle had had some electrical glitches, but had never stalled before. The vehicle was not inspected. The failure mileage and current mileages were 80,000.

- Lancaster, OH, USA

problem #40

May 272012

Commander 6-cyl

  • 65,590 miles
While driving down the road the Jeep shut off, complete loss of power, brakes and steering then after a few seconds turned back on. This had happened 4 times within 10 mile. This is not the first time that this has happened. I had taken it to the dealership so they could plug it into their computer. The results were negative and could not find any problems. Searching online, there are several other Jeep owners that are having the same problem. There needs to be a recall on these vehicles before someone gets hurt or killed.

- Leland, NC, USA

problem #39

Mar 102012

Commander 6-cyl

  • 71,320 miles
While driving 65 mph on the interstate, vehicle lost power. Dash display message appeared "service park assist system" and vehicle gear display indicated the P R N D were all illuminated. The engine stayed running but would not respond to the gas pedal, decelerating. Turned on hazard lights and pulled over, placed vehicle in park, shifted to drive, and continued as normal. A short time later, the check engine light came on. The problem is intermittent, and has happened many times since then and in many different driving situations. For example, after pulling into traffic on a highway, the vehicle would not accelerate, causing the traffic behind to nearly slam into us. If acceleration had been available as normal, this would not have been an issue. Another example, the problem happened during heavy rush hour interstate traffic, causing the need to cross several lanes to reach a breakdown lane. It has happened immediately upon starting the vehicle and after the vehicle has been running normally for a long time. It is very unpredictable. The vehicle is dangerous and cannot be trusted to provide power or acceleration when it is needed. Private shop checked the fault codes and replaced the transmission control module which did not fix the problem. Internet research shows this exact problem with these exact symptoms is common and widespread in the 2007 Jeep Commander and appears to indicate a faulty electronic shifter module. Chrysler response to the problem is hit and miss, some dealers acknowledging they have seen this before, others claiming they have never seen it and the problem is isolated and not widespread. There needs to be a safety recall on this dangerous issue before someone is hurt or killed, if they have not already. We used this vehicle to Transport our children and now we can't even trust it to safely get us to the shop to have it repaired.

- Indianapolis, IN, USA

problem #38

Nov 202010

Commander

  • 62,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My 2007 Jeep Commander turns off O me when I'm at stop signs or slowing down without any warning. Today I went in for an oil change and told the service advisor about the problem. He acted like that was the first time he has heard about the issue. He asked me how often it happens and I said a few times a week. He then said that the vehicle would have to be brought in while it's happening. Really!!!! how am I suppose to take it in when it happens or before it happens! the vehicle doesn't warn me and it turns in right away as if nothing has ever happened! it is so frustrating!! I've had it for less than a year and we are already experiencing problems! I don't feel safe driving the vehicle with my baby! I've read all the complaints about the same issue!! this needs to be fixed! I think this vehicle is a lemon!

- Pearland , TX, USA

problem #37

Feb 202012

Commander 4WD 6-cyl

  • 59,800 miles
Vehicle has lost all power while driving, engine shuts down, no electrical power and had to coast to a stop. Vehicle restarts after turning key to off and then restarting. This has happened twice now, the first time on Feb. 20th, 2012 and yesterday Mar.10th, 2012.

- Decatur, MI, USA

problem #36

Jan 182011

Commander

  • 32,310 miles
The vehicle was purchased new October 2007, also the extended warranty 5year 60,000 was purchased at the same time. The major problems began with the transmission electronic system, the removed and replaced something inside. Meanwhile the vehicle has been serviced and maintained by grava Chrysler Jeep since new the first time we complained and had it serviced was January 2011 and the last report was February 20,2012 and they still don't know what to fix..last year while driving home on interstate 93 speed approx 55 the vehicle lost power and we almost were struck by another vehicle, we had to come to a complete stop, place the vehicle in park to restart.would not restart in neutral. The tech and service manager said it should have, well it didn't. they replaced the ignition switch, it happened again, they replaced some module, it happened again, they changed the fuel pump, it happened again for the sixth (6) time.they kept it for 10 days and were not able to find the problem, no code, no problem that was their answer.by the way they put over 500 miles on the vehicle this time.

