Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

3.1

definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
44,608 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee windows / windshield problems

windows / windshield problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 2 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #36

Oct 152007

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 88,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have owned my 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee for 2 years now. Overall I have loved the car but two weeks ago on the way home the driver's window just dropped into the door. Thinking that was odd and a rarity we continued home. Later that evening the left passenger window did the exact same thing. I decided that this wasn't a rarity but some sort of defect and turned to the internet to find out what I should do about the problem. To my dismay I find that there are lots of people that have run into the exact same problem and that it is because of a piss poor design that Jeep doesn't want to fix. Even more to my dismay I find that not only does Jeep not want to fix the issue that want to charge $450 per window to fix it.

- Fairfield, OH, USA

problem #35

Aug 262007

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 65,000 miles
2nd window regulator on my 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee within 3 mos that has stopped working. After calling several local parts stores in the area, I was told by most of them that this is a common problem with the Jeep. I also learned that the part can only be purchased by Jeep directly. I called Jeep to find out if the part has been recalled, none available. This part alone is $300, with labor the repair is $459. My vehicle currently has 66,000 miles on it.

- Wellington, FL, USA

problem #34

Jun 102004

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 45,000 miles
On my 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee limited cold air blows from one side of the dash even when I have the heat turned on. The Jeep dealer told me that I have a blend door failure and the repair will cost about 1200 dollars.

- Coram, NY, USA

problem #33

Jun 012007

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 69,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that the power windows failed to operate and all of them would roll down intermittently and without warning. The windows were pushed up manually and a piece of cardboard was stuck in between the windows and the rubber to prevent them from falling. The vehicle was not inspected by a dealer. The failure mileage was 69,000 and current mileage was 72,000. Updated 01/07/08. Updated 12/12/07.

- Hawley , TX, USA

problem #32

Sep 092007

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 36,000 miles
In April 2007 the passenger power window of my 2002 Jeep Cherokee limited stopped working, now 5 months later my drivers power window has done the same thing. Dealership says it's not a recall item...how is this possible? I see on all the blogs that this problem is rampant with 02 Grand Cherokee. Updated 09/26/07

- Poway, CA, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #31

Aug 152006

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 41,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that front and back driver and passenger side power windows could not be opened. He has taken the vehicle to the dealer and they stated that it would cost $358 to have the window repaired. The current mileage was 41,000 and the failure mileage was unknown. Updated 09/11/07

- Lilburn, GA, USA

problem #30

Jun 242007

Grand Cherokee

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

We own 2 Jeep gc Laredo, and have had 3 window regulators fail in the last 3 months. The loud pop and the window dropping each time has almost caused crashes. While this wa S not currently a huge safety issue it was definitely a major design fault and Jeep should act on it with a recall. Also, like most people we had warped rotors and brake problems from the start, 3 times for the Jeep and 2 times for my husband's Jeep.

- Charlotte, NC, USA

problem #29

Apr 272007

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 73,000 miles
As rolling up power window driver door loud pop which started me. Attempted to roll back down and moved slowly so let up on control button. Window slowly slid into door.

- Huntington, WV, USA

problem #28

Oct 202006

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 70,215 miles
Visibility: Defroster/defogger system:windshield:blower blend doors and recirculation doors no longer function. To my knowledge, this is a design flaw and will affect every 1999-2004 Jeep Grand Cherokee with auto climate control. The dealerships request a ridiculously high price for repairs. Jeep/Chrysler should step up and correct this malfunction in their faulty product.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #27

Mar 022007

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
I bought a 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee limited in December of 06. March 2nd I brought my car to a mechanic because my window would slowly go down, and then would not go up without my assistance. When the mechanic looked at the car, it was my window regulator that was the problem. I had it fixed for $328.

