Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 11
Injuries / Deaths:
7 / 0
Average Mileage:
22,979 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Jeep Grand Cherokee accessories - interior problems

accessories - interior problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Jeep Grand Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Jeep Grand Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #39

Jan 032011

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2004 Jeep Grand Cherokee with a recall for front seat electric heating elements. Consumer expressed discontent with one dealership and was very content with the work done by a different dealership. The first dealership stated they had the parts, but when the consumer arrived, she was informed the parts were not available.

- Laverne, OK, USA

problem #38

Feb 062010

Grand Cherokee

  • 133,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received a recall notice for the seats, front assembly seat heater/cooler (09V117000). After having the remedy repair done, the drivers front heated seat was inoperable. The dealer stated that the front driver seat was inoperable; therefore, the heated seat element would not work. The contact stated that the front driver seat was operating correctly before the vehicle was taken to the dealer. The contact had not called the manufacturer. The failure mileage was 133,000.

- Marietta, GA, USA

problem #37

Dec 012009

Grand Cherokee

  • 94,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The vehicle was included in the recall associated with NHTSA campaign id number 09V117000, seats:front assembly:seat heater/cooler. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer where the contact was informed the company which manufacturers the necessary parts was out of business. He was informed to call them back at a later date. The contact has since called the authorized dealer back 3 times and he was again informed to call back at a later date. The vehicle has not been repaired. The failure mileage was 94,000 and the current mileage was 100,000. The VIN was unavailable. Updated 01/03/11 the consumer is still waiting for the parts to come in to fix the passenger heater seat. Updated 01/07/11

- Cedarville, MI, USA

problem #36

Oct 022007

Grand Cherokee

  • 35,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

-the contact owns a 2004 Jeep Grand Cherokee limited. While the contact was driving approximately 70 mph, the driver side heated seat unexpectedly activated without assistance. The seat exerted excessive heat. The failure occurred sporadic. The contact pulled over to the side of the road and waited until the seat was completely cooled down before he continued to drive the vehicle. There was a recall under NHTSA campaign id number 06V197000 (seats: Front assembly: Seat heater/cooler). The VIN was excluded from the recall defect. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for the identical failure on five separate occasions where diagnostic testing was performed. When the dealer performed the most recent diagnostic testing the technician informed that the owner he would be responsible for fifty percent of the repair cost. The vehicle had not been repaired at the time of the complaint. The failure mileage was 35,000. The current mileage was 104,500. Updated 11/16/10.

- Monarch Beach, CA, USA

problem #35

May 092009

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 67,000 miles
The contact owned a 2004 Jeep Grand Cherokee limited. While driving, she turned on the air conditioner and smoke started coming from under the passenger side floor board; near the air vents. The fire department extinguished the fire. The cause of the failure has not been determined. The failure mileage was 67,000. Updated 01/20/10. The consumer stated once she pulled over, fire began emitting from the passenger floorboard. A recall regarding the heated seats was issued in 2005 and 2006. The consumer took the vehicle to have the repairs done. A second recall went out in November. Updated 01/21/10.

- Carrollton, VA, USA

problem #34

Nov 042009

(reported on)

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • miles
Fax on behalf of constituent concerning recall, warranty, and repair issues with her Jeep's heated front seat elements. The consumer stated the heater seat element problem started with the recall. The recall replacement burned the foam of the seat and there was a problem with the electrical adjustment and it was making an odd sound. The consumer stated this stemmed from inferior parts that were used. The consumer stated the vehicle had been in the repair shop 4 times to repair the heated seat element. The consumer went back to the dealer and once they inspected the seat, they stated the gear was stripped in the motor and they did not damage it. The consumer stated the dealer removed the seat, but they claimed they didn't. according to the consumer, the seat was not even in the same position as to when it was first brought in.

- Durham, NC, USA

problem #33

Jan 012008

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2004 Jeep Grand Cherokee was damaged by a fire due to the safety recall F17. The consumer stated the day he picked the vehicle up, the seats were still not functioning properly due to the fire damage to the wiring and module. The drivers seat was not reassembled correctly and the lumbar support hit the consumer in the center of his back. After a close examination at a local repair shop, the consumer was told there was no evidence the passenger seat recall was ever addressed. The following morning, the battery was dead, the parking and signal lights continued to burn out and periodically the dash lights and power windows did not work. It was determined that both seats had additional fires and internal heat damage.

- Mystic, CT, USA

problem #32

Feb 262008

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
I had the seat heater on while driving on my way home from work, and I noticed that it continued to get warmer and then hot. It started in my hip and then went to my back and continued to get hotter. The heater was shut off. When I got home I found two holes in my leather driver seat and also a burn hole and scorched area on the bottom of my coat. I had received a recall notice and had gone to the dealer for repair. The recall was F17 - heated seat element.

- Council Bluffs, KY, USA

problem #31

Mar 152008

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Passenger seat heating element caught fire, totally destroying vehicle.