- Melrose, MA, USA

problem #35

Mar 022009

Commander 6-cyl

  • 33,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Vehicle stalls and driver loses command of accelerator, power steering and brakes. Happens at various speeds but obviously most dangerous at highway speeds. When vehicle loses power, all gear indicators light up on the dashboard and the vehicle information system display reads "service park assist system" and the check engine light appears. Recommended dealer repair is the replacement of the "electronic shift module". this temporarily solves the problem but recurs within a few thousand miles.

- Stevensville, MI, USA

problem #34

Feb 082009

Commander

  • 40,000 miles
About 9 times over the last 3 years, my Jeep Commander 2007 limited V8 has stalled while moving causing the electrical components including lights, radio, dashboard panel, etc to momentarily turn off. Each time, the stall is accompanied by a loud "clunking" noise. In each instance I have been traveling on the interstate 60+ mph. I am able to restart everytime by either pulling over or putting the car into neutral, restarting the engine, and then putting it back into drive while moving. I have discussed this with the dealership on two different occasions and have been told there is nothing they can do unless the check engine light comes on which has never occurred. This has happened to both of the primary drivers of the vehicle, and the ignition switch has never been accidentally turned off.

- Baton Rouge, LA, USA

problem #33

Jul 152010

Commander 8-cyl

  • 85,000 miles
Engine stalling or not starting. Engine stalled while making a turn. Car started immediately after but engine and oil lights remained on. Service department replaced censors but that did not correct the problem. Sporadically stalls at take off, when slowing down to turn/stop, when cruise control is disengaged at highway speeds. On highway, hit brake to disengage cc and switch lanes, car stalled, turned the key without putting it in park or stopping and engine kicked back in. Car wouldn't start on one occasion and service department replaced alternator but problem still persists. Service department replaced ignition switch but problem persists with car not starting. Stuck at highway rest stop for 2 hours until car re-started. Service department stated that computer needed to be replaced, then said that they weren't getting that code the next time we had problems. Have replaced various parts but problem still persists. Service department states that they have not been able to re-create the problem while driving.

- Salem, VA, USA

problem #32

Dec 172011

Commander 6-cyl

  • 59,000 miles
Recently experienced a." service park assist system " error with total loss of forward momentum at about 15 mph. Was able to pull over, place in park and continue going. However engine light is on, so headed to dealer Monday. I'm greatly concerned if this happens at high speed and with family in the car. Reading complaints, this is highly possible and there appears to be no real solution. Help?!!

- Downingtown , PA, USA

problem #31

Nov 112011

Commander 6-cyl

  • 44,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Doesn't accelerate sometimes." Service park assist system " appears on the panel. I've had the oxygen sensor replaces and still have the same problems from time to time. I pull into traffic and it won't go. This could very well do harm to my family in the vehicle. I'm worried!

- Pgh, PA, USA

problem #30

Nov 112011

Commander 6-cyl

  • 55,000 miles
I had a fearful incident as I was driving on the highway in the passing lane in my 2007 Jeep Commander going approx. 60 miles per hour. When suddenly my vehicle would not accelerate at all, it remained at 60 miles an hour for about a mile with oncoming traffic on all sides of me. An alert was displayed very quickly stating service parking assist system and my panel highlighted all gears at once. I was able to slow down and get off the highway. I took all the side roads to get home and my Jeep began to hesitate like it was going to stall on me. The next day my engine light was on and remained on and left me stalled on the highway. I contacted my dealer to get it in for diagnostic testing and it was determined that the electronic shift module was bad and needs to be replaced. I had purchased the extended warranty and was informed that the module was not a covered part. The estimated price was $1025.

- Pueblo, CO, USA

problem #29

Nov 022011

Commander

  • 77,000 miles
The "prnd" gears lit up with boxes around them - the "service parking assist brake" came on as well.... I could not accelerate at all after the light turned green - had to turn on hazard lights and turn vehicle off and back on - worked fine for 10 minutes or so and then the check engine light came on, it has been on ever since. Called the dealership about this they asked me to bring it in for diagnosing, but hesitant because of all the same kind of stories that I have read on this issue. Going to have to give in though, this is a major safety concern of mine now... have not seen a recall for this even though someone can certainly have a devastating accident, not willing to take that chance... love my vehicle, but now I hate the aggravation that this is causing.. with all the horror stories with the same sort of issue you would think that Jeep would take care of this, I guess that this is why they discontinued the Commander?