- Pawtucket, RI, USA

problem #26

Apr 012002

Grand Cherokee

  • Automatic transmission
  • 100 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

- the contact received a safety recall notice about the fan in her 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee in November and called the dealer and they have not yet completed the repairs. The vehicle has been placed on a waiting list. Also, there was a brake failure while driving over 40 mph. The steering wheel would vibrate so much that it felt as if it were about to come off. This incident happened over 300 times. The brakes were faulty since she bought the vehicle, but the dealer always told her that nothing was wrong, even though there was a safety bulletin in place. After the warranty expired the failure was diagnosed and the cost of the repair was $1500. The contact was charged for several front end alignments that never seem to alleviate the failure. Also, there was recurring problem with the motor of the rear windows. The contact had one motor replaced at a cost of $300 and will need to replace the second motor.

- Orlando, FL, USA

problem #25

Nov 012006

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
2002 Jeep with broken window regulator and motor** the front passenger window would not operate and it was in the down position. The second time the problem happened, the window was rolled down about 2 inches, but it continued to roll itself down.

- Schertz, TX, USA

problem #24

Oct 292006

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 42,000 miles
I see my first complaint about my 02 Jeep Grand Cherokee overland. My second complaint didn't make it on the list. Since then I've have 2 more window regulators go out. Wrote letters to Jeep and anyone I can think of. No responces!!! this is a very serious safety issue. We were out to dinner and the window right next to the infant car seat had fallen into the door and a very cold night it was. On our way home, the other window had fallen into the door. Now there is no way to protect the baby in the back in the baby seat strapped in with two open windows blowing cold air at him. What if his car seat would have been stolen when we were in the restaurant"?? how would have we got him home safely. What if it had been raining or snowing on him all the way home?? what if I was riding alone and had been car jacked?? what if was really inclement weather affecting the inside of my vehicle all that night and not knowing that the windows had fallen into the doors??" I really don't feel safe taking the baby in the affected vehicle with me any more. Why did I pay so much money for the "valued Jeep" I purchased when so much is going wrong with it. I only have 46000 miles on it now. Chrysler really needs to stand up to it's faults with their vehicles and help pay for "their" customers that trust in them!!!!!!!!!!

- Ft Myers, FL, USA

problem #23

Dec 152006

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 57,000 miles
Fourth time a window regulator has to be replaced.

- Charlotte, NC, USA

problem #22

Dec 112006

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 96,000 miles
: the contact stated the front passenger side power window failed to operate, and would not roll up. The vehicle was inspected by the dealer, who determined the window regulator needed to be replaced. Afterwards, the front driver side power window failed to operate. The vehicle was inspected by a dealer, who determined the window regulator needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was alerted.

- Schertz, TX, USA

problem #21

Dec 062006

Grand Cherokee

  • Automatic transmission
  • 96,600 miles
: the contact stated while depressing the automatic power window control for the front passenger side window, it failed to operate, and would not roll down. Two weeks later, the front driver side window failed to operate as well in the same fashion. The dealer was alerted. Updated 2/12/2007 -

- Union Point, GA, USA

problem #20

Dec 042006

Grand Cherokee 4WD

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
On October 13 2006, passenger side window stopped functioning, on December 4 2006, driver side window stopped functioning, it was a loud pop and the window stopped working and would slide down by itself.

- Union Point, GA, USA

problem #19

Nov 172006

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
Power window regulators have failed on all four windows on my 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee. I know that I am not the only one with this problem, and if enough people have been affected, hopefully NHTSA will pressure the manufacturer into recalling these vehicles.

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #18

Oct 302006

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 33,300 miles
On 10-30-06 the driver side window of my 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee failed. I was informed by the dealer that it was probably a regulator and the cost would be approximately $550. The Jeep has 33,000 mile on it and has a 7 year 70,000 mile warranty, the dealer stated that the part was not covered by the warranty. I had it replaced at superior window glass, the part and labor costs were $343. This should have been covered by daimler Chrysler corporation.

- Davidsonville, MD, USA

problem #17

Sep 272006

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 96,500 miles
Front drivers side window regulator failed and window fell into door.

- Texarkana, AR, USA

Read the next 16 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?