- Attleboro, MA, USA

problem #30

Dec 302005

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • miles
2004 Jeep Grand Cherokee with heated seat issue. Consumer states that the vehicle has been taken to the dealer several times for the heated seat problem. She also states that there is a wire or rod poking through the driver seat. The consumer also stated the transmission failed, there was a problem with the power steering, the blend doors in the heating system, the passenger side window fell down in to the door panel, and the hood struts failed. The consumer stated the heated seat issue had been recalled. The engine light illuminated and it was determined that the oxygen sensor needed to be replaced.

- Decatur, GA, USA

problem #29

Jan 012008

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 38,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2004 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that the driver's side heated seat burned her and left two burn marks through the leather seats. She noticed the defect when hot spots began to come through the seat. She has unknowingly been burned five times. The manufacturer has not offered any assistance. The dealer stated that there was no recall for her VIN number; however, there is a NHTSA campaign id number 06V197000 (seats:front assembly:seat heater/cooler). The failure and current mileages were 38,000. Updated 02-19-08 the consumer stated at the same time there was a complete failure of the heating system including the defroster. Causing hazardous driving conditions. Updated 02/19/08

- Dunkirk, MD, USA

problem #28

Nov 152007

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 25,000 miles
I own a 2004 Jeep Grand Cherokee limited......I took my car in for the seat heater recall and since then I have terrible problems with the sudden acceleration of the car....(700rpms to 1800) I constantly have to push the brake down and be very conscious of keeping my foot on the brake. The check engine light then came on with a P0505 code. Air intake sensor. Well a new one was put in and the problem was not resolved. The mechanic could not control the idle even with the diagnostic computer attached to it. It was found that two wires on the wiring harness were shorting out and melting......then after driving approx 1200 miles the idle starts jumping again.....the check engine light come on about two days later......then within the same day the idle calms down and the check engine light goes off. I have paid lots of money to have this repaired.....I believe that there is a short somewhere from the seat heater recall since the car did not do this prior to having the dealership fix the seat heater with the recall. I really like my car when the idle is right........I am not comfortable having anyone else drive it due to this issue and do not always feel safe when the acceleration goes wild.....please help.....this is a major safety issue that needs to be addressed quickly before other people get hurt or killed.

- Tampa, FL, USA

problem #27

Dec 302007

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 41,600 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While driving 35 mph, the front passenger seat electric heater element overheated. She turned the temperature gauge to low however, the temperature continued to rise. In addition, she noticed smoke coming from the front passenger seat then flames erupted. She was able to extinguish the fire. The dealer inspected the vehicle but was unable to determine the cause of the fire. There was recall repair work performed in 2006 for the seats: Front assembly: Seat heater/cooler (NHTSA campaign id # 06V197000). The current and failure mileages were 41,600. Updated 3/11/08 updated 03/11/08

- Waldorf, MD, USA

problem #26

Mar 012006

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received a recall notice in June of 2006 for NHTSA campaign id number 06V197000 (seats: Front assembly: Seat heater/cooler). As of November 5, 2007, the dealer had not repaired the vehicle. They stated that the parts were unavailable. There had been no failure to date. The current mileage was 53,000.

- Palm Bay, FL, USA

problem #25

Oct 012005

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign id number 06V197000 (seats: Front assembly: Seat heater/cooler) in October of 2005. The dealer stated that the parts were unavailable. As of October 26, 2007, the dealer had not repaired the vehicle. The contact felt that the wait time for the repair was unacceptable. There had been no failure to date. The current mileage was 65,000. Updated 12/12/2007 updated

- Franklin Square , NY, USA

problem #24

Mar 192007

(reported on)

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • miles
Jeep Grand Cherokee customer called the dealership twice and was told that they didn't have the parts and didn't know when they would have them in after second notice of recall customer is on the waiting list*

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #23

Sep 192006

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
I have made many inquiries into having my heated seats on my 2004 Jeep Grand Cherokee since Sept 06 as per recall. I have made two appointments and half a dozen calls to the dealership scap Chrysler Jeep, only to be told it will be a couple of weeks, or you are on the list. The repair is not done.

- Trumbull, CT, USA

problem #22

Dec 312006

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 28,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While driving 45 mph the heated seat was extremely warm. The contact stated that she felt a pinch on her lower back noticed a hole, and a red glowing illuminating light from the seat. The contact turned the heated seat switch off and attempted to push on the seat to remove the red glow. The dealer advised the contact to turn the temperature down. The dealer inspected the seat and advised the contact that there was a recall 06V197000 for the heated seat. The vehicle was repaired, and there have been no failures since the repair. The current mileage was 28,000.

- Chesopeake Beach, MD, USA

problem #21

Aug 222006

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
I received the initial recall notice from daimler Chrysler in August 2006 concerning the overheating of the seat elements in my 2004 Jeep Grand Cherokee. I contacted the dealership and they were waiting on parts. They were going to call me when my recall parts arrived. I have not heard anything since.

- Point Pleasant, NJ, USA

problem #20

Dec 012005

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 26,000 miles
- the contact owns a 2004 Jeep Grand Cherokee and stated that the dealer had not performed the recall repairs for the vehicle heat seat element. The contact had been dealing with the dealer for over a year in a half, and they had told her that there were no any parts available. The contact did not know what steps to take. The failure mileage was 26000, and the current mileage was 38000.

- Cornwall, NY, USA

Read the next 19 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?