- Joliet, IL, USA

problem #28

Apr 112008

Commander 4WD 6-cyl

  • 7,000 miles
I have a 2007 Jeep Commander and it is less than four years old and I have had the starter replaced 4 times. Jeep can't explain why they can't fully fix the problem and they refuse to acknowledge that this is an issue with the Commanders at large and not my specific vehicle. In addition to having had the starter replaced 4 times, I have also had the electronic shifting module replaced as well and the crankshaft. My Commander has less than 40,000 miles on it and has been well maintained since I purchased it brand new. Jeep has failed to address my concerns and refuses to accept responsibility for selling me a vehicle. Jeep suggested I purchase a new vehicle and I find this preposterous due to the fact that the car is less than four years old. The Commander is clearly defective and Jeep needs to take responsibility for it. Instead, Jeep refuses to accept responsibility and they decided to rectify the problem by halting production.

- Washington, DC, USA

problem #27

Sep 142010

Commander 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 48,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Commander. While driving at low speeds, the vehicle stalled intermittently. The dealer was unable to diagnose the failure and made attempts to repair the vehicle. The manufacturer was notified and was making an attempt to assist the contact with the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 48,000 and the current mileage was 65,000. Updated 10/18/11 the consumer stated the vehicle has stalled over 12 times. It also bucks and will at times accelerate on its own. The vehicle also failed to start on 1st attempt. The vehicle would always re-start after it stalled. The consumer referenced NHTSA action # EA07007. Update evoq 11/01/11 updated 3/30/12

- Kailua, HI, USA

problem #26

Feb 102010

Commander

  • 35,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Commander. The contact stated that the vehicle stalled twice with the illumination of a warning symbol.the dealer inspected the vehicle and initially determined the battery to be the cause of the failure but later advised that it was not and that the failure could not be duplicated. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 35,000 and the current mileage was 53,000.

- North East, PA, USA

problem #25

Mar 222011

Commander 6-cyl

  • 41,000 miles
I purchased a 2007 Jeep Commander on 1/10/2011.the car has been in the shop 5 times because it stalls while in transit. The car while in drive at various speeds max that I have experienced was 55 mph shuts off. All the electrical, everything turns off. At this point you must hope that the car behind you doesnt hit you, you must put the car in park, turn it back on then put in back in drive whilepraying you do not get hit from behind. This has happened 4 times within the 90 days that I have owned it. I am told that they dont know what it is. I cannot imagine a car that just turns off when it wants to. I am afraid to drive this car.

- Myrtle Beach, SC, USA

problem #24

Dec 112010

Commander

  • 69,000 miles
I own a 2007 Jeep Commander while driving car stalls in Dec the vehicle wouldnt start after several attempts it did however it began reading errors service park assist and check engine light stayed on then it wouldn't read fuel, would say it was empty although it had full tank of gas. Was told to replace fuel sending unit but the problem stopped on it's own when the temperature got cold the problem started up again. I'm very scared to drive it due to stalling problems not sure what to do anymore. When I called mechanic they said there is a nationwide back order on that part no timeframe given for part by dealer and still no recalls on this problem

- Buffalo, NY, USA

problem #23

Mar 012011

Commander

  • 43,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Commander. The contact stated that his knee would continuously contact the ignition key entry, which was located on the dashboard, and causing the vehicle to completely shut off without intent. The dealer advised him to call the manufacturer and the manufacturer advised him to take the vehicle to the local dealer to determine whether or not the wiring was loose. The vehicle was not repaired or diagnosed for the failure. The current mileage was 43,270 and the failure mileage was 43,000.

- Lebanon, PA, USA

problem #22

Feb 082011

Commander

  • 42,000 miles
Vehicle was leaving a stop sign entering a feeder road with 50 mph speed limit. Upon accelerating, the vehicle lunged, and died. It restarted and was driven to it's original destination. We called Chrysler after she returned home and they told us to take it to a dealership for a diagnostics. Dealership says it is not covered by any recall and that the throttle body needs cleaning for $250. (a $2 can of cleaner). This same vehicle stalled twice in the same trip one week earlier but I considered it as part of the cold weather. After reading all of this, they have an issue with the 2007 hemi's and have not fessed up to it.

- Conroe, TX, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?